美国原住民服务

跳到内容

无障碍导航和信息

使用以下链接快速浏览页面。每个数字是快捷键。

翻译

你在这个页面上: 美国原住民服务

历史

儿童和家庭服务办公室是三个州政府机构之一,与 教育部卫生部 ,负责对纽约的美国原住民人口承担具体义务。美国原住民服务的一般职责见于《社会服务法》第39条,"印第安人事务," 。

1924年颁布的法规赋予了纽约州社会福利部(后来被命名为纽约州社会服务部)有关美国原住民的大部分职责。1978年,联邦《印第安儿童福利法》的实施扩大了该机构在向美国原住民儿童提供服务方面的咨询和培训作用。1998年1月,美国原住民服务部成立,将纽约州青年司管理的项目和服务与以前由社会服务部管理的家庭和儿童项目合并在一起,隶属于OCFS。

职能

OCFS的美国原住民服务(以前称为印第安事务局)对印第安民族及其成员在保留地和该州其他社区的需求作出回应。其广泛的职责包括

美国原住民服务部还可以就法院可能面临的问题提供技术援助;为社会保障目的提供年龄证明;帮助获得部落身份并支持寄养或收养家庭的美国原住民儿童的文化身份的重要性。美国原住民服务部与联邦内政部的印第安事务局合作,处理培训学校和学院的申请。它还协助提供有关部落身份和其他事项的州际服务。

美国原住民服务的独特职责之一是维护和监督位于纽约州阿克伦的托纳万达印第安人社区之家(TICH)。这个设施是一个两层的柏木结构,是由美国原住民在工程进展管理局下建造的,并在1939年5月13日落成。它的建造是为了满足托纳万达保留地的社会、文化、娱乐和健康需求。除了体育馆/礼堂、更衣室区、厨房和各种会议室外,TICH还设有一个图书馆和由纽约州卫生部资助的医疗诊所。吉尼西县和纽约州老龄化办公室每天在TICH为保留地的老年居民提供膳食。还有一个小型博物馆位于该设施内,展示了从罗切斯特博物馆永久借出的托纳万达塞内卡文化。

OCFS是唯一负责为美国原住民提供如此广泛服务的州政府机构。

出版物

以下出版物可通过儿童和家庭服务办公室获得。

印第安儿童福利法》(ICWA)通知函范本

接触

更多信息和帮助可联系。

纽约州儿童和家庭服务办公室
美国本土服务
295 Main Street, Suite 545
Buffalo, New York 14203
电话:(716) 847-3123
传真:(716) 847-3812

Native American Services

Skip to Content

Accessible Navigation and Information

Use the following links to quickly navigate around the page. The number for each is also the shortcut key. You can jump to:

You are on this page: Native American Services

History

The Office of Children and Family Services is one of three state agencies, with the Department of Education and the Department of Health, charged with specific obligations to New York's Native American population. The general responsibilities for Native American Services are found in Section 39, "Indian Affairs," of the Social Services Law.

The statute, enacted in 1924, conferred upon the New York State Department of Social Welfare (later named the New York State Department of Social Services) the bulk of the state's responsibilities with regard to Native Americans. Implementation of the federal Indian Child Welfare Act in 1978 expanded the agency's consulting and training role with respect to the delivery of services to Native American children. Native American Services came under OCFS when it was formed in January 1998, by melding programs and services administered by the New York State Division for Youth with the family and children's programs formerly administered by the Department of Social Services.

Function

OCFS' Native American Services (formerly known as the Bureau of Indian Affairs) responds to the needs of Indian Nations and their members both on reservations and in the state's other communities. Its broad responsibilities include:

Native American Services may also provide technical assistance in regard to issues which may be before the courts; provide certification of age for Social Security purposes; help obtain tribal identity and support the importance of cultural identity for Native American children in foster or adoptive homes. Native American Services works with the federal Department of the Interior's Bureau of Indian Affairs in processing applications for training schools and colleges. It also assists with interstate services concerning tribal identity and other matters.

One of the unique responsibilities of Native American Services is the maintenance and supervision of the Tonawanda Indian Community House (TICH) located in Akron, New York. This facility, a two-story cypress log structure, was erected by Native Americans under the Works Progress Administration and dedicated on May 13, 1939. It was built to meet the social, cultural, recreational and health needs of the Tonawanda Reservation. In addition to a gymnasium/auditorium, locker room area, kitchen and various meeting rooms, TICH houses a library and medical clinic funded by the New York State Department of Health. Genesee County and the New York State Office for the Aging provide a daily meal at TICH for elderly residents of the reservation. There is also a small museum located in the facility that exhibits the Tonawanda Seneca culture on permanent loan from the Rochester Museum.

OCFS is the only state agency responsible for providing such a wide scope of services to Native Americans.

Publications

The following publications are available through the Office of Children and Family Services:

Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA) Model Notification Letters

Contact

Further information and assistance is available by contacting:

New York State Office of Children and Family Services
Native American Services
295 Main Street, Suite 545
Buffalo, New York 14203
Phone: (716) 847-3123
Fax: (716) 847-3812