The Abandoned Infant

Protection Act

The purpose of the New York State
Abandoned Infant Protection Act is to protect
newborn babies. It does this by protecting a
parent who abandons a baby from criminal
prosecution — if the person leaves the baby in a
safe way — and by allowing the parent to remain
anonymous. Here are some specifics of the law:

If you abandon your baby with the intent
of giving up custody and responsibility for
the baby, you will not be guilty of the crime of
Endangering the Welfare of a Child or the crime
of Abandonment of a Child, if:

» your intention is for the baby to be safe
from physical injury and cared for
appropriately; and

» you leave the baby with an appropriate
person or you leave the baby in a suitable
location and promptly inform an appropriate
person of the child’s location; and

» the baby is not more than 30 (thirty) days old.

The Abandoned Infant Protection Act does
not list “suitable locations” or “appropriate
persons.” Local district attorneys make those
determinations. However, places that are staffed,
such as fire stations, police stations and
hospitals, are usually considered to be safe places
to leave a baby who is not more than 30 days old.

New York State law requires mandated
reporters to report the abandonment of a baby
to the New York Statewide Central Register of
Child Abuse and Maltreatment (child abuse
hotline). However, under the Abandoned Infant
Protection Act, if you do leave your baby, you
are not required to give your name.

http://ocfs.ny.gov/main/safe
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For information on safe places to leave an infant
under the Abandoned Infant Protection Act, call:
1-866-505-SAFE (1-866-505-7233)

For information about child care,
foster care, or adoption, call:
1-800-345-KIDS (1-800-345-5437)

To report suspected child abuse and neglect, call:
1-800-342-3720
1-800-638-5163 (TTY/TDD)

For information on services for the blind, call:
1-866-871-3000
1-866-871-6000 (TTY/TDD)
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Pregnant?
Scared?
Need help?
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Are you pregnant?
Scared? Alone?

, Each year, newborns die,
abandoned by people
who couldn’t take care
of them. Often, these
are young mothers
who give birth in secret
because they are afraid
to let anyone know.

There is hope
for you and
your baby!

There is a better way.

If you feel like you may want
to abandon your baby,
know the law.

If your baby is 30 days old or less,
you may legally and anonymously
abandon your baby, as long as you take
these steps to protect the baby’s safety:

Leave your baby with a
responsible person
(such as a police officer, firefighter,
or hospital employee)

OR

Leave your baby in a safe place
(such as a hospital, police station,
or fire station), and
immediately tell a responsible
person where the baby is located.

Either way, you do not
have to give your name.

~

Looking for someone to talk to?

Call these numbers for immediate counseling or
referrals for counseling in your community:

» National Suicide Prevention Lifeline:
1-800-273-TALK (1-800-273-8255)

» National Runaway Switchboard:
1-800-RUNAWAY (1-800-786-2929)

» 2-1-1 (Referrals, available in many areas statewide)
» 3-1-1 (Referrals, New York City only)

» LIFENET (for mental health referrals in
New York City)

1-800-LIFENET (1-800-543-3638) (English)
1-877-AYUDESE (1-877-298-3373) (Spanish)
1-877-990-8585 (Korean, Mandarin, Cantonese)
1-212-982-5284 (TTY/TDD for hearing impaired)

» Planned Parenthood: 1-800-230-PLAN
(1-800-230-7526) www.plannedparenthood.org

» Parent Helpline at Prevent Child Abuse New York:
1-800-CHILDREN (1-800-244-5373)

Have you considered adoption?

If you think you cannot keep your newborn baby,
please consider adoption.

Many families in New York State of all races,
religions, ages, and lifestyles want to provide a child
with a loving home.

You can request that an adoption be kept
confidential, and that your family and friends not be
told. You cannot be investigated by Child Protective
Services for surrendering your baby for adoption.

You can give up your baby for adoption at a
private adoption agency (an authorized voluntary
agency) or at your local department of social services
(in New York City, the Administration for Children’s
Services). These agencies are listed in your local
phone book or online directory and on the New York
State Office of Children and Family Services website
at http://ocfs.ny.gov/adopt/agcymenu.asp
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