Education Records

Education records may be obtained from

any school the prospective caregiver attended.

Parents should contact schools directly for
further instruction on how to obtain this infor-
mation and any applicable fees.

Pursuant to the federal Family Education
Rights and Privacy Act, educational records
may only be disclosed after the person whose
records are being sought signs a written
release.The release must specify the records
to be disclosed, the purpose of the disclosure,
and to whom the records may be disclosed.

Credit History Reports

Credit history reports pertaining to the pro-
spective caregiver may be requested from
private credit history reporting agencies. Parents
seeking this information should contact a credit
history reporting agency for further instruc-
tions and applicable fees.

All credit history requests must comply with
the Federal Credit Reporting Act.
|

The New York State Office of Children and
Family Services encourages parents to care-
fully and thoroughly evaluate all prospective
caregivers before placing a child in their care.
The records described in this brochure can
assist in that evaluation.

For further information regarding child care
in New York State, please visit our website:

ocfs.ny.gov

New | Office of Children
STATE | and Family Services
Capital View Office Park

52 Washington Street
Rensselaer, NY 12144

Visit our website at:
ocfs.ny.gov

For foster care and adoption
information, call:
1-800-345-KIDS (5437)

For child care complaints,
call:
1-800-732-5207

To report child abuse and neglect,
call: 1-800-342-3720

For information on the Abandoned
Infant Protection Act, call:
1-866-505-SAFE (7233)

For information on services
for the blind, call:
1-866-871-3000

“..promoting the safety, permanency,
and well-being of our children,
families, and communities. ...”

Pursuant to the Americans with Disabilites Act,
the New York State Office of Children and Family
Services will make this material available
in an appropriate format upon request.
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Looking for an

In-Home
Child Care
Provider?

Kieran’s
Law

It can help you
make an informed
decision.




What You Need to Know!

Kieran’s Law took effect on October 27,
1998, to allow parents and guardians of
children to access New York State criminal
history information regarding potential in-
house caregivers being considered for
employment. Kieran’s Law applies only to
caregivers (e.g., hannies, baby sitters) who
would be providing child care in the child’s
home for 15 hours or more per week.

The law allows parents, with the voluntary
consent of the potential caregiver, to forward
the potential caregiver’s fingerprints
to the New York State Division of Criminal
Justice Services (DCJS). DCJS will search
its records to conduct a criminal background
check.

Once the background check is completed,
the parents will be notified of any criminal
convictions in New York State so that they
can make an informed decision regarding the
fitness and competency of their child’s
potential caregiver.

Parents will be charged $75 for each back-
ground check DCJS conducts. This fee may
be reduced based on the parents’ financial
situation and ability to pay.

If you are seeking a criminal background check
on a potential caregiver for your child, write to
DCJS and request the caregiver’s Criminal
History Record Search Request form
(DCJS-3249) and a fingerprint card
by writing to:

New York State Division of
Criminal Justice Services
Criminal History Record Search Unit
80 South Swan St., Albany, NY 12210
or by calling:

(518) 485-7675 or (518) 457-9847
For Spanish, call (518) 485-0962

Criminal history information obtained from
DCJS pursuant to Kieran’s Law is confidential.
Unauthorized disclosure or redisclosure of
the information is a Class A misdemeanor,
punishable by up to one year in prison.

Parents who obtain criminal history
information from DCJS and employ 10 or
more persons in any capacity should be
aware that Section 752 of the Correction
Law may limit an individual’s authority to
refuse to hire someone based upon a
criminal conviction to those instances in
which there is a direct relationship between
the criminal conviction and the prospective
caregiver.

Other Available

Information

Other background information that may assist
in making an informed decision regarding the
suitability of a prospective caregiver may also
be obtained. This information includes, but is
not limited to, records from the New York
State Department of Motor Vehicles, education
records, and credit history information.

Department of Motor

Vehicles Records

In accordance with the Federal Driver’s Privacy
Protection Act (1994), you can obtain a copy of
the prospective caregiver’s New York State
driving record if the parent has the prospective
caregiver’s written consent (preferably
notarized), or if the reason for obtaining this
information falls under “permissible use.”

Department of Motor

Vehicles Records
continued
Permissible use refers to specific circum-

stances that allow parents to access the
individual’s record without his/her consent.

For a parent to obtain the driving record of a
prospective caregiver, the prospective caregiver
must give written consent via form MV-15GC
General Consent for Release of Personal
Information. Once the notarized consent is pro-
vided, the parent can obtain the “lifetime driving
record” of the prospective caregiver by
completing the Department of Motor Vehicles
(DMV) form MV-15, Request for Certified DMV
Records.

Both forms are available online:
the MV15GC at

https://[dmv.ny.gov/forms/mv15gc.pdf
and the MV-15 at
https://[dmv.ny.gov/forms/mv15.pdf

DMV will provide the prospective driver’s
name, address, date of birth, gender, height,
eye color, driver license expiration date, any
alcohol-related convictions within the past 10
years, and any traffic-related convictions with-
in the past four years.

If you visit a DMV office, your request for the
prospective caregiver’s driving record
can be processed on the same day.



