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The Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) received three comments from one responder, South Brooklyn Legal Services, on the Notice of Proposed Rule Making for the New York State Child Day Care Regulations, Parts 413.3 and 413.5 of Title 18 of the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York (NYCRR), included in the New York State Register dated July 27, 2016. 


Referrals to Law Enforcement

Comments:

The responder’s first comment relates to §413.3(a)(11) which permits OCFS to refer to law enforcement, including but not limited District Attorneys, any child day care provider that has been directed to cease and desist operations by the Office pursuant to existing law and that has not ceased operations.  Responder comments, in sum, that the proposed regulation does not specify a timeframe for providers to comply with a cease and desist order before a referral is made to law enforcement; that the safety of children in care is in jeopardy by law enforcement intervention; and that it should be within the District Attorney’s discretion whether to notify law enforcement.  

Response:

Pursuant to Social Services Law §390(3)(d) and 18 NYCRR §413.5(d), providers shall not operate a day care program after being directed to cease and desist operations.  Furthermore, the term “law enforcement” may include entities such as the local or state police or the Attorney General.  The proposed regulation provides OCFS with flexibility to contact the most appropriate law enforcement office or official under the circumstances.  Finally, the safety of children in care is always a paramount consideration for OCFS, and the option to refer to law enforcement, including District Attorneys, is in keeping with that consideration. 

No changes to the proposed regulation were made as a result of these comments. 


Fines

Comments:

The responder’s second comment relates to §413.3(f) which provides for increases in the maximum fines for Class II and Class III violations.  Responder comments, in sum, that under the proposed regulation the fines are increased for licensed and registered providers, but not for unlicensed and unregistered providers and that the fines are too high which jeopardizes the ability of providers to stay in business. 
Response:

Social Services Law §390(11) places a statutory cap of $500 per day on the amount of fines that may be assessed against licensed and registered and unlicensed and unregistered providers.  18 NYCRR §413.3(e) already authorizes OCFS to charge the maximum amount of $500 per day against a program that is operating without the requisite license or registration.  The increase in allowable fines that may be assessed against licensed and registered programs under the proposed regulation appropriately permits s OCFS to impose graduated sanctions, within the statutory cap, for providers that are repeatedly found to have committed the same offense. 

No changes to the proposed regulation were made as a result of these comments.  


Circumstances that the Warrant Temporary Suspension or Limitation 

Comments:

The responder’s final comment relates to §413.5(a) which clarifies those circumstances that warrant the temporary suspension or limitation without a hearing of a provider’s license or registration.  Responder comments, in sum, that the language is overly broad, subject to numerous possible interpretations and fails to clarify the parameters for temporarily suspending or limiting a program without a hearing and that case-by-case judgment should continue to be employed prior to suspension without hearing.  

Response:

The proposed regulation provides more clarity for inspectors and providers regarding circumstances that may constitute imminent danger, thereby providing for more consistent enforcement outcomes and better notice.  As evidenced by the regulation’s language, most of the circumstances delineated may be considered and do not represent an exhaustive list.  Moreover, the proposed regulation does not eliminate OCFS’ discretion, or case-by-case analysis, in determining whether a provider’s license or registration should be temporarily suspended or limited.  Furthermore, the regulation would not change the statutory requirement contained within Social Services §390(10) for a finding that the public health or an individual’s safety or welfare be in imminent danger for a child care program to be temporarily suspended or limited. 

No changes to the proposed regulation were made as a result of these comments.  
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