Office of Children and Family Services


Title IV-E

Article Details


Training Announcement
Purchase of Service (POS) Coding for Title IV-E Program

The New York State Office of Children and Family Services is pleased to announce the offering of a new child welfare eligibility class, "Purchase of Services (POS) Coding for Title IV-E Programs." The targeted audience is local district child welfare service workers, staff who work on Title IV-E foster care, adoption, and KinGAP eligibility determinations, and fiscal staff who review authorizations to determine appropriate expenditures and reimbursement.

This class will provide direction based on federal policies regarding expenditures eligible for Title IV-E reimbursement and the proper Welfare Management System (WMS) POS type codes to be used for such expenditures. It will also include instructions on how to appropriately document Title IV-E eligible purchase of services.

The training will include a discussion regarding inappropriate authorizations and the inappropriate use of purchase of services type codes to claim Title IV-E foster care reimbursement for expenditures that are not allowable under the Title IV-E funding category.

The first offerings of the 2017 classes are scheduled for October 25, 2017 and November 8, 2017 from 9 a.m. to noon. There will be a limited number of offerings after that date and prior to the year's end, so register today! For more information, visit the HSLC training site: Additional classes are scheduled to start in January 2018 and will soon be posted in HSLC.


What is Title IV-E?

Title IV-E of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. §§ 671-679b) is an important funding stream for foster care costs. It provides for federal reimbursement for a portion of the maintenance and administrative costs of foster care for children who meet specified federal eligibility requirements. In New York, the federal share is 50%. The federal funds help offset the State and local costs of providing foster care to children. However, not all children in foster care in New York are eligible for federal Title IV-E reimbursement.

These pages are a resource to assist OCFS, local districts and the St. Regis Mohawk Tribe, along with the other interested parties, to achieve the goals and action steps for continued compliance with federal standards and a successful federal review.