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DIVISION OF CHILD CARE SERVICES POLICY STATEMENT 

17-4 

Community-Based Organizations Operating Programs in School 

Buildings 

 

ID NUMBER:    17-4 
 

TOPIC: Community-Based Organizations Operating Programs in School 

Buildings 

 

MODALITIES IMPACTED:  Day Care Centers, Small Day Care Centers, School-Age Child Care 

 
APPLICABLE REGULATIONS: Title 18 of the New York State Code of Rules and Regulations §§:          
      413.2(a)(2)(v)  

       

CONTACT:    Regional Offices     
http://ocfs.ny.gov/main/childcare/regionaloffices.asp  

 

EFFECTIVE:    IMMEDIATELY  
__________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
THIS POLICY STATEMENT IS EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY AND CANCELS ALL PREVIOUS MEMOS 

OR STATEMENTS ON THIS TOPIC. 
 

The purpose of this policy statement is to clarify when a community-based organization (CBO) 
operating a child care program located in a public or private school is required by New York 
State Social Services Law and New York State child day care regulation to be licensed or 
registered with the New York State Office of Children and Family Services as a child day care 
program. 
 
Section 390(1)(a)(ii)(D) of the Social Services Law and Title 18 of the New York State Codes of 
Rules and Regulations § 413.2(a)(2)(v) exempt from the definition of child day care: 
 

“…a kindergarten, pre-kindergarten, or nursery school for children 
three years of age or older, or after-school program for children 

operated by a public school district or by a private school or academy 
which is providing elementary or secondary education or both, in 

accordance with the compulsory education requirements of the education 
law, provided that the kindergarten, pre-kindergarten, nursery school, 

or after school program is located on the premises or campus where the 
elementary or secondary education is provided.” 

http://ocfs.ny.gov/main/childcare/regionaloffices.asp
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In determining whether a license or registration is required, the following factors must be 
considered: 
 

 The ages of the children in care  

 The identity of the operator (school administrators or CBO) 

 The location of the program 

 The number of hours the program is in session (as applicable)  
 

Absent any verification that the school is acting as the operator (the entity with responsibility for 
oversight and direction of the program), the CBO shall be considered the legal entity 
responsible for the oversight of the child day care program.  As such, the CBO as the operator 
of the program must be licensed or registered.     

 
In situations when the school is responsible for the operation of the program, the program is 
exempt from licensure or registration. A letter from a school official such as a principal or 
superintendent that stipulates the school has responsibility for the oversight and direction of the 
program would be sufficient verification.   
 
The chart below illustrates examples of programs that would or would not require 
licensure/registration. 
 

Location of the 
program 

Hours of 
operation 

Who is the 
operator? 

Ages- of- 
children 

Required to be Licensed / 
Registered? 

On or off  
school grounds  

3 hours or 
less 

CBO or 
school  

2-, 3- and 4-year-
old children 

Not required to be licensed or 
registered based on the hours 
of operation (3 hours or less) 

On school 
grounds 

More than 3 
hours 

School  
3- and 4-year- 

olds 

Not required to be licensed or 
registered based on the 

location of the program, school 
verified as the operator and no 

children younger than 3 

On school 
grounds 

More than 3 
hours 

CBO 
3- and 4-year-

olds 

Required to be licensed based 
on identification of the CBO as 
the operator and the hours of 
operation (more than 3 hours) 

On school 
grounds 

More than 3 
hours 

CBO or 
school  

2-, 3-, and 4- 
year-olds 

Required to be licensed 
because program is caring for 
children under 3 and the hours 
of the program exceed 3 hours 

Off school 
grounds 

More than 3 
hours 

CBO or 
School  

3- and 4-year-
olds 

Required to be licensed or 
registered based on the 

program location. 

On school 
grounds 

Before and 
after school 

School 
3-, 4-, 5-, 6-, 7- 
year-olds and 

older 

Not required to be licensed or 
registered based on the school 
as operator, the location and 

ages of the children (ages 3 or 
older) 

On school 
grounds 

Before and 
after school 

CBO 
3-, 4-, 5-,6-,7- 
year-olds  and 

older 

Required to be licensed or 
registered based on CBO as 

operator. 
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May there be both an unlicensed/unregistered program and a licensed/registered 
program operating at the same site?   

 

 Yes. There are situations in which both an unlicensed/unregistered program and a 
licensed/registered program may operate at the same site. There may be cases in which 
the unlicensed/unregistered program is operated by the school, on school grounds and 
cares for children who are three years of age and older, and the other program (or 
classroom in some cases) may be a licensed day care center caring for children under 
three years of age.  

 
Can these two entities, the unlicensed/unregistered program and the licensed/registered 
program operate under one umbrella program structure? 
 

 No. The two programs must operate as separate and distinct entities. For example, if  
toddler classrooms are operating as part of the unlicensed/unregistered program, then the 
entire program must be licensed as a day care center.  However, if the toddler classrooms 
are operated as a separate and distinct program, only those toddler classrooms need be 
licensed. 
 
To determine if the toddler classroom is a separate program, the following conditions must 
be met: 

o Staff are not shared between the preschool and toddler classrooms during their 
work schedules. Although a staff member may be employed by both programs, 
the hours scheduled in each classroom must be distinct. For example, if a staff 
person’s scheduled hours are 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. in the toddler classroom, they may 
not be assigned to a preschool classroom during those hours for any reason; and 

 
o Preschool and toddler children are not mixed at any time, nor do the toddlers 

share activities with preschool children in classrooms, outdoor play areas or 
dining rooms; and 

 
o The toddler classroom must be administered by a person who has the minimal 

qualifications set in child day care regulation to perform the functions of a child 
day care director. If the director of the toddler room is also an administrator for 
the preschool program, he/she must be employed by both programs and have 
separate scheduled hours that are distinct to each program.   

  
If any of the above conditions are not met, the programs are not considered separate 
and distinct and the entire program must be licensed as a child day care program. 

 

Approved By:  

 

 

Date: August 21, 2017              

Janice M. Molnar, Ph.D. 
Deputy Commissioner                          


