提高少年犯罪的低龄化--对7至11岁儿童的不同反应

跳到内容

无障碍导航和信息

使用以下链接快速浏览页面。每个数字是快捷键。

翻译

您在本页: 提高少年犯罪的低龄化--对7至11岁儿童的不同反应

概述

作为促进儿童、家庭和社区福祉的一部分,纽约州通过立法,从2022年12月29日起,将几乎所有案件的少年犯罪的低龄化提高到12岁(2021年法律第810章,经2022年法律第38章修正)。 新法要求每个地方社会服务部门(LDSS)为截至2022年12月29日不属于《家庭法院法》(FCA)第301.2条规定的少年犯罪(JD)定义的12岁以下儿童制定不同的应对措施, ,否则其行为将被纳入FCA第3条的管辖范围。

这项立法为纽约州提供了一个重要的机会,即从将某些行为定为刑事犯罪转变为向青少年提供支持服务,并从差异化应对方案中获得帮助,目的是防止今后与少年司法系统的互动。 差别化反应的目的是将表现出和从事问题行为的最年轻的儿童从少年司法系统中剔除,并通过基于社区的服务、机会和支持来满足他们和他们家庭的需要,以促进和恢复福祉。 差别化反应是一个机会,可以对符合条件的儿童进行干预,促进种族、民族和性别平等,减少未来参与少年司法和儿童福利系统的可能性。

数据

在2022年12月29日之前,符合差异化应对措施的人群可以在家庭法庭上被指控为这些罪行的JD。 缓刑部门负责筛选这些案件,以确定他们是否可以从家庭法院转移出来,这是一个称为缓刑接收的过程的一部分。

纽约州刑事司法服务司(DCJS)提供了以下关于纽约州(NYS)、纽约市(NYC)和州内其他地区(ROS)2019-2021年JD缓刑受理案件的数据,这些案件涉及7至11岁的儿童。

要获得与JD缓刑受理案件有关的其他数据,请访问 纽约州刑事司法服务部(DCJS)的网站

LDSS要求的回应和支持

根据提高低龄化(RTLA)法规,对被排除在JD法律之外的儿童的差别反应(DR)是一个自愿的、替代的过程,以帮助符合条件的儿童和他们的家庭与社区中任何需要的支持联系起来。 这些支持可能包括,但不限于

差异化的反应包括

针对儿童的RTLA DR是 ,而不是 PINS 分流服务,也不是替代的儿童保护服务反应,即 家庭评估反应

LDSS 差动响应触点

Raising the Lower Age of Juvenile Delinquency - A Differential Response for Children 7 Through 11 Years of Age

Skip to Content

Accessible Navigation and Information

Use the following links to quickly navigate around the page. The number for each is the shortcut key.

Translate

You are on this page: Raising the Lower Age of Juvenile Delinquency - A Differential Response for Children 7 Through 11 Years of Age

Overview

As part of promoting the well-being of children, families and communities, New York State passed legislation that raises the lower age of juvenile delinquency to 12 years old in almost all cases, as of December 29, 2022 (Chapter 810 of the Laws of 2021, as amended by Chapter 38 of the Laws of 2022). The new law requires each local department of social services (LDSS) to develop a differential response for children younger than 12 who do not fall under the definition of juvenile delinquent (JD) under section 301.2 of the Family Court Act (FCA) as of December 29, 2022, and whose behavior would otherwise bring them under the jurisdiction of Article 3 of the FCA.

This legislation provides a critical opportunity for New York State to shift from criminalizing certain behaviors to providing young people with support services and assistance from differential response programs with the goal to prevent future interaction with the juvenile justice system. The purpose of the differential response is to remove the youngest children who exhibit and engage in problematic behavior from the juvenile justice system and respond to their needs and the needs of their families through community-based services, opportunities and supports that promote and restore well-being. The differential response is an opportunity to respond to eligible children with interventions that promote racial, ethnic and gender equity and reduce the possibility of future involvement with juvenile justice and child welfare systems.

Data

Before December 29, 2022, the eligible population for the differential response could have been charged as a JD in family court for these offenses. Probation departments were responsible for screening these cases to determine if they could be diverted from family court as part of a process called probation intake.

The New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) provided the following data regarding 2019-2021 JD probation intake cases opened for children aged 7 through 11 for New York State (NYS), New York City (NYC) and rest of state (ROS).

To obtain additional data related to JD probation intake cases opened, please visit the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) website.

LDSS Required Response and Supports

The differential response (DR) for children excluded from the JD law under the Raise the Lower Age (RTLA) statute is a voluntary, alternative process to help eligible children and their families connect with any needed supports in the community. These supports may include, but are not limited to

The differential response includes

The RTLA DR for children is not PINS Diversion Services nor the alternative child protective services response, which is Family Assessment Response.

LDSS Differential Response Contacts