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I.  Purpose  
  

The purpose of this Local Commissioners Memorandum (LCM) is to inform local social services 

districts (districts) that the increase in the state minimum wage, effective December 31, 2016, 

may affect a family’s eligibility for child care assistance.   

  

II.  Background  
 

Districts were informed of increases to the minimum wage on September 23, 2016, in an 

informational letter (INF) issued by the New York State Office of Temporary and Disability 

Assistance (OTDA), 16-INF-14: State Minimum Wage Increase and Its Effect on Temporary 

Assistance  and Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Programs.   

 

New York Labor Law § 652 authorizes increases to the New York State minimum wage.  The 

latest increase, which went into effect on December 31, 2016, varies by region, and by size of 

employer for individuals who work in New York City.  The law requires that employers in New 

York State pay all employees in the state, outside New York City and Nassau, Suffolk, and 

Westchester counties, at least $9.70 per hour as of December 31, 2016. Minimum wage 

requirements are also specifically applicable to those employed in the following areas, pursuant 

to the New York Labor regulations cited below:  
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• Building Service Industry (except janitors in residential buildings) – 12 NYCRR 

Sub-Part 141-1  

• Miscellaneous Industries and Occupations - 12 NYCRR Sub-Part 142-1  

• Hospitality Industry – 12 NYCRR Sub-Part 146-1  

• Farm Workers (If cash paid to all employees on farm during preceding calendar year 

aggregated $3,000 or more) – 12 NYCRR Sub-Part 190-1  

  

The state minimum wage rates are scheduled to increase annually on December 31st until they 

reach $15.00 per hour. The scheduled increases vary by region and size of employer as shown 

in the chart below, which is also available on the Department of Labor’s website. There are also 

different minimum hourly rates for workers in the fast food industry and food service workers 

who receive tips. Further information can be found at: 

https://www.labor.ny.gov/workerprotection/laborstandards/workprot/minwage.shtm  

 

General Minimum Wage Rate Schedule for New York State 2016-2017 

Location 12/31/2016 12/31/2017 

New York City - Large Employers (11 employees or more) $11.00 $13.00 

New York City - Small Employers (10 employees or less) $10.50 $12.00 

Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester Counties $10.00 $11.00 

Remainder of New York State $9.70 $10.40 

 

Additional information on the minimum wage rate schedule can be obtained by calling 1-888-

4-NYSDOL (1-888-469-7365) or logging onto https://www.labor.ny.gov.   

  

III.  Program Implications   
  

For some families receiving child care assistance, the increase in the state minimum wage will 

result in additional income and affect the number of hours an individual is required to work.  

16-INF-14, issued by OTDA, covers the effects of the state minimum wage increase on families 

receiving Temporary Assistance. Therefore, this LCM does not address how the state minimum 

wage increase affects child care assistance for families receiving Temporary Assistance. This 

LCM addresses how the minimum wage increase affects child care assistance for low income 

families and families receiving child care in lieu of Temporary Assistance. 
 

Title 18, section 415.3(b) of the Codes, Rules and Regulations of New York State requires that 

applicants for child care assistance notify the district immediately of any changes in family 

income and composition, child care arrangements, and any other circumstances related to the 

family’s eligibility for child care services. When informed of a family’s increase in income, the 

district must re-determine the family’s eligibility and adjust benefits as necessary.   
  

The increase in the state’s minimum wage also affects the required minimum gross earnings of 

families that are in receipt of child care in lieu of Temporary Assistance. The chart below 

provides the minimum gross earnings and minimum number of work hours for single and two-

parent households.  
 

https://www.labor.ny.gov/workerprotection/laborstandards/workprot/minwage.shtm
https://www.labor.ny.gov/
https://www.labor.ny.gov/
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Examples follow of minimum gross earnings based on four different New York State minimum 

wages for different types of families applying for child care subsidy. The single-parent family 

example is calculated based on 17.5 hours per week. The two-parent family example is 

calculated based on 25 hours per week.  
 

Location/ Minimum 

Wage 

New York City 

11 Employees 

or more 

 

Minimum Wage 

$11.00/hour 

New York City 

10 Employees 

or less 

 

Minimum Wage 

$10.50/hour 

Nassau, 

Suffolk and 

Westchester 

Counties 

Minimum Wage 

$10.00/hour 

Remainder of 

New York 

State 

 

Minimum Wage 

$9.70/hour  

Family Minimum Gross Earnings1 

Minimum 

Work 

Hours 

Single-parent family 

earning minimum wage or 

more per hour or self-

employed 

$192.50/week 

or $834.00 

per month 

$184.00/week 

or $796.00    

per month 

$175.00/week 

or $758.50     

per month 

$170.00/week 

or $735.50 

per month 

N/A 

Two-parent family when 

both parents are employed 

earning minimum wage or 

more per hour, or are self-

employed  

 $275.00/week 

or $1191.50  

per month 

combined  

$262.50/week 

or $1137.50 per 

month 

combined 

$250.00/week 

or $1083.50      

per month 

combined 

$242.50/week 

or $1051.00      

per month 

combined 

N/A  

Single-parent in a job 

exempt from minimum 

wage rules and paying less 

than minimum wage per 

hour  

N/A  N/A  N/A  N/A  17.5 hours 

per week   

Two-parent family where 

both parents are employed 

in a job exempt from 

minimum wage rules and 

paying less than minimum 

wage  

N/A  N/A  N/A  N/A  25 hours 

per week 

combined  

Two-parent family where  
one parent is employed 
earning minimum wage or 
more per hour, or is self- 
employed and earns at 
least the equivalent of the 
minimum wage per hour;               

$192.50/week 

or $834.00    

per month 

  

 

$184.00/week 

or $796.00    

per month 

 

$175.00/week 

or $758.50    

per month 

 

$170.00/week 

or $735.50    

per month  

 

N/A   

  

  

  

and 

the other parent is in a job 

exempt from minimum 

wage rules that pays less 

than minimum wage per 

hour.  

 

N/A  

 

N/A 

 

N/A 

 

N/A 

 

7.5 hours 

per week  

                                                
1Use the following procedure to manually calculate minimum gross earnings: Per week: wage x hours worked. Per month: 

wage x hours worked x 4.333.  Rounding: .01 to .24 round down to 0, .25 to .50 round up to .50, .51 to .74 round down to .50, 
.75-.99 round up to the next .00. 
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The examples provided are not intended to be exhaustive, but to represent the point at which 

the threshold is met. In cases where the number of hours is met or exceeded but the wages 

are exempt from the minimum wage, or in which the earnings are equal to that of the required 

number of hours at minimum wage, the household would remain eligible.  In addition, 

parent/caretaker relative(s) earning more than minimum wage may be employed for less than 

17.5 or 25 hours, provided that their income is equal to or greater than the above amounts. 

Self-employed parent/caretaker relative(s) must meet the above gross earned income 

minimums (see 95 OTDA INF-33 for self-employment budgeting). For parent/caretaker 

relative(s) in jobs that are exempt from minimum wage rules, the parent/caretaker relative(s) 

must meet the minimum work hours.  

  

For more information regarding the eligibility requirements please refer to 04-OCFS-ADM-01, 

Child Care in Lieu of Temporary Assistance, and 05-OCFS-ADM-03, Child Care Subsidy 

Program.   

  

IV.  Required Actions  

  

As a result of the increase in the state minimum wage, districts must review and adjust benefits 

as necessary for all low income and child care in lieu of Temporary Assistance child care 

assistance cases. Districts must also review and adjust families receiving child care in lieu of 

Temporary Assistance to make sure that the families are meeting the new minimum gross 

earnings requirement and minimum number of work hours. Local districts must send the 

appropriate notices to those individuals who do not meet these requirements. For more 

information about the appropriate notices please refer to 16-OCFS-LCM-03, 30-Day Client 

Notification for Child Care Subsidy and Revised Client Notices. 

  

   
 

 

/s/ Janice M. Molnar 

______________________________  

Issued By:   

Name: Janice M. Molnar, Ph.D. 

Deputy Commissioner   

Division of Child Care Services      


