قيادة عملية التوظيف مع البيانات

الانتقال الى المحتويات

التجول والمعلومات التي يمكن الاتصال بها

استخدم الوصلات التالية للتجول بسرعة حول الصفحة. الرقم الخاص بكل منها هو مفتاح المسار المختصر.

ترجمة

أنت على هذه الصفحة : تشغيل عملية التوظيف باستخدام البيانات

وتستثمر المقاطعات والوكالات التطوعية المحلية موارد كبيرة في استقدام ودعم واستبقاء الآباء بالتبني والآباء بالتبني والقرابة. ولهذه الأسر أهمية بالغة في الحفاظ على سلامة الأطفال ودوامهم ورفاههم في دور الحضانة.

ولكن كيف تعرف الوكالات ما يصلح وما يتم إنجازه من هذا الإستثمار للموارد ؟ ما هو "العائد على الاستثمار" لاستراتيجيات توظيف محددة ؟ هل أعلنت الخدمة العامة أو الموقع الشبكي الذي يعلن الحاجة إلى الوالدين بالتبني / بالتبني أن يؤدي ذلك إلى المزيد من الآباء المصادق عليهم ؟ كم من الوقت سيبقى الآباء بالتبني نشيطين ؟ إذا توقفوا عن رعايتها ، ماذا كان السبب ؟ :: كيف يمكن للجهود الرامية إلى تحديد وإشراك دور رعاية الأقارب أن تقلل من الحاجة إلى تعيين منازل غير نسبية ؟ هل ستتحقق نتائج أفضل إذا أعيد توجيه وقت الموظفين ومواردهم نحو أنشطة توظيف مختلفة ؟

ومن الأهمية بالمكان أن تطلب الوكالات أيضا ، إلى أي مدى يتم تجنيد واعتماد منازل تبني القرابة ؟ وتبين أفضل الممارسات الوطنية أنه ينبغي للدول أن تضع ما بين 30 و 50 في المائة من الأطفال في دور الرعاية في بيوت رعاية الأقارب. ويمكن للتسلية مع الأقارب أن تقلل من صدمة الأطفال ، وتزيد من الاستقرار ، وتدعم الاتصالات الجارية مع الأسرة والثقافة. ويؤدي تجنيد الأقارب من الأقارب إلى زيادة موارد توظيف أي وكالة إلى أقصى حد : فكلما كانت دور الرعاية الأكثر نسبية التي تشهدها الوكالة أقل من اللازم ، قل عدد الموارد المطلوبة للعثور على بيوت رعاية غير نسبية.

كيف تعزز البيانات التوظيف

وحتى وقت قريب ، كان قسم كبير من المعرفة "" بشأن الاستراتيجيات الفعالة للتوظيف والاستبقاء عملية غير رسمية وتم جمعها على أساس كل حالة على حدة ، مع القليل من البيانات المنهجية لجمع البيانات وتحليلها. فعلى سبيل المثال ، يمكن جمع المعلومات في شكل صحائف تسجيل بشأن التوجهات والدورات التدريبية الأم بالتبني والأم بالتبني ، ولكنها لا تدخل في قاعدة بيانات وتحلل. وحتى المعلومات الأساسية ، مثل عدد الاستفسارات التي وردت خلال السنة والطريقة التي تعلم بها هؤلاء المتصلين بالحاجة إلى بيوت التبني / التبني ، لا يتم توثيقها في كثير من الأحيان بطريقة يمكن استخدامها لقياس الأداء الحالي أو الاتجاهات الحالية وقياسها.

ويوفر جمع البيانات وتحليلها بصورة منهجية مقاييس مرجعية للأداء تمكن الوكالات من تقييم التغيرات في الأداء ومدى فعالية استراتيجيات محددة مع مرور الوقت. ويدعم هذا النوع من تحليل البيانات أيضا تقييم الوكالة للثغرات في الأداء ، ويؤثر في تخطيط الخطوات الرامية إلى سد تلك الثغرات.

وتشكل هذه الخطوات جزءا من نهج التحسين المستمر للنوعية في استقدام الموظفين واستبقائهم الذي ينطوي على وضع خط أساس لتقييم الأداء ؛ ووضع نظرية للتغيير وتحديد الأهداف ؛ ورصد التعليقات والأداء لمعرفة ما إذا كانت التغييرات تعمل ؛ وتعديل الاستراتيجية ؛ وإعادة تقييم الأداء (Wulczyn, 2007). وتساعد هذه العملية الوكالة على تقييم البيانات ، وتقييم الاحتياجات وتحديدها ، ووضع خطة لتلبية الاحتياجات ، ثم إعادة تقييمها مرة أخرى.

جمع البيانات وتحليلها

وينطوي استقدام الوالدين ذوي الكفاءة العالية والملتزمة / الآباء بالتبني على تحديات ، ولكنه ينطوي أيضا على العديد من الفرص لوضع استراتيجيات وتقنيات جديدة. تم تطبيق مصطلح "التجنيد الدؤوب" على هذه الجهود باعتباره "نهجًا أكثر منهجية لتجنيد واستبقاء وتطوير ودعم مجموعة من الأسر التي يمكنها تلبية احتياجات الأطفال والشباب في رعاية التبني (مركز الموارد الوطنية للتوظيف الدؤوب) ، 2015 أ).

ويساعد تقييم نقاط البيانات الرئيسية الوكالات على اتخاذ قرارات مستنيرة وعلى دفع جهودها في مجال التوظيف لتلبية احتياجات محددة. ويوصى بإشراك أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين في الحوار من أجل مواصلة تقييم البيانات ، واستعراض التوصيات ، وتيسير التعاون المتبادل.

خلال هذه العملية ، قد تكتشف الوكالات أنها لا تقوم بتجميع كل البيانات التي تحتاجها ، أو قد تقوم بتجميعها بطريقة ليس من السهل تحليلها ، مثل أوراق التسجيل الورقية في جلسات المعلومات والتدريبات. وقد ترغب الوكالات في تعديل بعض الممارسات للحصول على هذه البيانات في المستقبل. ويتيح التدريب والإشراف واجتماعات الموظفين فرصا لمساعدة الموظفين على فهم أهمية جمع البيانات ودخولها بشكل دقيق ومتسق وفي الوقت المناسب.

ويتطلب التوظيف المجتهج وكالة لجمع البيانات وتحليلها تحليلا نقديا على ثلاثة مسارات على الأقل :

عناصر البيانات المتعلقة بالتوظيف

وعند جمع وتحليل البيانات المتعلقة بمواطن القوة والضعف في عملية التوظيف ، تتمثل الأهداف في تحديد مدى فعالية العملية الحالية وتحديد التغييرات التي يمكن إجراؤها لزيادة الفعالية ، بما في ذلك حسن التوقيت. وينبغي للوكالات أن تتأكد من أنها تستولى على البيانات اللازمة لإجراء تقييم كامل للعملية والنظر في كل نقطة من مراحل العملية باعتبارها فرصة لتعزيز هذه النقطة أو تعديلها. وبمرور الوقت ، يمكن تحديد الاتجاهات وقياس التغييرات في الأداء.

وعند جمع وتحليل البيانات المتعلقة بالخطوات الرئيسية في العملية ، والوقت الذي تستغرقه الوكالة ومقدمي الطلبات لإنجاز كل مرحلة من المراحل ، ينبغي للوكالات أن تنظر فيما يلي :

وتشدد السياسة الخاصة بلجنة الأمن الغذائي العالمي على وجوب الحفاظ على المعلومات المتعلقة بالبيوت الحاضنة والبيوت المتبنية في مرحلة الحضانة والتنمية المنزلية المعتمدة في CONNECTIONS (). ويجب تسجيل جميع المعلومات المتعلقة بمقدمي الطلبات المحتملين الذين حصلوا على رعاية الوالدين خلال عمليات التحقيق والتوجيه في أسرع وقت ممكن ، بصرف النظر عما إذا كان المنزل سيصبح مصدق عليه أو معتمد بالكامل أم لا. ويساعد هذا المسار الوكالات على تحديد نسبة الاستفسارات التي أسفرت عن منازل معتمدة (OCFS, 2017).

عناصر البيانات المتعلقة بخصائص الأسرة

وعند جمع وتحليل البيانات المتعلقة بخصائص دور الرعاية الحالية ، فإن الأهداف هي تحديد ما إذا كانت هناك فجوة بين المساكن المتاحة والأطفال الذين يحتاجون إلى الإيداع ، وأنواع وأعداد المنازل اللازمة لسد تلك الفجوة. ولتحقيق ذلك ، ينبغي أن تتوافر للوكالات البيانات التالية على الأقل :

عناصر البيانات المتعلقة بالاحتفاظ

ويمكن للوكالات أن تستخدم البيانات المتعلقة بنجاحات الاحتفاظ بالأطفال والتحديات التي تواجهها في وضع وتنفيذ نهج مبتكرة لتحسين الاستقرار والاستمرارية للأطفال. ويوصى بأن تقوم الوكالات بجمع البيانات في المجالات التالية على الأقل :

(ارجع الى Appendix 2-1: Data-Driven Data Elements-Key Data Elements on Foster and Appenstive Fames.)

نهج تحليل البيانات : تجزئة السوق

تجزؤ السوق هو مصطلح يستخدم في مجال التسويق. فهي تنطوي على تقسيم مجموعة واسعة من المستهلكين إلى مجموعات فرعية لها احتياجات وأولويات مشتركة ، ثم تقوم بتصميم وتنفيذ استراتيجيات للوصول إليها. ويمكن تقسيم الأسواق إلى قطاعات وفقا لعوامل مثل العمر ، والموقع الجغرافي ، وشراء التاريخ. على سبيل المثال ، إذا كانت شركة التجزئة تعرف أن أكثر من نصف عملائها تتراوح أعمارهم بين 16 و 21 عاما ، فإنها سوف تستخدم استراتيجيات التسويق التي من المرجح أن تصل إلى هذه الفئة العمرية.

وقد بدأت بعض وكالات رعاية الطفل في استخدام تجزؤ السوق لتحسين فهم خصائص ومصالح الآباء والأمهات بالتبني الناجحين في منطقتهم ، وتستهدف جهود التوظيف وفقا لذلك. واستنادا إلى جمع وتحليل دقيقين للبيانات ، فإن تجزئة السوق تقسم المجمع بأكمله من الآباء المحتملون المحتملين إلى أجزاء يرجح أن تستجيب لجهود التجنيد.

واستخدمت إدارة شؤون الأطفال والأسر في كونيتيكت تجزئة السوق لتحسين عملية التوظيف فيها. وبعد تحديد الأسر الحاضنة الناجحة من خلال جمع البيانات المركزة ، استأجر صندوق رأس المال العامل شركة Nielson-Claritas لأبحاث السوق لتحليل خصائص نمط حياة الأسر وسلوكيات المستهلك. وأتاحت النتائج لصندوق رأس المال العامل الرد على الأسئلة الرئيسية :

وقد استخدمت هذه المعلومات لتحديد كيفية تركيز جهود التوظيف على أفضل الفرص للحصول على الغلة العالية. ودخلت البيانات أيضا في برنامج لنظام المعلومات الجغرافية لإعداد الخرائط التي كشفت عن المناطق الجغرافية لتركيز جهود التوظيف.

ويفيد المركز الوطني للموارد لاستقدام الموظفين بأن الولايات القضائية قد استخدمت برامجيات تجزؤ السوق في نيلسن لإجراء تحليل للسوق. والمجموعة الأساسية متاحة لحوالي 000 10 دولار. وتتاح برامج نظم المعلومات الجغرافية أيضا من شركات مثل شركة ESRI. وقد استخدم أحد هذه البرامج ، وهو محلل للمجتمعات المحلية ، لتوجيه جهود الاستقدام من أجل الأسر الحاضنة / المتبنية (الصناعات esi, n.d.).

(ارجع الى Appendix 2-2: Tips, Tools, and Trends : Geographic Information Systems (GIS) & Segmentation.)

الموارد الإضافية

تذييلات

المراجع

ويمول هذا المشروع مكتب شؤون الطفل ، والإدارة المعنية بالأطفال والأسر ، ووزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية في الولايات المتحدة ، بموجب اتفاق تعاوني ، رقم المنحة رقم 90CO-1109. ولا تمثل محتويات هذا المنشور سوى مسؤولية المؤلفين ولا تعبر بالضرورة عن الآراء الرسمية لمكتب شؤون الطفل ، وإدارة شؤون الأطفال والأسر ، ووزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية في الولايات المتحدة ، أو مكتب ولاية نيويورك لشؤون الأطفال والخدمات الأسرية.

مكتب الأطفال
مكتب شؤون الطفل والأسرة
شركة أبحاث الرعاية الاجتماعية

Driving Recruitment with Data

Skip to Content

Quicklinks

Use the following links to quickly jump to the desire location in the page.

Translate

You are on this page: Driving Recruitment with Data

Local districts and voluntary agencies invest significant resources in recruiting, supporting, and retaining foster, adoptive, and kinship parents. These families are critical in maintaining the safety, permanency, and well-being of children in foster care.

But how do agencies know what works and what is being achieved from this investment of resources? What is the "return on investment" for specific recruitment strategies? Did the public service announcement or website announcing the need for foster/adoptive parents result in more certified parents? How long do foster parents remain active? If they stopped fostering, what was the reason? How are efforts to identify and engage kinship foster homes lessening the need to recruit non-relative homes? Would better outcomes be achieved if staff time and resources were redirected toward different recruitment activities?

It is critical that agencies also ask, how well are kinship foster homes being recruited and certified? National best practice shows that states should be placing from 30 to 50 percent of children in care in kinship foster homes. Placement with kin can reduce children's trauma, increase stability, and support ongoing connections to family and culture. Recruiting kinship foster homes also maximizes an agency's recruitment resources: the more relative foster homes an agency certifies, the fewer resources are required to find non-relative foster homes.

How data strengthens recruitment

Until recently, much of the "knowledge" about effective recruitment and retention strategies was anecdotal and collected on a case-by-case basis, with little systematic data collection and analysis. For example, information may be collected in the form of sign-in sheets at foster/adoptive parent orientations and trainings, but is not entered into a database and analyzed. Even basic information, such as the number of inquiries received during the year and the way such callers learned about the need for foster/adoptive homes, is not often documented in a way that could be used to quantify and measure current performance or trends.

Systematic data collection and analysis provide baseline measures of performance that allow agencies to assess changes in performance and the effectiveness of specific strategies over time. This type of data analysis also supports the agency's assessment of gaps in performance and influences the planning of steps to close those gaps.

These steps are part of a continuous quality improvement approach to recruitment and retention that involves setting a baseline to assess performance; developing a theory of change and setting goals; monitoring feedback and performance to see whether the changes are working; adjusting the strategy; and reassessing performance (Wulczyn, 2007). This process helps the agency evaluate data, assess and identify needs, develop a plan to address the needs, and then reassess again.

Data collection and analysis

Recruitment of high-quality, committed foster/adoptive parents is fraught with challenges, but also presents many opportunities for new strategies and techniques. The term "diligent recruitment" has been applied to these efforts as "a more systematic approach to recruiting, retaining, developing, and supporting a pool of families that can meet the needs of children and youth in foster care (National Resource Center for Diligent Recruitment, 2015a)."

Evaluating key data points helps agencies make informed decisions and drives their recruitment efforts to meet specific needs. Involvement of key stakeholders in the conversation is recommended to further evaluate the data, review recommendations, and facilitate cross-collaboration.

During this process, agencies may discover that they are not collecting all the data they need, or may be collecting it in a way that is not easy to analyze, such as the paper sign-in sheets at information sessions and trainings. Agencies may want to modify some practices to capture such data in the future. Training, supervision, and staff meetings are opportunities to help staff understand the importance of accurate, consistent, and timely data collection and entry.

Diligent recruitment requires an agency to collect and critically analyze data on at least three tracks:

Data elements related to recruitment

When collecting and analyzing data about the strengths and weaknesses of the recruitment process, the goals are to identify the effectiveness of the current process and determine what changes can be made to increase effectiveness, including timeliness. Agencies should make sure that they are capturing the data needed to fully evaluate the process and look at each point in the process as an opportunity to enhance or modify that point. Over time, trends can be identified and performance changes measured.

When collecting and analyzing data about key steps in the process, and the time it takes for the agency and applicants to complete each milestone, agencies should consider the following:

OCFS policy emphasizes that LDSSs and VAs must maintain information regarding foster and adoptive homes in the Foster and Adoptive Home Development (FAD) stage in CONNECTIONS. All of the information on prospective foster parent applicants acquired during the inquiry and orientation processes must be recorded in the FAD as early as possible, regardless of whether or not the home becomes fully certified or approved. This tracking helps agencies determine the proportion of inquiries that resulted in certified homes (OCFS, 2017).

Data elements related to family characteristics

When collecting and analyzing data about the characteristics of current foster homes, the goals are to identify whether there is a gap between available homes and children needing placement, and the types and numbers of homes that are needed to fill that gap. To accomplish this, agencies should have at least the following data:

Data elements related to retention

Agencies can use data about retention successes and challenges to develop and implement innovative approaches to improve stability and permanency for children. It is recommended that agencies collect data in at least the following areas:

(See Appendix 2-1: Data-Driven Recruitment – Key Data Elements on Foster and Adoptive Families.)

An approach to data analysis: Market segmentation

Market segmentation is a term used in the marketing field. It involves dividing a broad group of consumers into subsets that have common needs and priorities, and then designing and implementing strategies to reach them. Markets can be divided into segments according to factors such as age, geographic location, and buying history. For example, if a retailer knows that more than half of its customers are between the ages of 16 and 21, it will use marketing strategies that are most likely to reach that age group.

Some child welfare agencies have begun using market segmentation to better understand the characteristics and interests of successful foster/adoptive parents in their area and target recruitment efforts accordingly. Based on precise data collection and analysis, market segmentation divides the entire pool of potential foster parents into segments that are most likely to respond to recruitment efforts.

The Connecticut Department of Children and Families (DCF) used market segmentation to improve its recruitment process. After identifying current, successful foster families through focused data collection, DCF hired the Nielson-Claritas market research firm to analyze the families' lifestyle characteristics and consumer behaviors. The results allowed DCF to answer key questions:

The information was used to determine how to focus recruitment efforts with the best chance of high yield. Data was also entered into a Geographic Information System (GIS) program to generate maps that revealed the geographic areas for concentrated recruitment efforts.

The National Resource Center for Diligent Recruitment reports that jurisdictions have used Nielsen's PRIZM market segmentation software to do market analysis. The basic package is available for about $10,000. GIS software also is available from companies such as ESRI, Inc. One such program, ArcGIS Community Analyst, has been used to direct recruitment efforts for foster/adoptive families (esri industries, n.d.).

(See Appendix 2-2: Tips, Tools, and Trends: Geographic Information Systems (GIS) & Market Segmentation.)

Additional resources

Appendices

References

This project is funded by the Children’s Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, under a Cooperative Agreement, Grant Number 90CO-1109. The contents of this publication are solely the responsibility of the authors and do not necessarily represent the official views of the Children’s Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services or the New York State Office of Children and Family Services.

Children's Bureau
NYS Office of Children and Family Services
Welfare Research, Inc.