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I. Purpose 

 
The purpose of this Local Commissioners Memorandum (LCM) is to inform local social services 
districts (districts) that the fourth increase in the state minimum wage as authorized by Chapter 
54 of the Laws of 2016, effective December 31, 2019, may affect a family’s eligibility for child care 
assistance.  
 
 

II. Background 

 
Districts were informed of increases to the minimum wage on December 30, 2019, in an 
Informational Letter (INF) issued by the New York State Office of Temporary and Disability 
Assistance (OTDA), 19-INF-08, 2019 State Minimum Wage Increase and Its Effect on Temporary 
Assistance and Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Programs.  
 
New York Labor Law § 652 authorizes increases to the New York State minimum wage. The latest 
increase, which went into effect on December 31, 2019, varies by region, and by size of employer 
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for individuals who work in New York City. The law requires that employers in New York State 
pay all employees who are in the state, but outside New York City and Nassau, Suffolk, and 
Westchester counties, at least $11.80 per hour as of December 31, 2019. Minimum wage 
requirements are also specifically applicable to those employed in the following areas, pursuant 
to the New York Labor regulations cited below: 
 

• Building Service Industry (except janitors in residential buildings) – 12 

NYCRR Part 141.1  

• Miscellaneous Industries and Occupations –- 12 NYCRR Part 142.1  

• Hospitality Industry – 12 NYCRR Part 146.1  

• Farm Workers (if cash paid to all employees on farm during preceding calendar 

year aggregated $3,000 or more) – 12 NYCRR Part 190.1  

 
The state minimum wage rates are scheduled to increase annually on December 31st until they 
reach $15.00 per hour. The scheduled increases vary by region and size of employer as shown 
in the chart below, which is also available on the New York State Department of Labor’s website. 
Large employers located in New York City have already reached the $15.00 per hour minimum 
wage as of December 31, 2018, and therefore were not increased on December 31, 2019.   There 
are also different minimum hourly rates for workers in the fast food industry and food service 
workers who receive tips. Further information can be found at: 
https://www.labor.ny.gov/workerprotection/laborstandards/workprot/minwage.shtm  
 
 

General Minimum Wage Rate Schedule for New York State 2019-2020 

Location 12/31/2019 12/31/2020 

New York City - Large Employers (11 employees or more) $15.00 $15.00 

New York City - Small Employers (10 employees or less) $15.00 $15.00 

Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester All Employers $13.00 $14.00 

Remainder of New York State All Employers $11.80 $12.50 

 
 
Additional information on the minimum wage rate schedule can be obtained by calling  
1-888-4-NYSDOL (1-888-469-7365) or logging onto https://www.labor.ny.gov/home/.  
 
 

III. Program Implications  
 
For some families receiving child care assistance, the increase in the state minimum wage will 
result in additional income and will affect the number of hours an individual is required to work. 
19-INF-08 issued by OTDA, covers the effects of the state minimum wage increase on families 
receiving temporary assistance. Therefore, this LCM does not address how the state minimum 
wage increase affects child care assistance for families receiving temporary assistance. This LCM 
addresses how the minimum wage increase affects child care assistance for low income families 
and families receiving child care in lieu of temporary assistance. 
 
 

https://www.labor.ny.gov/workerprotection/laborstandards/workprot/minwage.shtm
https://www.labor.ny.gov/workerprotection/laborstandards/workprot/minwage.shtm
https://www.labor.ny.gov/home/
https://www.labor.ny.gov/home/
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Changes in Circumstances  
 
Title 18, section 415.3(b) of the Codes, Rules and Regulations of New York State requires that 
all applicants for, and recipients of, child care assistance notify the district immediately of any 
changes in family income and composition, child care arrangements, and any other 
circumstances related to the family’s eligibility for child care services. When informed of a family’s 
increase in income, the district must redetermine the family’s eligibility and adjust benefits as 
necessary.  
 
 
Child Care Assistance in Lieu of Temporary Assistance 
  
The increase in the state minimum wage also affects the required minimum gross earnings of 
families that are in receipt of child care in lieu of temporary assistance. To be eligible for child 
care assistance in lieu of temporary assistance, an applicant/recipient must be otherwise eligible 
for temporary assistance, and they must be employed, defined as having gross earnings equal 
to, or greater than, the required number of work hours multiplied by the state minimum wage. The 
chart below provides the minimum gross earnings and minimum number of work hours for single 
and two-parent households applying for, or in receipt of, child care in lieu of temporary assistance 
by location.  
 
The minimum gross earning amounts in row 1 are calculated based on the relevant minimum 
wage multiplied by 17.5 hours per week. The minimum gross earning amounts in row 2 are 
calculated based on the relevant minimum wage multiplied by 25 hours per week. The minimum 
gross earning amounts for the parent who is employed and earning minimum wage or more per 
hour, or is self-employed and earning at least the equivalent of the minimum wage per hour for 
families that fall into row 5 are calculated based on the relevant minimum wage multiplied by 17.5 
hours per week. 
 
The examples provided in the chart are intended to be representative of the point at which the 
minimum gross earnings, if applicable to the family, are met. The minimum wage of the county or 
state where the job is located, rather than the county of residence, applies when determining 
whether applicable minimum gross earnings are met. However, if a higher wage is established by 
federal law, such wage would apply when determining whether applicable minimum gross 
earnings are met. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



20-OCFS-LCM- 03                                                                                                  January 16, 2020 

4  

Minimum Gross Earnings and Minimum Work Hours for Eligibility for Child Care 
Assistance in Lieu of Temporary Assistance 

 Location/ Minimum Wage 

 New York City 

11 Employees 

or More 

 

Minimum 

Wage 

$15.00/hour 

New York City 

10 Employees 

or Less 

 

Minimum 

Wage 

$15.00/hour 

Nassau, 

Suffolk and 

Westchester 

Counties 

Minimum 

Wage 

$13.00/hour 

Remainder of 

New York 

State 

 

Minimum 

Wage 

$11.80/hour  

Family Minimum Gross Earnings1 

Minimum 

Work 

Hours 

Row 1 

Single-parent family where 

parent is employed and earning 

minimum wage or more per 

hour, or is self-employed and 

earning at least the equivalent 

of the minimum wage per hour 

$262.50/week 

or $1137.50 

per month 

$262.50/week 

or $1137.50    

per month 

$227.50/week 

or $986.00     

per month 

$206.50/week 

or $895.00 

per month 

N/A 

Row 2 

Two-parent family where 

both parents are employed 

and earning minimum wage or 

more per hour, or are self-

employed and earning at least 

the equivalent of the minimum 

wage per hour 

 $375.00/week 

or $1625.00  

per month 

combined  

$375.00/week 

or $1625.00 

per month 

combined 

$325.00/week 

or $1408.00      

per month 

combined 

$295.00/week 

or $1278.00      

per month 

combined 

N/A  

Row 3 

Single-parent family where 

parent is employed in a job 

exempt from minimum wage 

rules and earning less than 

minimum wage per hour  

N/A  N/A  N/A  N/A  17.5 

hours per 

week   

Row 4 

Two-parent family where 

both parents are employed in 

a job exempt from minimum 

wage rules and earning less 

than minimum wage per hour 

N/A  N/A  N/A  N/A  25 hours 

per week 

combined  

                                                           
1Use the following procedure to manually calculate minimum gross earnings: Per week: wage x 
hours worked. Per month: wage x hours worked x 4.333.  Rounding: .01 to .24 round down to 0, 
.25 to .50 round up to .50, .51 to .74 round down to .50, .75 to .99 round up to the next .00. 
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 Location/ Minimum Wage 

 New York City 

11 Employees 

or More 

 

Minimum 

Wage 

$15.00/hour 

New York City 

10 Employees 

or Less 

 

Minimum 

Wage 

$15.00/hour 

Nassau, 

Suffolk and 

Westchester 

Counties 

Minimum 

Wage 

$13.00/hour 

Remainder of 

New York 

State 

 

Minimum 

Wage 

$11.80/hour  

Family Minimum Gross Earnings1 

Minimum 

Work 

Hours 

Row 5 

Two-parent family where  
one parent is employed and 
earning minimum wage or 
more per hour, or is self- 
employed and earning at least 
the equivalent of the minimum 
wage per hour;               

$262.50/week 

or $1137.50 

per month 

$262.50/week 

or $1137.50    

per month  

$227.50/week 

or $986.00     

per month  

$206.50/week 

or $895.00 per 

month  

N/A   

  

  

  

and 

one parent is employed in a job 

exempt from minimum wage 

rules and earning less than 

minimum wage per hour  

 

N/A  

 

N/A 

 

N/A 

 

N/A 

 

7.5 hours 

per week  

 

 

Self-employed parent/caretaker relative(s) must meet the applicable gross earnings minimum. 

(See 95-OTDA-INF-33 for self-employment budgeting.) For parent/caretaker relative(s) in jobs 

that are exempt from minimum wage rules and earning less than minimum wage per hour, there 

is no applicable minimum gross earnings amount; such parent/caretaker relative(s) must only 

meet the applicable number of minimum work hours outlined above. For parent/caretaker 

relative(s) in jobs that are exempt from minimum wage rules and earning minimum wage or more 

per hour, or who are self-employed and earning at least the equivalent of the minimum wage per 

hour, there is no applicable number of minimum work hours; such parent/caretaker relative(s) 

must only meet the applicable minimum gross earnings amount outlined above. However, even 

when programmatic eligibility has been established, care can only be provided for such hours 

during which the caregivers are engaged in work plus travel time between the child care provider 

and the site of employment. Additionally, to determine which requirements above apply and 

whether they are met, each parent/caretaker relative must provide sufficient documentation to 

determine whether they are earning more or less than minimum wage per hour, and whether or 

not they are employed in a job exempt from minimum wage rules, or self-employed. 

  

For more information regarding the eligibility requirements for child care in lieu of temporary 

assistance, please refer to 04-OCFS-ADM-01, Guaranteed Child Care in Lieu of Temporary 

Assistance; 05-OCFS-ADM-03, Child Care Subsidy Program; and 17-OCFS-INF-07, Clarification 

on the Financial Eligibility Requirements for Transitional Child Care. 
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IV. Required Actions 
 
Due to the increase in the state minimum wage, districts must review and adjust benefits as 

necessary for all child care assistance cases. Districts must review families receiving child care 

in lieu of temporary assistance to determine whether they are meeting the new minimum gross 

earnings requirement and/or minimum number of work hours as set forth above. Districts must 

send the appropriate notices to those individuals who do not meet these requirements or whose 

benefits are changed. For more information about the appropriate notices please refer to 16-

OCFS-LCM-03, 30-Day Client Notification for Child Care Subsidy and Revised Client Notices. 

 
 

 
 
 
/s/ Janice M. Molnar 

 

Issued by: 

Name: Janice M. Molnar, Ph.D. 
Title: Deputy Commissioner 
Division/Office: Division of Child Care Services 

 
 


