高地住宅中心

跳到内容

无障碍导航和信息

使用以下链接快速浏览页面。每个数字是快捷键。

翻译

您正在浏览的页面是: 高地住宅中心

描述

海兰住宅中心位于纽约州的哈德逊河谷地区,距离哈德逊河西侧的波基普西约9英里。 它得到了美国惩教协会的认可。 青年们在五座住宅楼里。 高地校园内有四座教育大楼。

海兰所服务的青少年是男性,年龄在13至18岁之间,由纽约州家庭法院安置在OCFS。

服务

辅导

每位青少年都会根据支持团队对青少年需求的鉴定,参加特定的小组咨询。 该咨询项目的理念和方法是基于认知-道德方法,利用心理教育课程,如:。

  • 辩证行为疗法(DBT)
  • 圣域心理教育小组
  • 药物滥用(七大挑战计划)。
  • 因果关系
  • 对受害者的认识

行为修正方法,如DBT,使用技能建设和治疗。

教育

方案提供补习教育、特殊教育,以及针对个人和小团体的学术和职业指导。 科目包括数学、阅读、科学、社会研究、英语、健康和体育。 可提供评估中学毕业考试和大学预科。 所有子项目的摄政考试都是按纽约州的标准每年分阶段进行。

职业机会

教员们提供技术、计算机、键盘输入、建筑和地面维护以及木工方面的贸易技能培训。

健康服务

保健团队由一名医生、执业护士、一名护士长和注册护士全职组成,每天不分昼夜。 服务包括一名兼职的精神病医生和一名兼职的验光师。 每星期有五天有一名牙医和注册卫生员在该设施的牙科单元工作。 紧急情况下使用当地医院;必要时可使用救护车服务。

强化治疗单元

这个单元旨在提供心理健康护理和治疗,在一个临床强化、结构化和治疗性的环境中。 服务的重点是评估、澄清和稳定急性精神健康症状。 这个单元有10张床位,有两名有执照的临床医生。 每天提供集体治疗;每周提供两次个人治疗。 小组包括DBT、Sanctuary和心理教育小组。 这个单位提供的服务包括瑜伽和音乐,以促进自我意识和发展。

离散的药物滥用单位

有一个专门的独立的药物滥用单位,执行"七大挑战" ,以治疗为基础的课程,通过酒精和药物滥用服务办公室进行监督。 有两名有执照的临床医生和一名CASAC工作人员被分配到这个单元,为该计划所接纳的青少年提供个人和日常小组治疗。 这个单元的服务还包括DBT和避难所小组。

娱乐性

全方位的娱乐设施包括体育馆、田径场、室外篮球场和手球场,以及一个娱乐/游戏大楼。 有一个专门的建筑用于食堂采购和闲暇时的娱乐活动。

宗教服务

青少年可以在现场参加宗教仪式。 通过设施的牧师和社区志愿者提供宗教咨询和教育。

指导和评估股

所有入院者首先被分配到这个单元,为设施生活做准备,并允许创建初始支持计划。 进行了一系列广泛的评估,并完成了关于毒品和艾滋病毒预防以及PREA的指导。

离散的药物滥用单位

有一个专门的独立的药物滥用单位,实施基于七大挑战的治疗课程,通过酒精和药物滥用服务办公室进行监督。 有两名有执照的临床医生和一名CASAC工作人员被分配到这个部门,为该计划的青少年提供个人和团体治疗。 这个单元的服务还包括DBT和避难所小组。

社区参与

志愿者们帮助促进文化、娱乐和教育活动。 高地有一个活跃的社区咨询委员会。

释放前指导

为了让青少年在获释前做好准备,有一个特别的项目涉及预防复发。 还涉及艾滋病毒预防。

Highland Residential Center

Skip to Content

Accessible Navigation and Information

Use the following links to quickly navigate around the page. The number for each is also the shortcut key. You can jump to:

You are on this page: Highland Residential Center

Description

Highland Residential Center is located in the Hudson Valley region of New York State, approximately nine miles from Poughkeepsie on the west side of the Hudson River. It is accredited by the American Correctional Association. Youth are in five residential buildings. There are four educational buildings on the Highland campus.

The youth served at Highland are male, juvenile delinquents between the ages of 13 and 18 placed with OCFS by New York State Family Courts.

Services

Counseling

Each youth engages in specific group counseling based on the support team’s identification of the youth's needs. The counseling program's philosophy and methodology are based on a cognitive-moral approach utilizing psycho-educational curricula such as:

  • Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT)
  • Sanctuary Psycho-Educational Groups
  • Substance Abuse (Seven Challenges Program)
  • Innervations
  • Victim Awareness

Behavioral modification approaches such as DBT use skill building and therapy.

Education

Programs offer remedial education, special education, and academic and vocational instruction for individuals and small groups. Subjects include math, reading, science, social studies, English, health, and physical education. Test Assessing Secondary Completion and college prep are available. Regents exams in all subejuects are being phased in each year by New York State standards.

Vocational Opportunities

Instructors provide trade skills training in technology, computers, keyboarding, building and grounds maintenance and carpentry.

Health Services

The health care team is comprised of a physician, nurse practitioner, a nurse administrator and registered nurses full time, day and night, every day. Services include those of a part-time psychiatrist and a part-time optometrist. A dentist and registered hygienist are in the facility's dental unit five days per week. Local hospitals are used for emergencies; ambulance service is available when necessary.

Intensive Treatment Unit

This unit is designed to provide mental health care and treatment in a clinically enhanced, structured, and therapeutic environment. Services are focused on the assessment, clarification, and stabilization of acute mental health symptoms. This unit has a 10 bed-capacity and has two licensed clinicians. Group therapy is provided daily; individual therapy is provided twice per week. Groups include DBT, Sanctuary, and psychoeducation groups. Services provided on this unit include yoga and music to promote self-awareness and development.

Discrete Substance Abuse Unit

There is a specialized discrete substance abuse unit that implements the "Seven Challenges" treatment-based curriculum, monitored via the Office of Alcohol and Substance Abuse Services. There are two licensed clinicians and a CASAC worker assigned to this unit providing individual and daily group therapy for youth admitted to the program. Services on this unit also include DBT and Sanctuary groups.

Recreational

Full-service recreation facilities include gymnasium, athletic fields, outdoor basketball and handball courts, and a recreation/game building. There is a specialized building for canteen purchases and leisure time recreation.

Religious Services

Youth can attend religious services on site. Religious counseling and education are offered through the facility chaplain and community volunteers.

Orientation and Assessment Unit

All admissions are first assigned to this unit to prepare for facility living and allow for the creation of the initial support plan. A wide battery of assessments is conducted and orientation on drug and HIV prevention and PREA are is accomplished.

Discrete Substance Abuse Unit

There is a specialized discrete substance abuse unit that implements the Seven Challenges treatment-based curriculum, monitored via the Office of Alcohol and Substance Abuse Services. There is two licensed clinicians and a CASAC worker assigned to this unit providing individual and group therapy for youth admitted to the program. Services on this unit also include DBT and Sanctuary groups.

Community Involvement

Volunteers help facilitate cultural, recreational, and educational activities. Highland has an active community advisory board.

Pre-Release Orientation

To prepare youth prior to their release, a special program addresses relapse prevention. HIV prevention is also addressed.