
For information about child abuse and neglect, for 
referrals to local organizations that help parents  
and children, and to �nd out what you can do to 
prevent child abuse, call the Prevention Information  
Resource Center (PIRC) and Parent Helpline.  
The PIRC and Parent Helpline can be reached from  
anywhere in New York State, toll-free, 24 hours a day, 
in English and Spanish: 1-800-342-PIRC (7472).

You may not know, except by seeing changes in  
the child and family. Our laws require CPS to work  
under very strict con�dentiality rules, for the  
protection of everybody involved. The workers  
cannot share information about the report.

You can be assured that if the hotline took your 
report, CPS is responding to the situation. The law  
requires that CPS must investigate all reports taken  
by the hotline. If you think the situation has not  
changed, or if you know of another incident of abuse 
or neglect, you may and should make another report 
to the hotline.

How will I know what happens 
after I make a report?

Don’t give the parent dirty looks or make snide remarks. 
That may increase the parent’s anger and make things 
worse. There are positive, supportive things you can 
say and do. For example, “It looks as if it’s been a long 
day for both of you.” “Children can wear you out, can’t 
they? Is there something I can do to help?” Strike up a 
conversation with the adult; see if you can direct the 
parent’s attention away from the child. Praise the child 
and parent at the �rst opportunity.

What else can I do if I think a 
parent I know is abusing or 
neglecting a child?

You can let the parent know that you are concerned 
about her or him. Realize the parent may be under 
stress, feeling lonely and isolated or inadequate as 
a parent. O�er your support. For example, give her 
or him a break by taking care of the children for 
awhile. Encourage the parent to seek other help. 
Encourage a parent who is having di�culty dealing  
with their children to attend a parenting class or 
support group.

What if I see a child being 
mistreated in a public place?

How can I find out more about 
child abuse and neglect?

1-800-342-3720

To report suspected child abuse or 
neglect, call the New York Statewide 
Child Abuse Hotline:
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Recognizing and



What is child abuse? How do I 
recognize it?

Child abuse includes physical abuse, physical 
neglect, sexual abuse, and emotional abuse of a 
child under 18 years of age by a parent or other 
caretaker.

Physical abuse  is a non-accidental injury to 
a child by a parent or caretaker. You may see 
frequent and unexplained bruises, burns, cuts 
or injuries; the child may be overly afraid of the 
parent’s reaction to misbehavior.

Physical neglect  is a parent’s failure to give 
the child food, clothing, hygiene, medical care, 
or supervision. You may see a very young child 
routinely left alone at home. You may know that 
a severe illness or injury is not being medically 
treated. A neighbor’s child may frequently turn 
up at your door—inadequately dressed for the 
weather—saying his or her parent told him or 
her to stay away. Physical neglect can be hard to 
determine: Sometimes what you see is simply 
poor judgment, but not neglect; sometimes what 
you see is the result of poverty, and not parental 
neglect.

Sexual abuse  ranges from non-touching 
o�enses, such as exhibitionism, to fondling, 
intercourse, or using the child for pornographic 
materials. You may see sexual behavior far 
beyond what is expected for the child’s age; 
a young child might have sudden, unusual 
di�culty with toilet habits; there may be pain, 
itching, bruises or bleeding in the genital area. 
The child might tell you. 

Emotional abuse includes severe rejection, 
humiliation and actions intended to produce fear 
or extreme guilt in a child. You may see a parent 
who verbally terrorizes the child, who continually 
and severely criticizes the child, or who fails to 
express any a�ection or nurturing. 

You need to have a reasonable suspicion of child
abuse, not to prove it or be absolutely certain. 
You might be mistaken, but it is better to err on 
the side of the child. Not reporting your suspicions 
may mean that abuse will continue. 

If you make a report in good faith, you are immune
from civil or criminal liability. 

Should I be certain? What if I 
make a mistake?

Reports may be made anonymously. Although
you don’t have to give your name, we recommend 
that you do so. The CPS caseworker who will 
investigate the situation is not the same person—
or even the same o�ce—that takes your report. 
The caseworker may want to talk to you for 
additional information or clari�cation. Giving 
your name will assure that the worker can contact 
you, and that important information will not be for-
gotten or lost. Your name will be kept con�dential. 
By law, CPS may not release the name of the 
person who made the report to the family who 
was reported.  

Do I have to give my name? If I do, 
will it be confidential? 

Within 24 hours of receiving a report, CPS begins an 
investigation. Within 60 days they must determine 
whether the reported suspicion is “indicated” or 
“unfounded.” Indicated means there is evidence that 
the children have been abused or neglected. If abuse 
or maltreatment is indicated, CPS will develop a plan 
with the family to protect the child and to help the 
parents solve problems that are leading to abuse or 
neglect.

Why should I make a report if I 
suspect child abuse or neglect?

The reason to make a report is to get help for the 
child and the family. The Statewide Central Register
of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (Child Abuse Hotline) 
will notify the local Child Protective Services (CPS), 
which is part of the county Department of Social  
Services. In New York City, the Administration for  
Children’s Services (ACS) will be noti�ed. CPS will 
investigate and take needed action to protect the  
child and to help the parent solve problems that are 
leading to abuse or neglect. For example, the family  
may be referred to day care or homemaker services
to help relieve the pressures of parenthood.  
CPS might suggest counseling, participation in an 
alcohol program, or a parenting education 
program.

Will the child be taken away from 
the home if I report?

Only if the child is in immediate danger will she or he 
be taken into “protective custody.”  Removing the child 
from the home is not a routine occurrence. Unless the 
child is in serious danger, the goal is to keep the family 
together.

Then what happens?


