儿童保护服务政策

跳到内容

无障碍导航和信息

使用以下链接快速浏览页面。每个数字是快捷键。

翻译

您正在浏览的页面是: 儿童保护服务政策

19-OCFS-LCM-07
启动、重新启动或修改家庭评估应对方案的最新要求

本地方专员备忘录(LCM)的目的是告知地方社会服务部门(LDSS)建立或修改差异化反应系统的申请程序。 本LCM适用于任何希望对一些向纽约州虐待儿童中央登记处报告的家庭实施、重新启动或修改家庭评估反应(FAR)方法的LDSS。

19-OCFS-LCM-06
儿童保护服务手册更新

本地方专员备忘录(LCM)的目的是告知地方社会服务部门(LDSSs)对纽约州儿童保护服务手册的更新。 这些更新取代了之前的手册迭代。 本次更新包括对提供澄清或补充信息的章节的编辑或补充,以及附录中供儿童保护服务(CPS)使用的必要表格OCFS-2196,安全护理计划。

19-OCFS-LCM-05
地方社会服务部门根据《家庭法院法》第1034条,以电子方式传递法院命令的调查请求

本地方专员备忘录(LCM)的目的是告知地方社会服务部门(LDSSs),当持有法院命令,根据《家庭法院法》(FCA)第1034条启动调查时,用于向纽约州中央虐待儿童登记处(SCR)登记涉嫌虐待儿童报告的表格和程序的更新。

19-OCFS-ADM-04
扩大对托儿所工作人员的背景调查范围

本行政指令(ADM)的目的是通知当地社会服务部门(LDSS)和自愿授权机构(VA),联邦和纽约州法律对所有在纽约州儿童和家庭服务办公室(OCFS)许可或认证的集中住宿照料寄养项目工作的人员的背景审查有所改变。 这些背景调查包括:a)通过保护有特殊需要的人的司法中心(Justice Center)进行的犯罪背景调查(CBC);b)纽约州(NYS)OCFS全州虐待儿童中央登记册(SCR);以及c)对该人在过去五年内居住的任何州的虐待儿童登记册的检查。

18-OCFS-LCM-19
CAPTA/CARA国家拨款2018财政年度

本地方专员备忘录(LCM)的目的是告知地方社会服务区(区)在2018-19州财政年度(SFY)可获得联邦儿童虐待预防和治疗法(CAPTA)2016年综合成瘾和恢复法(CARA)的资金。

18-OCFS-INF-05
全州中央登记册(SCR)改变附加信息(Add Info)报告的管辖权分配程序

本信息函(INF)的目的是通知地方社会服务部门(LDSSs),纽约州虐待儿童中央登记处(SCR)与附加信息(Add Info)报告相关的管辖分配程序有所改变。

18-OCFS-LCM-14
儿童保护服务手册更新

本地方专员备忘录(LCM)的目的是告知地方社会服务部门(LDSS)关于《纽约州儿童保护服务手册》(CPS手册;2017年12月)的更新。 这些更新取代了之前的手册版本,旨在反映最新的法律、法规和政策。 此外,这次更新还包括对需要额外澄清信息的章节的修订,以及在附录中增加了供儿童保护服务(CPS)使用的资源。

18-OCFS-LCM-05
2018-19年度加强儿童保护服务(CPS)资金(修订)。

本地方专员备忘录(LCM)的目的是告知地方社会服务区(区),在2018-19财政年度(SFY)颁布的预算中,有75.8万美元的地方援助一般资金可用于改善儿童保护服务(CPS)工作人员与客户的比例。 该LCM还提供了关于每个地区的分配、分配方法、地区如何使用资金以及规划和索赔要求的信息。

18-OCFS-ADM-08
为认证或批准寄养寄宿家庭而向纽约州虐待儿童中央登记处(SCR)索取记录

本行政指令(ADM)的目的是为授权机构(即当地社会服务部门(LDSSs)和自愿授权机构(VAs))在寄养家庭首次申请认证或批准以及重新开放期间,提供有关纽约州中央儿童虐待和污辱登记(SCR)检查1的指导。 当被授权机构接到SCR的通知,根据规定的数据库检查,申请人或居住在申请人家中的任何18岁或以上的人是虐待儿童报告中的确认对象,被授权机构必须从该人那里获得一份签名的信息发布授权书(OCFS-5023)。 被授权的机构将利用填好的表格从SCR获得相关记录。

18-OCFS-ADM-05
对居住在寄养寄宿家庭的18岁或以上的人进行犯罪历史记录调查

本行政指令(ADM)的目的是提醒当地社会服务部门(LDSS)和自愿授权机构(VA)1,在经过认证或批准的寄养父母申请更新其认证或批准时,如果之前没有完成犯罪记录调查,则必须通过纽约州刑事司法服务部(DCJS)和联邦调查局(FBI)完成对所有居住在家中的18岁或以上人员的州和国家犯罪记录调查。 这包括已经居住在寄养家庭的任何年满18岁的人(包括寄养儿童),以及自初次或后续认证或批准后搬进寄养家庭的任何18岁或以上的人。

LDSS和VA必须将这些人加入到CONNECTIONS的寄养和收养家庭发展(FAD)阶段,并强烈建议他们在接到新人居住在寄养家庭的通知时,完成对所有18岁或以上人员的犯罪记录调查。

18-OCFS-ADM-04
向负责照料、保管或监护寄养儿童的当地社会服务部门和自愿授权机构转交涉嫌虐待儿童的报告的要求

本行政指令(ADM)的目的是通知地方社会服务部门(LDSS)和自愿授权机构(VA)2017年法律第281章,该章要求地方社会服务部门的儿童保护服务(CPS)确定涉嫌虐待儿童或虐待儿童的报告中提到的儿童,或同一寄养家庭中的任何其他儿童,是否在授权机构的照顾,监护或监护之下。 如果负责照料、保管或监护的机构不在照料这些儿童的寄养家庭所在的同一LDSS中,则调查的LDSS必须尽快将报告发送给该授权机构和其他负责照料、保管或监护该家庭中任何儿童的LDSS。 在本声明中,拥有照顾、监护权的授权机构是指拥有寄养儿童的照顾和监护权、或监护权的LDSS或认证或批准寄养家庭的LDSS或VA。 负责调查的LDSS还必须将调查结果(无论是否有根据)提供给负责照顾、监护或监督的LDSS以及批准或认证寄养家庭的LDSS或VA。

17-OCFS-ADM-16
授权报告人,背景调查;公共资助的有儿童的家庭紧急庇护所

本行政指令(ADM)的目的是通知纽约州儿童和家庭服务办公室(OCFS)许可的家庭暴力受害者寄宿计划,以及当地社会服务部门(LDSSs)关于2017年法律第56章(第56章)Q部分的要求,该部分修订了社会服务法(SSL)第412、413、424-a条,并增加了一个新的第460-h条。

17-OCFS-ADM-15
缓解受命报告人向弱势人群中央登记处重复报告事件的问题

本行政指令(ADM)的目的是通知那些被授权向保护有特殊需要的人司法中心(Justice Center for the Protection of People with Special Needs,简称Justice Center)运作的弱势群体中央登记册(VPCR)报告由儿童和家庭服务办公室(OCFS)运作、许可或认证的项目中的虐待、忽视和重大事件的人,授权报告人要求的变化。

17-OCFS-ADM-03
证实指控的事件日期的记录

本行政指令(ADM)的目的是通知当地社会服务部门(LDSSs)与计算联邦儿童和家庭服务审查(CFSR)中的绩效指标有关的CONNECTIONS数据输入要求。 正如15-OCFS-ADM 25中指出的,及时输入数据和使用事件日期,LDSS必须在CONNECTIONS中输入与任何证实的虐待儿童指控有关的事件日期,这些指控涉及被安置在家庭外照料的儿童,其中包括寄养照料安置。 自该政策发布以来,数据分析表明,在每份儿童保护报告中输入所有经证实的指控的事件日期非常重要,无论该证实是否导致儿童被安置在寄养家庭。 纽约州儿童和家庭服务办公室(OCFS)现在要求LDSS在所有报告中记录所有儿童的每项证实指控的事件日期。

17-OCFS-LCM-15
全州中央登记处敏感的儿童保护服务接案报告的管辖范围分配

本地方专员备忘录(LCM)的目的是建立一个全州统一的程序,以分配敏感的儿童保护服务(CPS)的接收报告。 这将使纽约州虐待儿童中央登记处(SCR)能够及时向当地社会服务部门(LDSS)和CPS传送敏感报告,保护敏感信息的安全,并避免可能的利益冲突。

17-OCFS-LCM-07
2017-18年度加强儿童保护服务(CPS)资金

本地方专员备忘录(LCM)的目的是告知地方社会服务区(区),在2017-18财政年度(SFY)颁布的预算中,有75.8万美元的地方援助一般资金可用于改善儿童保护服务人员与客户的比例。 该LCM还提供了关于每个地区的分配、分配方法、地区如何使用资金以及规划和索赔要求的信息。

17-OCFS-LCM-03
2016年联邦《综合成瘾和恢复法》对《联邦儿童虐待预防和治疗法》的修正以及相应的州要求

本地方专员备忘录(LCM)的目的是告知地方社会服务部门(LDSSs),2016年《综合成瘾和恢复法》(CARA)[公法114-198]对《儿童虐待预防和治疗法》(CAPTA)的修正。 这些修正案涉及到出生后被确认为受产前药物和酒精暴露影响的婴儿的需求。 这个LCM也是为了提醒LDSSs已经实施的程序,构成纽约州对CAPTA修正案的遵守。

17-OCFS-LCM-02
纽约州中央虐待儿童登记处登记的疑似虐待儿童报告的下班后传送程序

本地方专员备忘录的目的是提醒地方专员,纽约州虐待儿童中央登记处(SCR)在下班后将不再口头传送涉嫌虐待儿童的报告,而只支持以电子方式传送此类报告。

17-OCFS-INF-03
纽约州与人口贩运受害者的通知有关的程序

本信息函(INF)的目的是解释识别、记录和报告人口贩运儿童受害者的某些要求(详见15-OCFS-ADM-16)与确认人口贩运受害者身份的过程之间的区别;该过程由纽约州刑事司法服务司(DCJS)和纽约州临时和残疾援助办公室(OTDA)管理。

16-OCFS-ADM-13
与涉及寄养父母的CPS报告有关的要求

本行政指令(ADM)的目的是提醒当地社会服务部门(LDSSs)和自愿授权机构(VAs)有关涉及认证或批准的寄养父母的疑似虐待儿童的报告的现有法规和政策要求。 行政法》还涉及其他现行的监管和政策要求,这些要求有助于防止寄养儿童在这种安置下受到虐待或侵害。 本ADM中的要求旨在支持LDSS和VAs在管理寄养和儿童保护服务(CPS)项目方面的协调和合作,目的是提高安置在经认证或批准的寄养家庭的寄养儿童的安全和福祉。

16-OCFS-ADM-11
修订后的《保护有特殊需要的人司法中心管辖下的设施和提供机构使用的行为守则》。

本行政指令(ADM)的目的是告知受影响的项目和设施,由保护有特殊需要者司法中心(Justice Center)发布的监护人行为准则的变化。

16-OCFS-ADM-07
儿童失踪时与执法部门共享儿童保护服务信息

本行政指令的目的是向地方社会服务区(地方区)传达经2016年法律第13章修订的2015年法律第436章的规定。 这些章节修订了《纽约州社会服务法》(SSL)中关于在儿童失踪的情况下与执法部门分享儿童保护服务报告中的信息。

16-OCFS-LCM-06
2016-17财年加强儿童保护服务(CPS)资金

本地方专员备忘录(LCM)的目的是告知地方社会服务区(区),在2016-17州财政年度(SFY)颁布的预算中,有758,000美元的地方援助一般资金可用于改善儿童保护服务人员与客户的比例。 该LCM还提供了关于每个地区的分配、分配方法、地区如何使用资金以及规划和索赔要求的信息。

16-OCFS-LCM-05
菲利普斯诉奥兰治县--儿童保护服务调查的考虑因素

本地方委员备忘录(LCM)的目的是讨论美国纽约南区地区法院于2015年8月19日发布的有关菲利普斯等人诉奥兰治县等人("菲利普斯")的口头命令。 该命令批准了原告提出的简易判决动议,并认为在本案中,作为儿童保护服务("CPS")调查的一部分,该县在公立学校询问儿童时,对儿童进行了违宪的扣押。

本LCM澄清了儿童和家庭服务办公室(OCFS)的立场,即本命令只涉及橙县,不应改变其他地方社会服务区(区)的程序或协议。

16-OCFS-INF-09
扩大严重或重复虐待的调查结果和全州保护令和逮捕令的自动登记。

本信息函的目的是解释2015年法律第492章对《家庭法院法》(FCA)和《执行法》的修订的影响,该修订已于2016年2月18日生效。 这些变化授权家庭法院在根据《家庭法》第10条提起的虐待和忽视儿童的诉讼中对非父母发出严重或反复虐待的结论。 它们还要求在全州的保护令和逮捕令计算机系统中保留某些在虐待儿童案件中发出的保护令。

15-OCFS-ADM-17
患者保护和可负担医疗法》和医疗补助到26岁

本行政指令(ADM)的目的是通知地方社会服务部门(LDSSs),包括圣瑞吉莫霍克部落,以及自愿授权机构(VAs)有关联邦《病人保护和可负担医疗法案》(ACA)[P.L. 111-148]规定的医疗援助(Medicaid)资格要求的变化。111-148]对以前被寄养的26岁以下的青年和年轻人的要求,以及根据1999年《寄养独立法》[P.L. 106-169],对那些出院时至少18岁或以上且当时未接受医疗补助的青年和年轻人继续提供医疗补助到21岁的选择。

15-OCFS-ADM-10
儿童保护机构与儿童和家庭服务办公室、儿童保育服务司共享调查信息

本行政指令(ADM)的目的是为地方社会服务区(地方区)和为儿童日托机构颁发执照或注册的机构提供指导,说明他们相互之间共享信息的责任。

15-OCFS-LCM-01
为行为健康和儿童保护服务的同地办公/合作提供资金

本地方专员备忘录(LCM)的目的是通知地方社会服务区有120万美元的联邦儿童虐待预防和治疗法(CAPTA)资金可用于儿童保护服务和行为健康伙伴关系。

13-OCFS-INF-05
保护有特殊需要的人法》以及司法中心和弱势人群中央登记处的成立

信息函的目的是告知当地社会服务区和其他机构有关《保护有特殊需要的人法》,即2012年法律第501章。

12-OCFS-INF-07
被遗弃婴儿保护法》的变化

本信息函的目的是通知当地社会服务区和其他机构关于《被遗弃婴儿保护法》(AIPA)的重要变化,该法已通过2010年法律第447章颁布为法律。

12-OCFS-INF-01
儿童保护服务(CPS)和成人保护服务(PSA)之间共享可识别客户的机密信息

本公告的目的是为地方社会服务部门(LDSS)提供指导,说明在地方社会服务部门的儿童保护服务(CPS)和成人保护服务(PSA)部门之间共享客户身份信息的可允许的方式。

Child Protective Services Policies

Skip to Content

Accessible Navigation and Information

Use the following links to quickly navigate around the page. The number for each is also the shortcut key. You can jump to:

Child Protective Services Policies

18-OCFS-LCM-14
Child Protective Services Manual Updates

The purpose of this Local Commissioners Memorandum (LCM) is to advise local departments of social services (LDSS) of updates to the New York State Child Protective Services Manual (CPS Manual; December 2017). These updates replace prior iterations of the manual and are intended to reflect the most recent law, regulation, and policy. Also, included in this update are revisions to sections where additional clarifying information was necessary, as well as resources added to the appendix for use by child protective services (CPS).

18-OCFS-LCM-05
SFY 2018-19 Enhanced Child Protective Services (CPS) Funds (revised)

The purpose of this Local Commissioners Memorandum (LCM) is to advise local social services districts (districts) of the availability of $758,000 of Local Assistance General Funds in the State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2018-19 Enacted Budget for the improvement of child protective services (CPS) staff-to-client ratios. This LCM also provides information on each district’s allocation, the allocation methodology, how districts may use the funds, and planning and claiming requirements.

18-OCFS-ADM-08
Requesting Records from the New York Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR) for the Certification or Approval of Foster Boarding Homes

The purpose of this Administrative Directive (ADM) is to provide direction to authorized agencies (i.e., local departments of social services (LDSSs) and voluntary authorized agencies (VAs)) regarding New York Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR) checks1 during the initial application for certification or approval, and re-openings, of foster boarding homes. When the authorized agency is notified by the SCR in response to a required database check that the applicant(s), or any person 18 years of age or older residing in the applicant(s)’ home, is a confirmed subject in an indicated report of child abuse or maltreatment, the authorized agency must obtain a signed Authorization for Release of Information (OCFS-5023) form from that person. The authorized agency will utilize the completed form to obtain the relevant records from the SCR.

18-OCFS-ADM-05
Criminal History Record Checks of Persons 18 Years of Age or Older Residing in Foster Boarding Homes

The purpose of this Administrative Directive (ADM) is to remind local departments of social services (LDSSs) and voluntary authorized agencies (VAs) 1 that at the time certified or approved foster parent(s) apply to renew their certification or approval, state and national criminal history record checks must be completed through the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) on all persons 18 years of age or older residing in the home, if no such criminal history record check was previously completed. This includes any person already residing in the foster home who has turned 18 (including foster children) and any person 18 years of age or older who moved into the home since the initial or subsequent certification or approval.

The LDSS and VA must add these individuals to the Foster and Adoptive Home Development (FAD) stage of CONNECTIONS and are strongly encouraged to complete the criminal history record checks on all persons 18 years of age or older at the time they are notified that the new person is residing in the foster home.

18-OCFS-ADM-04
Requirement to Forward Reports of Suspected Child Abuse or Maltreatment to the Local Departments of Social Services and Voluntary Authorized Agencies Charged With the Care, Custody, or Guardianship of a Child in Foster Care

The purpose of this Administrative Directive (ADM) is to inform local departments of social services (LDSSs) and voluntary authorized agencies (VAs) of Chapter 281 of the Laws of 2017, which requires child protective services (CPS) of an LDSS to ascertain whether a child named in a report of suspected child abuse or maltreatment, or any other child in the same foster home, is in the care, custody, or guardianship of an authorized agency. If the agency with care, custody or guardianship is not in the same LDSS in which the foster home caring for such children is located, the report must be sent by the investigating LDSS to such authorized agency and any other LDSSs with care, custody or guardianship of any children in the home as soon as possible. For the purpose of this release, an authorized agency with care, custody or guardianship means a LDSS with care and custody, or custody and guardianship of the foster child or the LDSS or VA that certified or approved the foster home. The investigating LDSS must also provide the results of the investigation (whether indicated or unfounded) to the LDSS with care, custody or guardianship and to the LDSS or VA that approved or certified the foster home.

17-OCFS-ADM-16
Mandated Reporters, Background Checks; Publicly-Funded Emergency Shelters for Families with Children

The purpose of this Administrative Directive (ADM) is to notify New York State Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) licensed, residential programs for victims of domestic violence, and local departments of social services (LDSSs) on the requirements of Part Q of Chapter 56 of the Laws of 2017 (Chapter 56), which amended Social Services Law (SSL) sections 412, 413, 424-a, and added a new section 460-h.

17-OCFS-ADM-15
Relief from Duplicate Reports of Incidents to the Vulnerable Persons Central Register by Mandated Reporters

The purpose of this Administrative Directive (ADM) is to notify those who are mandated to report to the Vulnerable Persons Central Register (VPCR), operated by the Justice Center for the Protection of People with Special Needs (Justice Center), abuse, neglect and significant incidents in programs operated, licensed or certified by the Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) of the change in mandated reporter requirements.

17-OCFS-ADM-03
Entry of Incident Date for Substantiated Allegations

The purpose of this Administrative Directive (ADM) is to notify local departments of social services (LDSSs) of CONNECTIONS data entry requirements relevant to the calculation of performance metrics included in the federal Child and Family Services Review (CFSR). As noted in 15-OCFS-ADM 25 Timely Data Entry and Use of Incident Date, LDSSs were mandated to enter in CONNECTIONS the incident date associated with any substantiated allegation of child abuse and maltreatment involving a child placed in out-of-home care, which includes foster care placements. Since the issuance of that policy, data analysis has shown the importance of entering the incident date for all substantiated allegations in every child protective report whether or not the substantiation results in a child’s placement in foster care. The New York State Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) is now requiring LDSSs to record the incident date for each substantiated allegation in all reports for all children.

17-OCFS-LCM-15
Statewide Central Register Jurisdictional Assignment of Sensitive Child Protective Services Intake Reports

The purpose of this Local Commissioner’s Memorandum (LCM) is to establish a consistent statewide procedure for assigning child protective services (CPS) intake reports that are sensitive. This will enable the New York Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR) to transmit sensitive reports to local departments of social services (LDSS) and CPS in a timely manner, protect the security of sensitive information, and avoid possible conflicts of interest.

17-OCFS-LCM-07
SFY 2017-18 Enhanced Child Protective Services (CPS) Funds

The purpose of this Local Commissioners Memorandum (LCM) is to advise local social services districts (districts) of the availability of $758,000 of Local Assistance General Funds in the State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2017-18 Enacted Budget for the improvement of child protective services staff-to-client ratios. This LCM also provides information on each district’s allocation, the allocation methodology, how districts may use the funds, and planning and claiming requirements.

17-OCFS-LCM-03
Amendments to the Federal Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act by the Federal Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act of 2016 and Corresponding State Requirements

The purpose of this Local Commissioners Memorandum (LCM) is to inform local departments of social services (LDSSs) of the amendments made to the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) by the Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act of 2016 (CARA) [Public Law 114-198]. The amendments relate to the needs of infants born and identified as being affected by prenatal substance and alcohol exposure. This LCM also serves to remind LDSSs of the procedures already in place that constitute New York State’s compliance with the CAPTA amendments.

17-OCFS-LCM-02
After-Hours Transmission Procedure for Reports of Suspected Child Abuse and Maltreatment Registered by the New York Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment

The purpose of this Local Commissioners Memorandum is to alert local commissioners that the New York Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR) will no longer verbally transmit reports of suspected child abuse or maltreatment after hours but will only support the electronic transmission of such reports.

17-OCFS-INF-03
New York State Processes Related to Notifications of Victims of Human Trafficking

The purpose of this Informational Letter (INF) is to explain differences between certain requirements (detailed in 15-OCFS-ADM-16) to identify, document, and report child victims of trafficking, and the process of confirming human trafficking victimhood; a process managed by the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) and New York State Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance (OTDA).

16-OCFS-ADM-13
Requirements Relating to CPS Reports Involving Foster Parents

The purpose of this Administrative Directive (ADM) is to remind local departments of social services (LDSSs) and voluntary authorized agencies (VAs) of existing regulatory and policy requirements relating to reports of suspected child abuse or maltreatment involving certified or approved foster parents. The ADM also addresses other current regulatory and policy requirements that assist in the prevention of abuse or maltreatment of foster children in such placements. The requirements reflected in this ADM are intended to support coordination and cooperation among the LDSSs and VAs administering foster care and child protective services (CPS) programs with the goal of enhancing the safety and well-being of foster children placed in certified or approved foster homes.

16-OCFS-ADM-11
Amended Code of Conduct for Use by Facility and Provider Agencies under the Jurisdiction of the Justice Center for the Protection of People with Special Needs

The purpose of this Administrative Directive (ADM) is to inform affected programs and facilities of changes to the Code of Conduct for custodians issued by the Justice Center for the Protection of People with Special Needs (Justice Center).

16-OCFS-ADM-07
Sharing Child Protective Services Information with Law Enforcement When a Child Is Missing

The purpose of this Administrative Directive is to convey to local social services districts (local districts) the provisions of Chapter 436 of the Laws of 2015 as amended by Chapter 13 of the Laws of 2016. These chapters revise the New York State Social Services Law (SSL) in relation to sharing information in child protective services reports with law enforcement during a situation in which a child is missing.

16-OCFS-LCM-06
SFY 2016-17 Enhanced Child Protective Services (CPS) Funds

The purpose of this Local Commissioners Memorandum (LCM) is to advise local social services districts (districts) of the availability of $758,000 of Local Assistance General Funds in the State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2016-17 Enacted Budget for the improvement of child protective services staff-to-client ratios. This LCM also provides information on each district’s allocation, the allocation methodology, how districts may use the funds, and planning and claiming requirements.

16-OCFS-LCM-05
Phillips v. Orange County – Considerations for Child Protective Services Investigations

The purpose of this Local Commissioners Memorandum (LCM) is to discuss an oral order issued by the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York on August 19, 2015 pertaining to Phillips et al. v. County of Orange, et al. (“Phillips”). The order granted a motion by the plaintiffs for summary judgment and held that, in this case, the county engaged in an unconstitutional seizure of a child when the child was questioned in a public school as part of a child protective services (“CPS”) investigation.

This LCM clarifies the position of the Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) that this order pertains only to Orange County and should not change other local social services districts’ (districts) procedures or protocols.

16-OCFS-INF-09
Expansion of Severe or Repeated Abuse Findings and of the Statewide Automated Registry of Orders of Protection and Warrants

The purpose of this informational letter is to explain the impact of the amendments made to the Family Court Act (FCA) and Executive Law by Chapter 492 of the Laws of 2015, which became effective February 18, 2016. The changes authorize family courts to issue findings of severe or repeated abuse against non-parents in child abuse and neglect proceedings brought pursuant to Article 10 of the FCA. They also require that certain orders of protection issued in child abuse cases be maintained in the statewide computerized system for orders of protection and warrants of arrest.

15-OCFS-ADM-17
Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and Medicaid to Age 26

The purpose of this Administrative Directive (ADM) is to inform local departments of social services (LDSSs), including the St. Regis Mohawk Tribe, and voluntary authorized agencies (VAs) of changes pertaining to requirements for Medical Assistance (Medicaid) eligibility under the federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) [P.L. 111- 148] for youth and young adults formerly in foster care who are under the age of 26 years and the continuing option to provide Medicaid to age 21, under the Foster Care Independence Act (FCIA) of 1999 [P.L. 106-169], for those youth and young adults who are at least 18 years of age or older at the time of discharge from care and who were not in receipt of Medicaid at that time.

15-OCFS-ADM-10
Sharing of Investigation Information by Child Protective Services and the Office of Children and Family Services, Division of Child Care Services

The purpose of this Administrative Directive (ADM) is to provide direction to local social services districts (local districts) and agencies that license or register child day care providers regarding their responsibilities for sharing information with each other.

15-OCFS-LCM-01
Funding for Co-location/Collaboration of Behavioral Health and Child Protective Services

The purpose of this Local Commissioners Memorandum (LCM) is to inform local social services districts of the availability of $1.2 million in federal Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) funds for child protective services and behavioral health partnerships.

13-OCFS-INF-05
Protection of People with Special Needs Act and the Formation of the Justice Center and the Vulnerable Persons Central Register

The purpose of the Informational Letter is to inform local social services districts and other agencies about the Protection of People with Special Needs Act, Chapter Law 501 of the Laws of 2012.

12-OCFS-INF-07
Changes in the Abandoned Infant Protection Act

The purpose of this Informational Letter (INF) is to inform local social services districts and other agencies about important changes to the Abandoned Infant Protection Act (AIPA) that were enacted into law through Chapter 447 of the Laws of 2010.

12-OCFS-INF-01
Sharing of Confidential Client-identifiable Information Between Child Protective Services (CPS) and Protective Services for Adults (PSA)

The purpose of this release is to provide guidance to local departments of social services (LDSS) as to permissible means for the sharing of client-identifiable information between Child Protective Services (CPS) and Protective Services for Adults (PSA) units of an LDSS.