
Pregnant?
Scared?
Need help?

“…promoting the safety, permanency and 
well-being  of our children, families, and 

communities.”

52 Washington Street 
Rensselaer, NY 12144

Visit our website at: 
ocfs.ny.gov

For information on safe places to leave an 
infant under the Abandoned Infant Protection 

Act, call: 
1-866-505-SAFE (1-866-505-7233)

For information about child care,  
foster care, or adoption, call: 

1-800-345-KIDS (1-800-345-5437)

To report suspected child abuse and neglect, 
call: 

1-800-342-3720 
1-800-638-5163 (TTY/TDD)

For information on services for the blind, call:  
1-866-871-3000  

1-866-871-6000 (TTY/TDD)

Pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, the New York 

material available in an appropriate format upon request.
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The Abandoned Infant  
Protection Act

The purpose of the New York State Abandoned 
Infant Protection Act is to protect newborn
babies. It does this by protecting a parent who 
abandons a baby from criminal prosecution-if

 the person leaves the baby in a safe way-and
 by allowing the parent to remain anonymous.
 Here are some specifics of the law:

If you abandon your baby with the intent  of
 giving up custody and responsibility for the 
 baby, you will not be guilty of the crime of 
 Endangering the Welfare of a Child or the crime 
 of Abandonment of a Child, if:

 
• your intention is for the baby to be safe from 

 physical injury and cared for appropriately;
and

 
• you leave the baby with an appropriate 

person or you leave the baby in a suitable 
location and promptly inform an appropriate 
person of the child’s location; and

 • the baby is not more than 30 days old.

The Abandoned Infant Protection Act does 
 not list “suitable locations” or “appropriate 
 persons.”  Local district attorneys make those 
 determinations. However, places that are
 staffed, such as fire stations, police stations 
 and hospitals, are usually considered to be
 safe places to leave a baby who is not more
 than 30 days old.

New York State law requires mandated 
  reporters to report the abandonment of a baby 
  to the New York Statewide Central Register 
  of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (child abuse 
  hotline). However, under the Abandoned Infant 
  Protection Act, if you do leave your baby, you
  are not required to give your name..

ocfs.ny.gov/main/safe
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Are you pregnant?
Scared? Alone?

Unwanted 
newborns don’t 
have to be 

abandoned and 
left to die.

There is hope
 for you and
 your baby!

Abandoned Infant Helpline:
1-866-505-SAFE (7233)

There is a better way.
If you feel like you may want

to abandon your baby, 
know the law.

If your baby is 30 days old
or less, you may legally and
 anonymously abandon your

 baby, as long as you take these
steps to protect the baby’s safety:

• Leave your baby with a 
responsible person (such as
a police officer, firefighter, or 
hospital employee)

OR
• Leave your baby in a safe

place (such as a hospital, 
police station, or fire station),
and immediately tell a 
responsible person where 
the baby is located.

Either way, you do not
have to give your name.

Looking for someone to talk to?
Call these numbers for immediate counseling or 
referrals for counseling in your community:
• National Suicide Prevention Lifeline:

1-800-273-TALK (1-800-273-8255)
• National Runaway Switchboard: 

1-800-RUNAWAY (1-800-786-2929)
• 2-1-1 (Referrals, available in many areas statewide)
• 3-1-1 (Referrals, New York City only)
• LIFENET (for mental health referrals in

New York City)
1-800-LIFENET (1-800-543-3638) (English)
1-877-AYUDESE (1-877-298-3373) (Spanish)
1-877-990-8585 (Korean, Mandarin, Cantonese)
1-212-982-5284 (TTY/TDD for hearing impaired)

• Planned Parenthood: 1-800-230-PLAN
(1-800-230-7526) www.plannedparenthood.org

• Parent Helpline at Prevent Child Abuse New York:
1-800-CHILDREN (1-800-244-5373)

Have you considered adoption?
   If you think you cannot keep your newborn baby,
please consider adoption.
   Many families in New York State of all races, 
religions, ages, and lifestyles want to provide a 
child with a loving home.
   You can request that an adoption be kept 
confidential, and that your family and friends not
be told. You cannot be investigated by Child 
Protective Services for surrendering your baby 
for adoption.
   You can give up your baby for adoption at a 
private adoption agency (an authorized voluntary
agency) or at your local department of social 
services (in New York City, the Administration 
for Children’s Services). These agencies are 
listed in various directories and on the New 
York State Office of Children and Family Services
website at:

ocfs.ny.gov/adopt/agcymenu.asp


