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I.  Purpose  
  

The purpose of this Local Commissioners Memorandum (LCM) is to inform local social services 

districts (districts) that the increase in the state minimum wage, effective December 31, 2018, 

may affect a family’s eligibility for child care assistance.  

  

II.  Background  
 

Districts were informed of increases to the minimum wage on December 12, 2018, in an 

informational letter (INF) issued by the New York State Office of Temporary and Disability 

Assistance (OTDA), 18-INF-17, 2018 State Minimum Wage Increase and Its Effect on 

Temporary Assistance and Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Programs.  

 

New York Labor Law § 652 authorizes increases to the New York State minimum wage. The 

latest increase, which went into effect on December 31, 2018, varies by region, and by size of 

employer for individuals who work in New York City. The law requires that employers in New 

York State pay all employees who are in the state, but outside New York City and Nassau, 

Suffolk, and Westchester counties, at least $11.10 per hour as of December 31, 2018. Minimum 

wage requirements are also specifically applicable to those employed in the following areas, 

pursuant to the New York Labor regulations cited below:  
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• Building Service Industry (except janitors in residential buildings) – 12 NYCRR Part 

141.1  

• Miscellaneous Industries and Occupations –- 12 NYCRR Part 142.1  

• Hospitality Industry – 12 NYCRR Part 146.1  

• Farm Workers (if cash paid to all employees on farm during preceding calendar year 

aggregated $3,000 or more) – 12 NYCRR Part 190.1  

  

The state minimum wage rates are scheduled to increase annually on December 31st until they 
reach $15.00 per hour. The scheduled increases vary by region and size of employer as shown 
in the chart below, which is also available on the Department of Labor’s website. There are 
also different minimum hourly rates for workers in the fast food industry and food service 
workers who receive tips. Further information can be found at: 
https://www.labor.ny.gov/workerprotection/laborstandards/workprot/minwage.shtm  

 

General Minimum Wage Rate Schedule for New York State 2018-2019 

Location 12/31/2018 12/31/2019 

New York City - Large Employers (11 employees or more) $15.00 $15.00 

New York City - Small Employers (10 employees or less) $13.50 $15.00 

Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester All Employers $12.00 $13.00 

Remainder of New York State All Employers $11.10 $11.80 

 

Additional information on the minimum wage rate schedule can be obtained by calling 1-888-

4-NYSDOL (1-888-469-7365) or logging onto https://www.labor.ny.gov/home/.  

  

III.  Program Implications   
  

For some families receiving child care assistance, the increase in the state minimum wage will 

result in additional income and will affect the number of hours an individual is required to work. 

18-INF-17, issued by OTDA, covers the effects of the state minimum wage increase on families 

receiving temporary assistance. Therefore, this LCM does not address how the state minimum 

wage increase affects child care assistance for families receiving temporary assistance. This 

LCM addresses how the minimum wage increase affects child care assistance for low income 

families and families receiving child care in lieu of temporary assistance. 
 

Title 18, section 415.3(b) of the Codes, Rules and Regulations of New York State requires that 

applicants for child care assistance notify the district immediately of any changes in family 

income and composition, child care arrangements, and any other circumstances related to the 

family’s eligibility for child care services. When informed of a family’s increase in income, the 

district must redetermine the family’s eligibility and adjust benefits as necessary.  
  

The increase in the state’s minimum wage also affects the required minimum gross earnings of 

families that are in receipt of child care in lieu of temporary assistance. The chart below provides 

the minimum gross earnings and minimum number of work hours for single and two-parent 

households.  
 

Examples follow of minimum gross earnings based on four different New York State minimum 

wages for different types of families applying for child care subsidy. The minimum gross earning 

https://www.labor.ny.gov/workerprotection/laborstandards/workprot/minwage.shtm
https://www.labor.ny.gov/home/
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amounts in row 1 are calculated based on the relevant minimum wage multiplied by 17.5 hours 

per week. The minimum gross earning amounts in row 2 are calculated based on the relevant 

minimum wage multiplied by 25 hours per week. The minimum gross earning amounts for the 

parent who is employed and earning minimum wage or more per hour, or is self-employed and 

earning at least the equivalent of the minimum wage per hour for families that fall into row 5 are 

calculated based on the relevant minimum wage multiplied by 17.5 hours per week. 
 

Location/ Minimum 

Wage 

New York City 

11 Employees 

or more 

 

Minimum Wage 

$15.00/hour 

New York City 

10 Employees 

or less 

 

Minimum Wage 

$13.50/hour 

Nassau, 

Suffolk and 

Westchester 

Counties 

Minimum Wage 

$12.00/hour 

Remainder of 

New York 

State 

 

Minimum Wage 

$11.10/hour  

Family Minimum Gross Earnings1 

Minimum 

Work 

Hours 

Row 1 

Single-parent family 

where parent is employed 

and earning minimum wage 

or more per hour, or is self-

employed and earning at 

least the equivalent of the 

minimum wage per hour 

$262.50/week 

or $1137.50 

per month 

$236.50/week 

or $1023.50    

per month 

$210.00/week 

or $910.00     

per month 

$194.50/week 

or $841.50 

per month 

N/A 

Row 2 

Two-parent family where 

both parents are employed 

and earning minimum 

wage or more per hour, or 

are self-employed and 

earning at least the 

equivalent of the minimum 

wage per hour 

 $375.00/week 

or $1625.00  

per month 

combined  

$337.50/week 

or $1462.50 per 

month 

combined 

$300.00/week 

or $1300.00      

per month 

combined 

$277.50/week 

or $1202.50      

per month 

combined 

N/A  

Row 3 

Single-parent family 

where parent is employed in 

a job exempt from minimum 

wage rules and earning less 

than minimum wage per 

hour  

N/A  N/A  N/A  N/A  17.5 hours 

per week   

Row 4 

Two-parent family where 

both parents are employed 

in a job exempt from 

minimum wage rules and 

earning less than minimum 

wage per hour 

N/A  N/A  N/A  N/A  25 hours 

per week 

combined  

                                                
1Use the following procedure to manually calculate minimum gross earnings: Per week: wage x hours worked. Per month: 

wage x hours worked x 4.333.  Rounding: .01 to .24 round down to 0, .25 to .50 round up to .50, .51 to .74 round down to .50, 
.75-.99 round up to the next .00. 
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Row 5 

Two-parent family where  
one parent is employed 
and earning minimum 
wage or more per hour, or 
is self- employed and 
earning at least the 
equivalent of the minimum 
wage per hour;               

$262.50/week 

or $1137.50 per 

month 

$236.50/week 

or $1023.50    

per month  

$210.00/week 

or $910.00     

per month  

$194.50/week 

or $841.50 per 

month  

N/A   

  

  

  

and 

one parent is employed in a 

job exempt from minimum 

wage rules and earning less 

than minimum wage per 

hour.  

 

N/A  

 

N/A 

 

N/A 

 

N/A 

 

7.5 hours 

per week  

 

The examples provided in the chart above are intended to be representative of the point at 

which the minimum gross earnings, if applicable to the family, are met. The minimum wage of 

the county or state where the job is located, rather than the county of residence, applies when 

determining whether applicable minimum gross earnings are met. However, if a higher wage is 

established by federal law, such wage would apply when determining whether applicable 

minimum gross earnings are met. Self-employed parent/caretaker relative(s) must meet the 

applicable gross earnings minimum. (See 95 OTDA INF-33 for self-employment budgeting.) 

For parent/caretaker relative(s) in jobs that are exempt from minimum wage rules and earning 

less than minimum wage per hour, there is no applicable minimum gross earnings amount; 

such parent/caretaker relative(s) must only meet the applicable number of minimum work hours 

outlined above. For parent/caretaker relative(s) in jobs that are exempt from minimum wage 

rules and earning minimum wage or more per hour, or who are self-employed and earning at 

least the equivalent of the minimum wage per hour, there is no applicable number of minimum 

work hours; such parent/caretaker relative(s) must only meet the applicable minimum gross 

earnings amount outlined above. However, even when programmatic eligibility has been 

established, care can only be provided for such hours during which the caregivers are engaged 

in work. Additionally, to determine which requirements above apply and whether they are met, 

each parent/caretaker relative must provide sufficient documentation to determine whether they 

are earning more or less than minimum wage per hour, and whether or not they are employed 

in a job exempt from minimum wage rules, or self-employed. 

  

For more information regarding the eligibility requirements please refer to 04-OCFS-ADM-01, 

Child Care in Lieu of Temporary Assistance, 05-OCFS-ADM-03, Child Care Subsidy Program, 

and 17-OCFS-INF-07, Clarification on the Financial Eligibility Requirements for Transitional 

Child Care. 

 

IV.  Required Actions  

 

Due to the increase in the state minimum wage, districts must review and adjust benefits as 

necessary for all low income and child care cases involving low-income and all cases in lieu of 

temporary assistance child care assistance cases. Districts must also review and adjust families 

receiving child care in lieu of temporary assistance to make sure that the families are meeting 

the new minimum gross earnings requirement and/or minimum number of work hours as set 

forth above. Districts must send the appropriate notices to those individuals who do not meet 
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these requirements. For more information about the appropriate notices please refer to 16-

OCFS-LCM-03, 30-Day Client Notification for Child Care Subsidy and Revised Client Notices. 

 

 
 

 

/s/ Janice M. Molnar 

______________________________  

Issued By:   

Name: Janice M. Molnar, Ph.D. 

Deputy Commissioner  

Division of Child Care Services  


