Do You Suspect Abuse or Maltreatment?
Report it Now!
Call our Statewide Toll Free Telephone Number:
If you are deaf or hard of hearing, call TDD/TTY at
or have your Video Relay System provider call
If you believe that a child is in immediate danger,
call 911 or your local police department.
The Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment
The abuse or maltreatment of children is against the law. Victims need an effective child protective service to prevent them from suffering further injury and impairment.
The purpose of the Child Protective Services Act of 1973 is to encourage more complete reporting of child abuse and maltreatment. The law established child protective services (CPS) in each county in New York. Each CPS is required to investigate child abuse and maltreatment reports, to protect children (anyone under 18 years old) from further abuse or maltreatment, and to provide rehabilitative services to children, parents, and other family members involved.
The New York State Office of Children and Family Services maintains the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR, also known as the “hotline”) for reports made pursuant to the Social Services Law.
The SCR receives telephone calls alleging child abuse or maltreatment within New York State. SCR staff relay information from the calls to the local CPS for investigation, monitors their prompt response, and identifies whether there are prior child abuse or maltreatment reports.
The SCR receives calls 24 hours a day, every day from two types of sources: persons who are required by law (mandated) to report suspected cases of child abuse and maltreatment; and calls from non-mandated reporters, including the public.
Among those who are mandated reporters:
- Medical and hospital personnel
- School officials
- Social service workers s
- Child care workers
- Residential care workers and volunteers
- Law enforcement personnel
Other mandated reporters are listed in the Summary Guide for Mandated Reporters. This publication provides mandated reporters with an overview of their obligations and a conceptual framework of New York State’s child protective services system. The guide is available in the following languages:
- English (Pub1159)
- Arabic (Pub1159-AR)
- Chinese, traditional (Pub1159-CH)
- Russian (Pub1159-RU)
- Spanish (Pub1159-S)
Voluntary reporters (for example, neighbors, relatives and concerned citizens) may also use the statewide, toll free number to make reports. If you suspect a child has been harmed or is at risk, please dial 1-800-342-3720, to report what you have seen or heard. You can make a difference.
Mandated reporters must file, within 48 hours of an oral report, a signed, written report, Report of Suspected Child Abuse or Maltreatment (LDSS-2221A). This written report is to be filed with the appropriate local CPS. Mandated reporters may request the address of the investigative district from the SCR’s child protective specialist at the time of the oral report to the SCR. LDSS-2221A is available in the following languages:
Translate This Page
- Child Protective Services
- Child Protective Services Home
- Concerned Citizen's Guide to Reporting Suspected Child Abuse and Maltreatment
- Child Protective Services Manual
- Definitions of Child Abuse and Maltreatment
- Mandated Reporter Training
- SCR Online Clearance System
- Signs of Child Abuse or Maltreatment
- Family Assessment Response