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I. Purpose 
 
The purpose of this release is to advise social services districts of the filing of revised 

regulations related to the market rates and the maximum reimbursements for expenditures 

for child care services funded under the New York State Child Care Block Grant 

(NYSCCBG) and Social Services Block Grant (Title XX). These changes to Title 18 of 

the New York Codes, Rules and Regulations (NYCRR) Section 415.9 were filed as an 

emergency rule as well as a notice of proposed rule-making and were effective April 1, 

2014.  Districts were previously notified in 14-OCFS-INF-01, issued on February 19, 

2014, about the revisions to the child care market rates.  The regulations were adopted as 

a final rule on April 30, 2014. 

 

 

II. Background 

 

Federal and New York State law require the State to establish payment rates for child 

care subsidies that are sufficient to ensure equal access to child care services for eligible 

children [42 USC 9858c(a)(4)(A); 45 CFR Part 98.43(a); Section 410-x(4) of the Social 

Services Law].  Federal regulation requires that payment rates be based on a local market 
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rate survey [45 CFR Part 98.43(b)(2)].  State law requires the Office of Children and 

Family Services (OCFS) to establish, in regulation,  the applicable market-related 

payment rate, which establishes a ceiling for State and federal reimbursement for 

payments for child care services (Section 410-x(4) of the Social Services Law).   

 

Payment rates must be sufficient to ensure equal access for eligible families to child care 

services, comparable to those provided to children whose parents are not eligible to 

receive assistance under any federal or State child care programs.  In addition, market 

rates must take into account the variations in costs of providing child care in different 

settings and to children of different age groups as well as the additional cost of providing 

child care for children with special needs.   

 

In accordance with federal regulatory requirements, OCFS contracted with a market 

research firm to conduct a telephone survey of a sample of regulated providers.  Prior to 

conducting the telephone survey, a letter was sent to all regulated child care providers to 

inform them that they might be included in the sample of providers called to participate 

in the market rate survey.  A copy of the questions accompanied the letters so that 

providers could prepare their responses in advance of their possible participation in the 

market rate survey.  The market research firm conducted the telephone survey in English 

and in Spanish, as needed, and had resources available to assist providers in other 

languages as well.  Market rate data was collected from 4,474 providers. 

 

Data from the survey were analyzed and the rates from the survey were clustered into 

five distinct groupings of districts.  Market rates were then established for each cluster at 

the 69
th

 percentile. 

 

The standard market rates for legally-exempt family child care and legally-exempt in-

home child care providers reflect a 65 percent differential applied to the market rate 

established for registered family day care.  The enhanced market rates are established at a 

70 percent differential applied to the market rates established for registered family day 

care.  Information pertaining to the establishment of the market rates for legally-exempt 

family child care and legally-exempt in-home child care can be found on pages 10-11. 

 

III. Program Implications 

 
Actual Cost of Care 
 
Effective April 1, 2014, payments for child care services under the New York State Child 

Care Block Grant (NYSCCBG) and under Title XX must be only for the actual cost of 

care, up to the applicable market rate as updated in Attachment A.  The actual cost of 

care is: 

 

 for care provided pursuant to a contract between the social services district and 

the provider, the payment rate set forth in the contract; or, 
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 for care provided in instances other than pursuant to a contract between the social 

services district and the provider, the amount charged to the general public for 

equal care in that facility or home.  However, if the facility or home cares only for 

subsidized children, then the actual cost of care is the amount the provider is 

currently receiving from the social services district for such children, unless the 

provider can demonstrate to the social services district that the actual cost of 

providing care to such children is higher than that amount.  

 

Federal and State reimbursement is available for child care services for eligible families 

only when the cost does not exceed the amount charged by the provider to the general 

public for similar care. 

 

Social services districts may negotiate contracts with individual providers.  The 

negotiated payment rates may be the same as or lower than the rates charged to non-

subsidized families.  Even though the negotiated rate may be less than the usual charge to 

non-subsidized families, the negotiated rate is considered to be the actual cost of care for 

those child care services provided under a contractual agreement between the social 

services district and the provider.  

 

A contract cannot be made a condition of receiving payment under the NYSCCBG. 

 

Determining Actual Cost of Care for Providers Without a Contract Who Care Only 

for Subsidized Children 

 

If a provider cares only for children receiving child care subsidies, and does not have a 

contract with the social services district, then the actual cost of care is the rate the 

provider currently receives from the social services district.  However, if the provider can 

document that he or she provides similar child care services to a non-subsidized child, 

currently or in the recent past, and that a higher rate was charged and received from the 

non-subsidized family, then the district can establish that rate as the actual cost of care.  

Additionally, if a provider can document that the costs, excluding those that are 

reimbursed by other sources of funding, related to the provision of child care services 

have increased in the previous 12 months, then that provider may request a higher 

payment rate from the district.  For this purpose only, the district should consider the 

increases in costs related to employees’ salaries and benefits, occupancy, insurance, 

equipment, supplies, and food. 

 

The increases in costs have to be solely related to or clearly attributable to the operation 

of the child care program.  For instance, not all costs of homeowners’ insurance can be 

considered; only those costs that the insurance carrier has specifically attributed to the 

existence of the child care program should be considered.  Furthermore, costs of home 

improvement or maintenance to the general residence would not be considered 

attributable solely to the operation of the child care program. 

 

Also, the costs associated with the child care program to maintain compliance with 

existing regulatory standards should not be considered.  In offering services as a child 
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care provider, the provider is attesting to the fact that he or she has and will be satisfying 

the basic regulatory standards.  So, a statement that he or she now has to charge more 

because the program was compelled to meet those standards does not present a legitimate 

expense attributable to the operation of a child care program.  However, if new regulatory 

standards are created, the costs incurred by an existing program to meet the new 

regulatory standards should be considered.  For instance, when Alyssa’s Law was 

enacted, costs for  physical modifications to the property that were required to comply 

with Alyssa’s Law, which were amortized by the provider over a reasonable period of 

time, should have been considered solely attributable to the operation of the child care 

program. Other potential includable costs are those associated with compliance with the 

administration of medication requirements.  For example, out-of-pocket expenses related 

to retaining a health care consultant or obtaining the required training that are 

documented by the provider, who is newly choosing to come into compliance with the 

administration of medication requirements, are to be considered by the district.   

 

In order to determine the amount of increase that is reasonable, the district should 

annualize the appropriate costs, including amortizing any relevant capital expenditures 

over a reasonable multiple-year period; then the district should spread the annualized 

costs over the capacity of the program and convert the costs to a weekly (or daily) 

increased cost per child.  Providers and/or districts can contact the local child care 

resource and referral agency if they need additional information on how to maintain 

business records for child care programs.   

 

When considering increased food costs, the district may consider whether the provider 

has chosen to use other available resources to offset food costs, particularly the Child and 

Adult Care Food Program (CACFP).  If a provider has experienced increased food costs 

because he or she has voluntarily or involuntary left the CACFP program, such additional 

food costs should not be considered.  If the provider has never participated in CACFP, 

the district could deny an increase or deny that part of the increase that could be offset by 

the provider by using the CACFP program. 

 

Generally, the increase in the provider’s own salary or profit drawn from the program 

would not be considered.  However, to the extent that the provider has granted increases 

in the salaries to his or her employees and the provider also delivers direct child care 

services on-site to the children in his or her program, then a similar increase in the 

provider’s own salary, if any, can be considered as an increase in costs to the program.  

Additionally, increased personnel costs for a substitute or alternate provider that are 

documented by the provider may be considered, so long as it is clear that the enhanced 

staffing was not offset by additional revenues that the provider was able to generate by 

serving more children. 

A. Determining the Applicable Market Rate 

 

The social services district must consider at least three factors when selecting the 

applicable market rate for child care services.  The factors that affect payment are:  the 

type of provider, age of the child, and duration of care.   
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 Additional factors affecting rates may apply when care is provided outside of the family’s 

district of residence, when care is provided to a child with special needs, when a program 

is accredited or provides care during non-traditional hours, and when care is provided in 

excess of a weekly or daily period. 

 

1. Type of Provider 

   

a. Licensed or registered day care centers and legally-exempt group child 

care - The maximum payment rate for care provided by licensed or registered 

day care center providers and by caregivers of legally-exempt group child care 

as defined in 18 NYCRR Section 415.1 is the applicable market rate for day 

care centers and legally-exempt group child care. 

 

b. Registered family day care homes - The maximum payment rate for care 

provided by registered family day care homes is the applicable market rate for 

family day care. 

 

c. Licensed group family day care homes - The maximum payment rate for care 

provided by licensed group family day care homes is the applicable market rate 

for group family day care. 

 

d. Registered school-age child care programs - The maximum payment rate for 

care provided by registered school-age child care programs is the applicable 

market rate for school-age child care programs. 

 

e. Legally-exempt family child care and legally-exempt in-home child care 

providers - The maximum payment rate for care provided by legally-exempt 

family child care and legally-exempt in-home child care providers is the 

applicable market rate for legally-exempt family child care and in-home child 

care. 

 

Note: All legally-exempt providers -- including legally-exempt group, legally-exempt 

family, and legally-exempt in-home providers -- must meet applicable health and safety 

standards and must be temporarily enrolled or enrolled by the legally-exempt caregiver 

enrollment agency before payment is made. 

 

2. Age of Child 

 

Market rates differ according to the age of the child.  The age categories are: 

 

 a. under 1 ½ years; 

 

 b. 1 ½ years through 2 years; 

 

 c. 3 years through 5 years; and 
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d. 6 years through 12 years. 

 

 When a change in a child's age results in his/her movement from one age category to 

another, the new market rate limit must be applied at the beginning of the first full month 

following such a change. 

 

3. Duration of Care 

 

 Market rates also differ according to the number of hours of care that are needed. 

 

a. Weekly 

 

 The social services district must apply the weekly market rates as the maximum payment 

limit only when the child care services are provided for 30 or more hours over the 

course of five or fewer days in a single week. 

 

b. Daily 

 

 The social services district must apply the daily market rates as the maximum payment 

limit only when the child care services are provided for less than 30 hours over the 

course of five or fewer days in a single week and for at least six but fewer than 

twelve hours per day. 

 

 Some providers charge a daily rate for child care services provided for 30 or more hours 

over the course of five or fewer days in a single week.  The daily market rates do not 

apply in those instances.  The district must apply the weekly market rates divided by five 

as the maximum daily payment limit. 

  

c. Part-day 

   

 The social services district must apply the part-day market rates as the maximum 

payment limit when the child care services are provided for at least three but fewer 

than six hours per day.  Part-day market rates also must be applied for children who are 

provided care before and/or after school for less than three hours per day by day care 

centers or school-age child care programs that do not charge on an hourly basis. 

 

d. Hourly 

 

 With the exception noted in the definition of the part-day rate, the social services district 

must apply the hourly market rates as the maximum payment limit when the child care 

services are provided for fewer than three hours per day. 

Weekly Versus Daily Market Rates 

 

 When a child care provider routinely charges non-subsidized parents on a weekly basis 
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and has not signed a purchase of service contract or other written agreement for payment 

on a different basis, the social services district must apply the weekly market rate as the 

maximum payment limit for child care services that are provided for 30 or more hours 

over the course of five or fewer days in a single week.  To determine if care is provided 

for 30 or more hours over the course of five or fewer days in a single week, districts must 

use Monday as the start of the weekly period. 

 

When a child care provider routinely charges non-subsidized parents on a daily basis for 

child care provided for 30 or more hours over the course of five or fewer days in a single 

week and has not signed a purchase of service contract or other written agreement for 

payment on a different basis, the social services district must apply the weekly market 

rate divided by five as the maximum daily payment limit for child care services.  

 

When the child care services are provided for fewer than 30 hours over the course of five 

or fewer days in a single week, the social services district must apply the daily, part-day 

or hourly market rates, or a combination thereof, as applicable.  The market rate charts 

reflect daily rates for care that is provided for at least six but less than twelve hours per 

day, but for less than 30 hours over the course of five or fewer days in a single week. 

 

  Care in Excess of a Weekly or Daily Market Rate Period 

 

  When child care services are provided by a single provider in excess of one weekly or 

daily market rate period and the provider routinely charges an additional rate for these 

additional periods, payment for child care services must be based on the actual cost of 

care up to the applicable market rates.  If care is provided for six or seven days in a week, 

then an additional market rate would apply for the sixth and/or seventh day.  If care is 

provided for 12 hours or more in a day, then an additional market rate (daily, part-day, or 

hourly) would be applied.  When determining the appropriate market rates, districts must 

use Monday as the start of the weekly period. 

  

 An example of care in excess of a daily market rate period is as follows: a provider, 

whose normal operating hours are 7:00 AM to 5:30 PM, cares for a child from 7:00 AM 

to 11:00 PM (16 hours) per day, Monday through Friday, and charges an additional 

amount for care after 5:30 PM.  In this example, the maximum payment available is one 

weekly market rate plus five part-day rates.  One weekly market rate applies since care is 

provided for 30 or more hours over the course of five or fewer days in a single week.  

Since care is provided for 12 or more hours per day, five part-day market rates also apply 

for the four additional hours of care above the 12 hours per day provided from 7:00 PM 

to 11:00 PM, Monday through Friday. 

  

 An example of care in excess of a weekly market rate period is as follows: a provider, 

whose normal operating hours are Monday through Friday 7:00 AM to 5:30 PM, cares 

for a child from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM (8 hours) per day, Monday through Friday, and 

from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM (4 hours) on Sunday, and charges an additional amount for 

care after 5:30 PM and for care on the weekend.  To determine if care is provided for 30 

or more hours over the course of five or fewer days in a single week, start on Monday 
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and determine the number of hours, if any, that service was provided for five days.  Then, 

determine if any care is provided for any days beyond the five days and determine if the 

daily, part-day or hourly market rate applies.  In this example, the maximum payment 

available is one weekly market rate plus one part-day market rate for Sunday.  One 

weekly market rate applies because care is provided for 30 or more hours for the five-day 

period Monday through Friday.  Because care is provided for a sixth day in the week, one 

part-day market rate applies for the four hours of care on Sunday. 

Care Provided for 24 Hours in a Day 

 

A district has the option to pay for child care services that are needed for 24 hours in a 

single day.  Reimbursement is available to the district if the district has selected this 

option in its Child and Family Services Plan. 

 

When a single provider provides child care services for 24 hours in a day, the district 

must determine if care is provided for 30 or more hours over the course of five or fewer 

days in a single week.  Then, the district must evaluate if the care provided is in excess of 

a weekly or daily market rate period.  Payment for the child care services must be based 

on the actual cost of care up to the applicable market rate. 

 

An example of 24-hour care that leads to a total amount of care in excess of 30 or more 

hours over the course of five or fewer days in a single week is as follows: a provider, 

whose normal operating hours are Monday through Friday 7:00 AM to 5:30 PM, cares 

for a child from 12:00 AM on Monday to 12:00 AM on Tuesday (24 hours) and from 

9:00 AM to 5:00 PM (8 hours) per day, Tuesday through Friday.  The provider also 

charges an additional amount for care after 5:30 PM.  In this example, the maximum 

payment available is one weekly market rate plus one daily market rate.  One weekly 

market rate applies since care is provided for 30 or more hours during Monday through 

Friday.  One daily market rate also applies because care is provided for 12 or more hours 

per day on Monday. 

 

  Care Provided by Multiple Providers 

 

Where child care services are provided by multiple providers, reimbursement will be 

made for the actual cost of such services up to the applicable rate for each child care 

provider used.  However, if the combined reimbursement to the multiple providers 

would exceed one weekly market rate, in order to receive such reimbursement the parent 

or caretaker must demonstrate that their schedule of employment, or other approved 

activity, or the special needs of the child necessitate that child care services be arranged 

with multiple providers.  If the social services district determines that the parent or 

caretaker has not demonstrated that there is a necessity to use multiple providers, 

reimbursement is limited to the one weekly market rate that is applicable for the type of 

provider who provides care for the highest number of hours.  The social services district 

will determine how to distribute the reimbursement for the multiple providers.  
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If the social services district determines that the parent or caretaker has demonstrated that 

there is a necessity to use multiple providers when the combined reimbursement to the 

multiple providers would exceed one weekly market rate, reimbursement will be made to 

each provider for the actual cost of such services up to the applicable market rate for each 

provider.  For example, a provider cares for a child from 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday 

through Friday. Another provider cares for that child from 6:00 PM to 9:30 PM on 

Tuesday and Thursday.  The maximum payment available is one weekly market rate for 

the first provider and two part-day market rates for the second provider. 

 

Market Rate for Prekindergarten Children in School-Age Child Care Programs 

 

 The market rate that applies for prekindergarten-aged children attending a school-age 

child care program that has received the appropriate waiver for enrolling such children 

from OCFS or the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Day Care 

Bureau, is the rate for children age 6 through 12 years in the same program.   

 

 Children with Special Needs 

 

 When child care services are provided for a child with special needs, social services 

districts will receive reimbursement for payments in excess of the applicable market rate 

up to the statewide limit.  Any payments in excess of the market rates must be related to 

the increased costs associated with meeting the special care needs of the particular child.  

Detailed requirements relative to the provision of child care services to children with 

special needs are set forth in 91 ADM-34. 

 

The rate of reimbursement to a provider caring for a child determined to have special 

needs is the actual cost of care up to the statewide limit of the highest weekly, daily, part-

day or hourly market rate for child care services in the State, as applicable, based on the 

amount of time the child care services are provided per week, irrespective of the type of 

child care provider used or the age of the child. 

 

 The highest applicable market rates in the State are as follows.  These rates are also the 

maximum reimbursable rates for special needs children: 

 

Weekly $340.00 

 

Daily $  68.00 

 

Part-Day $  45.00 

 

Hourly $  18.75 

 

Location of Care 

 

Whenever child care services are provided by a provider located outside the social 

services district that authorizes the subsidy, the district must make payments based on the 
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cost of care, up to applicable market rates, for the county in which the care is provided.  

The same standard applies to care provided in another state. 

 

Standard and Enhanced Market Rates for Legally-Exempt Family Child Care 

Homes and In-Home Child Care Providers 

 

Districts were notified in 09-OCFS-LCM-07 that the regulations were revised, effective 

May 15, 2009, to change the enhanced market rate for legally-exempt family and legally-

exempt in-home child care providers from a 75 percent differential applied to the market 

rates established for registered family day care to a 70 percent differential.  The standard 

market rates for legally-exempt family child care and in-home child care providers are 

based on a 65 percent differential applied to the market rates established for registered 

family day care.   

 

These differential rates provide incentives to encourage legally-exempt family child care 

and legally-exempt in-home providers to improve the quality of the care they provide 

through training.  Therefore, the market rates available for legally-exempt child care 

providers and legally-exempt in-home child care providers were restructured by 

authorizing a higher rate for providers who annually complete ten or more hours of 

training and a lower rate for those who do not obtain such training. 

 

The enhanced market rate is available for providers of legally-exempt family child care 

and legally-exempt in-home child care who have demonstrated to the enrollment agency 

that they have completed ten or more hours of training annually in the areas set forth in 

section 390-a(3)(b) of the Social Services Law.  The enrollment agency will inform the 

district of the providers whom they have verified to have completed ten or more hours of 

training. 

 

When a district is notified by the enrollment agency that a legally-exempt family child 

care or legally-exempt family in-home child care provider has completed ten or more 

hours of training, the district must increase the payment amount to the enhanced market 

rate no later than the month after the district has been notified that the provider completed 

the ten hours of training, and the district must send the required notice, OCFS/LDSS-

4781, Notice of Intent to Change Child Care Benefits, to the parent/caretaker.  The 

provider is eligible to receive the enhanced market rate for a period of 12 months.  In 

order to receive the enhanced market rate beyond the 12-month period, the provider must 

complete an additional ten or more hours of training and submit documentation to the 

enrollment agency.  The enrollment agency will notify the district if the provider has 

completed an additional ten or more hours of training.   
 

The regulation also provides flexibility to those social services districts that wish to 

maintain the enhanced rate at a higher level (up to 75 percent of the registered family day 

care market rate).  A social services district has the option, if it so chooses in the child 

care portion of its Child and Family Services Plan, to increase the enhanced market rate 

for eligible legally-exempt family child care and in-home child care categories up to 75 

percent of the applicable registered family day care market rate:  
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 for all providers;  

 for those providers who were receiving the enhanced rate on the date of the 

regulations but only for the remainder of their current one-year enrollment period; 

or 

 for those providers who were receiving the enhanced rate on the date of the 

regulations for the remainder of the time they remain enrolled and continue to 

meet the ten-hour annual training requirement.  

 

The standard and enhanced market rates are included in Attachment A. 

 

 

Differential Payment Rates 

 

Nationally Accredited Programs 

 

Districts are allowed to establish differential payment rates for child care services 

provided by licensed or registered child care providers or programs that have been 

accredited by a nationally recognized child care organization.  Nationally recognized 

organizations that provide accreditation to regulated child care providers include the 

National Association for Education of Young Children (NAEYC), National Association 

for Family Child Care (NAFCC), and National School Age Child Care Association 

(NSACCA). 

 

Legally-exempt group child care, legally-exempt family child care and legally-exempt in-

home child care providers are not eligible for the differential payment rate for nationally 

accredited programs. 

 

Non-traditional Hours 

 

Districts are allowed to establish differential payment rates for child care services that are 

provided during non-traditional hours: evening, night or weekend hours.  Social services 

districts may establish a differential rate for non-traditional hours provided by legally-

exempt group, legally-exempt family, and legally-exempt in-home child care providers as 

well as by regulated providers. 

 

 Conditions Pertaining to Differential Payments 

 

 If a district chooses to offer a differential payment, the district must indicate this in its 

Child and Family Services Plan.  The information in the plan must include the percentage 

above the applicable market rate that the district opts to allow for accredited programs 

and/or for care provided during non-traditional hours, as applicable.  The district must 

also indicate in its Child and Family Services Plan if any restrictions or limitations are 

placed on providers who may be eligible for any differential payment. 

 

 The differential payment rates established by the district may be up to 15 percent higher 

than the applicable market rates.  For example, if the market rate is $200, a differential of 
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15 percent would raise the market rate up to $230 for eligible programs.  Districts must 

pay a provider who qualifies for a differential payment rate the lower of the rate charged 

by that provider to the general public for equal care, or the differential payment rate. 

 

 The differential payment rates the district sets for accredited programs may be different 

than the rates it sets for care provided during non-traditional hours.  There can only be a 

total of 15 percent in differential payment to any one provider.  For instance, a provider 

who is nationally accredited and who also provides child care during non-traditional 

hours is eligible only for a maximum rate of a 15 percent increase above the market rate 

for the respective type of care and age of the child. 

  

Waivers to Exceed 15 Percent 

 

A district may request a waiver from OCFS to establish differential payment rates that are 

in excess of 15 percent above the applicable market rate.  The district request must show 

that the 15 percent maximum is insufficient to provide access within the district to 

accredited programs and/or care provided during non-traditional hours. 

 

IV.  System Implications 

 

This LCM has no Welfare Management System implications. 

 

V.  Required Actions 
 

All previous market rates are superseded by those published in this issuance. 

 

Social services districts are required to use these market rates when determining the 

payment amounts for all cases that are opened on or after the effective date of the rates, 

and they must review all currently authorized cases to determine that payment is 

authorized for the actual cost of care up to the applicable market rate.  Reviews must take 

place as soon as possible, but no later than the next case action or redetermination, 

whichever comes first. 

 

Recipients of child care subsidies that have paid for child care costs in excess of the 

previous market rate are eligible for an increased payment from the district (their actual 

child care charges up to the updated market rate).  For example, a parent who has been 

paying an amount in excess of the previous market rates as of August 1, 2013, would 

only be eligible for the increased amount as of April 1, 2014.  Parents who have 

documented out of pocket payments for the increased cost must be reimbursed for the out 

of pocket payment up to the market rate effective April 1, 2014. 

 

Where the new market rates have increased from the previous market rates, providers 

who can provide documentation of this increase in the cost of care to the private pay 

families for child care costs in excess of the previous market rate are eligible for an 

increased payment from the district (their actual child care charges for private pay 

families, up to the updated market rate).  The increased payment is effective the date the 
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provider begins charging the increased rate, but no earlier than April 1, 2014. For 

example, a provider who has been charging private pay families an amount in excess of 

the previous market rates as of August 1, 2013, would only be eligible for the increased 

amount as of April 1, 2014.  However, if the provider increased the rate for the private 

pay families on or after April 1, 2014, the provider is eligible for the cost of care up to the 

market rate from the date the provider increased the rate or April 1, 2014, whichever is 

later, upon proper documentation of this increase.  

 

In instances in which the market rates have decreased from the previous market rates, the 

district will need to reduce benefits.  Please note that when a benefit is reduced due to 

changes in the market rates, the effective date for the reduction is not retroactive to April 

1, 2014.  Benefit reductions are to be made prospectively.  For those cases in which a 

district did not make the necessary reductions at the next case action that occurred on or 

after April 1, 2014, the amount the district paid above the market rate is not reimbursable 

from State and federal funds.   

  

Whenever the amount of child care benefits changes, social services districts must 

provide recipients with appropriate notice as required by 18 NYCRR Part 358.   

 

If the provider’s rate is in excess of the market rate and the district does not have a 

contract with the provider, the parent who chooses to continue care with the provider 

must make up the difference.  If the district has a contract to pay a rate that is higher than 

the market rate, the amount above the market rate is not reimbursable from State and 

federal funds. 

 

 

VII.   Effective Date 

 

 

The effective date of this release is April 1, 2014.  

 

 

 

 

/s/ Janice M. Molnar, Ph.D. 

 

Janice M.  Molnar, Ph.D.  

Deputy Commissioner  

Division of Child Care Services 
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ATTACHMENT A 

 

CHILD CARE MARKET RATES 

 

 

Market rates are established in five groupings of social services districts as follows: 

 

Group 1:  Nassau, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, Westchester 

 

Group 2:  Columbia, Erie, Monroe, Onondaga, Ontario, Rensselaer, Saratoga, 

Schenectady, Tompkins, Warren 

 

Group 3: Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, 

Chenango, Clinton, Cortland, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, 

Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, 

Madison, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, 

Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, St. Lawrence, Steuben, Sullivan, Tioga, 

Washington, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates 

 

Group 4:  Albany, Dutchess, Orange, Ulster 

 

Group 5: Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, Richmond 

 

 

 

 

MARKET RATES 

 

The market rates established for each group apply to all districts in the designated group. 
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GROUP 1 COUNTIES: 

Nassau, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester 

 

DAY CARE CENTER 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $340 $311 $285 $283 

     

DAILY $68 $62 $57 $57 

     

PART-DAY $45 $41 $38 $38 

     

HOURLY $9.50 $9.25 $10.00 $10.00 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

REGISTERED FAMILY DAY CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $275 $250 $250 $250 

     

DAILY $56 $55 $50 $50 

     

PART-DAY $37 $37 $33 $33 

     

HOURLY $10.00 $10.00 $10.00 $10.00 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

GROUP FAMILY DAY CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $285 $275 $275 $275 

     

DAILY $60 $60 $59 $55 

     

PART-DAY $40 $40 $39 $37 

     

HOURLY $10.00 $10.00 $10.00 $10.00 

________________________________________________________________________ 
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(Group 1 Counties) 

SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $0 $0 $0 $283 

     

DAILY $0 $0 $0 $57 

     

PART-DAY $0 $0 $0 $38 

     

HOURLY $0 $0 $0 $10.00 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE 

STANDARD RATE 

 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 1/2 – 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $179 $163 $163 $163 

     

DAILY $36 $36 $33 $33 

     

PART-DAY $24 $24 $21 $21 

     

HOURLY $6.50 $6.50 $6.50 $6.50 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE 

ENHANCED RATE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY 
$193 $175 $175 $175 

     

DAILY $39 $39 $35 $35 

     

PART-DAY $26 $26 $23 $23 

     

HOURLY $7.00 $7.00 $7.00 $7.00 
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GROUP 2 COUNTIES:  Columbia, Erie, Monroe, Onondaga, Ontario, Rensselaer, 

Saratoga, Schenectady, Tompkins and Warren 

 

DAY CARE CENTER 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $246 $231 $215 $200 

     

DAILY $52 $49 $44 $40 

     

PART-DAY $35 $33 $29 $27 

     

HOURLY $8.50 $8.25 $8.50 $7.00 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

REGISTERED FAMILY DAY CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $175 $175 $170 $160 

     

DAILY $40 $38 $35 $32 

     

PART-DAY $27 $25 $23 $21 

     

HOURLY $5.50 $5.75 $5.75 $5.75 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

GROUP FAMILY DAY CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $190 $180 $175 $170 

     

DAILY $38 $40 $38 $35 

     

PART-DAY $25 $27 $25 $23 

     

HOURLY $6.00 $6.00 $6.00 $6.00 

________________________________________________________________________ 
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(Group 2 Counties) 

SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $0 $0 $0 $200 

     

DAILY $0 $0 $0 $40  

     

PART-DAY $0 $0 $0 $27  

     

HOURLY $0 $0 $0 $7.00 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE 

STANDARD RATE 

 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 1/2 - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $114 $114 $111 $104 

     

DAILY $26 $25 $23 $21 

     

PART-DAY $18 $16 $15 $14 

     

HOURLY $3.58 $3.74 $3.74 $3.74 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE 

ENHANCED RATE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY 
$123 $123 $119 $112 

     

DAILY $28 $27 $25 $22 

     

PART-DAY $19 $18 $16 $15 

     

HOURLY $3.85 $4.03 $4.03 $4.03 
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GROUP 3 COUNTIES:   

Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, 

Clinton, Cortland, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, 

Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, 

Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, St. Lawrence, Steuben, 

Sullivan, Tioga, Washington, Wayne, Wyoming, and Yates 

 

DAY CARE CENTER 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $190 $180 $170 $160 

     

DAILY $42 $40 $38 $35 

     

PART-DAY $28 $27 $25 $23 

     

HOURLY $6.75 $6.75 $6.25 $6.25 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

REGISTERED FAMILY DAY CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $150 $140 $140 $140 

     

DAILY $30 $30 $30 $29 

     

PART-DAY $20 $20 $20 $19 

     

HOURLY $4.75 $4.50 $4.50 $5.00 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

GROUP FAMILY DAY CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $150 $150 $148 $140 

     

DAILY $35 $33 $32 $30 

     

PART-DAY $23 $22 $21 $20 

     

HOURLY $5.00 $5.00 $5.00 $5.00 

________________________________________________________________________ 
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(Group 3 Counties) 

SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $0 $0 $0 $160 

     

DAILY $0 $0 $0 $35  

     

PART-DAY $0 $0 $0 $23  

     

HOURLY $0 $0 $0 $6.25 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE 

STANDARD RATE 

 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 1/2 - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $98 $91 $91 $91 

     

DAILY $20 $20 $20 $19 

     

PART-DAY $13 $13 $13 $12 

     

HOURLY $3.09 $2.93 $2.93 $3.25 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE 

ENHANCED RATE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY 
$105 $98 $98 $98 

     

DAILY $21 $21 $21 $20 

     

PART-DAY $14 $14 $14 $13 

     

HOURLY $3.33 $3.15 $3.15 $3.50 
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GROUP 4 COUNTIES:   

Albany, Dutchess, Orange, and Ulster 

 

DAY CARE CENTER 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $252 $240 $220 $211 

     

DAILY $58 $55 $49 $43 

     

PART-DAY $39 $37 $33 $29 

     

HOURLY $8.50 $8.25 $8.00 $8.25 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

REGISTERED FAMILY DAY CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $200 $199 $190 $188 

     

DAILY $44 $40 $40 $40 

     

PART-DAY $29 $27 $27 $27 

     

HOURLY $7.00 $7.00 $7.00 $7.00 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

GROUP FAMILY DAY CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $225 $204 $200 $200 

     

DAILY $45 $45 $41 $38 

     

PART-DAY $30 $30 $27 $25 

     

HOURLY $8.75 $8.00 $8.00 $8.00 

________________________________________________________________________ 
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(Group 4 Counties) 

SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $0 $0 $0 $211 

     

DAILY $0 $0 $0 $43  

     

PART-DAY $0 $0 $0 $29  

     

HOURLY $0 $0 $0 $8.25 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE 

STANDARD RATE 

 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 1/2 - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $130 $129 $124 $122 

     

DAILY $29 $26 $26 $26 

     

PART-DAY $19 $18 $18 $18 

     

HOURLY $4.55 $4.55 $4.55 $4.55 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE 

ENHANCED RATE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY 
$140 $139 $133 $132 

     

DAILY $31 $28 $28 $28 

     

PART-DAY $20 $19 $19 $19 

     

HOURLY $4.90 $4.90 $4.90 $4.90 
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GROUP 5 COUNTIES:   

Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, and Richmond 

 

DAY CARE CENTER 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $330 $255 $233 $215 

     

DAILY $56 $53 $47 $43 

     

PART-DAY $37 $35 $31 $29 

     

HOURLY $15.75 $17.00 $15.75 $10.75 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

REGISTERED FAMILY DAY CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $175 $160 $150 $150 

     

DAILY $33 $32 $31 $30 

     

PART-DAY $22 $21 $21 $20 

     

HOURLY $16.00 $12.00 $13.25 $13.00 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

GROUP FAMILY DAY CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $200 $185 $175 $175 

     

DAILY $38 $37 $35 $35 

     

PART-DAY $25 $25 $23 $23 

     

HOURLY $18.75 $16.00 $13.25 $14.00 

________________________________________________________________________ 
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(Group 5 Counties) 

SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $0 $0 $0 $215 

     

DAILY $0 $0 $0 $43  

     

PART-DAY $0 $0 $0 $29 

     

HOURLY $0 $0 $0 $10.75 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE 

STANDARD RATE 

 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 1/2 - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY $114 $104 $98 $98 

     

DAILY $21 $21 $20 $20 

     

PART-DAY $14 $14 $14 $13 

     

HOURLY $10.40 $7.80 $8.61 $8.45 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

LEGALLY-EXEMPT FAMILY CHILD CARE AND IN-HOME CHILD CARE 

ENHANCED RATE 

 AGE OF CHILD 

 Under 1 ½      1 ½ - 2 3 - 5 6-12 

WEEKLY 
$123 $112 $105 $105 

     

DAILY $23 $22 $22 $21 

     

PART-DAY $15 $15 $15 $14 

     

HOURLY $11.20 $8.40 $9.28 $9.10 

________________________________________________________________________ 
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SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD CARE 

 

The rate of payment for child care services provided to a child determined to have special 

needs is the actual cost of care up to the statewide limit of the highest weekly, daily, part-

day or hourly market rate for child care services in the State, as applicable, based on the 

amount of time the child care services are provided per week regardless of the type of 

child care provider used or the age of the child. 

 

The highest full time market rate in the State is: 

 

WEEKLY $ 340 

  

DAILY $ 68 

  

PART-DAY $ 45 

  

HOURLY $ 18.75 

 

 

 


