Centre sécurisé pour les jeunes de Brookwood

Skip to Content

Navigation et information accessibles

Utilisez les liens suivants pour naviguer rapidement sur la page. Le numéro de chaque lien correspond au raccourci clavier.

Traduire

Vous êtes sur cette page : Centre sécurisé pour les jeunes de Brookwood

Description

Le Brookwood Secure Center for Youth se trouve dans la région de la vallée de l’Hudson dans l’État de New York, au sud-est de la ville d’Hudson.

Les jeunes qui ont été servis à Brookwood sont des jeunes délinquants et des adolescents délinquants de sexe masculin et féminin qui, alors qu’ils étaient âgés de moins de 16 ans, ont commis certains crimes violents et ont été reconnus coupables et condamnés par un tribunal pénal pour adultes ou par l’intermédiaire du tribunal de la famille dans le cadre de la loi sur le relèvement de l’âge. Selon la peine, les jeunes peuvent demeurer sous la garde de l’OCFS jusqu’à l’âge de 21 ans.

Les délinquants juvéniles relevant de la compétence du tribunal de la famille peuvent également être placés à Brookwood s’ils ont été transférés d’un établissement sécurisé limité par le biais d’une action administrative (appelée « fennered ») pour comportement violent. Les jeunes délinquants peuvent rester sous la garde de l’OCFS jusqu’à l’âge de 18 ans, selon leur ordre de placement.

Brookwood a une capacité maximale de 125 jeunes. L’installation originale a été construite en 1963 et se compose de quatre unités de vie de 14 lits. En 1997, cinq autres unités de vie de 14 lits ont été ajoutées, ainsi qu’une unité de vie de 12 lits et une unité de vie de huit lits. L’espace académique / scolaire se compose d’une bibliothèque, d’une salle informatique, d’un gymnase, d’un centre de bien-être, d’une salle à manger, d’une salle de loisirs / polyvalente, d’une imprimerie, d’un magasin de métiers de la construction, d’un magasin d’horticulture, d’une infirmerie et de plusieurs bureaux administratifs.

Les installations récréatives extérieures comprennent quatre terrains de basketball, un terrain de handball, deux terrains de baseball et un terrain de football. Tous les jeunes qui y sont hébergés participent au programme certifié de services de réadaptation en milieu résidentiel intensif de réadaptation pour toxicomanes. Le programme est certifié par le New York State Office of Addiction Services and Support conformément à l’article 32, titre 14 de la loi sur l’hygiène mentale de l’État de New York. Cet établissement est accrédité par l’American Correctional Association.

Services

Services du programme

Une approche d’équipe du traitement répond à tous les aspects des besoins de chaque jeune. Le programme complet de l’établissement comprend une éducation académique, professionnelle et spécialisée, un système de gestion du comportement des jeunes, des conseils en toxicomanie, des soins médicaux et des soins de santé mentale. Les jeunes reçoivent une éducation sur la santé et le VIH/sida et une éducation physique axée sur les défis. La formation spécialisée de l’établissement est axée sur la gestion de la colère, la sensibilisation des victimes, la vie autonome et les compétences informatiques. Le personnel veille également à ce que les questions familiales, les questions familiales et les préoccupations juridiques soient abordées.

Approche globale du traitement du modèle de New York

Le modèle de New York est axé sur les valeurs, le traitement, les traumatismes et l’avenir. Il s’efforce d’utiliser des modalités de traitement et des interventions de programme qui sont sensibles aux traumatismes, adaptées aux traumatismes, fondées sur les compétences et soutenues empiriquement pour répondre aux besoins culturels, familiaux et individuels interconnectés de nos jeunes qui présentent souvent des problèmes de santé mentale, de toxicomanie et liés aux traumatismes. Ces questions ne sont pas seulement un objectif majeur du traitement, mais il est important de les identifier comme des obstacles potentiels à l’engagement du traitement lui-même. En incorporant à la fois le modèle Sanctuary (pour fournir un milieu thérapeutique et sensible aux traumatismes) et des modèles de traitement fondés sur des données probantes tels que la thérapie comportementale dialectique ou la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale axée sur les traumatismes, les objectifs du programme de favoriser la stabilisation émotionnelle et d’améliorer les chances de succès d’un jeune dans l’établissement et dans la communauté peuvent être atteints.

Implication de la famille

Les membres de la famille et les tuteurs sont fortement encouragés à participer au programme d’un jeune et à maintenir le contact pendant le séjour d’un jeune à l’établissement. OCFS, par l’intermédiaire de bureaux multiservices communautaires (CMSO), fournit des billets de train et d’autobus (de la région de New York) afin que les parents et les tuteurs puissent avoir un contact avec leurs enfants. Les heures de visite sont de 10h30.m à 14h00 le samedi et le dimanche .m avec des dispositions prises par l’intermédiaire du conseiller des jeunes. Des visites spéciales ou d’urgence peuvent être organisées au besoin. Les parents et les tuteurs sont également invités à la réunion mensuelle de l’équipe de soutien de leurs jeunes. Les jeunes peuvent également faire des appels téléphoniques gratuits aux membres de leur famille chaque semaine et peuvent recevoir des appels quotidiens de membres de leur famille.

Counseling et thérapie

Le gestionnaire de cas assigné à chaque jeune fournit des conseils aux jeunes chaque semaine et au besoin. Le clinicien du jeune offre une thérapie chaque semaine, en fonction des besoins du plan de soutien du jeune. Les programmes de counseling offerts à tous les jeunes sont les suivants :

  • La thérapie comportementale dialectique (TCD) est une modalité de traitement clinique qui se concentre sur le développement des compétences dans les domaines de la pleine conscience, de la régulation émotionnelle, de la tolérance à la détresse et des compétences interpersonnelles. Des groupes sont offerts chaque semaine et le renforcement des compétences est examiné dans le cadre du plan de traitement des jeunes.
  • Le modèle de sanctuaire est un modèle de changement clinique et organisationnel qui, à la base, favorise la sécurité et le rétablissement de l’adversité grâce à la création active d’une communauté tenant compte des traumatismes. La reconnaissance du fait que le traumatisme est omniprésent dans l’expérience des êtres humains constitue la base de l’accent mis par le modèle de sanctuaire non seulement sur les personnes qui cherchent un traitement, mais également sur les personnes et les systèmes qui fournissent ce traitement. Sanctuary Treatment se concentre sur le S.E.L.F – Sécurité, Émotion, Perte et Avenir. Des groupes sont organisés deux fois par semaine et le renforcement des compétences est pratiqué lors de réunions communautaires et de conseils individuels.
  • L’éducation sur les substances est fournie concernant le rôle que jouent les substances dans la vie d’un individu, ainsi que les implications physiques, sociales et juridiques de la consommation, de l’abus et de la toxicomanie. Les jeunes qui ont des besoins spéciaux en ce qui concerne leurs problèmes de toxicomanie sont sélectionnés pour un traitement qui comprend du counseling et de l’éducation spécialisés individuels et de groupe.
Éducation

L’établissement offre des programmes éducatifs pour les jeunes selon les exigences du Département de l’éducation de l’État de New York. Les évaluations d’État, y compris les examens Regents et les tests de compétence Regents, sont fournies aux étudiants éligibles. Le Comité de l’éducation de l’enfance en difficulté (CST) s’occupe des besoins en éducation de l’enfance en difficulté pour les élèves classifiés et des programmes d’éducation individuelle (PEI) sont élaborés pour les élèves handicapés. Les parents/tuteurs d’élèves de l’enfance en difficulté sont informés des réunions du CST, ainsi que des besoins particuliers de leurs jeunes qui sont pris en compte dans l’établissement.

L’établissement est un site d’évaluation de l’achèvement secondaire (TASC, un test national d’évaluation de l’équivalence scolaire) qui offre le test aux jeunes qui répondent aux critères établis. Pour les jeunes qui reçoivent un diplôme d’équivalence, l’établissement a conclu un partenariat avec le Columbia Greene Community College (une école de l’Université d’État de New York) et offre des cours de niveau collégial à l’établissement pour ceux qui souhaitent poursuivre leurs études. Les bulletins scolaires sont remis trimestriellement aux jeunes et aux parents/tuteurs.

Possibilités professionnelles

Les instructeurs professionnels offrent une formation dans les métiers de la construction, l’horticulture et l’aménagement paysager, les arts graphiques et l’imprimerie. En plus de la formation professionnelle, il existe quelques programmes disponibles pour que les jeunes obtiennent des titres de compétences et des certifications :

  • Le programme de préapprentissage du Home Builder’s Institute (HBI), un programme de formation approuvé par le département du Travail des États-Unis, offre des certifications en menuiserie, électricité, plomberie, entretien de l’aménagement paysager, barbier et entretien de la garde. Le programme HBI intègre l’apprentissage contextuel basé sur le travail avec la formation professionnelle et académique en classe. Il s’agit notamment de l’employabilité et des aptitudes à la vie quotidienne, du développement de carrière et de la formation en cours d’emploi. Les jeunes inscrits au programme HBI recevront également le programme de formation de 10 heures de l’Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) sur l’industrie de la construction, qui permet aux travailleurs de la construction de niveau débutant de se sensibiliser à la reconnaissance et à la prévention des dangers sur un chantier de construction.
  • La New York State Weatherization Directors Association (NYSWDA) est un programme de formation intensif de quatre jours axé sur la science du bâtiment.
Services de santé

Des services de santé complets sont fournis par des professionnels de la santé autorisés, y compris un médecin, un adjoint au médecin et une infirmière praticienne.

Les infirmières autorisées sont en service pendant les quarts de jour et de soir sept jours par semaine. À l’admission, chaque jeune fait l’objet d’une évaluation complète de son état de santé et un plan de soins initial est élaboré.

Les vaccinations sont mises à jour conformément aux recommandations actuelles en matière de santé publique. Des services oculaires et dentaires sont également fournis sur place. L’appel de malade infirmier a lieu tous les jours. Les infirmières réfèrent les problèmes de santé qui ne peuvent être résolus par des interventions infirmières de routine à l’assistante du médecin, à l’infirmière praticienne ou au médecin. Le personnel de santé initie ou maintient les services de santé nécessaires par le biais de rendez-vous de suivi programmés.

Un plan de congé est établi à la mise en liberté pour répondre aux besoins courants et spécialisés du jeune en matière de soins de santé.

Santé mentale

Le traitement de la santé mentale est dispensé par des psychologues, des travailleurs sociaux agréés et des psychiatres. Un traitement en santé mentale est offert à tous les jeunes. Le personnel clinique travaille directement pour l’OCFS. Brookwood a des psychiatres consultants qui fournissent un traitement psychopharmacologique. Les services d’évaluation comprennent l’évaluation de la santé mentale et de la toxicomanie, l’évaluation des besoins en traitement des infractions sexuelles, l’évaluation de la mise au feu et l’évaluation cognitive et neuropsychologique. Les services de traitement comprennent l’évaluation et l’intervention en cas de crise, la thérapie individuelle,de groupe/familiale, le traitement de la santé mentale et de la toxicomanie et la planification du congé. Les directeurs de traitement de l’établissement et les cliniciens facilitent l’hospitalisation psychiatrique au besoin et assurent la liaison de l’établissement avec l’hôpital pendant le séjour du jeune.

Unité de traitement intensif

Brookwood a un programme de services de santé mentale qui répond et traite les besoins des jeunes des centres en milieu fermé qui, par leur comportement et / ou leurs antécédents, se sont révélés être atteints de maladie mentale, tels que déterminés par le Manuel diagnostique et statistique, version 5 (DSM-5). Il s’agit d’un programme autonome de 10 lits dont le personnel est composé d’un psychiatre à temps partiel et d’un travailleur social à temps plein.

Possibilités récréatives

Le programme de loisirs offre un large éventail d’activités allant du cinéma à plusieurs aires de loisirs intérieures et extérieures. Les espaces extérieurs comprennent des terrains de basket-ball, des terrains de handball et des terrains de baseball et de football. Les espaces intérieurs comprennent une salle de sport, une salle d’activités, un centre de bien-être entièrement équipé et des activités de loisirs dans les unités de vie. Les jeunes participent à des activités sportives intra-muros tout au long de l’année avec la compétition basée sur la saison.

Programmes d’amélioration

Brookwood offre des programmes d’amélioration avec des fonds fournis par le bureau du gouverneur qui sont basés sur les intérêts des jeunes. Les jeunes sont interrogés tous les trois mois et peuvent participer au programme de leur choix. Brookwood offre six programmes d’amélioration :

  • Culinaire: Démontre des compétences culinaires fondamentales pour montrer aux jeunes comment préparer des repas simples et sains faits à gratter pour eux-mêmes et aussi, des compétences qui peuvent être transférées à l’emploi dans l’industrie de la restauration.
  • VAPEUR: Les jeunes apprendront les éléments de base de la musique en ce qui concerne les instruments qu’ils ont choisis, y compris la voix. Ces éléments sont l’harmonie, la mélodie, le rythme, la notation standard et le timbre.
  • Holmquest: En collaboration avec une ferme locale située près de Brookwood, les jeunes reçoivent une introduction complète et une expérience pratique de l’agriculture et de l’agriculture.
  • Programme d’art/murale : Les peintures murales sont peintes dans les unités et les espaces communs des installations. Toutes les compétences nécessaires au processus mural sont incorporées.
  • Production musicale : Conçu pour initier et instruire les jeunes dans l’art de la production musicale et du beat-making. Des producteurs accomplis de l’industrie de la musique encadrent les jeunes dans la construction de rythmes à partir de médias analogiques et numériques.
  • Barbier : Il s’agit d’un programme de formation de 150 heures qui fournit l’ensemble des compétences fondamentales de barbier à l’étudiant tout en favorisant la croissance et le développement de chaque participant. Il est axé sur la production de personnes productives et professionnelles qui apprendront également à être des barbiers. Les étudiants seront éduqués sur les méthodes appropriées de stérilisation et les procédures de sécurité sanitaire, l’hygiène et la nutrition, l’histoire de l’art tonsorial, l’éthique de travail et la tenue vestimentaire appropriées, la théorie du barbier, les techniques de coupe de cheveux, les impôts et les finances, les licences et l’entrepreneuriat.
Services religieux

Le programme religieux est un programme bénévole qui offre aux jeunes la possibilité de pratiquer leur foi. Les services offerts sont fondés sur les besoins des jeunes sous la supervision d’un aumônier d’organisme.

Programme de lutte discrète contre la toxicomanie

L’établissement dispose d’un programme de toxicomanie discrète certifié de 14 lits pour fournir des services de traitement de cette population ayant des besoins spéciaux. Le programme est certifié par le New York State Office of Addiction Services and Supports conformément à l’article 32, titre 14 de la loi sur l’hygiène mentale de l’État de New York. Les critères d’admission dépendent, mais sans s’y limiter, d’un diagnostic de toxicomanie DSM-5.

Il s’agit d’un programme de cinq à huit mois qui utilise le programme « Sept défis » – conçu spécifiquement pour les adolescents ayant des problèmes de drogue – pour motiver une décision et un engagement envers le changement, et pour soutenir la réussite dans la mise en œuvre des changements souhaités. Le programme aide simultanément les jeunes à s’attaquer à leurs problèmes de drogue et à leurs déficits concomitants de compétences de vie, de situation et de problèmes psychologiques.

Orientation préalable à la version préliminaire

La planification de la libération commence à l’admission. Les membres de l’équipe de soutien de l’établissement travaillent en étroite collaboration avec les jeunes, les parents et les membres de l’équipe de services communautaires (ECS) pour s’assurer que les jeunes et leurs familles reçoivent le soutien nécessaire pour un retour rapide et réussi dans la communauté.

Services après la publication

Chaque jeune qui est désigné comme délinquant juvénile (JO), adolescent délinquant (AO) ou jeune délinquant (YO) se voit attribuer un agent de libération conditionnelle à sa mise en liberté conditionnelle à sa libération de placement auprès de l’OCFS. Ces agents aident les jeunes à faire la transition vers la maison et à accéder aux services communautaires afin de réduire la récidive. Ces services communautaires peuvent aider à couvrir le logement, l’emploi, l’éducation, la toxicomanie ou les problèmes de santé mentale, les préoccupations familiales, les activités de loisirs et d’autres problèmes qui touchent la personne et sa famille. L’agent de libération conditionnelle communiquera avec le parent ou le tuteur du jeune pour planifier une évaluation à domicile et une conférence de cas à l’approche de la date de mise en liberté du jeune.

Chaque jeune qui est désigné délinquant juvénile (JD) reçoit des services de son gestionnaire de cas communautaire par l’intermédiaire de son CSGC à domicile.

Brookwood Secure Center for Youth

Skip to Content

Accessible Navigation and Information

Use the following links to quickly navigate around the page. The number for each is also the shortcut key. You can jump to:

You are on this page: Brookwood Secure Center for Youth

Description

Brookwood Secure Center for Youth is in the Hudson Valley region of New York State, southeast of the City of Hudson.

The youth served at Brookwood are youth (male and female) juvenile offenders and adolescent offenders who, while under the age of 16, committed certain violent felonies and were convicted and sentenced in adult criminal court or via family court as part of Raise the Age legislation. Depending upon the sentence, youth may remain in OCFS custody up to 21 years of age.

Juvenile delinquents under the jurisdiction of the Family Court may also be placed at Brookwood if they have been transferred or "fennered" from a limited secure facility for violent behavior. Juvenile delinquents may remain in OCFS custody up to the age of 18 depending on their placement order.

Brookwood Secure Center for Youth has a maximum capacity of 125 youth. The original facility was constructed in 1963 and consists of four 14-bed living units. In 1997, five more 14-bed living units were added, along with a 12-bed living unit and an eight-bed living unit. The academic/school area consists of a library, a computer room, a gymnasium, a wellness center, a dining hall, a recreation/all purpose room, a print shop, a building trades shop, a horticulture shop, an infirmary, and several administrative offices. Outdoor recreational facilities include four basketball courts, a handball court, two baseball fields, and a football field. All youth housed there participate in the certified Intensive Residential Substance Abuse Rehabilitation Services Program. The program is certified by the New York State Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services pursuant to Article 32, Title 14 of the New York State Mental Hygiene Law. This facility is accredited by the American Correctional Association.

Services

Program Services

A team approach to treatment provides for all aspects of each youth’s needs. The facility’s comprehensive program includes academic, vocational and special education, a youth behavior management system, substance abuse counseling, medical care and mental health care. Youth receive health and HIV/AIDS education and challenge-based physical education. Specialized training at the facility focuses on anger management, victim awareness, independent living, and computer skills. Staff also ensure that family issues, home issues, and legal concerns are addressed.

New York Model Comprehensive Treatment Approach

The NY Model is values-driven, treatment-based, trauma-focused, and future-oriented. It strives to use treatment modalities and program interventions that are trauma sensitive, trauma responsive, skills-based, and empirically supported to address the interconnected cultural, familial, and individual needs of our youth who often present with mental health, substance abuse, and trauma-related issues. These issues are not only a major focus of treatment, but important to identify as potential impediments to the engagement of treatment itself. By incorporating both the Sanctuary model (to provide a therapeutic and trauma sensitive milieu) and evidence-based treatment models such as Dialectical Behavior Therapy or Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior Therapy, the program’s goals of fostering emotional stabilization and enhancing the likelihood of a youth’s success in both the facility and in the community, can be reached.

Family Involvement

Family members and guardians are highly encouraged to become involved in a youth’s program, and to maintain contact during a youth’s stay at the Facility. OCFS, through the Community Multi-Services Offices (CMSO) provides train and bus tickets (from the New York City area) so that parents and guardians are able to have contact with their children. Visiting hours are 10:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturday and Sunday, with arrangements made through the youth’s counselor. Special/emergency visits may be arranged as needed. Parents and guardians are also invited to their youth’s monthly support team meeting. Youth are also eligible to make free phone calls to family members weekly and may receive calls daily from family members.

Counseling and Therapy

Each youth's assigned case manager provides counseling to the youth weekly and on an as- needed basis. The youth's clinician provides therapy weekly, based on the youth’s support plan needs. Counseling programs available to all youth include the following:

  • Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT) is a clinical treatment modality that focusses on developing skills in the areas of mindfulness, emotional regulation, distress tolerance and interpersonal skills. Groups are offered weekly with skill building reviewed as part of the youth's treatment plan.
  • Sanctuary Model is a blueprint for clinical and organizational change which, at its core, promotes safety and recovery from adversity through the active creation of a trauma-informed community. A recognition that trauma is pervasive in the experience of human beings forms the basis for the Sanctuary Model's focus not only on the people who seek treatment, but equally on the people and systems who provide that treatment. Sanctuary Treatment focuses on the S.E.L.F- Safety; Emotion, Loss and Future. Groups are held 2x/weekly and skill building practiced in community meetings and individual counselling.
  • Substance Education is provided concerning the role substances play in an individual’s life, as well as the physical, social and legal implications of substance use, abuse and addiction. Those youths who are identified with special needs regarding their substance abuse issues are selected for treatment that includes specialized individual and group counseling and education.
Education

The facility provides educational programming for youth per New York State Education Department requirements. State assessments, including Regents Examinations and Regents Competency Tests, are provided to eligible students. The Committee on Special Education (CSE) addresses special education needs for classified students and Individual Education Programs (IEPs) are developed for students with disabilities. Parents/guardians of special education students are advised of CSE meetings, as well as the special needs of their youth that are being addressed at the facility.

The facility is a Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC, a national school equivalency assessment test) site that offers the test to youth who meet established criteria. For those youths receiving an equivalency diploma, the facility has entered a partnership with Columbia Greene Community College (a State University of New York school) and offers college-level courses at the facility for those youths who wish to continue their education. Report cards are issued quarterly to youths and to parents/guardians.

Vocational Opportunities

Vocational instructors provide training in building trades, horticulture/landscaping, graphic arts and print shop. In addition to vocational training there are several programs available for youth to earn credentials/certifications:

  • The Home Builder’s Institute (HBI) Pre-Apprenticeship Program, a U.S. Department of Labor-approved training curricula offering certifications in carpentry, electrical, plumbing, landscaping maintenance, barbering, and custodial maintenance. The HBI curriculum integrates contextual work-based learning with vocational and academic skills training in the classroom. These include employability and life skills, career development and on the job training. Youth enrolled in the HBI program will also receive the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 10-hour construction industry outreach training program which provides an entry level construction worker’s general awareness in recognizing and preventing hazards on a construction site.
  • The New York State Weatherization Directors Association (NYSWDA). A four-day, intensive, training program focused on building science.
  • The Energy Warriors Program, which is a collaboration between OCFS and Cornell Cooperative Extension at Cornell University. This program consists of a three-part curriculum including a 10-week classroom course; hands-on training that teaches students how to work with foam insulation; and connections for youth to internships, higher education, or job opportunities in green energy to advance their careers.
Health Services

Comprehensive health services are provided by licensed health professionals, including a physician, physician’s assistant and nurse practitioner.

Registered nurses are on duty during day and evening shifts seven days a week. Upon admission, each youth has a comprehensive health assessment, and an initial plan of care is developed. Immunizations are brought up to date following current public health recommendations. Eye and dental services are also provided on site. Nursing sick call occurs daily. Nurses refer health problems that cannot be addressed via routine nursing interventions to the physician’s assistant, nurse practitioner or physician. Health staff initiate or continue needed health services via scheduled follow-up appointments.

A discharge plan is established on release to address the youth's routine and specialized health care needs.

Mental Health

Mental health treatment is delivered by psychologists, licensed social workers and psychiatrists. Mental health treatment is available for all youth. Clinical personnel work directly for OCFS. Brookwood has consulting psychiatrists who provide psychopharmacological treatment. Assessment services include mental health and substance abuse assessment, evaluation of sex offense treatment needs, fire setting assessment, cognitive and neuropsychological assessment. Treatment services include crisis evaluation and intervention, individual/group/family therapy, mental health and substance abuse treatment and discharge planning. Facility treatment directors and clinicians facilitate psychiatric hospitalization where needed and are the facility liaisons to the hospital during the youth’s stay.

Intensive Treatment Unit: Brookwood has a Mental Health Services Program that addresses and treats the needs of Brookwood has a Mental Health Services Program that addresses and treats the needs of secure center youth who, by their behavior and/or history, have shown themselves to be mentally ill as determined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, version 5 (DSM5). This is a 10-bed, self-contained program which is staffed by a part-time psychiatrist and a full-time social worker.

Recreational Opportunities

The recreation program offers a wide range of activities from movies to several indoor and outdoor recreation areas. The outdoor areas include basketball courts, handball courts, and baseball and football fields. The indoor areas include a gym, an activity room, a fully equipped Wellness Center, and leisure activities on the living units. Youth participate in intramural sports activities throughout the year with the competition based on the season.

Enhancement Programs:

Brookwood Secure Center for Youth provides enhancement programming with funds provided by the governor’s office. These programs are designed based on the youths’ interest. Brookwood youth are surveyed every three months and can participate in the program of their choice. Brookwood offers six enhancement programs:

  • Culinary: Demonstrates fundamental cooking skills for showing youths how to prepare simple healthy scratch made meals for themselves but also skills that would be transferrable to employment in the restaurant industry.
  • STEAM: Youth learn instruments of their choice. During the program, they will learn the basic elements of music as they relate to their chosen instruments, including voice. These elements are harmony, melody, rhythm, standard notation and timbre.
  • Holmquest: In collaboration with a local farm located near Brookwood, youth receive a comprehensive introduction and hands on experience to agriculture/farming.
  • Art/Mural Program: Murals are painted in units and facility common areas. All skills necessary to the mural process are incorporated.
  • Music Production: Designed to introduce and instruct youth in the art of music production and beat-making. Accomplished producer(s) from the music industry mentor youth in constructing beats from both analogue and digital media.
  • Barbering: This is a 150-hour training program that provides the fundamental barbering skill set to the student while nurturing the growth and development of each individual participant. It is geared toward producing productive, professional individuals who will also learn how to be barbers. In this program, the students will be educated about the proper methods of sterilization and sanitation, safety procedures, hygiene and nutrition, the history of the tonsorial art, proper work ethic and attire, barber theory, hair cutting techniques, taxes and finances, licensing, and entrepreneurshipp.
Religious Services

The religious program is a voluntary program that offers youth the opportunity to practice their faith. The services offered are based on the needs of the youth under the oversight of an agency chaplain.

Discrete Substance Abuse Program

The facility has a 14-bed, certified discrete substance abuse program to provide services for the treatment of this special-need population. The program is certified by the New York State Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services pursuant to Article 32, Title 14 of the New York State Mental Hygiene Law. Admission criteria are dependent on, but not limited to, a DSM-5 diagnosis for Substance Abuse.

This is a five-to-eight-month program that uses the "Seven Challenges" program--designed specifically for adolescents with drug problems--to motivate a decision and a commitment to change, and to support success in implementing the desired changes. The program simultaneously helps young people address their drug problems, and their co-occurring life skill deficits, situational problems, and psychological problems.

Pre-Release Orientation

Release planning begins at intake. The facility support team members work closely with youths, parents and Community Service Team (CST) members to ensure that youths and their families receive the support needed for a timely and successful return to the community.

Services Following Release

: Each youth who is designated as a juvenile offender (JO), adolescent offender (AO) or youthful offender (YO) is assigned a parole officer upon release from placement with OCFS. Parole officers assist in the youth’s transition to home and help access community services to reduce recidivism. These community services may aid with housing, employment, education, substance abuse or mental health issues, family concerns, leisure time activities, and other issues that affect the individual and his family. The parole officer will contact the youth’s parent/guardian to schedule a home assessment and case conference as the youth’s release date approaches.

Each youth who is designated a juvenile Delinquent (JD) is receives services from their Community Case Manager via their home-based Community Multi-Services Office (CMSO).