Attachment B

GUIDE TO REVIEWING ENROLLMENT FORM FOR PROVIDERS OF LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE OR LEGALLY-EXEMPT IN-HOME CHILD CARE

The enrollment form must be completed and reviewed at least annually and at any other time when a change in circumstances warrants such review. The district dates the form at the top of the page.  The purpose of the date is to assist in identifying when the annual renewal is due.

PARENT AND PROVIDER IDENTIFICATION:

The parent and the provider must complete basic identifying information.  This section provides client identifying information: name, address, telephone number, case number and Social Security Number.  The Social Security Number of the parent is optional.  It also includes the name, address, telephone number and date of birth of the provider. The provider's Social Security Number may only be required if the social services district is making payments directly to the provider.  If the social services district is making the payments for child care to the parent, the provider's Social Security Number can not be required and cannot be used as the reason to deny enrollment or payment of the provider.

Providers who are under 18 years of age must be working in accordance with the labor standards for minors.  A minor must complete and sign a separate attestation, Employment of Minors, that is provided in Attachment G of the LCM and must submit a copy of his or her working papers.  A summary of New York State Labor Law relating to the employment of minors is also included in Attachment G.  Providers must be at least 14 years of age in order to comply with New York State Labor Law.

SECTION I: PROVIDER'S STATUS

In order to be enrolled, the provider must be legally-exempt from the licensing and registration requirements of the Office of Children and Family Services.  The district must determine the status of the provider by obtaining information on where care is being given, how many children are in the care of the provider, and if any relationship exists between the provider and those children.  Providers must check either Statement 1, 2 or 3 to indicate what type of care arrangement applies.  The district must review and obtain any additional information as appropriate to determine whether the care being provided is legally-exempt from regulation.

In-home care (Statement 1)

If care is being provided in the child's own home, the provider can care for all of the children who live in that household regardless of the number of children living there. The number of children that can be in care is not limited as long as all the children reside in this household.  However, if a child (other than the provider's own child) not residing in the household is provided child care in the in-home situation, then the care modality becomes a family child care arrangement.  The restrictions on the number of children in care for a legally-exempt family child care provider apply.  Care is limited to a total of two children or to more than two children if care is three hours or less per day.

Family child care (Statement 2)

If care is provided in the home of the provider or in another person's home, the provider must meet one of the requirements in Statements a, b or c in order to be enrolled.

a. A provider of legally-exempt family child care can care for an unlimited number of children as long as all the children are related to the provider within the third degree of relationship. Relatives within the third degree of consanguinity of the parent(s) or step-parent(s) of the child include: the grandparents of the child; the great-grandparents of the child; the great-great-grandparents of the child; the aunts and uncles of the child, including the spouses of the aunts and uncles; the great-aunts and great-uncles of the child, including the spouses of the great-aunts and great-uncles; the siblings of the child; and the first cousins of the child, including the spouses of the first cousins. However, as soon as one non-relative child is in care, the maximum number of children cannot exceed eight.  The provider cannot care for more than two children who are not related to the provider for more than three hours per day and still meet the definition of legally-exempt.
b. When care is being provided for more than three hours per day, a provider of legally-exempt family child care may only care for one or two children.  These hours need not be consecutive.  For example, if three or more children go to a neighbor's home for one hour before school starts in the morning and for 2-1/2 hours after school in the afternoon, the provider cannot be considered legally-exempt and is required to be registered as a family day care provider or licensed as a group family day care provider.  When care is provided for three hours or less per day a provider can care for any number of children.

c. A provider of legally-exempt family child care may care for more than two children for some portion of the day as long as there are never more than 2 children in care at the same time for a period of time in excess of 3 hours a day.

In determining the number of children, the provider’s own children and children age 13 years and over are not included in the count.

Other care (Statement 3)

The provider may be caring for children in situations that are not clearly specified in Statements 1 or 2. on the enrollment form.  Such situations include the arrangement in which the provider is caring for one child in that child’s own home and bringing another child into that home for care.  The modality of child care in this situation is family child care and the provider must meet the requirements for that modality.

Additionally, the provider may be caring for a mix of relative and non-relative children and would not check Statements 1 or 2.

If Statement 3 is checked, the provider should attach an explanation of the care arrangement. The district should use Attachment F: Documentation of Legally-Exempt Status to determine whether the provider complies with the definitions of legally-exempt child care.  If Attachment F: Documentation of Legally-Exempt Status is not used, the district must use some other means to determine the provider's legally-exempt status and document it in the case record.  If the provider does not meet the definition, then the provider is not a legally-exempt child care provider.

Note that only one legally-exempt provider can operate in the same home at the same time.  Also, a provider cannot operate a legally-exempt family child care home in a home that is a registered family day care home or a licensed group family day care home.  Members of the public assistance unit for the child or the custodial parents are not eligible to be paid as legally-exempt child care providers.

Temporary Assistance (Statement 4)

Providers who are in receipt of public assistance (PA) (temporary assistance or safety net assistance), food stamps (FS) and/or medical assistance (MA) must furnish their case number.  Since payments received for child care services must be budgeted as income for temporary assistance, safety net, food stamp and medical assistance recipients, districts are encouraged to develop procedures to alert the appropriate unit(s) whenever a recipient is enrolled as a provider of legally-exempt family child care or legally-exempt in-home child care.

HOW MUCH IS THE PROVIDER CHARGING?

The parents and provider must list the names of ALL the children (other than the provider's own children) who are, or will be, in the care of the provider.  This includes all children in care, whether or not they receive a subsidy from the Department of Social Services.  The parent and provider must indicate the rate the provider charges for each child in care.  The provider must also attest that s/he is not charging families who receive a child care subsidy more than the general public is charged by checking the box.  Regulations specify that child care subsidy payments for eligible families/children cannot exceed the amount the provider charges to the general public for equal care in the providing home.
WHO WILL SUPPLY MEALS AND SNACKS?

To ensure that the children in care will receive meals and snacks, the provider must indicate who has the responsibility for providing the meals and snacks.

The enrollment form informs the provider that there is a program available to assist the provider in the cost of providing meals and snacks.  The Child and Adult Care Food Program, administered by the New York State Department of Health, subsidizes the serving of nutritious foods in child care settings which mainly serve children from low income families.  The provider may contact the toll free number listed on the enrollment form for more information.

SECTION II: HOME SAFETY CHECKLIST

This section is a home safety checklist that must be completed jointly by the provider and the parent. There are two parts to the Checklist.  The provider must meet all of the requirements in Part A and agree to abide by all of the health and safety conditions in Part B before s/he can be enrolled.  The statements in Part A must be answered "YES" in order for the provider to be enrolled.  Payment cannot be authorized until all Checklist items marked "NO" have been corrected.  The district may ask the provider and/or the parent to furnish documentation that needed corrections have been made.

Most of the items on the Home Safety Checklist are self-explanatory.  Additional clarification is provided for the following items:

· Two means of escape:  In Part A, there must be two ways out of the home that can be used in the event of an emergency.  Both means of escape have to be remote from one another (separate and apart, not side-by-side or adjacent to one another along the same wall) and lead to an immediate escape.  They do not have to be doors that immediately lead to the outdoors.  Consideration must be given to the provider's ability (such as the provider's age and physical condition) to use an alternate means of escape (e.g., a window leading to a fire escape or an emergency ladder that descends from a window) and to remove all children safely in an emergency.  The number, ages and any handicapping condition of the children in care are factors to be considered.

· Provider health/physical condition:  In Part A, the provider attests that the provider and anyone assisting in the care of children are physically able to provide care.  In addition, the provider must certify that s/he, anyone assisting in the care of the children and all persons residing in the home are free of communicable disease.  If the district has reason to suspect that the information provided is incorrect or incomplete, the district may require that the provider submit a statement from a physician, physician's assistant or nurse practitioner verifying the information.

· Behavioral standards:  The provider must agree to abide by the health and safety conditions in Part B before they can be enrolled.  Neither the parent nor the provider can be given a waiver of any of these requirements.  For example, a parent who smokes may say s/he does not care that the provider also smokes.  However, smoking indoors while children are in care, (or in a vehicle while children are being transported) is prohibited.  Similarly, a provider who will not abide by the prohibition against corporal punishment (i.e., "I just give them a swat on the behind"), is not eligible for enrollment.  The examples of corporal punishment listed on the Checklist are not meant to be an exhaustive list and are cited in order to clarify and emphasize that such actions are unacceptable.

The provider and parent must sign and date the Checklist attesting that the home has been inspected with the parent, that all statements on the Checklist are true and accurate, and that they agree with the conditional statements in Section B.  Failure of the parent or provider to sign the Checklist precludes the provider from being enrolled.

SECTION III: CRIMINAL HISTORY CERTIFICATIONS

This section solicits information regarding whether the provider or any employee or volunteer has any criminal convictions in New York State or in any other jurisdiction.  The provider must complete each statement for him/herself and on behalf of all volunteers who have the potential for regular and substantial contact with children in care and all employees by checking the appropriate box which provides accurate and correct information related to their specific situations.  Additionally, the provider of legally-exempt family child care must also attest to the criminal convictions of household members age (18 years or over) of the home in which care is being provided (other than the child’s own home).  The provider must attest that s/he has specifically asked each volunteer, employee, and such household member if s/he has been convicted of a crime.

If the provider or any employee, volunteer, or household member has been convicted of a crime, additional information concerning the specifics of the crime, the date of conviction and other relevant information must be provided to both the parent and the social services district in writing.  If the provider fails to furnish such information, the provider cannot be enrolled.

Sealed criminal convictions as a juvenile are not considered in the evaluation of an individual's criminal background.  However, if there is independent knowledge of the events in question, for example the applicant recounts his history of fire setting or sexual abuse, that information could be used since it is separate and distinct from the sealed criminal record.  The review would be based on the underlying facts of the activity and not the fact that the person was convicted.

The district should review the criminal history presented by the provider according to the following:

1. A provider who has been convicted or a provider that employs an individual, uses a volunteer or provides care in a home (other than the child’s own home) in which there is a household member age 18 years or older who has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor crime against children cannot be enrolled.  Refer to Attachment H for a list of these crimes.

2. A provider convicted or a provider which employs an individual, uses a volunteer or provides care in a home (other than the child’s own home) in which a household member age 18 years or older who has been convicted of a violent or other serious crime is considered by the Office of Children and Family Services to present an unreasonable risk to the safety or welfare of the child(ren) in legally-exempt care.  A conviction for any of these crimes creates a strong presumption against enrolling the legally-exempt provider in question.  These crimes are listed in Attachment H to this LCM.  A provider can request that the district consider and review any extenuating circumstances pertaining to the conviction and determine whether an exception could be made to the presumption against enrollment.  This presumption could be overcome only upon a showing of some extraordinary circumstances justifying enrollment; and the provider is responsible for supplying documentation that details the extenuating circumstances.  Districts are not required to review extenuating circumstances concerning these convictions unless the parent indicates that s/he still wants to arrange care with this provider.  The district must review the extenuating circumstances according to the guidelines in Attachment I: Criminal History Evaluations for Legally-Exempt Providers.  If the district determines that the conviction would not pose an unreasonable risk to the safety or welfare of the child and the parent still wishes to use the provider, the district must obtain a signed statement from the parent indicating that the parent is aware of the specific convictions(s) and still chooses this provider.  A model acknowledgment form that the district may use for this purpose is provided as Attachment J: Parental Acknowledgment.

3. For all other felony and misdemeanor convictions, the district must evaluate whether the criminal background poses an unreasonable risk to the safety or welfare of the child(ren).  The provider must furnish additional information needed to make an evaluation.  Such information may include, but is not limited to: the nature of the crime, the penalties imposed as the result of the conviction, any evidence of rehabilitation, and the length of time that has elapsed since the conviction.  The information provided must be verified.  Evaluations must be made in a manner consistent with the guidelines in Attachment I: Criminal History Evaluations for Legally-Exempt Providers.

The district must determine whether the specific conviction would eliminate the provider from being enrolled.  If the district determines that the conviction would not pose an unreasonable risk to the safety or welfare of the child and the parent still wishes to use the provider, the district must obtain a signed statement from the parent (Attachment J: Parental Acknowledgment) indicating that the parent is aware of the specific convictions(s) and still chooses this provider.  Districts are not required to review the criminal background of the provider, volunteers or employees unless the parent indicates that s/he still wants to arrange care with the provider.

The provider is required to sign and date this section.  The provider cannot be enrolled if the provider refuses to sign or does not provide complete and accurate information as required.
SECTION IV: PARENT AND PROVIDER CERTIFICATIONS

This section specifies responsibilities and requirements with which providers and parents must comply.

Part A:  The provider must certify that s/he will notify the social services district immediately of changes in the number of children in care or the number of hours that care is provided.  In addition, the provider will maintain and submit accurate attendance records as required by the Department of Social Services.  The provider also agrees to collect the family share (fee) if instructed by the social services district to do so and will inform the district if the parent fails to pay the required family share.  

Part B: The parent must certify that s/he understands the social services district may not be able to pay a provider if the provider, any volunteer who has regular contact with their children or employee of the provider have been convicted of a crime.  The social services district will evaluate and review the information pertaining to the criminal conviction(s) provided by the potential provider.  If, as a result of the evaluation of the criminal conviction record by the social services district, it is determined that the provider can be enrolled, the parent has the right to decide if s/he wants to use this provider.  The parent understands that s/he always has the right to select another provider.

The parent also certifies that s/he will notify the Department of Social Services if there is a change in the number of hours that care is needed or if any other circumstance changes that would affect his or her need for care or eligibility for child care services.  The parent understands and agrees to pay the family share (fee) as directed by the Department of Social Services. 

The parent certifies that s/he has selected the provider to furnish care to the children and assumes responsibility for monitoring the quality of care furnished to the children.

Part C: The parent and provider certify that the statements on the enrollment form and any attachments are accurate and true.  They understand and acknowledge that providing false or inaccurate information could cause termination of payments and legal action by the Department of Social Services.

The parent and the provider certify that the parent has specifically asked the provider whether the provider, volunteers who have regular contact with the children in care and employees have been the subject of an indicated report of child abuse or maltreatment.  The provider certifies that s/he has asked volunteers who are likely to have regular contact with the children in care and employees if they have been the subject of an indicated report of child abuse or maltreatment.

The provider certifies that s/he has given the parent true and accurate information in writing regarding whether the provider, volunteers and employees have been the subject of an indicated report of child abuse or maltreatment.  The parent certifies that the information pertaining to child abuse and maltreatment indications has been considered before choosing the provider.  The parent understands and acknowledges that s/he has the right to select another provider.

The parent and the provider certify that they completed the Home Safety Checklist together and that they understand that payment cannot be made until items marked "No" on the Checklist have been corrected.  The parent and provider agree to notify and provide documentation to the Department of Social Services when any item on the Checklist has been corrected or changed.

Both the parent and the provider are required to sign and date this section attesting that they agree with the terms and conditions in this section.  The provider cannot be enrolled if either the parent or provider refuses to sign or agree to the requirements.

INFORMATION ON REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND MALTREATMENT

There may be circumstances when the district is aware that the information the parent received from the provider regarding indicated reports of child abuse or maltreatment is inaccurate or false.  Note that districts can act only on information they have legally obtained.  Districts cannot seek out child protective information by conducting a clearance and cannot provide confidential information to the parent without the provider's consent. The district must inform the parent that the provider cannot be enrolled until the provider gives correct information to the parent.  If the parent wishes to use the provider, the district must contact and inform the provider that the provider must give a full account of the indicated report(s) to the parent.  No action can be taken on the enrollment of the provider until the parent is given a correct written statement from the provider and makes a decision based on this information.  If the revised statement leads the district to conclude that the child would be at risk if placed with this provider, the worker must inform the parent of this conclusion and that the district, as a mandated reporter, would be required to file a report with the State Central Register should the parent place his or her child with this provider.

NOTIFYING PARENTS OF THE DENIAL OF ENROLLMENT

Districts must inform parents when the provider they have selected cannot be enrolled.  The information must describe the reasons why the provider cannot be enrolled and indicate if the provider could be enrolled if corrective action is taken.  For example, if a provider can not be enrolled due to the lack of smoke alarms, the parent must be informed that enrollment may be completed once smoke alarms are installed and operating.  If the circumstances cannot be rectified (such as a provider with a conviction for a crime against children), the district must inform the parent that s/he has to find another provider.  The district should offer assistance in locating another provider.

The information provided to the parent may be provided verbally or in writing.  In either case, documentation must be in the case record regarding the information provided to the parent.

Districts are not required to notify providers of the decision regarding enrollment but may do so.  Unlike licensed or registered providers who are being denied a permit to operate, legally-exempt providers that do not meet the health and safety standards are not being denied the ability to operate.  Although they are denied child care subsidy funds, they are able to care for children from private pay parents.  Legally-exempt providers do not have a right to a hearing on the denial of enrollment.
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