Training Requirements

Skip to Content

Accessible Navigation and Information

Use the following links to quickly navigate around the page. The number for each is also the shortcut key. You can jump to:

You are on this page: Training Requirements

Why am I Required to Take Training?

Section 390 of the New York Social Services Law and the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act require training for individuals in certain roles in child care programs. This requirement is included in OCFS's child day care regulations.

This statute applies to all OCFS licensed or registered child day care programs in all counties of New York State and the five (5) boroughs of New York City. The training you take will give you more knowledge and skills to help you best serve families and their children.

Studies show that the quality of care you provide improves as your level of training and education increases. You also show families that you continually strive to improve your abilities and meet the needs of the children in your care.

What is required of me? What is required of my program?

If you are an applicant or working in a child day care program, find your anticipated or current role in the child care program in the list below. Find what type of training you are required to obtain, how many hours are required, and time frames for completing the training. See what other training you can take to enhance your skills and add to the program. You can also review the Program-Specific Requirements to see what is required of a program that requires some kind of training, and other types of training you can apply for if your program has additional enhancements.

For directors and providers, review the Program-Specific Requirements to see what training your program must do, and what your program can add to enhance your program.

Training for Day Care Center or School-Age Child Care

Select your role.

Role: Director / Staff / Substitutes / Volunteers

Required Training Hours / When is Training Required?

15 Hours / Within the first six (6) months of employment

30 Hours / Every two (2) years in the nine (9) required training topic areas

Health and Safety Training

Teachers, on-site supervisors, assistant teachers, substitutes, and volunteers who have the potential for regular and substantial contact with children in care.

  • 5 hour e-learning course “Foundations in Health and Safety”
  • Required pre-service or within three (3) months of start date
  • Available at: www.ecetp.pdp.albany.edu/

Directors

  • 15 hour classroom training “Health and Safety Training: Competencies in Child Care for Day Care Center, School-age Child Care, and Enrolled Legally Exempt Group Directors”
  • Required pre-service or within three (3) months of start date
  • Find training at: www.ecetp.pdp.albany.edu/findtraining.aspx

Medication Administration Training (MAT)

Optional except for programs that choose to administer medications or as otherwise required. Learn more about MAT.

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and First Aid

Each program must have at least one (1) person on site who is certified in CPR/First Aid during all hours of operation. Learn more about CPR/First Aid.

Training for Family or Group Family Day Care Homes

Select your role.

Role: Provider

Required Training Hours / When Is Training Required?

15 Hours / Within the first six (6) months of employment

30 Hours / Every two (2) years in the nine (9) required training topic areas

Health & Safety: Competencies for Becoming a Family or Group Family Day Care Provider

15 hours pre-licensing. Learn more about Health & Safety Training.

Medication Administration Training (MAT)

Optional except for programs that choose to administer medications or as otherwise required. Learn more about MAT.

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and First Aid

Each program must have at least one (1) person on site who is certified in CPR/First Aid during all hours of operation. Learn more about CPR/First Aid.

Role: Assistant

Required Training Hours / When Is Training Required?

Health and Safety Training

  • 5 hour e-learning course “Foundations in Health and Safety”
  • Required pre-service or within three (3) months of start date
  • Available at: www.ecetp.pdp.albany.edu/

— or —

  • 15 hour classroom training “Health and Safety: Competencies for Becoming a Family or Group Family Day Care Provider “
  • Required pre-service or within three (3) months of start date
  • Find training at: www.ecetp.pdp.albany.edu/findtraining.aspx

Medication Administration Training (MAT)

Optional except for programs that choose to administer medications or as otherwise required. Learn more about MAT.

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and First Aid

Each program must have at least one (1) person on site who is certified in CPR/First Aid during all hours of operation. Learn more about CPR/First Aid.

Role: Substitute

Health and Safety Training

  • 5 hour e-learning course “Foundations in Health and Safety”
  • Required pre-service or within three (3) months of start date
  • Available at: www.ecetp.pdp.albany.edu/

— or —

  • 15 hour classroom training “Health and Safety: Competencies for Becoming a Family or Group Family Day Care Provider “
  • Required pre-service or within three (3) months of start date
  • Find training at: www.ecetp.pdp.albany.edu/findtraining.aspx
Role: Volunteer

Required Training Hours / When Is Training Required?

Volunteers with the potential for regular and substantial contact with children in care:

Health and Safety Training

  • 5 hour e-learning course “Foundations in Health and Safety”
  • Required pre-service or within three (3) months of start date
  • Available at: www.ecetp.pdp.albany.edu/

— or —

  • 15 hour classroom training “Health and Safety: Competencies for Becoming a Family or Group Family Day Care Provider “
  • Required pre-service or within three (3) months of start date
  • Find training at: www.ecetp.pdp.albany.edu/findtraining.aspx

Volunteers without the potential for regular and substantial contact with children:
None required.

Training Required to be Licensed or Registered and Optional Training to Enhance Your Program

Succession Planning for Grandfathered Family and Group Family Day Care Programs

Larger companies engage in succession planning to help them find their next generation of leaders by promoting from within. But what about smaller businesses? What about your business? In the case of your business, you might not be looking for someone to succeed you, but what about having a succession plan to replace staff who may leave, whether with plenty of notice, or without any forewarning at all?

A succession plan is not a "one and done" document; it is an ongoing process that seeks to proactively address possible situations that could otherwise severely hinder a business. Succession plans have two components:

  • An emergency succession plan details the steps to take after an abrupt departure, such as the sudden death or debilitating illness or injury of a staff member.
  • A planned succession policy outlines the steps needed to make sure the transition is as orderly as possible, including details on how much notice the departing person must give, if and how that person will be involved in the search for a successor, etc.

Like many businesses, child care programs have irreplaceable human capital, like the knowledge of the program and its children, which the provider has amassed over time. Have you thought about how you would manage the transfer of that program-specific knowledge from one provider to another?

Remember that your programs are also licensed and registered by the New York State Office of Children and Family Services. How does that affect your succession planning? What steps or contingencies do you need to add to your plan in that regard?

Succession planning needs to be carefully thought out and should be shared with your legal representative and your licensor or registrar to make sure it is in compliance with all applicable laws and regulations.

Updates to Program Requirement Section in Regards Aquatic Activities and Field Trips

There are regulatory requirements regarding training you should be aware of if your program is considering using pools, engaging in aquatic activities or going on a field trip. Check the references below if you are interested in learning more about specific Regulations in those areas.

Family Day Care Home
  • Pools and spas: 417.5 (g) (5), 417.5 (h)
  • Permission from parents to use pools: 417.5 (g) (4)
  • Supervision criteria for residential pool activities: 417.8 (n) (4)
Group Family Day Care Home
  • Pools and spas: 416.5 (g) (5), 416.5 (h)
  • Permission from parents to use pools: 416.5 (g) (4)
  • Supervision criteria for residential pool activities: 416.8 (n) (4)
Day Care Centers — Effective September 25, 2019
  • Pools and spas: 418.5(g) (2)
  • Aquatic activities: 418.5(g) (1) (a) (b)
  • Field trips: 418.5 (j)
School-Age Child Care — Effective September 25, 2019
  • Pools and spas: 414.5 (g) (2)
  • Aquatic activities: 414.5 (g) (1) (a) (b)
  • Field trips: 414.5 (j)

Nine Required training topic areas

All child care staff/employees/caregivers and volunteers with potential for regular and substantial contact with children must complete a total of 30 hours of training every two (2) years.

Such training must address the following topics: 

(1) principles of childhood development, focusing on the developmental stages of the age groups for which the program provides care

Principles of childhood development include such things as meeting the physical, social and developmental needs of children, including those with special needs; behavior management and discipline; promoting play and physical activity; individual development variation and learning styles; infant and toddler brain development and cross-cultural skills and knowledge.

(2) nutrition and health needs of infants and children

Nutrition and health needs of infants and children include such things as healthy menu planning, obesity prevention, benefits of and how to encourage breastfeeding for mothers returning to work, training in infectious diseases, Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR), first aid, health and safety practices, preventive techniques in sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), medication administration training.

(3) child day care program development

Child day care program development topics include such things as the benefits of continuity of care practices, staff supervision and coaching, program variety and activity; infant, toddler, preschool, and school-age quality programming, promoting children's language development and social and emotional skills, and establishing nurturing, stimulating environments; rest time policies and procedures, including meeting the needs of children who do not nap; hand washing; meeting the program needs of mixed age groups in family day care and group family day care homes.

(4) safety and security procedures

Safety and security procedures include such things as communication between parents and caregivers, emergency preparedness and response practices and procedures, fire safety, pool and water sports safety, playground safety, supervising daily activities and family engagement techniques.

(5) business record maintenance and management

Business record maintenance and management includes such things as training in New York State and federal requirements as a business owner and employer, child day care record keeping and documentation requirements, time maintenance, organizational skills, scheduling and coverage, staff supervision and coaching.

(6) child abuse and maltreatment identification and prevention

Child abuse and maltreatment identification and prevention includes such things as reporting protocol; how to make a report to the state central register; documenting incidents and daily health checks; child abuse policy/procedure including safety plan.

(7) statutes and regulations pertaining to child day care
(8) statutes and regulations pertaining to child abuse and maltreatment

Statutes and regulations pertaining to child abuse and maltreatment includes such things as Mandated Reporter training; responsibilities of a mandated reporter.

(9) education and information on the identification, diagnosis and prevention of shaken baby syndrome

This topic is not required for school-age program staff; however, credit will be given if taken.

For more specific information on these training topics and your requirements, contact your licensor or registrar.