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      December, 2011 

Dear Provider: 

This letter contains very important updates and information for all child care providers and programs. 

  
For Family Child Care and Group Family Child Care providers  

As you may know, provisions permitting the unionization of certain child care providers were added to the 
New York State Labor Law through the enactment of Chapter 540 of the Laws of 2010, which added a new 
Article 19-c (sections 695-a through 695-g). The legislation allowed home-based child care providers to 
organize themselves and select representatives for the purpose of discussing with the State the conditions of 
their employment, the stability of funding and operation of child care programs, and the expansion of 
quality child care.  The Civil Service Employee Association (CSEA), Local 1000, AFSCME, AFL-CIO is 
currently the designated union for the following home-based day care providers: family day care, group 
family day care, legally-exempt in home, and legally-exempt family child care providers operating in all 
areas of New York State with the exception of the five boroughs of NYC.  The United Federation of 
Teachers (UFT) currently is the designated union for home-based day care providers located within the five 
boroughs of NYC.   
 
In addition, Chapter 59 of the Laws of 2010 authorizes the unions representing these home-based child care 
providers to collect fair share payments (refers to union dues that are required to be paid by home-based 
child care providers who either join or choose not to join the union). The amount of the fair share payment 
must not exceed the amount of dues uniformly required of the providers who choose to be members of the 
union.  This means that union dues/fees may now be collected from home-based providers regardless of 
whether or not the provider chooses to become a member of the union*.  The Chapter Law further provides 
that, for providers who receive payments directly from local social services districts on behalf of one or more 
families receiving subsidized child care services, the union payments shall be deducted from the child care 
subsidy payments that otherwise would go to the provider and transmitted to the union. CSEA has 
established union dues at 2% of each child care payment and has established an annual maximum limit of 
$690 for each provider for Calendar Year 2012. Therefore, beginning with child care payments issued 
directly to home-based providers by social services districts outside of New York City on or after January 3, 
2012, a 2% deduction will be taken from each child care subsidy payment up to the annual maximum 
amount of $690.00. The Benefits Issuance and Control System (BICS), the payment system that issues child 
care subsidy payments to providers, will automatically deduct 2% from each child care payment, beginning 
January 3, 2012, not to exceed an annual maximum amount of $690.00.  
  
Included on the payment stub of each check will be information about the amount of the deduction and 
contact information for CSEA. All calls, inquiries, or communications about union dues/fees from child 
care providers residing in social service districts outside of NYC should be directed to the Union at the 
following address: CSEA Membership Department, 143 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12210; or by 

phone at: 877-483-CSEA (2732); or by email at www.voicecsea.org . 

CSEA UNION DUES/FEES - OUTSIDE OF NYC 
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*"Any licensed Group Family Day Care provider, registered Family Day Care provider or legally-exempt provider choosing not to become a member of the 

union will become a fee-payer and may apply for a refund of a portion of dues through the union's procedure to do so.  Nothing in this section should be 

deemed to require a provider to become a member of such representation unit". 

 
The following circumstances/providers are excluded

• Day care centers and school age child care programs; 

 from union dues / fees deductions made by the 
BICS payment system: 

• Out-of-state child care providers; 
• Child care providers who reside on tribal territories or reservation land; 
• Providers who do not receive child care payments directly from their social services district but, 

rather, receive the child care payment directly from parents; and 
• Child care providers who have met the annual limit of union dues deducted ($690) 

 
  

One in five children is overweight or obese by age six.  You can help!   As a child care provider, you have the 
powerful opportunity to instill healthy choices that could help prevent childhood obesity from the start. With 
about 12 million babies and young children in child care nationwide, we can’t afford to wait. You have one of 
the toughest and most important jobs in the world. You might not hear it nearly as often as you should, but 
what you do matters!  
 
Let’s Move! Child Care is a nationwide call-to-action that empowers child care center and family-care home 
providers to make positive health changes in children, early on, that could last a lifetime. Early care and 
education providers who choose to participate in Let’s Move! Child Care (LMCC) are recognized when they 
meet a set of best practices related to the five LMCC Goals (increasing physical activity, reducing screen time, 
better nutrition, eliminating sugar-sweetened drinks and promote breastfeeding).  To help providers reach 
their goals, a number of online interactive tools—including checklist quizzes and action planning guides—have 
been developed through a public-private partnership between the White House, the Department of Health 
and Human Services, the National Association for Child Care Resource & Referral Agencies, Nemours 
foundation, and the University of North Carolina Center for Health Promotion and Disease Prevention and 
other partners. Visit the Let’s Move! Child Care website (www.healthykidshealthyfuture.org) to register as a 
LMCC Participant, access free online tools, or share your story of progress and success.  
 

  The Office of Children and Family Services serves New York's public by promoting the safety, 
permanency and well-being of our children, families and communities. We achieve these results by setting and 
enforcing policies, building partnerships, and funding and providing quality services.   In order to promote 
safety and well-being of children in child care, our licensors and registrars must be available to providers for 
technical assistance and must inspect programs to evaluate compliance with regulations. Research shows that 
unannounced inspections of child care programs encourages compliance with regulatory standards and 
improves quality.  The recent change in licensing and registration from two years to four years for subsequent 
renewal periods was an opportunity for the Division of Child Care Services to evaluate the timing of 
inspections and their purpose.  As a result, we expect to have licensors and registrars in the field more often. 

Early Childhood Obesity 
 

Child Care Field Inspections 
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What this means to you is that you may be visited by your licensor or registrar more frequently.  I hope you 
take this opportunity to ask the questions you may have and share your child care experiences with your 
licensor and registrar. 

 

 
 
 
 
The Division of Child Care Services strives to keep child care providers informed. However, the ability to mail 
hard-copy information more frequently to all 19,000 providers and get it to you all quickly is impossible.  
Because of this, we have made every effort to update our website with important information such as: training 
announcements, consumer product recalls, regulations, policies, handbooks, subsidy market rate changes, 
disaster recovery information, new crib standards, links to websites that will assist your businesses and much, 
much more.  We recommend that you stay current by visiting the Division of Child Care Services website 
routinely.   Save it as a favorite!  Contact us and tell us what you think. The website is for you, because what 
you know and what you do is important to the children and families in your care every day! 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 Since the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) recommended all babies should be placed on 
their backs to sleep in 1992, deaths from Sudden Infant Death Syndrome have declined 

dramatically. But sleep-related deaths from other causes, including suffocation, entrapment and asphyxia, have 
increased. In an updated policy statement and technical report, the AAP is expanding its guidelines on safe 
sleep for babies, with additional information for parents on creating a safe environment for their babies to 
sleep. 
In addition, the AAP is providing recommendations on a safe sleeping environment that can reduce the risk 
of all sleep-related infant deaths, including SIDS. Three important additions to the recommendations include: 

• Breastfeeding is recommended and is associated with a reduced risk of SIDS.  
• Infants should be immunized. Evidence suggests that immunization reduces the risk of SIDS by 50 

percent. 
• Bumper pads should not be used in cribs. There is no evidence that bumper pads prevent injuries, and 

there is a potential risk of suffocation, strangulation or entrapment. 
 
What can providers do to help promote these new guidelines?  Check your records and make sure children in 
your program are up-to-date with immunizations; take the bumper pads out of cribs; and support women who 
return to work and continue to breastfeed their babies. To learn more go to: 
http://www.aap.org/pressroom/sids.pdf. 

Division of Child Care Services Website Information 
http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/childcare/default.asp  

Safe Sleeping- AAP  
Expanding its guidelines 
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On August 13, 2010 a law was passed that requires all child care providers to have at least one employee who 
holds a valid certificate in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid on the premise of the child care 
program during the program’s operating hours. This law went into effect on December 11, 2010 and yet the 
Division’s licensors and registrars are discovering that many programs are operating out of compliance with 
this important law.   Providers who are having difficulty finding classes can contact their licensor or registrar 
for help in finding CPR and first aid classes in their area of the state.  Providers found to be out of 
compliance may be found in violation of law and could face enforcement action. 
 

 

For Day Care Centers and Group Family Day Care providers only 
Vaccinations are one of our most important public health interventions and they have helped children stay 
healthy for more than 50 years.  You, as a child care provider, can help this cause by keeping child medical 
records up-to-date, encouraging parents to keep children immunized; and completing the required 
immunization survey that will soon be mailed to you. 
The NYS Department of Health will be mailing you the yearly survey on immunizations.  NYS Department of 
Health Law, section 2164(11) of the Public Health law,  requires that day care centers and group family day 
care homes licensed by  the Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) respond to this survey.  You will 
receive this survey by the end of January 2012.  It must be completed and returned by March 5, 2012.  
Failure to complete and submit the survey form is a violation of Public Health Law, which may result in 
the imposition of a civil penalty.  So don’t delay.  The Department of Health staff are available to help you 
with the form.  Contact information will accompany the survey. Your OCFS licensor/registrar is also a 
resource.  This information helps to monitor immunization rates among the children of New York State.  We 
thank you for your attention to this important matter.  

The busy holiday season is fast approaching and all of us at the Division of Child Care Services wish you the 
best for a safe and joyous holiday.   

 

Sincerely,  

 

Janice M. Molnar, Ph.D. 
Deputy Commissioner 
Division of Child Care Services  
 

CPR and First Aid 
It’s the Law! 

NYS Department of Health Yearly Day 
Care Immunization Survey 

 


