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Purpose

The purpose of this release is to advise local departments of social services
(LDSSs) of the adoption of regulations related to the market rates and the
maximum reimbursements for expenditures for child care services funded under
the New York State Child Care Block Grant (NYSCCBG) and Social Services Block
Grant (Title XX). These changes to Title 18 of the New York Codes, Rules and
Regulations (NYCRR) Section 415.9 were filed as a notice of emergency adoption
and proposed rule-making. The emergency regulations became effective June 1,
2016. LDSSs were previously notified in 16-OCFS-INF-06, issued on May 27,
2016, about the revisions to the child care market rates. The proposed regulations
were adopted as a final rule on August 17, 2016.

. Background

Federal and New York State law require the state to establish payment rates for
child care subsidies that are sufficient to ensure equal access to child care services
for eligible children [42 USC 9858c(c)(4)(A); 45 CFR Part 98.43(a); Section 410-
X(4) of the Social Services Law]. Federal regulation requires that payment rates be
based on a local market rate survey [45 CFR Part 98.43(b) (2)]. State law requires
the Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) to establish, in regulation, the
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applicable market-related payment rate, which establishes a ceiling for state and
federal reimbursement for payments for child care services (Section 410-x(4) of the
Social Services Law).

Payment rates must be sufficient to ensure equal access for eligible families to
child care services, comparable to those provided to children whose parents are
not eligible to receive assistance under any federal or state child care programs. In
addition, market rates must take into account the variations in costs of providing
child care in different settings and to children of different age groups, as well as the
additional cost of providing child care for children with special needs.

In accordance with the federal regulatory requirement, OCFS contracted with a
preferred source contractor in NYS to conduct a telephone survey of a sample of
licensed/registered child care providers. Prior to conducting the telephone survey,
a letter was sent to all licensed/registered child care providers to inform them that
they might be included in the sample of providers called to participate in the market
rate survey. A copy of the questions accompanied the letters so that providers
could prepare their responses in advance of their possible participation in the
market rate survey. The contractor conducted the telephone survey in English and
in Spanish, and had resources available to assist providers in other languages.
Market rate data was collected from 4,467 providers.

OCFS analyzed data from the survey for five distinct groupings of districts. Market
rates were established for each county cluster at the 69™ percentile.

The standard market rates for legally-exempt family child care and legally-exempt
in-home child care providers are established at a 65 percent differential applied to
the market rate established for registered family day care. The enhanced market
rates for legally-exempt family child care and legally-exempt in-home child care
providers are established at a 70 percent differential applied to the market rates
established for registered family day care. Information pertaining to the
establishment of the market rates for legally-exempt family child care and legally-
exempt in-home child care can be found on pages 10-11.

The market rates for legally exempt group child care providers are established at a

75 percent differential applied to the market rate established for licensed or
registered day care centers.

Program Implications

Actual Cost of Care

Payments for child care services under the NYSCCBG and under Title XX must be
only for the actual cost of care, up to the applicable market rate as updated in
Attachment A. The actual cost of care is:

e for care provided pursuant to a contract between the LDSS and the provider,
the payment rate set forth in the contract; or,
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e for care provided in instances other than pursuant to a contract between the
LDSS and the provider, the amount charged to the general public for equal
care in that facility or home. However, if the facility or home cares only for
subsidized children, then the actual cost of care is the amount the provider is
currently receiving from the LDSS for such children, unless the provider can
demonstrate to the LDSS that the actual cost of providing care to such
children is higher than that amount.

Federal and state reimbursement is available for child care services for eligible
families only when the cost does not exceed the amount charged by the provider to
the general public for similar care.

LDSSs may negotiate contracts with individual providers. The negotiated payment
rates may be the same as or lower than the rates charged to non-subsidized
families. Even though the negotiated rate may be less than the usual charge to
non-subsidized families, the negotiated rate is considered to be the actual cost of
care for those child care services provided under a contractual agreement between
the LDSS and the provider.

A contract cannot be made a condition of receiving payment under the NYSCCBG.

Determining Actual Cost of Care for Providers Without a Contract Who Care
Only for Subsidized Children

If a provider cares only for children receiving child care subsidies, and does not
have a contract with the LDSS, then the actual cost of care is the rate the provider
currently receives from the LDSS. However, if the provider can document that he
or she provides similar child care services to a non-subsidized child, currently or in
the recent past, and that a higher rate was charged and received from the non-
subsidized family, then the LDSS can establish that rate as the actual cost of care.
Additionally, if a provider can document that the costs, excluding those that are
reimbursed by other sources of funding, related to the provision of child care
services have increased in the previous 12 months, then that provider may request
a higher payment rate from the LDSS. For this purpose only, the LDSS should
consider the increases in costs related to employees’ salaries and benefits,
occupancy, insurance, equipment, supplies, and food.

The increases in costs have to be solely related to or clearly attributable to the
operation of the child care program. For instance, not all costs of homeowners’
insurance can be considered; only those costs that the insurance carrier has
specifically attributed to the existence of the child care program should be
considered. Furthermore, costs of home improvement or maintenance to the
general residence would not be considered attributable solely to the operation of
the child care program.

The costs associated with the child care program to maintain compliance with
existing regulatory standards should not be considered. In offering services as a
child care provider, the provider is attesting to the fact that he or she has been and
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will be satisfying the basic regulatory standards. A statement that he or she now
has to charge more because the program was compelled to meet those standards
does not present a legitimate expense attributable to the operation of a child care
program. However, if new regulatory standards are created, the costs incurred by
an existing program to meet the new regulatory standards should be considered.
For instance, when Alyssa’s Law was enacted, some providers’ properties required
physical modifications to comply with Alyssa’s Law. The cost of modifications that
were amortized by the provider over a reasonable period of time should have been
considered solely attributable to the operation of the child care program. Other
potential includable costs are those associated with compliance with the
administration of medication requirements. For example, when out-of-pocket
expenses related to retaining a health care consultant or obtaining required training
are documented by a provider, who is newly choosing to come into compliance
with the administration of medication requirements, those expenses are to be
considered by the LDSS.

In order to determine the amount of increase that is reasonable, the LDSS should
annualize the appropriate costs, including amortizing any relevant capital
expenditures over a reasonable multiple-year period; then the LDSS should spread
the annualized costs over the capacity of the program and convert the costs to a
weekly (or daily) increased cost per child. Providers and/or LDSSs can contact the
local child care resource and referral agency if they need additional information on
how to maintain business records for child care programs.

When considering increased food costs, the LDSS may consider whether the
provider has chosen to use other available resources to offset food costs,
particularly the Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP). If a provider has
experienced increased food costs because he or she has voluntarily or involuntary
left the CACFP program, such additional food costs should not be considered. If
the provider has never participated in CACFP, the LDSS could deny an increase or
deny that part of the increase that could be offset by the provider by using the
CACFP program.

Generally, the increase in the provider's own salary or profit drawn from the
program would not be considered. However, to the extent that the provider has
granted increases in the salaries to his or her employees and the provider also
delivers direct child care services on-site to the children in his or her program, then
a similar increase in the provider's own salary, if any, can be considered as an
increase in costs to the program. Increased personnel costs for a substitute or
additional staff that are documented by the provider may also be considered, so
long as it is clear that the enhanced staffing was not offset by additional revenues
that the provider was able to generate by serving more children.

Determining the Applicable Market Rate

The LDSS must consider at least three factors when selecting the applicable
market rate for child care services. The factors that affect payment are: the type of
provider, the age of the child, and the duration of care.
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Additional factors affecting rates may apply when care is provided outside of the
family’s district of residence, when care is provided to a child with special needs,
when a program is accredited or provides care during non-traditional hours, and
when care is provided in excess of a weekly or daily period.

1. Type of Provider

a. Licensed or registered day care centers - The maximum payment rate
for care provided by licensed or registered day care centers is the
applicable market rate for day care centers.

b. Registered family day care homes - The maximum payment rate for
care provided by registered family day care homes is the applicable
market rate for family day care homes.

c. Licensed group family day care homes - The maximum payment rate
for care provided by licensed group family day care homes is the
applicable market rate for group family day care homes.

d. Registered school-age child care programs - The maximum payment
rate for care provided by registered school-age child care programs is the
applicable market rate for school-age child care programs.

e. Legally-exempt group child care — The maximum payment rate for care
provided by caregivers of legally-exempt group child care as defined in 18
NYCRR Section 415.1 is the applicable market rate for legally-exempt
group child care.

f. Legally-exempt family child care and legally-exempt in-home child
care providers - The maximum payment rate for care provided by legally-
exempt family child care and legally-exempt in-home child care providers
is the applicable market rate for legally-exempt family child care and in-
home child care.

Note: All legally-exempt providers -- including legally-exempt group, legally-exempt
family, and legally-exempt in-home providers -- must meet applicable health and
safety standards and must be temporarily enrolled or enrolled by the legally-
exempt caregiver enrollment agency before payment is made.

2. Age of Child

Market rates differ according to the age of the child. The age categories differ for
center-based child care (licensed or registered day care centers, registered school
age child care programs, and legally exempt group care) and home-based child
care (registered family day care, licensed group family day care, legally-exempt
family child care, and legally-exempt in-home child care). Only two age categories
apply to school-age child care programs: 3 years through 5 years and 6 years
through 12 years. The age categories are:
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a. under 1 Y% years (center-based) or under 2 years (home-based);

b. 1%yearsthrough 2 years (center-based) or 2 years (home-based);
c. 3yearsthrough 5 years; and

d. 6 yearsthrough 12 years.

When a change in a child's age results in his/her movement from one age category
to another, the new market rate limit must be applied at the beginning of the first
full month following such a change.

3. Duration of Care
Market rates also differ according to the number of hours of care that are needed.
a. Weekly

The LDSS must apply the weekly market rates as the maximum payment limit only
when the child care services are provided for 30 or more hours over the course
of five or fewer days in a single week.

b. Daily

The LDSS must apply the daily market rates as the maximum payment limit only
when the child care services are provided for less than 30 hours over the course
of five or fewer days in a single week and for at least six but fewer than
twelve hours per day.

Some providers charge a daily rate for child care services provided for 30 or more
hours over the course of five or fewer days in a single week. The daily market rates
do not apply in those instances. The LDSS must apply the weekly market rates
divided by five as the maximum daily payment limit.

c. Part-day

The LDSS must apply the part-day market rates as the maximum payment limit
when the child care services are provided for at least three but fewer than six
hours per day. Part-day market rates also must be applied for children who are
enrolled in full-day pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, or higher grade who are
provided care before and/or after school for less than three hours per day by day
care centers or school-age child care programs that do not charge on an hourly
basis.

d. Hourly
With the exception noted in the definition of the part-day rate, the LDSS must apply

the hourly market rates as the maximum payment limit when the child care
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services are provided for fewer than three hours per day.

Weekly Versus Daily Market Rates

When a child care provider routinely charges non-subsidized parents on a weekly
basis and has not signed a purchase of service contract or other written agreement
for payment on a different basis, the LDSS must apply the weekly market rate as
the maximum payment limit for child care services that are provided for 30 or more
hours over the course of five or fewer days in a single week. To determine if care is
provided for 30 or more hours over the course of five or fewer days in a single
week, LDSSs must use Monday as the start of the weekly period.

When a child care provider routinely charges non-subsidized parents on a daily
basis for child care provided for 30 or more hours over the course of five or fewer
days in a single week and has not signed a purchase of service contract or other
written agreement for payment on a different basis, the LDSS must apply the
weekly market rate divided by five as the maximum daily payment limit for child
care services.

When the child care services are provided for fewer than 30 hours over the course
of five or fewer days in a single week, the LDSS must apply the daily, part-day or
hourly market rates, or a combination thereof, as applicable. The market rate
charts reflect daily rates for care that is provided for at least six but less than twelve
hours per day, but for less than 30 hours over the course of five or fewer days in a
single week.

Care in Excess of a Weekly or Daily Market Rate Period

When child care services are provided by a single provider in excess of one weekly
or daily market rate period and the provider routinely charges an additional rate for
these additional periods, payment for child care services must be based on the
actual cost of care up to the applicable market rates. If care is provided for six or
seven days in a week, then an additional market rate would apply for the sixth
and/or seventh day. If care is provided for 12 hours or more in a day, then an
additional market rate (daily, part-day, or hourly) would be applied. When
determining the appropriate market rates, LDSSs must use Monday as the start of
the weekly period.

An example of care in excess of a daily market rate period is as follows: a provider,
whose normal operating hours are 7:00 AM to 5:30 PM, cares for a child from 7:00
AM to 11:.00 PM (16 hours) per day, Monday through Friday, and charges an
additional amount for care after 5:30 PM. In this example, the maximum payment
available is one weekly market rate plus five part-day rates. One weekly market
rate applies since care is provided for 30 or more hours over the course of five or
fewer days in a single week. Since care is provided for 12 or more hours per day,
five part-day market rates also apply for the four additional hours of care above the
12 hours per day provided from 7:00 PM to 11:00 PM, Monday through Friday.
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An example of care in excess of a weekly market rate period is as follows: a
provider, whose normal operating hours are Monday through Friday 7:00 AM to
5:30 PM, cares for a child from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM (8 hours) per day, Monday
through Friday, and from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM (4 hours) on Sunday, and charges
an additional amount for care after 5:30 PM and for care on the weekend. To
determine if care is provided for 30 or more hours over the course of five or fewer
days in a single week, start on Monday and determine the number of hours, if any,
that service was provided for five days. Then, determine if any care is provided for
any days beyond the five days and determine if the daily, part-day or hourly market
rate applies. In this example, the maximum payment available is one weekly
market rate plus one part-day market rate for Sunday. One weekly market rate
applies because care is provided for 30 or more hours for the five-day period
Monday through Friday. Because care is provided for a sixth day in the week, one
part-day market rate applies for the four hours of care on Sunday.

Care Provided for 24 Hours in a Day

LDSSs have the option to pay for child care services that are needed for 24 hours
in a single day. Reimbursement is available to the LDSS if the LDSS has selected
this option in its Child and Family Services Plan.

When a single provider provides child care services for 24 hours in a day, the
LDSS must determine if care is provided for 30 or more hours over the course of
five or fewer days in a single week. Then, the LDSS must evaluate whether the
care provided is in excess of a weekly or daily market rate period. Payment for the
child care services must be based on the actual cost of care up to the applicable
market rate.

An example of 24-hour care that leads to a total amount of care in excess of 30 or
more hours over the course of five or fewer days in a single week is as follows: a
provider, whose normal operating hours are Monday through Friday 7:00 AM to
5:30 PM, cares for a child from 12:00 AM on Monday to 12:00 AM on Tuesday (24
hours) and from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM (8 hours) per day, Tuesday through Friday.
The provider also charges an additional amount for care after 5:30 PM. In this
example, the maximum payment available is one weekly market rate plus one daily
market rate. One weekly market rate applies since care is provided for 30 or more
hours during Monday through Friday. One daily market rate also applies because
care is provided for 12 or more hours per day on Monday.

Care Provided by Multiple Providers

Where child care services are provided by multiple providers, reimbursement will
be made for the actual cost of such services up to the applicable rate for each
provider used. However, if the combined reimbursement to the multiple providers
would exceed one weekly market rate, then in order to receive such
reimbursement, the parent or caretaker must demonstrate that their schedule of
employment, or other approved activity, or the special needs of the child
necessitate that child care services be arranged with multiple providers. If the
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LDSS determines that the parent or caretaker has not demonstrated that there is
a necessity to use multiple providers, reimbursement is limited to the one weekly
market rate that is applicable for the type of provider who provides care for the
highest number of hours. The LDSS will determine how to distribute the
reimbursement for the multiple providers.

If the LDSS determines that the parent or caretaker has demonstrated that there is
a need to use multiple providers when the combined reimbursement to the multiple
providers would exceed one weekly market rate, reimbursement will be made to
each provider for the actual cost of such services up to the applicable market rate
for each provider. For example, a provider cares for a child from 7:30 AM to 4:30
PM, Monday through Friday. Another provider cares for that child from 6:00 PM to
9:30 PM on Tuesday and Thursday. The maximum payment available is one
weekly market rate for the first provider and two part-day market rates for the
second provider.

Children with Special Needs

When child care services are provided for a child with special needs, LDSSs will
receive reimbursement for payments in excess of the applicable market rate up to
the statewide limit. Any payments in excess of the market rates must be related to
the increased costs associated with meeting the special care needs of the
particular child. Detailed requirements relative to the provision of child care
services to children with special needs are set forth in 91 ADM-34.

The rate of reimbursement to a provider caring for a child determined to have
special needs is the actual cost of care up to the statewide limit of the highest
weekly, daily, part-day or hourly market rate for child care services in the state, as
applicable, based on the amount of time the child care services are provided per
week, irrespective of the type of child care provider used or the age of the child.

The highest applicable market rates in the state are as follows. These rates are
also the maximum reimbursable rates for special needs children:

Weekly $371.00
Daily $60.00
Part-Day  $40.00
Hourly $17.00

Location of Care

Whenever child care services are provided by a provider located outside the social
services district that authorizes the subsidy, the LDSS must make payments based
on the cost of care, up to applicable market rates, for the county in which the care
is provided. The same standard applies to care provided in another state, but the
LDSS must use NYS rules for calculating payments.
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Standard and Enhanced Market Rates for Legally-Exempt Family Child Care
Homes and Legally-Exempt In-Home Child Care Providers

The standard market rates for legally-exempt family child care and legally-exempt
in-home child care providers are based on a 65 percent differential applied to the
market rates established for registered family day care. The enhanced market rate
for legally-exempt family and legally-exempt in-home child care providers is a 70
percent differential applied to the market rates established for registered family day
care.

The enhanced market rate is available for providers of legally-exempt family child
care and legally-exempt in-home child care who have demonstrated to the
enrollment agency that they have completed ten or more hours of training annually
in the areas set forth in section 390-a(3)(b) of the Social Services Law.

The enrollment agency will inform the LDSS of the providers whom they have
verified to have completed ten or more hours of training. When the LDSS is notified
by the enrollment agency that a legally-exempt family child care or legally-exempt
in-home child care provider has completed ten or more hours of training, then the
provider is eligible to receive the enhanced market rate for a period of 12
consecutive months. The LDSS must increase the payment amount to the
enhanced market rate no later than the beginning of the first full month after the
LDSS has been notified that the provider completed the ten hours of training. The
LDSS must send the required notice, OCFS/LDSS-4781, Notice of Intent to
Change Child Care Benefits, to the parent/caretaker. The provider remains eligible
to receive the enhanced market rate for a period of 12 consecutive months, even if
there is a gap in the family’s child care subsidy or if the child care subsidy ends
and the provider begins providing care for a different subsidized child during the
12-month period. In order to continue to receive the enhanced market rate beyond
the 12-month enhanced rate eligibility period, the provider must complete an
additional ten or more hours of training and submit documentation to the
enrollment agency. The enrollment agency will notify the LDSS if the provider has
completed an additional ten or more hours of training.

The regulation also provides flexibility to those LDSSs that wish to maintain the
enhanced rate at a higher level (up to 75 percent of the registered family day care
market rate). An LDSS has the option, if it so chooses in the child care portion of its
Child and Family Services Plan, to increase the enhanced market rate for eligible
legally-exempt family child care and in-home child care categories up to 75 percent
of the applicable registered family day care market rate:

e for all such providers; or

e for those providers who were receiving the enhanced rate on the date of the
regulations for the remainder of the time they remain enrolled and continue to
meet the ten-hour annual training requirement.
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The standard and enhanced market rates for legally-exempt family child care and
legally-exempt in-home providers are included in Attachment A.

Market Rates for Legally-Exempt Group Child Care Providers

The market rates for legally exempt group child care providers are established at a
75 percent differential applied to the market rate established for licensed or
registered day care centers.

Differential Payment Rates

Nationally Accredited Programs

LDSSs may establish differential payment rates for child care services provided by
validly licensed or registered child care providers that have been accredited by a
nationally recognized child care organization. Nationally recognized organizations
that provide accreditation to licensed or registered child care providers include the
National Association for Education of Young Children (NAEYC), National
Association for Family Child Care (NAFCC), and National School Age Child Care
Association (NSACCA).

Legally-exempt group child care, legally-exempt family child care and legally-
exempt in-home child care providers are not eligible for the differential payment
rate for nationally accredited programs.

Non-traditional Hours

LDSSs may establish differential payment rates for any eligible child care provider
for child care services that are provided during non-traditional hours: evening, night
or weekend hours. Social services districts may establish a differential rate for non-
traditional hours provided by legally-exempt group, legally-exempt family, and
legally-exempt in-home child care providers as well as by licensed/registered
providers.

Conditions Pertaining to Differential Payments

If an LDSS chooses to offer a differential payment, the LDSS must indicate this in
its Child and Family Services Plan. The information in the plan must include the
percentage above the applicable market rate that the LDSS opts to allow for
accredited programs and/or for care provided during non-traditional hours, as
applicable. The LDSS must also indicate in its Child and Family Services Plan if
any restrictions or limitations are placed on providers who may be eligible for any
differential payment.

The differential payment rates established by the LDSS may be up to 15 percent

higher than the applicable market rates. For example, if the market rate is $200, a

differential of 15 percent would raise the market rate up to $230 for eligible

providers. LDSSs must pay a provider who qualifies for a differential payment rate

the lower of the rate charged by that provider to the general public for equal care,
11
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or the differential payment rate.

The differential payment rates the LDSS sets for accredited programs may be
different than the rates it sets for care provided during non-traditional hours. There
can be a total of only 15 percent in differential payment to any one provider. For
instance, a provider who is nationally accredited and who also provides child care
during non-traditional hours is eligible only for a maximum rate of a 15 percent
increase above the market rate for the respective type of care and age of the child.

Waivers to Exceed 15 Percent

LDSSs may request a waiver from OCFS to establish differential payment rates
that are in excess of 15 percent above the applicable market rate. The LDSS
waiver request must show that the 15 percent maximum is insufficient to provide
access within the district to accredited programs and/or care provided during non-
traditional hours.

System Implications

This LCM has no Welfare Management System implications.
Required Actions

All previous market rates are superseded by those published in this issuance.

LDSSs are required to use these market rates when determining the payment
amounts for all cases that are opened on or after the effective date of the rates,
and they must review all currently authorized cases to determine that payment is
authorized for the actual cost of care up to the applicable market rate. Reviews
must take place as soon as possible, but no later than the next case action or
redetermination, whichever comes first.

Recipients of child care subsidies that have paid for child care costs in excess of
the previous market rate are eligible for an increased payment from the LDSS
(their actual child care charges up to the updated market rate). For example, a
parent who has been paying an amount in excess of the previous market rates as
of January 1, 2016, would only be eligible for the increased amount as of June 1,
2016. Parents who have documented out of pocket payments for the increased
cost must be reimbursed for the out of pocket payment up to the market rate
effective June 1, 2016.

Where the new market rates have increased from the previous market rates,
providers who can provide documentation of the cost of care to private pay families
in excess of the previous market rate are eligible for an increased payment from
the LDSS (their actual child care charges for private pay families, up to the updated
market rate). The increased payment is effective the date the provider begins
charging the increased rate, but no earlier than June 1, 2016. For example, a
provider who has been charging private pay families an amount in excess of the
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VI.

previous market rates as of January 1, 2016, would only be eligible for the
increased amount as of June 1, 2016. However, if the provider increased the rate
for private pay families on or after June 1, 2016, the provider is eligible for the cost
of care up to the market rate from the date the provider increased the rate or June
1, 2016, whichever is later, upon proper documentation of this increase.

In instances in which the market rates have decreased from the previous market
rates, the LDSS will need to reduce benefits. Please note that when a benefit is
reduced due to changes in the market rates, the effective date for the reduction is
not retroactive to June 1, 2016. Benefit reductions are to be made prospectively.
For those cases in which an LDSS did not make the necessary reductions at the
next case action that occurred on or after June 1, 2016, the amount the LDSS paid
above the market rate is not reimbursable from State and federal funds.

Whenever the amount of child care benefits changes, LDSSs must provide
recipients with appropriate notice as required by 18 NYCRR Subpart 358-2.

If the provider’s rate is in excess of the market rate and the LDSS does not have a
contract with the provider, the parent who chooses to continue care with the
provider must make up the difference. If the LDSS has a contract to pay a rate that
is higher than the market rate, the amount above the market rate is not
reimbursable from State and federal funds.

Effective Date

The effective date of this release is June 1, 2016.

/s/ Janice M. Molnar

Janice M. Molnar, Ph.D.
Deputy Commissioner
Division of Child Care Services
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ATTACHMENT A

CHILD CARE MARKET RATES

Market rates are established in five groupings of social services districts as follows:

Group 1:

Group 2:

Group 3:

Group 4:

Group 5:

MARKET RATES

Nassau, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, Westchester

Columbia, Erie, Monroe, Onondaga, Ontario, Rensselaer, Schenectady,
Tompkins, Warren

Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautaugua, Chemung, Chenango,
Clinton, Cortland, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene,
Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Montgomery,
Niagara, Oneida, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, St.
Lawrence, Steuben, Sullivan, Tioga, Washington, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates

Albany, Dutchess, Orange, Saratoga, Ulster

Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, Richmond

The market rates established for each group apply to all districts in the designated group.



16-OCFS-LCM-18 August 30, 2016

GROUP 1 COUNTIES:
Nassau, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester

DAY CARE CENTER
AGE OF CHILD

Under 1% 1%-2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $350 $312 $289 $290
DAILY $60 $57 $50 $57
PART-DAY $40 $38 $33 $38
HOURLY $9.50 $10.00 $10.00 $10.00

FAMILY DAY CARE HOME AND GROUP FAMILY DAY CARE HOME
AGE OF CHILD

Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $295 $275 $275 $265
DAILY $60 $55 $53 $51
PART-DAY $40 $37 $35 $34
HOURLY $10.00 $10.00 $10.00 $10.00

SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE
AGE OF CHILD

Under 1 v 1% -2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $0 $0 $289 $290
DAILY $0 $0 $50 $57
PART-DAY $0 $0 $33 $38

HOURLY $0 $0 $10.00 $10.00
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(Group 1 Counties)
LEGALLY-EXEMPT GROUP CHILD CARE

AGE OF CHILD

Under 1% 11/2-2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $0 $0 $217 $218
DAILY $0 $0 $38 $43
PART-DAY $0 $0 $25 $29
HOURLY $0 $0 $7.50 $7.50

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE
STANDARD RATE

AGE OF CHILD

Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $192 $179 $179 $172
DAILY $39 $36 $34 $33
PART-DAY $26 $24 $23 $22
HOURLY $6.50 $6.50 $6.50 $6.50

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE
ENHANCED RATE
AGE OF CHILD

Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $207 $193 $193 $186
DAILY $42 $39 $37 $36
PART-DAY $28 $26 $25 $24

HOURLY $7.00 $7.00 $7.00 $7.00
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GROUP 2 COUNTIES: Columbia, Erie, Monroe, Onondaga, Ontario, Rensselaer,
Schenectady, Tompkins and Warren

DAY CARE CENTER
AGE OF CHILD

Under 1% 1%-2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $259 $242 $225 $200
DAILY $53 $49 $45 $42
PART-DAY $35 $33 $30 $28
HOURLY $9.00 $8.50 $8.25 $8.00

FAMILY DAY CARE HOME AND GROUP FAMILY DAY CARE HOME
AGE OF CHILD

Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $185 $175 $175 $165
DAILY $40 $36 $35 $34
PART-DAY $27 $24 $23 $23
HOURLY $6.00 $6.00 $6.00 $6.00

SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE
AGE OF CHILD

Under 1 v 1% -2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $0 $0 $225 $200
DAILY $0 $0 $45 $42
PART-DAY $0 $0 $30 $28

HOURLY $0 $0 $8.25 $8.00
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(Group 2 Counties)
LEGALLY-EXEMPT GROUP CHILD CARE

AGE OF CHILD

Under 1% 11/2-2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $0 $0 $169 $150
DAILY $0 $0 $34 $32
PART-DAY $0 $0 $23 $21
HOURLY $0 $0 $6.19 $6.00

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE
STANDARD RATE

AGE OF CHILD

Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $120 $114 $114 $107
DAILY $26 $23 $23 $22
PART-DAY $18 $16 $15 $15
HOURLY $3.90 $3.90 $3.90 $3.90

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE
ENHANCED RATE
AGE OF CHILD

Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $130 $123 $123 $116
DAILY $28 $25 $25 $24
PART-DAY $19 $17 $16 $16

HOURLY $4.20 $4.20 $4.20 $4.20
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GROUP 3 COUNTIES:

Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton,
Cortland, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer,
Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Orleans, Oswego,
Otsego, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, St. Lawrence, Steuben, Sullivan, Tioga,
Washington, Wayne, Wyoming, and Yates

DAY CARE CENTER
AGE OF CHILD

Under 1% 1%-2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $200 $190 $180 $170
DAILY $43 $41 $38 $37
PART-DAY $29 $27 $25 $25
HOURLY $7.00 $7.50 $7.50 $7.00

FAMILY DAY CARE HOME AND GROUP FAMILY DAY CARE HOME
AGE OF CHILD

Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $150 $150 $150 $143
DAILY $33 $30 $30 $30
PART-DAY $22 $20 $20 $20
HOURLY $5.00 $5.00 $5.00 $5.00

SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE
AGE OF CHILD

Under 1 v 1% -2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $0 $0 $180 $170
DAILY $0 $0 $38 $37
PART-DAY $0 $0 $25 $25

HOURLY $0 $0 $7.50 $7.00
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(Group 3 Counties)

LEGALLY-EXEMPT GROUP CHILD CARE

AGE OF CHILD

August 30, 2016

Under 1 15 11/2-2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $0 $0 $135 $128
DAILY $0 $0 $29 $28
PART-DAY $0 $0 $19 $19
HOURLY $0 $0 $5.63 $5.25
LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE
STANDARD RATE
AGE OF CHILD
Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $98 $98 $98 $93
DAILY $21 $20 $20 $20
PART-DAY $14 $13 $13 $13
HOURLY $3.25 $3.25 $3.25 $3.25
LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE
ENHANCED RATE
AGE OF CHILD
Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $105 $105 $105 $100
DAILY $23 $21 $21 $21
PART-DAY $15 $14 $14 $14
HOURLY $3.50 $3.50 $3.50 $3.50
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GROUP 4 COUNTIES:
Albany, Dutchess, Orange, Saratoga, and Ulster

DAY CARE CENTER
AGE OF CHILD

Under 1% 1%-2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $262 $247 $225 $220
DAILY $56 $51 $46 $46
PART-DAY $37 $34 $31 $31
HOURLY $8.50 $8.25 $8.50 $9.00

FAMILY DAY CARE HOME AND GROUP FAMILY DAY CARE HOME
AGE OF CHILD

Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $225 $200 $200 $200
DAILY $45 $45 $42 $40
PART-DAY $30 $30 $28 $27
HOURLY $8.75 $8.00 $8.00 $8.00

SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE
AGE OF CHILD

Under 1 15 1% -2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $0 $0 $225 $220
DAILY $0 $0 $46 $46
PART-DAY $0 $0 $31 $31

HOURLY $0 $0 $8.50 $9.00
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(Group 4 Counties)
LEGALLY-EXEMPT GROUP CHILD CARE

AGE OF CHILD

Under 1% 11/2-2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $0 $0 $169 $165
DAILY $0 $0 $35 $35
PART-DAY $0 $0 $23 $23
HOURLY $0 $0 $6.38 $6.75

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE
STANDARD RATE

AGE OF CHILD

Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $146 $130 $130 $130
DAILY $29 $29 $27 $26
PART-DAY $20 $20 $18 $18
HOURLY $5.69 $5.20 $5.20 $5.20

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE
ENHANCED RATE
AGE OF CHILD

Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $158 $140 $140 $140
DAILY $32 $32 $29 $28
PART-DAY $21 $21 $20 $19

HOURLY $6.13 $5.60 $5.60 $5.60
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GROUP 5 COUNTIES:

Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, and Richmond

DAY CARE CENTER

AGE OF CHILD

August 30, 2016

Under 1 Y- 1% -2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $371 $268 $242 $210
DAILY $59 $51 $46 $42
PART-DAY $39 $34 $31 $28
HOURLY $15.75 $17.00 $15.75 $9.00
FAMILY DAY CARE HOME AND GROUP FAMILY DAY CARE HOME
AGE OF CHILD
Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $200 $185 $175 $160
DAILY $37 $35 $33 $32
PART-DAY $25 $23 $22 $21
HOURLY $12.00 $12.00 $10.00 $12.00
SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE
AGE OF CHILD
Under 1 v 1% -2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $0 $0 $242 $210
DAILY $0 $0 $46 $42
PART-DAY $0 $0 $31 $28
HOURLY $0 $0 $15.75 $9.00
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(Group 5 Counties)
LEGALLY-EXEMPT GROUP CHILD CARE

AGE OF CHILD

Under 1% 11/2-2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $0 $0 $182 $158
DAILY $0 $0 $35 $32
PART-DAY $0 $0 $23 $21
HOURLY $0 $0 $11.81 $6.75

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE
STANDARD RATE

AGE OF CHILD

Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $130 $120 $114 $104
DAILY $24 $23 $21 $21
PART-DAY $16 $15 $14 $14
HOURLY $7.80 $7.80 $6.50 $7.80

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE
ENHANCED RATE
AGE OF CHILD

Under 2 2 3-5 6-12
WEEKLY $140 $130 $123 $112
DAILY $26 $25 $23 $22
PART-DAY $18 $16 $15 $15

HOURLY $8.40 $8.40 $7.00 $8.40
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SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD CARE

The rate of payment for child care services provided to a child determined to have special needs
is the actual cost of care up to the statewide limit of the highest weekly, daily, part-day or hourly
market rate for child care services in the State, as applicable, based on the amount of time the
child care services are provided per week regardless of the type of child care provider used or
the age of the child.

The highest full time market rate in the State is:

WEEKLY $371
DAILY $60
PART-DAY $ 40

HOURLY $17.00



