布鲁克伍德青少年安全中心

跳到内容

无障碍导航和信息

使用以下链接快速浏览页面。每个数字是快捷键。

翻译

您现在位于本页: 布鲁克伍德青少年安全中心

描述

布鲁克伍德青少年安全中心位于纽约州哈德逊谷地区,在哈德逊市的东南部。

在布鲁克伍德接受服务的青少年是男性和女性少年犯和青少年罪犯,他们在16岁以下时犯下某些暴力重罪,并在成人刑事法庭或通过家庭法庭被定罪和判刑,这是提高年龄立法的一部分。 根据不同的判决,青少年可能在OCFS的监护下一直到21岁。

在家庭法院管辖下的少年犯,如果因暴力行为而被从有限的安全设施转移(被称为"fennered" ),也可能被安置在布鲁克伍德。 少年犯罪者可以在OCFS的监护下一直到18岁,这取决于其安置令。

布鲁克伍德的最大容量为125名青少年。 最初的设施建于1963年,由四个14个床位的生活单元组成。 1997年,又增加了5个14张床位的生活单元,以及一个12张床位的生活单元和一个8张床位的生活单元。 学术/学校区域包括一个图书馆、一个计算机室、一个体育馆、一个健康中心、一个食堂、一个娱乐/多用途室、一个印刷厂、一个建筑贸易商店、一个园艺商店、一个医务室和几个行政办公室。

户外娱乐设施包括四个篮球场、一个手球场、两个棒球场和一个足球场。 所有住在这里的青少年都参加了经认证的强化住院药物滥用康复服务计划。 根据纽约州精神卫生法第14篇第32条,该计划由纽约州成瘾服务和支持办公室认证。 该设施得到了美国惩教协会的认可。

服务

计划服务

一个团队的治疗方法提供了每个青少年的各方面需求。 该设施的综合方案包括学术、职业和特殊教育、青少年行为管理系统、药物滥用咨询、医疗和心理健康护理。 青年人接受健康和艾滋病毒/艾滋病教育以及基于挑战的体育教育。 该设施的专门培训侧重于愤怒管理、受害者意识、独立生活和计算机技能。 工作人员还确保家庭问题、家庭问题和法律问题得到解决。

纽约模式的综合治疗方法

纽约模式是以价值观为导向,以治疗为基础,以创伤为重点,面向未来。 它努力使用对创伤敏感、促进创伤反应、基于技能和经验支持的治疗模式和项目干预措施,以解决我们经常出现心理健康、药物滥用和创伤相关问题的青少年的相互关联的文化、家庭和个人需求。 这些问题不仅是治疗的主要焦点,而且是确定为参与治疗本身的潜在障碍的重要因素。 通过结合避难所模式(提供一个治疗和创伤敏感的环境)和基于证据的治疗模式,如辩证行为疗法或以创伤为重点的认知行为疗法,该项目可以达到促进情绪稳定和提高青少年在设施和社区中取得成功的可能性的目标。

家庭参与

我们非常鼓励家庭成员和监护人参与到青少年的项目中来,并在青少年在设施中停留期间保持联系。 OCFS通过社区综合服务办公室(CMSO)提供火车票和汽车票(从纽约市地区出发),以便父母和监护人能够与他们的孩子取得联系。 探访时间为周六和周日上午10:30至下午2:00,通过青少年的辅导员进行安排。 可根据需要安排特殊/紧急访问。 家长和监护人也被邀请参加其青少年的每月支持小组会议。 青少年也有资格每周给家人打免费电话,并可能每天接到家人的电话。

咨询和治疗

每位青少年的指定个案经理每周都会根据需要为青少年提供咨询。 青少年的临床医生根据青少年的支持计划需求,每周提供治疗。 向所有青少年提供的咨询项目包括以下内容。

  • 辩证行为疗法(DBT) 是一种临床治疗模式,重点是发展正念、情绪调节、痛苦容忍和人际交往技能等方面的技能。 每周都有小组活动,作为青少年治疗计划的一部分,对技能建设进行审查。
  • Sanctuary Model 是一个临床和组织变革的蓝图,其核心是通过积极创建一个对创伤知情的社区来促进安全和从逆境中恢复。 认识到创伤普遍存在于人类的经历中,构成了避难所模式的基础,它不仅关注寻求治疗的人,而且同样关注提供治疗的人和系统。 庇护所治疗的重点是S.E.L.F--安全、情感、损失和未来。 小组每周举行两次,在社区会议和个人咨询中练习技能建设。
  • 物质教育 提供有关物质在个人生活中的作用,以及物质使用、滥用和成瘾的身体、社会和法律影响。 那些被确认在药物滥用问题上有特殊需要的青少年被选中接受治疗,包括专门的个人和小组咨询和教育。
教育

该设施根据纽约州教育部门的要求为青少年提供教育计划。 国家评估,包括Regents考试和Regents能力测试,提供给符合条件的学生。 特殊教育委员会(CSE)处理分类学生的特殊教育需求,并为残疾学生制定个人教育计划(IEPs)。 特殊教育学生的家长/监护人会被告知CSE会议,以及他们的青少年的特殊需求在设施中得到解决。

该设施是一个评估中学毕业考试(TASC,全国学校同等学历评估考试)的场所,为符合既定标准的青少年提供考试。 对于那些获得同等文凭的青少年,该设施已与哥伦比亚格林社区学院(纽约州立大学的一所学校)建立了合作关系,并在该设施为那些希望继续接受教育的人提供大学水平的课程。 每季度向青少年和家长/监护人发放成绩单。

职业机会

职业教员提供建筑行业、园艺/绿化、图形艺术和印刷车间方面的培训。 除了职业培训外,还有几个项目可供青年获得证书/证明。

  • 房屋建筑商协会(HBI)学徒预科项目 ,这是美国劳工部批准的培训课程,提供木工、电气、管道、景观维护、理发和管理维护方面的认证。 HBI课程将基于工作的背景学习与课堂上的职业和学术技能培训结合起来。 这包括就业能力和生活技能、职业发展和在职培训。 参加HBI计划的青年还将接受职业安全与健康管理局(OSHA)的10小时建筑业推广培训计划,该计划为初级建筑工人提供识别和预防建筑工地上的危险的一般意识。
  • 纽约州气象局局长协会(NYSWDA) ,这是一个为期四天的密集培训项目,重点是建筑科学。
健康服务

全面的健康服务由有执照的卫生专业人员提供,包括医生、医生助理和执业护士。

注册护士在每周七天的白班和晚班中值班。 入院时,每个青少年都有一个全面的健康评估,并制定一个初步的护理计划。

免疫接种是按照目前的公共卫生建议进行更新的。 现场还提供眼科和牙科服务。 护理部的病号召每天都会发生。 护士将无法通过常规护理干预措施解决的健康问题转给医生助理、执业护士或医生。 保健人员通过预定的后续预约启动或继续所需的保健服务。

在释放时制定出院计划,以解决青少年的常规和特殊保健需求。

心理健康

心理健康治疗由心理学家、持证社会工作者和精神病学家提供。 所有青少年都可以接受心理健康治疗。 临床人员直接为OCFS工作。 布鲁克伍德有提供精神药物治疗的精神科顾问医生。 评估服务包括精神健康和药物滥用评估、性犯罪治疗需求评估、放火评估、以及认知和神经心理学评估。 治疗服务包括危机评估和干预、个人/小组/家庭治疗、精神健康和药物滥用治疗以及出院计划。 设施的治疗主任和临床医生在需要时为精神病院提供便利,并在青少年住院期间担任设施与医院的联络人。

强化治疗单元

布鲁克伍德有一个心理健康服务计划,以解决和治疗安全中心的青少年的需求,他们的行为和/或历史表明自己是精神病患者,如诊断和统计手册第5版(DSM-5)所确定。 这是一个拥有10张床位的独立项目,由一名兼职精神病医生和一名全职社会工作者负责。

康乐机会

康乐项目提供广泛的活动,从电影到几个室内和室外的娱乐场所。 户外区域包括篮球场、手球场、棒球场和足球场。 室内区域包括一个健身房、一个活动室、一个设备齐全的健康中心和生活单元的休闲活动。 青年人全年参加校内体育活动,竞争以季节为基础。

增强型项目

布鲁克伍德利用州长办公室提供的资金,根据青少年的兴趣,提供增强的方案。 每三个月对青少年进行一次调查,他们可以参加自己选择的项目。 布鲁克伍德提供了六个强化项目。

  • 烹饪: 展示基本的烹饪技能,向青少年展示如何为自己准备简单健康的零食,同时,这些技能可以转移到餐饮业的就业。
  • STEAM: 青少年将学习音乐的基本元素,因为它们与他们选择的乐器有关,包括声音。 这些元素是和声、旋律、节奏、标准音符和音色。
  • Holmquest: 与位于布鲁克伍德附近的一个当地农场合作,青少年接受全面的农业/养殖介绍和实践经验。
  • 艺术/壁画项目: 在单位和设施的公共区域绘制壁画。 所有壁画过程中的必要技能都被纳入其中。
  • 音乐制作: 旨在介绍和指导青少年的音乐制作和拍子制作艺术。 来自音乐界的有成就的制作人指导年轻人从模拟和数字媒体中构建节拍。
  • 理发: 这是一个150小时的培训项目,为学生提供基本的理发技能,同时培养每个参与者的成长和发展。 它的目标是培养有生产力的专业人员,他们也将学习如何成为理发师。 学生将接受教育,了解正确的消毒方法和卫生安全程序,卫生和营养,扁桃体艺术的历史,正确的职业道德和服装,理发理论,理发技术,税收和财务,许可证和创业。
宗教服务

宗教项目是一个自愿的项目,为青少年提供实践其信仰的机会。 在机构牧师的监督下,所提供的服务是基于青少年的需求。

分离式药物滥用方案

该设施有一个拥有14张床位的经认证的离散药物滥用计划,为这一特殊需要的人群提供治疗服务。 根据《纽约州精神卫生法》第14篇第32条,该计划由纽约州成瘾服务和支持办公室认证。 入院标准取决于,但不限于DSM-5对药物滥用的诊断。

这是一个为期5至8个月的计划,采用"《七大挑战》" 计划--专门为有毒品问题的青少年设计--来激励他们做出决定和改变的承诺,并支持他们成功实施所期望的改变。 该计划同时帮助年轻人解决他们的毒品问题和他们同时存在的生活技能缺陷、情境问题和心理问题。

释放前指导

释放计划从接收开始。 设施支持团队成员与青少年、家长和社区服务团队(CST)成员密切合作,确保青少年及其家庭获得及时和成功返回社区所需的支持。

释放后的服务

每个被指定为少年犯(JO)、青少年犯(AO)或青年犯(YO)的青少年在从OCFS的安置中释放后,都会被分配到一个假释官。 这些官员协助青少年向家庭过渡,并帮助他们获得社区服务以减少累犯。 这些社区服务可以帮助解决住房、就业、教育、药物滥用或精神健康问题、家庭问题、休闲活动和其他影响个人及其家庭的问题。 随着青少年释放日期的临近,假释官将与青少年的父母/监护人联系,安排家庭评估和个案会议。

每个被指定为少年犯的青少年都会通过他们在家里的CMSO接受社区个案经理的服务。

Brookwood Secure Center for Youth

Skip to Content

Accessible Navigation and Information

Use the following links to quickly navigate around the page. The number for each is also the shortcut key. You can jump to:

You are on this page: Brookwood Secure Center for Youth

Description

Brookwood Secure Center for Youth is in the Hudson Valley region of New York State, southeast of the City of Hudson.

The youth served at Brookwood are youth (male and female) juvenile offenders and adolescent offenders who, while under the age of 16, committed certain violent felonies and were convicted and sentenced in adult criminal court or via family court as part of Raise the Age legislation. Depending upon the sentence, youth may remain in OCFS custody up to 21 years of age.

Juvenile delinquents under the jurisdiction of the Family Court may also be placed at Brookwood if they have been transferred or "fennered" from a limited secure facility for violent behavior. Juvenile delinquents may remain in OCFS custody up to the age of 18 depending on their placement order.

Brookwood Secure Center for Youth has a maximum capacity of 125 youth. The original facility was constructed in 1963 and consists of four 14-bed living units. In 1997, five more 14-bed living units were added, along with a 12-bed living unit and an eight-bed living unit. The academic/school area consists of a library, a computer room, a gymnasium, a wellness center, a dining hall, a recreation/all purpose room, a print shop, a building trades shop, a horticulture shop, an infirmary, and several administrative offices. Outdoor recreational facilities include four basketball courts, a handball court, two baseball fields, and a football field. All youth housed there participate in the certified Intensive Residential Substance Abuse Rehabilitation Services Program. The program is certified by the New York State Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services pursuant to Article 32, Title 14 of the New York State Mental Hygiene Law. This facility is accredited by the American Correctional Association.

Services

Program Services

A team approach to treatment provides for all aspects of each youth’s needs. The facility’s comprehensive program includes academic, vocational and special education, a youth behavior management system, substance abuse counseling, medical care and mental health care. Youth receive health and HIV/AIDS education and challenge-based physical education. Specialized training at the facility focuses on anger management, victim awareness, independent living, and computer skills. Staff also ensure that family issues, home issues, and legal concerns are addressed.

New York Model Comprehensive Treatment Approach

The NY Model is values-driven, treatment-based, trauma-focused, and future-oriented. It strives to use treatment modalities and program interventions that are trauma sensitive, trauma responsive, skills-based, and empirically supported to address the interconnected cultural, familial, and individual needs of our youth who often present with mental health, substance abuse, and trauma-related issues. These issues are not only a major focus of treatment, but important to identify as potential impediments to the engagement of treatment itself. By incorporating both the Sanctuary model (to provide a therapeutic and trauma sensitive milieu) and evidence-based treatment models such as Dialectical Behavior Therapy or Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior Therapy, the program’s goals of fostering emotional stabilization and enhancing the likelihood of a youth’s success in both the facility and in the community, can be reached.

Family Involvement

Family members and guardians are highly encouraged to become involved in a youth’s program, and to maintain contact during a youth’s stay at the Facility. OCFS, through the Community Multi-Services Offices (CMSO) provides train and bus tickets (from the New York City area) so that parents and guardians are able to have contact with their children. Visiting hours are 10:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturday and Sunday, with arrangements made through the youth’s counselor. Special/emergency visits may be arranged as needed. Parents and guardians are also invited to their youth’s monthly support team meeting. Youth are also eligible to make free phone calls to family members weekly and may receive calls daily from family members.

Counseling and Therapy

Each youth's assigned case manager provides counseling to the youth weekly and on an as- needed basis. The youth's clinician provides therapy weekly, based on the youth’s support plan needs. Counseling programs available to all youth include the following:

  • Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT) is a clinical treatment modality that focusses on developing skills in the areas of mindfulness, emotional regulation, distress tolerance and interpersonal skills. Groups are offered weekly with skill building reviewed as part of the youth's treatment plan.
  • Sanctuary Model is a blueprint for clinical and organizational change which, at its core, promotes safety and recovery from adversity through the active creation of a trauma-informed community. A recognition that trauma is pervasive in the experience of human beings forms the basis for the Sanctuary Model's focus not only on the people who seek treatment, but equally on the people and systems who provide that treatment. Sanctuary Treatment focuses on the S.E.L.F- Safety; Emotion, Loss and Future. Groups are held 2x/weekly and skill building practiced in community meetings and individual counselling.
  • Substance Education is provided concerning the role substances play in an individual’s life, as well as the physical, social and legal implications of substance use, abuse and addiction. Those youths who are identified with special needs regarding their substance abuse issues are selected for treatment that includes specialized individual and group counseling and education.
Education

The facility provides educational programming for youth per New York State Education Department requirements. State assessments, including Regents Examinations and Regents Competency Tests, are provided to eligible students. The Committee on Special Education (CSE) addresses special education needs for classified students and Individual Education Programs (IEPs) are developed for students with disabilities. Parents/guardians of special education students are advised of CSE meetings, as well as the special needs of their youth that are being addressed at the facility.

The facility is a Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC, a national school equivalency assessment test) site that offers the test to youth who meet established criteria. For those youths receiving an equivalency diploma, the facility has entered a partnership with Columbia Greene Community College (a State University of New York school) and offers college-level courses at the facility for those youths who wish to continue their education. Report cards are issued quarterly to youths and to parents/guardians.

Vocational Opportunities

Vocational instructors provide training in building trades, horticulture/landscaping, graphic arts and print shop. In addition to vocational training there are several programs available for youth to earn credentials/certifications:

  • The Home Builder’s Institute (HBI) Pre-Apprenticeship Program, a U.S. Department of Labor-approved training curricula offering certifications in carpentry, electrical, plumbing, landscaping maintenance, barbering, and custodial maintenance. The HBI curriculum integrates contextual work-based learning with vocational and academic skills training in the classroom. These include employability and life skills, career development and on the job training. Youth enrolled in the HBI program will also receive the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 10-hour construction industry outreach training program which provides an entry level construction worker’s general awareness in recognizing and preventing hazards on a construction site.
  • The New York State Weatherization Directors Association (NYSWDA). A four-day, intensive, training program focused on building science.
  • The Energy Warriors Program, which is a collaboration between OCFS and Cornell Cooperative Extension at Cornell University. This program consists of a three-part curriculum including a 10-week classroom course; hands-on training that teaches students how to work with foam insulation; and connections for youth to internships, higher education, or job opportunities in green energy to advance their careers.
Health Services

Comprehensive health services are provided by licensed health professionals, including a physician, physician’s assistant and nurse practitioner.

Registered nurses are on duty during day and evening shifts seven days a week. Upon admission, each youth has a comprehensive health assessment, and an initial plan of care is developed. Immunizations are brought up to date following current public health recommendations. Eye and dental services are also provided on site. Nursing sick call occurs daily. Nurses refer health problems that cannot be addressed via routine nursing interventions to the physician’s assistant, nurse practitioner or physician. Health staff initiate or continue needed health services via scheduled follow-up appointments.

A discharge plan is established on release to address the youth's routine and specialized health care needs.

Mental Health

Mental health treatment is delivered by psychologists, licensed social workers and psychiatrists. Mental health treatment is available for all youth. Clinical personnel work directly for OCFS. Brookwood has consulting psychiatrists who provide psychopharmacological treatment. Assessment services include mental health and substance abuse assessment, evaluation of sex offense treatment needs, fire setting assessment, cognitive and neuropsychological assessment. Treatment services include crisis evaluation and intervention, individual/group/family therapy, mental health and substance abuse treatment and discharge planning. Facility treatment directors and clinicians facilitate psychiatric hospitalization where needed and are the facility liaisons to the hospital during the youth’s stay.

Intensive Treatment Unit: Brookwood has a Mental Health Services Program that addresses and treats the needs of Brookwood has a Mental Health Services Program that addresses and treats the needs of secure center youth who, by their behavior and/or history, have shown themselves to be mentally ill as determined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, version 5 (DSM5). This is a 10-bed, self-contained program which is staffed by a part-time psychiatrist and a full-time social worker.

Recreational Opportunities

The recreation program offers a wide range of activities from movies to several indoor and outdoor recreation areas. The outdoor areas include basketball courts, handball courts, and baseball and football fields. The indoor areas include a gym, an activity room, a fully equipped Wellness Center, and leisure activities on the living units. Youth participate in intramural sports activities throughout the year with the competition based on the season.

Enhancement Programs:

Brookwood Secure Center for Youth provides enhancement programming with funds provided by the governor’s office. These programs are designed based on the youths’ interest. Brookwood youth are surveyed every three months and can participate in the program of their choice. Brookwood offers six enhancement programs:

  • Culinary: Demonstrates fundamental cooking skills for showing youths how to prepare simple healthy scratch made meals for themselves but also skills that would be transferrable to employment in the restaurant industry.
  • STEAM: Youth learn instruments of their choice. During the program, they will learn the basic elements of music as they relate to their chosen instruments, including voice. These elements are harmony, melody, rhythm, standard notation and timbre.
  • Holmquest: In collaboration with a local farm located near Brookwood, youth receive a comprehensive introduction and hands on experience to agriculture/farming.
  • Art/Mural Program: Murals are painted in units and facility common areas. All skills necessary to the mural process are incorporated.
  • Music Production: Designed to introduce and instruct youth in the art of music production and beat-making. Accomplished producer(s) from the music industry mentor youth in constructing beats from both analogue and digital media.
  • Barbering: This is a 150-hour training program that provides the fundamental barbering skill set to the student while nurturing the growth and development of each individual participant. It is geared toward producing productive, professional individuals who will also learn how to be barbers. In this program, the students will be educated about the proper methods of sterilization and sanitation, safety procedures, hygiene and nutrition, the history of the tonsorial art, proper work ethic and attire, barber theory, hair cutting techniques, taxes and finances, licensing, and entrepreneurshipp.
Religious Services

The religious program is a voluntary program that offers youth the opportunity to practice their faith. The services offered are based on the needs of the youth under the oversight of an agency chaplain.

Discrete Substance Abuse Program

The facility has a 14-bed, certified discrete substance abuse program to provide services for the treatment of this special-need population. The program is certified by the New York State Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services pursuant to Article 32, Title 14 of the New York State Mental Hygiene Law. Admission criteria are dependent on, but not limited to, a DSM-5 diagnosis for Substance Abuse.

This is a five-to-eight-month program that uses the "Seven Challenges" program--designed specifically for adolescents with drug problems--to motivate a decision and a commitment to change, and to support success in implementing the desired changes. The program simultaneously helps young people address their drug problems, and their co-occurring life skill deficits, situational problems, and psychological problems.

Pre-Release Orientation

Release planning begins at intake. The facility support team members work closely with youths, parents and Community Service Team (CST) members to ensure that youths and their families receive the support needed for a timely and successful return to the community.

Services Following Release

: Each youth who is designated as a juvenile offender (JO), adolescent offender (AO) or youthful offender (YO) is assigned a parole officer upon release from placement with OCFS. Parole officers assist in the youth’s transition to home and help access community services to reduce recidivism. These community services may aid with housing, employment, education, substance abuse or mental health issues, family concerns, leisure time activities, and other issues that affect the individual and his family. The parole officer will contact the youth’s parent/guardian to schedule a home assessment and case conference as the youth’s release date approaches.

Each youth who is designated a juvenile Delinquent (JD) is receives services from their Community Case Manager via their home-based Community Multi-Services Office (CMSO).