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I. Purpose 

 
The purpose of this Local Commissioners Memorandum (LCM) is to inform local social 
services districts (districts) that the increase in the state minimum wage to $9.00 
(effective December 31, 2015) may affect families receiving child care subsidies and 
families receiving child care in lieu of Temporary Assistance.  
 

II. Background 
 
Labor Law § 652 authorizes increases to the New York State minimum wage.  The latest 
increase went into effect on December 31, 2015, and raised the minimum wage to $9.00 
per hour.  Districts were informed of previous increases to the minimum wage on 
December 22, 2014, in an informational letter (INF) issued by the Office of Temporary 
and Disability Assistance (OTDA), 14-INF-15, entitled State Minimum Wage Increase and 
Its Effect on Temporary Assistance (TA) and Supplemental Nutrition Assistance (SNAP) 
Programs.  The law requires that employers in New York State pay all general employees 
in the state, including most domestic workers, at least $9.00 per hour as of December 31, 
2015.  Minimum wage requirements are also specifically applicable to those employed in 
the following areas, pursuant to the New York Labor regulations cited below: 
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 Building Services Industry - 12NYCRR Part 141 

 Miscellaneous industries and occupations - 12 NYCRR Part 142 

 Hospitality - 12NYCRR Part 146 

 Farming - 12NYCRR Part 190 
 
Additional information can be found by calling 1-888-4NYSDOL (1-888-469-7365) or 
logging onto https://www.labor.ny.gov.  

   
 

III. Program Implications  
 
Title 18 of the Codes, Rules and Regulations of New York State section 415.3(b) requires 
that applicants for child care assistance notify the district immediately of any changes in 
family income and composition, child care arrangements, and any other circumstances 
related to the family’s eligibility for child care services.  Districts must remind families 
whose income may increase due to the change in the minimum wage of this reporting 
requirement.  When informed of a family’s increase in income, the district must re-
determine the family’s eligibility and adjust benefits as necessary.  
 
The increase in the state’s minimum wage also affects the required minimum gross 
earnings of families that are in receipt of child care in lieu of Temporary Assistance. 
Districts must review all families who are currently receiving child care assistance in lieu 
of Temporary Assistance to make sure that the families are meeting the new minimum 
gross earnings requirement and minimum number of work hours.  The chart below 
provides the minimum gross earnings and minimum number of work hours for single and 
two-parent households. 

 

 

Family Minimum Gross 
Earnings 

Minimum 
Number of Work 

Hours 

Single-parent family earning minimum wage or more per 
hour or self-employed 

$157.50/week 
or $682.50/month 

N/A 

Two-parent family when both parents are employed 
earning minimum wage or more per hour or are self-
employed 

$225.00/week 
combined 
or 
$975.00/month 
combined 

N/A 

Single-parent in a job exempt from minimum wage rules 
and paying less than minimum wage per hour 

N/A 17.5 hours per 
week  

Two-parent family where both parents are employed in a 
job exempt from minimum wage rules and paying less 
than minimum wage 

N/A 25 hours per 
week combined 

Two-parent family: 
One parent is employed earning minimum wage or more 
per hour, or is self- employed and earns at least the 
equivalent of the minimum wage per hour; 
and 
the other parent is in a job exempt from minimum wage 
rules that pays less than minimum wage per hour. 

$157.50/week 
or 
$975.00/month 
 
 
N/A 

 
N/A  
 
 
 
7.5 hours per 
week 
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The above minimum gross earning amounts are based on the current minimum wage of 
$9.00 per hour times 17.5 hours per week for a single parent/caretaker relative and the 
minimum wage of $9.00 per hour times 25 hours per week for a two-parent 
family.  However, parent/caretaker relative(s) earning more than minimum wage may be 
employed for less than 17.5 or 25 hours, provided that their income is equal to or greater 
than the above amounts.  Self-employed parent/caretaker relative(s) must meet the 
above gross earned income minimums (see 95 OTDA INF-33 for self-employment 
budgeting).  For parent/caretaker relative(s) in jobs that are exempt from minimum wage 
rules, the parent/caretaker relative(s) must meet the minimum work hours. 
 
For more detailed information regarding the eligibility requirements for child care in lieu of 
Temporary Assistance, please refer to 04-OCFS-ADM-01.  
 

IV.  Required Actions 

 
As a result of the increase in the state minimum wage, districts must review all individuals 
in receipt of child care in lieu of Temporary Assistance to determine whether or not they 
are meeting the minimum gross earnings and the minimum number of work hours.  Local 
districts must send the OCFS-LDSS 4782, Notice of Intent to Discontinue Child Care 
Benefits, to those individuals who do not meet these requirements. The notice must 
inform the individual(s) that they no longer meet the minimum gross earnings and/or 
minimum number of works hours, as required in 18 NYCRR 415.2(a)(1)(ii) and described 
in 04-OCFS-ADM-01, Guaranteed Childcare in Lieu of Temporary Assistance. 
 
Local districts must remind child care recipients who use in-home child care providers 
that they must pay at least the minimum wage to such providers. 

 

 

Janice M. Molnar, Ph.D. 

______________________________ 

Issued By:  

Name: Janice M. Molnar, Ph.D. 

Deputy Commissioner  

Division of Child Care Services  


