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      April, 2011 

 

Dear Colleague: 

A number of important changes and reminders are contained in this letter.  Please read the 
information carefully and contact your Regional Office licensor or registrar with any questions you 
may have. 

 

The new State budget includes an amendment to Section 424-a(1)(f) of the Social Services Law, which 
sets forth requirements for fees for conducting database checks through the Statewide Central 
Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR).  The change in the law now requires that 
prospective child care providers and applicants for employment in child care programs be charged a 
$25 fee for any database checks conducted through the SCR.  This change took effect on Friday, 
April 1, 2011. 

Please note that the fee requirements do not apply to volunteers who will work in child care programs, 
nor do they apply to providers of goods and services to child care programs, consultants to child care 
programs, or to current employees who have previously been screened through the SCR if the 
program elects to re-screen current employees.  The fee requirements also do not apply to persons age 
18 or over who reside in homes where family and group family child care will be provided, unless the 
household member is also employed at the program as a substitute, alternate provider, assistant, 
alternate assistant or other paid caretaker.   

Please note that there are references below to a “payment of the fee.”  There are four methods of 
acceptable payment of the fee.  These are: 

1. Certified check; 
2. Postal or bank money order; 
3. Teller’s check; or 
4. Cashier’s check 

 
*Personal checks are not acceptable and will be returned and your application 
will not be processed until an acceptable form of payment is received. 
 

Each must be made payable to: NEW YORK STATE OFFICE OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY 
SERVICES.  

State Central Register $25.00 Fee for Database Checks –                   
EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY 
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Family Day Care Homes:  When applicants to be family day care providers or to be assistant or 
alternate caregivers in family child care homes submit their application materials to the regional 
office of OCFS or to the registrar for their county (which would be a child care resource and referral 
program, a local social services district or, for homes in New York City, the New York City Department 
of Health and Mental Hygiene), they will be required to submit a payment of the fee  in the amount of 
$25 for the required database check.  The payment of the fee must include the name of the applicant 
so that it may be properly processed.  The application will not be processed without the required 
payment of the fee.  Please note that there must be a separate payment of the fee for each applicant. 

Group Family Day Care Homes:   When applicants to be group family day care providers or 
assistants or alternate caregivers in group family day care homes submit their application materials to 
the regional office of OCFS (or, for homes in New York City, the New York City Department of Health 
and Mental Hygiene), they will be required to submit a payment of the fee in the amount of $25 for 
the required database check.  The payment of the fee must include the name of the applicant so that it 
may be properly processed.  The application will not be processed without the required payment of 
the fee.  Please note that there must be a separate payment of the fee for each applicant for whom a 
LDSS-3370 form is submitted.   

It is important to understand that this amendment does not change who must be cleared by 
the SCR, just who must pay a fee to be cleared by the SCR.  For additional information 
concerning who must be cleared by the SCR, see policy 06-7 at: 
http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/becs/policy/default.asp, or contact your Regional Office.  

 

 The Statewide Central Register Database Check Form, or LDSS-3370, is a form 
completed by applicants who are screened by the New York State Statewide Central Register (SCR), to 
determine whether they are the subject of indicated reports of child abuse or maltreatment on file 
with the SCR. These forms need to be filled out completely and accurately to result in an accurate 
report. 
The form asks for two different pieces of major information: 

• Applicant and household member information and  
• Addresses for where the applicant has resided. 

 
ALL household members, both adults and children, whether they are related to the 
applicant or not, need to be listed on the LDSS-3370 form.  It’s important to remember to 
list all maiden names and aliases as well.   This is because the SCR specialist must search all names 
provided.  Each name is searched individually and as part of a household composition. This is because 
sometimes an individual’s name is not found immediately, but is later discovered through the 
matching of another person and a family composition.  When information is left out, the search is not 
accurate and the provider may be hiring a person with a CPS history because they failed to complete 
the form as directed.  

Getting it Right - Who to Include on the SCR Database 
Check Form 

http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/becs/policy/default.asp�
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If you submit a form with just one name on it because you live alone, write the word “NONE” in the 
applicant/household area of the form after entering your own information. 
 
For screening purposes, the form also requires information about the applicant’s current and previous 
addresses. Addresses must go back as far as 28 years. The SCR staff understands that some people 
may find it difficult to provide complete detailed information about address history for their 
childhood years.  So, have applicants do their best when completing this portion of the form by 
providing at least the name of the city and state in which they lived for each time period, even if you 
don’t know a street number or street name.  Remember, the more information the SCR gets,  the 
better the search and the quicker the return.  
 
 

     If you are planning to take on-line course work to meet your thirty-hours of 
required training, please be reminded that all on-line training must be pre-approved by the Office of 
Children and Family Services (OCFS).  A list of pre-approved distance learning courses can be found 
at the following website address:  http://www.tsg.suny.edu/ocfsdlc.shtm.  This list includes all pre-
approved on-line CPR training courses that include face-to-face competency tests.  OCFS also offers a 
growing number of E-Learning courses for credit toward your thirty-hour training requirement.  This 
list can be found at: http://www.ecetp.pdp.albany.edu/elearn_catalog.shtm.   

 

   After much consideration and deliberation concerning protective surfacing 
under playground equipment, OCFS believes it has found a way to address child safety and enable 
you, the provider, to offer fun, outdoor play experiences for the children in family-based programs, 
at a reasonable cost while meeting regulatory compliance. 

Compliance with family and group family day care regulations concerning outdoor 
playground equipment and surfacing will include the following requirements: 

• Materials and play equipment used by the children must be sturdy, free from 
rough edges and sharp corners. 

• Outdoor equipment such as swings, slides and climbing apparatus must be 
assembled in accordance with the manufacturer's specifications, and there 
must be a cushioned surface under all outside play equipment that present a 
fall hazard.  Surfacing may not include concrete, asphalt, grass or other hard 

Reminder:    All On-line Training Must be Pre-Approved 

A New Approach - Playground Surfacing  

http://www.tsg.suny.edu/ocfsdlc.shtm�
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compacted dirt.  Equipment must be in good repair and be placed in a safe 
location.  Residential outdoor play equipment manufactured for home use may 
be used by children in family-based programs and must be used specifically for 
its intended purpose. Such equipment and apparatus may be used only by the 
children for whom it is developmentally appropriate.   

The document currently posted to our website named:  Protective Surfacing under 
Playground Equipment used at Family- Based Child Care Programs:  
http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/childcare/Protective_Surfacing.asp   will remain a best practice instructional 

guide. The language above will be posted on the website as well. 

 

Be proactive—visit the child care webpage for the Residential Pool Guidelines at: 
http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/childcare/pool_guidelines.asp#regs.   

 

I hope this information is helpful.     Thank you for your commitment to safety and all that you do 
for the children of New York State. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

Janice M. Molnar, Ph.D. 
Deputy Commissioner 
Division of Child Care Services  
 

If Spring is Here - Can Summer be Far Behind? 
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