盲人委员会常见问题

跳到内容

无障碍导航和信息

使用以下链接快速浏览页面。每个数字是快捷键。

翻译

您所在的页面: 盲人委员会常见问题

关于纽约州盲人委员会根据SSL § 361.48和18 NYCRR § 729.22商业企业计划进行审查、上诉和行政听证的常见问题解答

这里没有回答的问题,请参见 一般听证会常见问题

首字母缩写词和缩略语

问题

我有什么权利对NYSCB顾问的行动或机构的决定提出上诉?

NYSCB的政策是为职业康复服务、独立生活服务和适应性生活计划服务的申请人、符合条件的个人和接受者提供对顾问决定和机构决定提出上诉的机会。 此外,伦道夫-谢泼德计划的参与者可以对纽约州移民局与商业企业计划(BEP)计划有关的任何决定或行动提出上诉。

  • NYSCB上诉程序的政策和程序,Randolph-Sheppard计划的成员可以通过该程序重新审查NYSCB所采取的行动是否适当,这些政策和程序载于《自动售货设施经营者手册》。
  • NYSCB儿童服务手册》中载有关于NYSCB上诉程序的政策和程序,儿童计划的参与者可通过该程序对所采取的行动是否适当进行重新审查。
NYSCB审查或上诉的最常见原因是什么?

任何辅导员的行动或机构的决定,如:。

  • 拒绝申请或申请NYSCB提供的服务的权利。
  • 暂停、减少或终止服务。
  • 与所提供的服务范围有关的协议。
  • 个人指控参与个人案件的辅导员或其他机构雇员有胁迫性或其他不当行为。
  • 当个人不同意辅导员对他们的目标和服务所做的决定。
  • 当一个人在获得服务、设备和培训方面有问题或延误时。
  • 个人和辅导员之间的任何其他分歧。
  • 如果一个人反对他们的案件结案。
我有哪些审查或上诉的选择?

NYSCB提供非正式和正式的决定上诉手段。

  • 初步审查 - 由高级辅导员(或地区经理,如果高级辅导员参与了被审查的决定)进行的非正式审查。
  • 行政审查 - 由NYSCB行政人员进行的非正式审查。
  • 调解 - 个人与纽约市儿童福利院适当的工作人员之间的自愿程序,由受过训练的、合格的和公正的调解人进行调解。
  • 行政听证会或公平听证会 - 由儿童和家庭服务办公室(OCFS)专员或OCFS国家公平听证委员会成员指定的ALJ进行的正式听证。
我如何提出行政复议、上诉或公平听证的请求?

个人必须在被告知其寻求审查的行动或决定后的60天内申请审查,除非个人能够证明有充分的理由说明为什么不能在60天的时间框架内提出审查请求。 无论个人是否选择非正式审查程序,如果举行行政听证会,必须在最初要求审查后的60天内举行,除非双方同意具体的时间延长。

审查请求将以口头或书面形式向地区经理提出,使用上诉请求表。 包含上诉请求表中信息的信件也将被视为复审请求。 应个人要求,审查请求将由NYSCB工作人员在地区办公室使用上诉请求表进行口述。 如果是通过电话提出请求,应通过邮件获得个人的签名。

上诉请求表必须包括以下信息。

  • 个人的姓名、地址、电话号码和首选格式。
  • 代表的姓名、地址和电话号码。
  • NYSCB辅导员的地区办公室和电话号码。
  • 对被上诉的决定或行动的描述。
  • 请求审查的类型;以及
  • 个人喜欢的交流方式(大字体、盲文等)。
什么是行政听证,如何启动?

行政听证会是个人通过NYSCB获得的最后一级上诉。 作为审查过程的一部分,地区经理将把个人的上诉请求表的副本转交给纽约州儿童福利院总部的上诉协调员。 此外,为了满足举行行政听证会的规定时限,协调员将向特别听证局发送一份上诉请求表的副本(无论请求何种审查),以便安排行政听证。

我可以简单地要求进行行政听证吗?

个人可以选择绕过初步审查、行政审查和/或调解过程,直接进行调解或行政听证。

你可以通过发送信件或书面请求来要求举行行政听证会。

儿童和家庭服务办公室
特别听证局
52 Washington St., Room 228N
Rensselaer, NY 12144

任何关于行政听证的书面请求都应包括。

  • 个人的姓名、地址、电话号码。
  • 代表的姓名、地址和电话号码。
  • NYSCB顾问的地区办公室和电话号码。
  • 对被上诉的决定或行动的描述。
  • 个人喜欢的交流方式(大字体、盲文、磁带或磁盘)。
在听证会上我可以由律师代表吗?

是的。 根据这些程序要求行政复议、调解或行政听证的任何一方将被书面通知,她/他有权得到授权代表的陪同和代表,如法律顾问、客户援助计划(CAP)代表、非专业律师、亲属或其他代言人。 由这种代理引起的所有费用,包括但不限于法律费用,将由个人负责。 BSH和NYSCB都不会指定律师来代表你。 BSH不提供律师转介服务。

我可以从该机构获得信息吗?

应个人(或其代表)的要求,NYSCB将在行政复议、调解或行政听证的同时,以个人喜欢的媒介(尽可能)提供相关的法律、法规、政策、程序或服务记录材料的副本。 这些请求必须由个人或授权代表签署,并应以书面形式提交给区办公室。

谁在听证会上有举证责任?

工程处有责任证明顾问的行动或工程处的决定不是 "任意和反复无常的"。 如果顾问的行动或机构的决定根据提交的证据被认为是合理的,那么它必须得到支持。

这里没有回答的问题,请参见 一般听证会常见问题

Commission for the Blind FAQ

Skip to Content

Accessible Navigation and Information

Use the following links to quickly navigate around the page. The number for each is also the shortcut key. You can jump to:

You are on this page: Commission for the Blind FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Reviews, Appeals, and Administrative Hearings for the New York State Commission for the Blind Pursuant to SSL § 361.48 and 18 NYCRR § 729.22 Business Enterprise Program

See the General Hearing FAQ for questions not answered here.

Acronyms and Abbreviations

Questions

What is my right to appeal an NYSCB counselor action or agency determination?

It is the policy of NYSCB to provide applicants, eligible individuals and recipients of vocational rehabilitation services, independent living services and adaptive living program services with the opportunity to appeal counselor decisions and Agency determinations. In addition, participants in the Randolph-Sheppard Program may appeal any NYSCB decision or action pertaining to the Business Enterprise Program (BEP) program.

  • The policy and procedures governing the NYSCB appeals process through which members of the Randolph-Sheppard Program can obtain a reexamination of the appropriateness of actions taken by NYSCB are contained in The Handbook for Vending Facility Operators.
  • The policy and procedures governing the NYSCB appeals process through which participants of the Children's Program can obtain a reexamination of the appropriateness of actions taken are contained in the Handbook for NYSCB Children's Services.
What are the most common reasons for an NYSCB review or appeal?

Any counselor action or Agency decision such as:

  • The denial of an application or the right to apply for services provided by NYSCB.
  • The suspension, reduction or termination of services.
  • isagreements pertaining to the scope of services provided.
  • An individual’s allegation of coercive or otherwise improper conduct on the part of the counselor or other Agency employee involved in the individual's case.
  • When an individual disagrees with decisions made by their counselor about their goals and services.
  • When an individual has problems or delays in obtaining services, equipment, and training.
  • Any other disagreement between the individual and counselor.
  • If an individual objects to their case closure.
What are my options for review or appeal?

NYSCB provides both informal and formal means of appealing decisions.

  • Initial review - An informal review conducted by the senior counselor (or the district manager if the senior counselor was involved in the decision being reviewed).
  • Administrative review - An informal review conducted by NYSCB administrative staff.
  • Mediation - A voluntary process between the individual and the appropriate NYSCB staff mediation is conducted by a trained, qualified and impartial mediator.
  • Administrative Hearing or Fair Hearing - A formal hearing conducted by an ALJ designated by the Commissioner of the Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) or member of the OCFS State Fair Hearings Board.
How do I make a Request for an administrative review, appeal or fair hearing?

An individual must request a review no later than 60 days after being informed of the action or decision the individual seeks to review, unless the individual can show good cause as to why the review request could not be made within the 60 day time frame. Regardless of whether the individual chooses to pursue the informal review process, an administrative hearing, if held, must be held within 60 days of the initial request for a review unless both parties agree to a specific time extension.

A request for a review will be made orally or in writing to the district manager using the Request for an Appeal form. A letter containing the information in the Request for an Appeal form will also be considered a request for a review. Upon request by the individual, the request for a review will be taken by dictation, using the Request for an Appeal form, by NYSCB staff at the district office. The individual’s signature should be obtained by mail if the request is made via telephone.

The Request for an Appeal form must include the following information:

  • Individual’s name, address, phone number and preferred format,
  • Representative’s name, address and phone number,
  • District office and phone number of NYSCB counselor,
  • Description of the decision or action being appealed,
  • Type of review requested; and
  • The individual’s preferred mode of communication (large type, braille, etc.).
What is an administrative hearing and how is it initiated?

An administrative hearing is the final level of appeal available to individuals through NYSCB. As part of the review process the district manager will forward a copy of the individual’s Request for an Appeal form to the NYSCB Appeals Coordinator in Home Office. In addition, in order to meet the required time frame for holding an administrative hearing, the Coordinator will send a copy of the Request for Appeal form (regardless of the type of review requested) to the Bureau of Special Hearings so that an administrative hearing can be scheduled.

Can I simply request an administrative hearing?

Individuals may choose to bypass the initial review, administrative review, and/or mediation processes and proceed directly to mediation or an administrative hearing.

You can request an Administrative Hearing by sending a letter or written request to:

Office of Children and Family Services
Special Hearings Bureau
52 Washington St., Room 228N
Rensselaer, NY 12144

Any written request for an administrative hearing should include:

  • Individual’s name, address, phone number,
  • Representative’s name, address and phone number,
  • Dstrict office and phone number of NYSCB counselor,
  • Description of the decision or action being appealed,
  • The individual’s preferred means of communication (large print, Braille, tape or disk).
May I be represented by an attorney at the hearing?

Yes. Any party who requests an administrative review, mediation or administrative hearing under these procedures will be notified in writing that she/he has the right to be accompanied and represented by an authorized representative such as legal counsel, a Client Assistance Program (CAP) representative, lay advocate, relative or other spokesperson. All expenses caused by such representation, including but not limited to legal fees, will be the responsibility of the individual. Neither BSH nor NYSCB will appoint an attorney to represent you. BSH does not provide referral to attorneys.

Can I get access to information from the agency?

At the individual's (or his/her representative's) request, NYSCB will provide copies of pertinent laws, regulations, policies, procedures or record of services materials, in the individual's preferred medium (to the extent possible), in conjunction with an administrative review, mediation or administrative hearing. These requests must be signed by the individual or authorized representative and should be submitted in writing to the district office.

Who has the burden of proof at the hearing?

The Agency has the burden of proving that the Counselor’s action or Agency determination was not “arbitrary and capricious.” If the Counselor’s action or Agency’s determination is deemed reasonable based on the evidence presented then it must be sustained.

See the General Hearing FAQ for questions not answered here.