Équipe de direction

Skip to Content

Navigation et information accessibles

Utilisez les liens suivants pour naviguer rapidement sur la page. Le numéro de chaque lien correspond au raccourci clavier.

Traduire

Vous êtes sur cette page : Équipe de direction

Sheila J. Poole
Commissaire

Sheila J. Poole est commissaire du Bureau des services à l’enfance et à la famille de l’État de New York. Elle s’est jointe à l’organisme en 2007 à titre de commissaire associée à la Division du bien-être de l’enfance et des services communautaires avant d’être promue sous-commissaire exécutive de l’organisme en 2013. Elle a été commissaire par intérim avant d’être nommée commissaire par la législature de l’État de New York en 2019.

Mme Poole a plus de 35 ans d’expérience en tant que haute direction travaillant dans les secteurs à but non lucratif, des administrations locales et des gouvernements d’État. Elle a commencé sa carrière dans le domaine de la santé mentale à but non lucratif, puis a été commissaire du département de l’enfance, de la jeunesse et de la famille du comté d’Albany avant de poursuivre son service public dans l’État de New York. Le commissaire Poole a également passé cinq ans à travailler dans le système de protection de l’enfance du Tennessee.

Le commissaire Poole a été nommé par le gouverneur à titre de coprésident du Groupe de travail sur la disponibilité des services de garde d’enfants et de la Commission Blue Ribbon sur les évaluations médico-légales de la garde. Elle siège au conseil d’administration de l’American Public Human Services Association (APHSA), de l’Université d’État d’Albany Center for Women in Government et du Youth Justice Institute de New York et préside la National Association of Public Child Welfare Administrators (NAPCWA). Mme Poole est la présidente fondatrice du conseil d’administration de Youth Research, Inc., un organisme à but non lucratif étroitement affilié à OCFS.

Suzanne Miles-Gustave, Esq.
Sous-commissaire exécutif

Suzanne Miles-Gustave, Esq., est la sous-commissaire exécutive du Bureau des services à l’enfance et à la famille de l’État de New York. Mme Miles-Gustave s’est jointe à l’OCFS en 2014 à titre d’avocate générale et de commissaire adjointe, où elle a dirigé la Division des affaires juridiques de l’agence et a agi à titre de conseillère principale du commissaire et d’avocate au bureau du gouverneur de l’État de New York sur les questions législatives et réglementaires, de conformité et de risque.

En tant que sous-commissaire exécutive actuelle de l’Agence, Mme Miles-Gustave joue un rôle central dans l’élaboration de la politique de l’Agence afin de réaliser sa mission de promotion de la sécurité, de la permanence et du bien-être de nos enfants, de nos familles et de nos collectivités, et dirige des initiatives interinstitutions pour appuyer la mission globale. Mme Miles-Gustave est également coprésidente du Comité directeur de la diversité, de l’équité, de l’inclusion et de l’accessibilité.

Mme Miles-Gustave est diplômée de l’Université d’État de New York à Buffalo et a obtenu son Juris Doctor de la faculté de droit de l’Université Fordham. Au début de sa carrière, elle a exercé dans des cabinets d’avocats à New York, a été auxiliaire juridique à la Cour d’appel du sixième circuit, procureure adjointe / directrice des affaires extérieures pour le bureau du procureur du comté de Westchester et directrice principale des initiatives stratégiques pour le département de l’éducation de la ville de New York.

Nina Aledort, Ph.D.
Sous-commissaire, Division du développement de la jeunesse et des partenariats pour la réussite

La Dre Nina Aledort est sous-commissaire de la Division du développement de la jeunesse et des partenariats pour la réussite du Bureau des services à l’enfance et à la famille de l’État de New York. Elle est praticienne et décideur politique depuis plus de 25 ans et se concentre sur l’amélioration des résultats pour les jeunes présentant des vulnérabilités importantes, en utilisant le développement positif des jeunes et des cadres sensibles au genre et la réduction des méfaits. Les domaines d’expertise comprennent les jeunes LGBTQ, fugueurs et sans-abri, victimes de la traite, incarcérés ou impliqués dans les tribunaux.

Le Dr Aledort se concentre sur les principaux défis politiques à l’intersection du bien-être de l’enfance, de la justice pour mineurs, de la traite à des fins sexuelles d’enfants et des jeunes fugueurs et sans-abri, ainsi que sur des impacts disparates. Elle est coprésidente fondatrice du NYS Partnership for Youth Justice, est l’auteure de plusieurs articles évalués par des pairs et a fait des présentations à l’échelle nationale et internationale. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en droit social de la Hunter College School of Social Work de la City University of New York et d’un doctorat en bien-être social du Graduate Center de la City University of New York.

Saule Baer
Sous-commissaire et avocat général

En tant qu’avocate générale et commissaire adjointe de la Division des affaires juridiques, Mme Baer supervise un bureau de 90 avocats, juges de droit administratif et personnel administratif juridique, qui soutiennent l’agence dans tout l’État. La Division des affaires juridiques travaille en étroite collaboration avec la direction de l’organisme pour créer et mettre en œuvre des initiatives réglementaires, législatives et politiques progressistes, conformes aux lois fédérales et des États, dans tous les domaines de travail de l’organisme. Mme Baer est responsable des affaires juridiques et intergouvernementales de l’agence, des audiences administratives et des litiges, des demandes en vertu de la loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la conformité en matière d’éthique.

Mme Baer a pris la direction de la Division juridique de l’OCFS en décembre 2021. Immédiatement avant de se joindre à l’agence, Mme Baer a été conseillère adjointe par intérim de la gouverneure Kathy Hochul, supervisant les portefeuilles des services sociaux et de l’hygiène mentale pour la Chambre exécutive. Avant cela, Mme Baer a été avocate générale pour le Bureau de l’État de New York pour les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et a travaillé au Bureau de l’avocat général du New York State Justice Center, a été procureure de comté axée sur la protection de l’enfance et le travail de permanence, et avocate de l’aide juridique spécialisée dans la représentation des survivantes de violence domestique.

Tonya Boniface
Commissaire associé aux ressources humaines

Tonya Boniface est commissaire associée aux ressources humaines au Bureau des services à l’enfance et à la famille de l’État de New York depuis octobre 2021. Elle dirige, gère et supervise six programmes complets de ressources humaines, dont le Bureau du personnel, le Bureau des relations de travail, le Bureau de la formation et du perfectionnement, l’Unité des enquêtes spéciales, l’Agence de préparation aux situations d’urgence et la santé et la sécurité, avec environ 150 employés fournissant des services à environ 3 000 employés.

Mme Boniface est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en éducation du Collège de Sainte-Rose. Elle a commencé sa carrière dans l’État de New York en 2003 au ministère du Travail et, en novembre 2006, elle a commencé à travailler pour le bureau du personnel de l’OCFS. Depuis, Mme Boniface demeure au Bureau des ressources humaines de l’OCFS.

Travaillant dans la fonction publique depuis plus de 30 ans, elle était auparavant dans le secteur sans but lucratif et, au cours des 15 dernières années, elle a fait preuve d’un dévouement envers OCFS, ainsi qu’envers l’équipe des ressources humaines.

Thomas Brooks
Sous-commissaire du Bureau de la planification stratégique et de l’élaboration des politiques

Thomas Brooks a été nommé sous-commissaire à la planification stratégique et à l’élaboration des politiques en novembre 2014. Il supervise les bureaux des politiques et de la recherche, de l’évaluation et de l’analyse du rendement de l’agence. M. Brooks gère la mise en œuvre des politiques des lois fédérales et étatiques, y compris Family First, émet des directives administratives aux organismes locaux, guide l’élaboration de politiques et d’outils de données et assure la liaison avec les organismes fédéraux.

Auparavant, M. Brooks a été avocat adjoint au Bureau du gouverneur de l’État de New York, où il a géré un portefeuille juridique de neuf organismes dans les services à la personne et mené des négociations législatives. Il a contribué à l’élaboration, à la rédaction et à la négociation d’une loi sur la cyberintimidation dans les écoles qui est devenue loi.

À Washington, D.C., il a été membre du personnel du Comité spécial de la Chambre des représentants des États-Unis sur les enfants, les jeunes et les familles et analyste principal des politiques à la Child Welfare League of America. Il a commencé sa carrière en tant qu’enquêteur pour mineurs dans le Connecticut et a été directeur des politiques pour la Commission des enfants du Connecticut et directeur législatif pour un membre de l’Assemblée de l’État de New York. Il est l’auteur de plusieurs articles nationaux sur la politique de l’enfance.

M. Brooks est titulaire d’un baccalauréat et d’une maîtrise en théologie de l’Université Yale et d’un diplôme en droit de l’Université Cornell. Il est membre du barreau de l’État de New York.

Linda J. Cohen
Directeur exécutif de la Commission de l’État de New York sur le service national et communautaire

Allez à la biographie de Linda Cohen.

Lisa Ghartey Ogundimu, Esq.
Sous-commissaire de la Division du bien-être de l’enfance et des services communautaires

Lisa Ghartey Ogundimu, Esq., est sous-commissaire de la Division du bien-être de l’enfance et des services communautaires du Bureau des services à l’enfance et à la famille de l’État de New York. Dans une optique d’équité raciale et de justice sociale, Mme Ghartey Ogundimu cultive une culture de collaboration et de responsabilité partagée.

Mme Ghartey Ogundimu assure le leadership et la supervision au niveau de la direction du portefeuille diversifié de la division, qui met l’accent sur le développement et l’expansion d’une gamme solide de services conçus pour soutenir les familles en créant d’autres voies d’intervention que la réponse traditionnelle au bien-être de l’enfance. Les priorités comprennent un programme de lutte contre la pauvreté, la fourniture de lignes d’aide de soutien aux parents et aux jeunes, l’expansion des services fondés sur des données probantes pour fournir un soutien en amont aux familles, la mise en place de stratégies novatrices pour recruter et retenir la main-d’œuvre du bien-être de l’enfance, l’utilisation de l’amélioration continue de la qualité (ICQ) pour améliorer les pratiques et les résultats en matière de bien-être de l’enfance dans tout l’État, et la culture de partenariats entre les systèmes pour améliorer l’éducation. les résultats en matière de santé et de bien-être pour les enfants, les familles et les collectivités.

Sa vision et sa passion pour un système de bien-être juste et équitable pour les enfants et les familles sont son leadership « North Star ». Mme Ghartey Ogundimu donne l’exemple, mettant au défi, elle et son équipe, d’être créatives, innovantes et courageuses, travaillant avec les départements locaux des services sociaux (SDJ), les organismes bénévoles et les fournisseurs de services préventifs pour identifier les programmes et les services qui créeront la transformation du système nécessaire pour obtenir les meilleurs résultats en matière de sécurité, de permanence et de bien-être pour les enfants, les familles et les adultes vulnérables de l’État de New York.

Mme Ghartey Ogundimu est une championne de l’innovation et de l’équité des systèmes. Elle a joué un rôle essentiel dans la mise en œuvre du processus d’enlèvement des aveugles conçu pour réduire les disparités raciales dans le bien-être de l’enfance et la création d’un système de soins intégré et inclusif pour les soignants et les jeunes qui comprend un vaste réseau de services préventifs communautaires engagés à prévenir la violence familiale et à fournir des soins adaptés aux traumatismes et à la culture.

Mme Ghartey Ogundimu est membre nommée du Comité de sélection judiciaire de l’État de New York pour le troisième département judiciaire et est administratrice du Dutchess County Community College. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences en service extérieur de l’Université de Georgetown et d’un doctorat en droit de la faculté de droit de l’Université Pace.

Julie Hovey
Commissaire associé, Commission pour les aveugles

Mme Hovey travaille au Bureau des services à l’enfance et à la famille de New York – Commission for the Blind depuis 2000. En tant que commissaire associée, elle est responsable de la supervision des programmes de réadaptation professionnelle, des personnes âgées aveugles, du programme d’entreprise commerciale, des services à l’enfance et des programmes de vie autonome de la Commission.

Débutant en réadaptation professionnelle et, plus récemment, en tant que conseillère adjointe en réadaptation professionnelle, Mme Hovey a notamment assumé les fonctions au cours des 20 dernières années, notamment la gestion de l’assurance de la qualité de la Commission et le soutien au Programme des entreprises commerciales. Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en justice publique et d’une maîtrise en counseling en réadaptation, elle est également conseillère en réadaptation certifiée.

Mme Hovey représente l’OCFS au sein du Most Integrated Setting Coordinating Council (MISCC), qui veille à ce que les New-Yorkais de tous âges ayant une déficience physique, intellectuelle, développementale et mentale reçoivent des soins et des services dans les contextes les plus intégrés adaptés à leurs besoins individuels.

Elle aime passer du temps avec son fils, Jason, qui fréquente l’Université Fordham.

Felicia A.B. Reid
Sous-commissaire, Division de la justice pour mineurs et des possibilités pour les jeunes

Felicia A. B. Reid, Esq., a été nommée commissaire adjointe de la Division de la justice juvénile et des opportunités pour les jeunes (DJJOY) en 2020. Elle supervise le système de justice pour mineurs de l’État, qui dessert les jeunes jusqu’à l’âge de 21 ans, qui ont été jugés par le tribunal de la famille ou condamnés par un tribunal pénal et placés sous la garde de l’État. Elle est profondément engagée à s’engager auprès des jeunes, de leurs familles et de leurs communautés pour faire face aux impacts historiques, institutionnels et individuels de l’incarcération.

Mme Reid s’est jointe à l’OCFS en 2018 à titre de commissaire adjointe et directrice du Bureau de l’Ombudsman, le bureau de défense des droits des jeunes pour les jeunes impliqués dans la justice pour mineurs.

Auparavant, elle a été avocate associée majoritaire à l’Assemblée de l’État de New York, avocate principale à la Commission d’éthique législative de l’État de New York et avocate à la cour d’appel de la Cour suprême de l’État de New York, troisième département judiciaire. Elle est diplômée de l’Université Fordham avec un baccalauréat en littérature comparée en 2007 et a obtenu son diplôme en droit de la New York Law School en 2012.

Dans ses temps libres, Felicia est une fervente micro-agricultrice, jardinière et boulangère à temps partiel, et une passionnée d’histoire du cinéma et de podcast. Elle aime aussi une bonne soirée dansante. Toujours invités à cette fête sont un chien nommé Artie, un chat grincheux nommé Squee et son mari.

Brendan Schaefer
Directeur de l’audit et du contrôle de la qualité

Brendan Schaefer a été nommé directeur du Bureau de l’audit et du contrôle de la qualité en 2016, et il supervise les audits internes des fonctions de l’agence, ainsi que les audits externes des entrepreneurs et des départements locaux des services sociaux.

M. Schaefer a commencé sa carrière en tant qu’associé effectuant des services de certification et de conseil aux entreprises pour le bureau d’Albany de PricewaterhouseCoopers. Il a ensuite passé près de 11 ans à travailler pour le Bureau de l’auditeur universitaire de l’Administration du système de l’Université d’État de New York, effectuant des audits et des enquêtes sur les fraudes. Après son mandat chez SUNY, il a travaillé pour l’équipe des services de sécurité de GreyCastle Security.

M. Schaefer a obtenu un baccalauréat de l’Union College en 1998 et une maîtrise en administration des affaires en comptabilité en 2002. Il est expert-comptable agréé, auditeur certifié des systèmes d’information et responsable certifié de la sécurité de l’information.

Vanessa Threatte
Directeur général, Conseil de l’enfance et de la famille

Rendez-vous sur la bio de Vanessa Threatte.

Nora Yates
Sous-commissaire, Division des services de garde d’enfants

Nora Yates est la sous-commissaire de la Division des services de garde d’enfants et est responsable de la supervision de tous les aspects du système de garde et d’éducation de la petite enfance de New York soutenu par le Fonds de développement des services de garde d’enfants (CCDF), qui comprend actuellement plus de 2 milliards de dollars de financement fédéral. La division supervise également toutes les exigences fédérales en matière de formation pour les fournisseurs de services de la petite enfance appuyés par le CCDF, la santé et la sécurité des fournisseurs et la conformité à la qualité, les licences et les règlements de l’État et le programme d’aide à la garde d’enfants pour aider les familles à accéder aux soins, et collabore régulièrement avec une grande variété d’intervenants sur les priorités clés liées aux enfants et aux familles.

Auparavant, Mme Yates a été directrice du Center for Community Health au Département de la santé de l’État de New York, où elle a supervisé plus de 2 milliards de dollars de financement national et local qui ont soutenu des programmes de santé publique clés, notamment la prévention des maladies chroniques, le contrôle des maladies transmissibles, la santé familiale et la nutrition.

Au cours de la réponse à la pandémie de COVID-19, elle a dirigé la création et la mise en place de l’Initiative de recherche des contacts de l’État, le plus grand programme de recherche des contacts du pays, et a également dirigé les sites de dépistage de la COVID-19 et les initiatives de dépistage. Avant de se joindre au ministère de la Santé, Mme Yates a été secrétaire adjointe du gouverneur pour les services sociaux et directrice de l’initiative Community, Opportunity, Reinvestment (CORe), où elle a travaillé à aligner les organismes étatiques et locaux sur un cadre commun pour examiner les problèmes clés dans les communautés en difficulté. Mme Yates s’est jointe à l’État dans le cadre de la première promotion des boursiers de l’Empire, l’une des neuf personnes sélectionnées pour occuper des postes de niveau politique dans l’ensemble des organismes exécutifs.

Avant de rejoindre l’État, Mme Yates a été directrice exécutive du Pride Center de la région de la capitale et a travaillé à l’Empire State Pride Agenda en tant que directrice de terrain dirigeant l’effort d’égalité du mariage à New York. Elle a obtenu un baccalauréat et une maîtrise ès arts à l’Université d’État de New York à Albany, une maîtrise en administration publique de la Sage Graduate School et une maîtrise en études des femmes et en politique publique de l’Université d’Albany.

Recrutement en cours
  • Sous-commissaire aux communications
  • Sous-commissaire à l’administration

Executive Team

Skip to Content

Accessible Navigation and Information

Use the following links to quickly navigate around the page. The number for each is the shortcut key.

Translate

You are on this page: Executive Team

Sheila J. Poole
Commissioner

Sheila J. Poole is commissioner of the New York State Office of Children and Family Services. She joined the agency in 2007 as associate commissioner in the Division of Child Welfare and Community Services before being promoted to executive deputy commissioner of the agency in 2013. She served as acting commissioner prior to her appointment as commissioner by the New York State Legislature in 2019.

Ms. Poole has more than 35 years of senior leadership experience working in non-profit, local and state government sectors. She began her career in the not-for-profit mental health field and then served as commissioner of Albany County’s Department for Children, Youth and Families before continuing her public service with New York State. Commissioner Poole also spent five years working in Tennessee’s child welfare system.

Commissioner Poole was appointed by the Governor to serve as co-chair of the Child Care Availability Task Force and the Blue Ribbon Commission on forensic custody evaluations. She serves on the board of the American Public Human Services Association (APHSA), State University at Albany Center for Women in Government and New York’s Youth Justice Institute and chairs the National Association of Public Child Welfare Administrators (NAPCWA). Ms. Poole is the founding board chair of Youth Research, Inc., a closely affiliated non-profit of OCFS.

Suzanne Miles-Gustave, Esq.
Executive Deputy Commissioner

Suzanne Miles-Gustave, Esq., is the executive deputy commissioner of the New York State Office of Children and Family Services. Ms. Miles-Gustave joined OCFS in 2014 as general counsel/deputy commissioner, where she has led the agency’s Division of Legal Affairs and served as lead advisor to the commissioner and counsel in the New York State Governor’s office on statutory and regulatory, compliance and risk issues.

As the agency’s current executive deputy commissioner, Ms. Miles-Gustave plays a pivotal role in shaping the agency's policy to achieve its mission of promoting the safety, permanency and well-being of our children, families and communities, and leads cross-agency initiatives to support the overall mission. Ms. Miles-Gustave also serves as co-chair of the Executive Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Accessibility Steering Committee.

Ms. Miles-Gustave is a graduate of the State University of New York at Buffalo and obtained her Juris Doctor from Fordham University School of Law. Early in her career, she practiced in law firms in New York City, clerked on the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals, served as assistant district attorney/director of external affairs for the Westchester County District Attorney’s Office and was senior director of strategic initiatives for the New York City Department of Education.

Nina Aledort, Ph.D.
Deputy Commissioner, Division of Youth Development and Partnerships for Success

Dr. Nina Aledort is the deputy commissioner of the Division of Youth Development and Partnerships for Success with the New York State Office of Children and Family Services. She has been a practitioner and policy maker for more than 25 years with a focus on improving outcomes for youth with significant vulnerabilities, using positive youth development and gender-responsive frameworks and harm reduction. Areas of expertise include LGBTQ, runaway and homeless, trafficked, incarcerated/court-involved youth.

Dr. Aledort focuses on key policy challenges at the intersection of child welfare, juvenile justice, child sex trafficking and runaway and homeless youth, and on disparate impacts. She is a founding co-chair of the NYS Partnership for Youth Justice, has authored several peer-reviewed articles and has presented nationally and internationally. She has an M.S.W. from Hunter College School of Social Work, City University of New York, and a Ph.D. in social welfare from the Graduate Center of the City University of New York.

Willow Baer
Deputy Commissioner and General Counsel

As the general counsel and deputy commissioner for the Division of Legal Affairs, Ms. Baer oversees an office of 90 attorneys, administrative law judges and legal administrative staff, who support the agency statewide. The Division of Legal Affairs works closely with agency leadership to create and implement progressive regulatory, legislative and policy initiatives, consistent with state and federal law, in all areas of the agency’s work. Ms. Baer is responsible for the agency’s legal and intergovernmental affairs, administrative hearings and litigation, freedom of information law requests and ethics compliance.

Ms. Baer assumed leadership of the OCFS Legal Division in December 2021. Immediately prior to joining the agency, Ms. Baer served as an interim assistant counsel to Governor Kathy Hochul, overseeing the Human Services and Mental Hygiene portfolios for the Executive Chamber. Before that, Ms. Baer served as general counsel for the New York State Office for People With Developmental Disabilities and worked in the Office of General Counsel for the New York State Justice Center, served as a county attorney focused on child protection and permanency work, and as a legal aid attorney specializing in the representation of domestic violence survivors.

Tonya Boniface
Associate Commissioner for Human Resources

Tonya Boniface has been serving as associate commissioner for Human Resources with the New York State Office of Children and Family Services since October 2021. She directs, manages and supervises six comprehensive human resource programs, including the Bureau of Personnel, Bureau of Labor Relations, Bureau of Training and Development, Special Investigations Unit, Agency Emergency Preparedness and Health and Safety, with approximately 150 staff providing services to approximately 3,000 employees.

Ms. Boniface has a bachelor’s degree in education from the College of Saint Rose. She began her career with New York State in 2003 at the Department of Labor, and in November 2006, she began working for OCFS’ personnel office. Ms. Boniface has remained within the Office of Human Resources at OCFS ever since.

Working in the public service for more than 30 years, she was previously in the nonprofit sector, and for the last 15 years, she has shown a dedication to OCFS, as well as the Human Resources team.

Thomas Brooks
Deputy Commissioner of the Office of Strategic Planning and Policy Development

Thomas Brooks was appointed deputy commissioner for Strategic Planning and Policy Development in November 2014. He oversees the agency's policy and research, evaluation and performance analytics bureaus. Mr. Brooks manages policy implementation of federal and state laws, including Family First, issues administrative directives to local agencies, guides development of policy and data tools, and serves as liaison to federal agencies.

Mr. Brooks previously served as assistant counsel in the Office of the New York State Governor, where he managed a nine-agency legal portfolio in human services and conducted legislative negotiations. He helped develop, draft and negotiate cyberbullying in schools legislation that became law.

In Washington, D.C., he was a staff member of the U.S. House Select Committee on Children, Youth and Families and a senior policy analyst at the Child Welfare League of America. He began his career as a juvenile court investigator in Connecticut and was director of policy for the Connecticut Commission on Children and legislative director for a New York State Assembly member. He has authored several national articles on children’s policy.

Mr. Brooks received a bachelor’s degree and a master’s in divinity from Yale University and a law degree from Cornell University. He is a member of the New York State Bar.

Linda J. Cohen
Executive Director of the New York State Commission on National and Community Service

Go to Linda Cohen's bio.

Lisa Ghartey Ogundimu, Esq.
Deputy Commissioner of the Division of Child Welfare and Community Services

Lisa Ghartey Ogundimu, Esq., serves as deputy commissioner for the Division of Child Welfare and Community Services with the New York State Office of Children and Family Services. Using a race equity and social justice lens, Mrs. Ghartey Ogundimu cultivates a culture of collaboration and shared accountability.

Mrs. Ghartey Ogundimu provides executive level leadership and oversight of the division’s diverse portfolio, which focuses on the development and expansion of a robust array of services designed to support families by creating alternate pathways of intervention beyond the traditional child welfare response. Priorities include an anti-poverty agenda, providing supportive help lines for parents and youth, expanding evidence-based services to provide upstream supports to families, providing innovative strategies to recruit and retain the child welfare workforce, using continuous quality improvement (CQI) to improve practice and child welfare outcomes across the state, and cultivating partnerships across systems to improve education, health and well-being outcomes for children, families and communities.

Her vision and passion for a just and equitable child and family well-being system is her leadership “North Star.” Mrs. Ghartey Ogundimu leads by example, challenging herself and her team to be creative, innovative and courageous, working with local departments of social services (LDSS), voluntary agencies and preventive service providers to identify programs and services that will create the system transformation needed to achieve the best safety, permanency and well-being outcomes for the children, families and vulnerable adults of New York State.

Mrs. Ghartey Ogundimu is a champion for system innovation and equity. She was integral in implementing the Blind Removal Process designed to reduce racial disparities in child welfare and creating an integrated and inclusive system of care for caregivers and youth that includes an expansive network of community-based preventive services committed to preventing family violence and providing trauma-informed, culturally responsive care.

Mrs. Ghartey Ogundimu is an appointed member of the New York State Judicial Screening Committee for the Third Judicial Department and serves as a trustee for Dutchess County Community College. She received a bachelor’s of science in foreign service from Georgetown University and her J.D. from Pace University School of Law.

Julie Hovey
Associate Commissioner, Commission for the Blind

Ms. Hovey has worked at the New York Office of Children Family Services – Commission for the Blind since 2000. As an associate commissioner, she is responsible for overseeing the Commission’s vocational rehabilitation, older blind, Business Enterprise Program, Children’s Services and independent living programs.

Beginning as a vocational rehabilitation trainee and most recently as an associate vocational rehabilitation counselor, Ms. Hovey’s duties over the past 20 years have included managing the Commission’s quality assurance and providing support to the Business Enterprise Program. With a bachelor’s degree in public justice and a master’s degree in rehabilitation counseling, she is also a certified rehabilitation counselor.

Ms. Hovey represents OCFS at the Most Integrated Setting Coordinating Council (MISCC), which works to ensure that New Yorkers of all ages with physical, intellectual, developmental and mental disabilities receive care and services in the most integrated settings appropriate to their individual needs.

She enjoys spending time with her son, Jason, who attends Fordham University.

Felicia A.B. Reid
Deputy Commissioner, Division of Juvenile Justice and Opportunities for Youth

Felicia A. B. Reid, Esq., was appointed deputy commissioner of the Division of Juvenile Justice and Opportunities for Youth (DJJOY) in 2020. She oversees the State's juvenile justice system, which serves youth up to age 21, who have either been adjudicated in Family Court or sentenced in Criminal Court and placed in state custody. She is deeply committed to engaging with youth, their families and communities to address historical, institutional and individual impacts of incarceration.

Ms. Reid joined OCFS in 2018 as assistant commissioner/director of the Office of the Ombudsman, the youth advocacy office for juvenile-justice involved youth.

Her prior experience includes serving as majority associate counsel for the New York State Assembly, senior counsel for the New York State Legislative Ethics Commission and an appellate court attorney for the New York State Supreme Court, Third Judicial Department. She graduated from Fordham University with a bachelor’s in comparative literature in 2007 and obtained her law degree from New York Law School in 2012.

In her spare time, Felicia is an avid micro-farmer, gardener and part-time baker, and a film history and podcast aficionado. She also loves a good dance party. Always invited to that party are a dog named Artie, a cranky cat named Squee and her husband.

Brendan Schaefer
Director of Audit and Quality Control

Brendan Schaefer was appointed director of the Office of Audit and Quality Control in 2016, and he oversees internal audits of agency functions, as well as external audits of contractors and local departments of social services.

Mr. Schaefer started his career as an associate performing assurance and business advisory services for PricewaterhouseCoopers’ Albany office. He then spent nearly 11 years working for the Office of the University Auditor at the State University of New York System Administration conducting audits and performing fraud investigations. Following his tenure at SUNY, he worked for the security services team at GreyCastle Security.

Mr. Schaefer earned a bachelor’s degree from Union College in 1998 and a master’s of business administration in Accounting in 2002. He is a certified public accountant, a certified information systems auditor and certified information security manager.

Vanessa Threatte
Executive Director, Council on Children and Families

Go to Vanessa Threatte's bio.

Nora Yates
Deputy Commissioner, Division of Child Care Services

Nora Yates is the deputy commissioner in the Division of Child Care Services and is responsible for overseeing all aspects of New York’s early care and education system supported by the Child Care Development Fund (CCDF), which currently includes more than $2 billion in federal funding. The division also oversees all federal training requirements for early childhood providers supported by CCDF, provider health and safety and quality compliance, state licensing and regulations and the child care assistance program to support families accessing care, and regularly collaborates with a wide variety stakeholders on key priorities related to children and families.

Previously, Ms. Yates served as the director of the Center for Community Health at the New York State Department of Health where she oversaw more than $2 billion in state and local funding that supported key public health programs, including chronic disease prevention, communicable disease control, family health and nutrition.

During the COVID-19 pandemic response, she led the creation and stand up of the state Contact Tracing Initiative, the largest contact tracing program in the country, and also directed the COVID-19 testing sites and testing initiatives. Before joining the Department of Health, Ms. Yates served as the Governor’s assistant secretary for human services and the director of the Community, Opportunity, Reinvestment (CORe) Initiative, where she worked to align state and local agencies on a common framework to examine key issues in distressed communities. Ms. Yates joined the State as part of the inaugural class of Empire Fellows, one of nine individuals selected to serve in policy-level positions throughout Executive agencies.

Before joining the state, Ms. Yates served as the executive director of the Pride Center of the Capital Region and worked at the Empire State Pride Agenda as field director leading New York’s marriage equality effort. She earned bachelor’s and master’s of arts degrees at the State University of New York at Albany, a master’s in public administration from the Sage Graduate School and a master’s in women’s studies and public policy from the University at Albany.

Recruitment in Process