父爱倡议

跳到内容

无障碍导航和信息

使用以下链接快速浏览页面。每个数字是快捷键。

翻译

您正在浏览的页面: 父爱行动

促进负责任的父亲角色

欢迎来到纽约州儿童和家庭服务办公室(OCFS)的父亲倡议网站。 本网站重点介绍OCFS的工作,让父亲参与儿童福利和少年司法社区,并提供鼓励负责任的父亲的计划。

研究 显示,父亲在其生活中发挥更积极作用的儿童在学业、行为和社会技能方面有更好的结果。

自2007年以来,OCFS一直与临时和残疾援助办公室合作,使各机构更好地服务于非监护人,主要是父亲,他们希望更多地参与孩子的生活,支付儿童抚养费,并获得技能,以加强他们成为有效父亲的能力。

父亲的参与是通过一些州和联邦资助的 ,在纽约州各地提供育儿计划,帮助夫妇保持牢固的关系,提高父亲的经济稳定性,并在监禁和重新进入期间提供支持。

使命

OCFS致力于培养儿童福利系统和少年司法项目中的父亲成为负责任的父母。

对于在我们的寄宿中心的青少年,OCFS识别、监测和准备年轻的父亲,使他们在释放后成为更好的父母。

工具包

OCFS通过青少年司法机会司(DJJOY)的父亲倡议在我们的住宿设施中与父亲合作,并通过 Healthy Families New York Home Visiting Programs在社区中与父亲合作。 在儿童福利方面,OCFS已经开发了一个 "寻找和吸引父亲的工具包",以协助当地地区让父亲参与案件规划。

在儿童福利规划过程中经常被 "忽略 "的父亲,不仅在心理上是孩子的重要资源,而且也是潜在的永久资源。 让父亲参与进来,可以从找到缺席的父亲开始。 将父亲带入案件规划过程需要对复杂的家庭动态保持敏感。 一旦参与进来,父亲可能会与他的孩子建立有意义的关系,为他们提供一个家,并能为他的孩子树立有效的育儿模式。 不仅考虑到父亲,而且考虑到他的整个大家庭,扩大了儿童体验有意义的联系和潜在永久资源的机会。

寻找和吸引父亲的工具箱是为当地地区制定和利用有效的战略来寻找不在身边的父亲而设计的。 基于儿童在生活中需要父亲的信念,本工具包为各机构和工作人员提供工具,以实施让父亲参与儿童生活的战略,并帮助家庭促进儿童安全、持久性和福祉。

Fatherhood Initiative

Skip to Content

Accessible Navigation and Information

Use the following links to quickly navigate around the page. The number for each is also the shortcut key. You can jump to:

You are on this page: Fatherhood Initiative

Promoting Responsible Fatherhood

Welcome to the New York State Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) Fatherhood Initiative website. This site focuses on the work of OCFS to engage fathers in the child welfare and juvenile justice communities and to provide programs that will encourage responsible fatherhood.

Research shows that children whose fathers take a more active role in their lives have better outcomes related to academics, behavior and social skills.

Since 2007, OCFS has been working with the Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance to bring the agencies together to better serve non-custodial parents, mostly fathers, who want to become more involved in their children’s lives, pay child support, and gain the skills that will strengthen their ability to be effective fathers.

Father involvement is supported through a number of state and federally funded programs across New York State that provide parenting programs, help couples maintain strong relationships, enhance fathers’ economic stability and provide support during incarceration and re-entry.

Mission

OCFS is committed to preparing fathers in the child welfare system and juvenile justice programs to become responsible parents.

For youth in our residential centers, OCFS identifies, monitors, and prepares young fathers to be better parents when they are released.

Toolkit

OCFS works with fathers in our residential facilities through the Division of Juvenile Justice Opportunities for Youth (DJJOY) Fatherhood Initiative and in communities through Healthy Families New York Home Visiting Programs. In child welfare, OCFS has developed a Locating and Engaging Fathers Toolkit to assist local districts in involving fathers in case planning.

Fathers, who too frequently have been “invisible” to the child welfare planning process, are an essential resource to their child not only psychologically but also as a potential permanency resource. Engaging fathers may begin with locating an absent father. Bringing the father into the case planning process requires sensitivity to complex family dynamics. Once engaged, the father may be able to develop a meaningful relationship with his child(ren), provide a home for them, and can model effective parenting to his children. Consideration of not only the father, but his entire extended family, broadens the opportunity for the child to experience meaningful connections and potential permanency resources.

The Locating and Engaging Fathers Toolkit is designed for local districts to develop and utilize effective strategies for locating absent fathers. Based on the belief that children need fathers in their lives, this toolkit provides tools for agencies and workers to implement strategies for engaging fathers in the lives of their children and for helping families promote child safety, permanency and well-being.

Contact and Comments

Email contact: If you have any questions or comments use the email link below.

Robert.williams@ocfs.ny.gov