
Equipment Loan Fund for the Disabled
The New York State Office of Children and Family Services’ Equipment Loan Fund for the Disabled can help you purchase 
equipment that will improve the quality of your daily life.

Who Can Get A
Loan?
All residents of New York State
who are disabled are eligible. 
Money is loaned either directly
to the person with the disability
or to another individual
responsible for that person.

What Types Of
Disabilities Qualify?
Persons with a wide range of
mental or physical disabilities
may qualify under this program.
A New York State licensed
physician must certify
that the person is disabled.

What Equipment
Is Covered?
Equipment that assists the person
with the disability, in overcoming 
barriers of daily living, is covered.
Some examples are:
Wheelchairs, wheelchair van
lifts, ramps (does not include the 
actual vehicle), communication 
devices for the deaf and hearing
impaired, prosthetic devices,
and devices that allow persons
who are blind or visually impaired
to discern printed material.
This list is not all-inclusive.

The Equipment
Loan Fund for the 

Disabled is a loan program
to assist New York State
residents in obtaining 

essential adaptive equipment
they might not otherwise

be able to afford.

What Are The Terms 
Of The Equipment Loan?
• Minimum loan of $500
• Maximum loan of $4,000
• The repayment period is two to

eight years, depending on the 
loan amount, at the discretion 
of the borrower.

• The interest rate is currently set at
four percent per year.

How Are
Applications Approved?
Completed applications are reviewed 
by a loan committee comprised of 
representatives of various state 
agencies that serve persons with 
disabilities. The application Form 
(OCFS-4584) can be found at
https://ocfs.ny.gov/get/ocfs-4584
 and submitted by email or by mail.



Equipment
Loan Fund
for the
Disabled
Do you have a disability?
Do you need adaptive
equipment?

Capital View Office Park
52 Washington Street
Rensselaer, NY 12144
Visit our website at:
ocfs.ny.gov
If you have complaints about a
child care provider, call the 
Child Care Complaint Line at
1-800-732-5207
For foster care and
adoption information, call:
1-800-345-KIDS (5437)
To report child abuse or
maltreatment, call:
1-800-342-3720
For the Adult Services Helpline:
1-844-697-3505
For information on the Abandoned
Infant Protection Act, call:
1-866-505-SAFE (7233)
For information on services for
the blind, call:
1-866-871-3000 or 
1-866-871-6000 TDD

“...promoting the safety, permanency and
well-being of our children, families

and communities. …”

Pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, 
the New York State 

Office of Children and Family Services 
will make this material available

in an appropriate format upon request.
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How May I Apply
For A Loan?

For information and an 
application Form (OCFS-4584)

write, call or email:

Equipment Loan
Fund for the Disabled
New York State Office of

Children and Family Services
52 Washington Street
Rensselaer, NY 12144
Phone: (518) 474-0197

Email: ocfs.sm.ELF@ocfs.ny.gov

-Or-

Visit our website:
https://ocfs.ny.gov/main/cb/equiploanfund.asp


