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The purpose of this release is to inform social services districts and voluntary authorized
agencies of statutory changes to the provisions related to the Adoption Information

Registry administered by the New York State Department of Health (DOH).

Background

New York State Public Health Law (PHL) mandates DOH to establish and maintain the
Adoption Information Registry. Through the Adoption Information Registry, a person
age 18 and over born and adopted in New York State, a birth parent(s), and the adult
biological sibling(s) of an adult adoptee can register to receive non-identifying
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information or, with corresponding registration and mutual consents from the parties, can
exchange identifying information. The PHL also permits a voluntary authorized agency
to maintain a Mutual Consent Voluntary Adoption Registry.

Prior to recent amendments to the PHL, only a birth parent whose consent to the adoption
or whose signature was required on an instrument of surrender could register with the
Adoption Information Registry.  Such birth parents could provide medical or
psychological information anytime after the adoption of the child was final or, with
corresponding registration of the adult adoptee, birth parents could exchange identifying
information. Prior to the enactment of Chapter 469 of the Laws of 2007, birth parents
whose parental rights were involuntarily terminated could not register or submit
information to the Adoption and Medical Information Registry.

Program Implications

Chapter 469 of the Laws of 2007, which was effective on November 29, 2007, amended
sections 4138-c and 4138-d of the PHL to permit birth parents whose parental rights were
involuntarily terminated to register, provide medical and/or identifying information and
consent to the release of identifying information to an adult adoptee born and adopted in
New York State. These changes pertain to both the Adoption Information Registry
maintained by DOH and a Mutual Consent Voluntary Adoption Registry maintained by a
voluntary authorized agency.

Persons interested in registering with the DOH Adoption Information Registry should use
the website www.health.state.ny.us/vital records/adoption.htm to download an
application, or write to:

Adoption Information Registry

New York State Department of Health
PO Box 2602

Albany, New York 12220-2602

There are no fees to register with the DOH Adoption Information Registry. However, the
law allows voluntary agencies that maintain a Mutual Consent Voluntary Adoption
Registry to charge up to $20 for a registration fee or up to $50 to provide non-identifying
information. The individual receiving the information is responsible for paying the fees.
Agencies that maintain a Mutual Consent Voluntary Adoption Registry are responsible
for providing information regarding the services they provide and any fees associated
with those services.
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