夏季安全

跳到内容

无障碍导航和信息

使用以下链接快速浏览页面。每个数字是快捷键。

翻译

您现在位于本页: 夏季安全

保护儿童和老年人免受夏季过高温度的影响

当温度达到极端水平时,剧烈的高温可能是危险的。 中暑和其他与热有关的疾病会导致严重的健康问题,特别是对婴儿、幼儿、老人和慢性病患者。

重要的是要了解与热有关的疾病的症状,如果有人得了这些疾病该怎么办,以及如何在气温高时保持凉爽和健康。 避免与热有关的疾病的最好方法是创造一个凉爽、健康的环境,避免在户外或其他温度较高的地方度过。

推荐的提示包括。

热量对健康的危害

当身体无法通过出汗来冷却自己时,就会发生与热有关的疾病。 与热有关的疾病的常见形式是中暑(或中暑)、热衰竭和热痉挛

中暑

中暑(或中暑)是最严重的热相关疾病,需要立即就医。 症状包括皮肤发热、干燥和发红;脉搏加快;体温超过华氏103度;失去警觉性;意识模糊;失去知觉或昏迷;或呼吸急促/浅。 如果出现上述任何症状,请立即拨打911和家长电话--这是一个医疗紧急情况。

在等待医疗援助到来时,将孩子移到阴凉处,使用空调或风扇,并使用湿海绵。 裹着的冰袋可以放在脖子、手腕、脚踝或腋下,以帮助冷却体温。 不要给中暑患者输液。

热衰竭

热衰竭的危险性低于中暑,通常是由于在炎热或潮湿的温度下过度劳累造成的。 症状包括大汗淋漓;昏厥;皮肤冰冷、苍白和粘稠;头晕或头痛;恶心或呕吐;晕倒和虚弱。

如果出现症状,应将受害者转移到阴凉的地方,避免阳光直射。 尽可能多地用凉爽的湿布擦拭身体,每隔15分钟给个人喝一口水,持续1小时。 如果发生呕吐,应立即停止给水,并立即就医,同时给家长打电话。

晒伤

晒伤减缓了皮肤自我冷却的能力。 信号包括发红和疼痛;在严重的情况下,会出现皮肤肿胀、水疱、发烧和头痛。

软膏在轻微的情况下可以缓解疼痛。 医师应该看严重的病例。 如果症状严重,请通知家长。

热痉挛

热痉挛是由重体力劳动引起的肌肉疼痛和痉挛。 出汗造成的水和盐的流失导致痉挛。 信号是腹部和腿部肌肉疼痛。

缓解方法可以是坚定地压住抽筋的肌肉,或轻轻按摩以缓解抽筋。 热痉挛的特点是疼痛的痉挛,通常是腿部和腹部的肌肉痉挛,并有大量出汗。 为了缓解热痉挛,在痉挛的肌肉上用力按压或轻轻按摩肌肉。 而在热衰竭的情况下,每隔15分钟给予一口水,持续1小时。 如果症状严重,孩子不能参加活动,请通知家长。

热痱子

热疹是一种皮肤刺激,表现为一簇红色的丘疹或小水泡,是最不严重的热相关疾病。

应将患者移至阴凉处,并保持患处干燥。 可以使用滑石粉来促进舒适。 在接孩子的时候向家长报告症状。

也不要忘记儿童的心理健康。 儿童可能会因为被关在室内而变得焦虑或烦躁不安。 你可能想提前计划室内娱乐和游戏。 儿童也可能因为高温的影响而变得恐惧或紧张。 让孩子们放心,许多人正在努力保护他们的安全。

孩子们从他们的父母和照顾者那里得到暗示,所以记住要保持冷静,并公开和诚实地回答他们的问题。 牢记不要分享超过适合他们年龄的内容。

宝贝在哪里? 锁定前先看看

婴幼儿对极端高温的影响特别敏感,必须依靠他人来保护他们的安全。 当被留在热车中时,幼儿的体温可以比成人的体温快速上升三到五倍。

根据 全球儿童安全 ,平均每10天就有一名儿童在车内死于中暑。 这些死亡是可以预防的,社区中的每一个人,特别是儿童看护人,在保护我们的孩子方面都要发挥作用。

这里有几件简单的事情你可以做。

  • 将对你所照顾的所有儿童进行核算作为你日常工作的一部分。 建立备份系统,检查和重复检查是否有孩子留在车内。 切勿将孩子留在车内无人看管--即使车窗部分打开或发动机开着空调也是如此。 车辆升温很快;如果外部温度在80度以下,即使车窗摇下2英寸,车内温度也能在短短10分钟内达到致命的水平。
  • 在锁门和离开之前,一定要养成看车内情况的习惯--前面和后面。
  • 如果经常由你照顾的孩子没有如期到达,请与指定的家庭成员取得联系。
  • 建立提醒机制,确保没有孩子被意外地留在车内。 将最终目的地需要的物品放在车辆后部,放在孩子旁边,或者将毛绒玩具放在司机的视野中,以示孩子在汽车座椅上。
  • 如果你看到一个孩子独自在热车中,请立即拨打911或当地的紧急电话。 如果他或她因热而陷入困境,应尽快让孩子出来,并迅速给他或她降温。

Summer Safety

Skip to Content

Accessible Navigation and Information

Use the following links to quickly navigate around the page. The number for each is also the shortcut key. You can jump to:

You are on this page: Summer Safety

Protecting Children and Older Adults from Excessive Summer Temperatures

When temperatures reach extreme levels, the intense heat can be dangerous. Heat stroke and other heat-related illnesses can cause serious health problems, especially for infants, young children, the elderly, and people with chronic illnesses.

It is important to be aware of the symptoms of heat-related illnesses, what to do if someone has them, and also how to keep cool and remain healthy when temperatures are high. The best way to avoid heat-related illnesses is to create a cool, healthy environment and avoid spending time outdoors or in other places where temperatures are high.

Recommended tips include:

Heat Health Hazards

Heat-related illnesses occur when the body is unable to cool itself through perspiration. Common forms of heat–related illness are heat stroke (or sunstroke), heat exhaustion and heat cramps

Heat Stroke

Heat stroke (or sun stroke) is the most serious heat-related illness and requires immediate medical attention. Symptoms include hot, dry and red skin; a rapid pulse; a body temperature above 103 degrees F; loss of alertness; confusion; unconsciousness or coma; or rapid/shallow breathing. If any of these symptoms are present, immediately call 911 and the parent – this is a medical emergency.

While waiting for medical assistance to arrive, move the child to a cool place, use an air conditioner or fan, and apply wet sponges. Wrapped ice packs may be placed on the neck, wrists, ankles or armpits to help cool the body temperature. Do not give the heat stroke victim fluids.

Heat Exhaustion

Heat exhaustion is less dangerous than heat stroke, and is often caused by overexertion in hot or humid temperatures. Symptoms include heavy sweating; fainting; cold, pale and clammy skin; dizziness or headaches; nausea or vomiting; fainting and weakness.

If symptoms occur, the victim should be moved to a cool area out of direct sunlight. Apply cool, wet cloths to as much of the body as possible and give sips of water to the individual every 15 minutes for one hour. If vomiting occurs, immediately stop giving the water and seek medical attention immediately and call parent.

Sunburn

Sunburn slows the skin's ability to cool itself. Signals include redness and pain; in severe cases, swelling of skin, blisters, fever, and headaches can occur.

Ointments can be a relief for pain in mild cases. A physician should see serious cases. Call parent if symptoms are severe.

Heat Cramps

Heat cramps are muscular pains and spasms caused by heavy exertion. Loss of water and salt from sweating causes cramping. Signals are abdominal and leg muscle pain.

Relief can be firm pressure on cramping muscles, or gentle massages to relieve cramping. Heat cramps are characterized by painful spasms, usually in muscles of the legs and abdomen and by heavy sweating. To relieve heat cramps, apply firm pressure on cramping muscles or gently massage the muscles. And as in the case of heat exhaustion, give sips of water every 15 minutes for one hour. Call parent if symptoms are severe and the child can’t participate in activities.

Heat Rash

Heat rash is a skin irritation that appears as a red cluster of pimples or small blisters, and is the least serious heat-related illness.

A person should be moved to a cool place and the affected area should be kept dry. Talcum powder may be used to promote comfort. Report symptoms to parent at pick up time.

Don’t forget about children’s mental health, too. Children may become anxious or restless from being kept indoors. You may want to plan ahead for indoor entertainment and games. Children may also become fearful or stressed from effects of the heat. Reassure children that many people are working to keep them safe.

Children take their cues from their parents and caregivers, so remember to keep calm and answer their questions openly and honestly. Keep in mind not to share more than is appropriate for their age.

Where's Baby? Look before you lock!

Infants and young children are particularly sensitive to the effects of extreme heat and must rely on others to keep them safe. When left in a hot vehicle, a young child’s body temperature can increase three to five times as quickly as an adult’s.

According to Safe Kids Worldwide, on average, every 10 days a child dies from heatstroke in a vehicle. These deaths are preventable, and everyone in the community, especially child care providers, has a role to play in protecting our children.

Here are a few simple things you can do:

  • Make it part of your everyday routine to account for all children in your care. Set up backup systems to check and double-check that no child is left in the vehicle. Never leave a child unattended in a vehicle—even if the windows are partially open or the engine is running with the air conditioning on. Vehicles heat up quickly; if the outside temperature is in the low 80s, the temperature inside a vehicle can reach deadly levels in only 10 minutes, even with a window rolled down 2 inches.
  • Always make a habit of looking in the vehicle—front and back—before locking the door and walking away.
  • Get in touch with designated family members if a child who is regularly in your care does not arrive as expected.
  • Create reminders to ensure that no child is accidentally left behind in the vehicle. Place an item that is needed at your final destination in the back of the vehicle next to the child or place a stuffed animal in the driver’s view to indicate that a child is in the car seat.
  • Call 911 or your local emergency number immediately if you see a child alone in a hot vehicle. If he or she is in distress due to heat, get the child out as soon as possible and cool him or her down rapidly.