Administrative Regions

Skip to Content


Use the following links to quickly jump to the desire location in the page.

You are on this page: Administrative Regions

Map of New York State highlighted by region

OCFS Regions of New York State

For adminstrative purposes, the Office of Children and Family Services has New York divided up into six regions, organized by county.

The regions and their counties are as follows.

Region 1: Buffalo

The counties in Region 1 are: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Niagara, Orleans and Wyoming

Region 2: Rochester

The counties in Region 2 are: Cayuga,Chemung, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne and Yates

Region 3: Syracuse

The counties in Region 3 are: Broome, Chenango, Cortland, Herkimer, Jefferson , Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, St. Lawrence, Tioga and Tompkins

Region 4: Albany

The counties in Region 4 are: Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Montgomery, Otsego, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Warren and Washington

Region 5: Westchester

The counties in Region 5 are: Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester

Region 6: New York City

The counties in Region 6 are: Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens and Richmond

Regions for the Division of Child Care Services

The Division of Child Care Services uses the same regions as other OCFS programs, except that Nassau and Suffolk are broken out into Region 7: Long Island.

For all other OCFS programs these two counties are part of the Westchester region (Region 5).