	CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES PROGRAM MANUAL
	Chapter
	Section
	Page
	Date

	
	V
	
	1
	May 2007



V.
STATE CENTRAL REGISTER RESPONSIBILITIES
Although this manual attempts to provide local districts with comprehensive guidelines regarding their child protective responsibilities, it is also useful for local child protective services (LCPS) workers to be familiar with some of the standards and procedures of the New York Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR).

The responsibilities of the staff of the SCR fall into three major categories: Intake, Service Center Operation, and the operation of the Abandoned Infant Information Hotline.  



A.  INTAKE


The Child Protective Services Act of 1973 established the SCR as the primary receiver of calls regarding the suspected abuse and/or maltreatment of children in New York State.  (Monroe County and Onondaga County operate their own hotlines and submit reports to the SCR electronically for processing).  Trained child protective staff at the SCR receives calls through the toll free telephone lines 24 hours a day, 7 days per week, 365 days a year. 

Calls to the SCR come through the:  

· Mandated Line (1-800-635-1522)

· Public Line (1-800-342-3720) 

· Mandated Reporter Facsimile Line (1-800-635-1554) 
· Hearing Impaired TTY* Line (1-800-638-5163)

*TTY (text telephone) is a special device that lets people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech-impaired use the telephone to communicate, by allowing them to type messages back and forth to one another instead of talking and listening.  A TTY is required at both ends of the conversation in order to communicate.

The SCR strives to maintain a performance indicator of answering 85% of incoming calls within one minute.  To do so, the SCR Child Protective Specialists conduct a focused interview and, based on the information obtained, categorize the information appropriately.  The interviewing process begins as a dialogue with callers about their concerns regarding a child.  The SCR CPS Specialist secures as much relevant information as possible, focusing on the basis for the caller’s suspicion regarding child abuse or maltreatment, and demographic information including the current location of the child.  Based on the information obtained through the interview, the SCR CPS Specialist makes an informed decision whether or not the legal requirements to register a report of suspected child abuse and/or maltreatment have been met.  

Elements of Maltreatment:
Note: This definition is not for use in Institutional Abuse or Neglect situations.  Inquiries in Institutional Abuse or Neglect investigations should be directed to the OCFS Regional Office. 

There must be a reasonable cause to suspect that each of the following three (3) elements are present in order to register a report of child maltreatment:

· There is a suspicion that the child’s physical, mental or emotional condition has been impaired, or is in imminent danger of becoming impaired.

· There is a suspicion that the parent or other person legally responsible for the child failed to exercise a minimum degree of care under the circumstances in question.

· There is a suspicion that it was the parent, or other person legally responsible’s failure to exercise the requisite care which caused the impairment of, or threatened to impair, the child’s physical, mental or emotional condition.

Elements of Abuse:
Note: This definition is not for use in Institutional Abuse or Neglect situations.  Inquiries in Institutional Abuse or Neglect investigations should be directed to the OCFS Regional Office. 

In order to register a report of child abuse there must be reasonable cause to suspect:

· That the child sustained or was at substantial risk of sustaining a serious or protracted impairment of physical or emotional health, serious or protracted disfigurement,  protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily organ, or death.
AND

· That the parent or person legally responsible inflicted the injury or allowed the injury to be inflicted; Or, created or allowed to be created a substantial risk of injury.
OR

· That the parent or person legally responsible sexually abused the child(ren) by:  committing a sex offense against the child(ren) or allowing a sex offense to be committed against the child(ren) according to the penal law; committing incest or allowing incest to be committed; allowing, permitting or encouraging the child(ren) to engage in prostitution; or allowing the child to be used in a sexual performance.

Subject of a Report:
The subject of the report can be the child’s parent or guardian or any person 18 years of age or older legally responsible for a child, when the conduct of such person allegedly causes or contributes to the abuse or maltreatment of the child.  A person found continuously or at regular intervals in the same “household” as the child may be a person legally responsible for that child.  Subject can also mean any director, operator, employee or volunteer of a home or facility operated or supervised by an authorized agency, the Office of Children and Family Services, or an Office of the Department of Mental Hygiene.  Additionally, any director, operator, employee or volunteer in a family day care home, a day care center, a group family day care home or a day services program may be the subject of a report of suspected child abuse or maltreatment.


Registered Reports:
When a call is registered as a report, the SCR CPS Specialist enters information obtained from the caller, i.e. household composition, demographics, a descriptive narrative about the incident(s) and allegations into the CONNECTIONS system. The SCR CPS Specialist also inquires about the caller name, address, telephone number and other alternate contact information that will assist LCPS in their investigation. However, the caller is not required to provide this information as a condition of having the report registered; the SCR accepts reports from persons who refuse to disclose their identities.  Furthermore, the SCR CPS Specialist explains that the caller’s identity will be kept confidential from the subject(s) or other persons named in the report unless the caller consents, in writing, to the disclosure of his or her identity.  

The SCR Specialist conducts a person search of the CONNECTIONS database to determine if the persons named in the report are known in a current case, or were known in a previous report to the SCR.  A unique SCR Call ID number is assigned to the report as confirmation it has been registered.  The SCR CPS Specialist then assigns jurisdiction and immediately transmits the report electronically via CONNECTIONS to the appropriate local Child Protective Service.  If there is an existing record, this history is summarized for the local district and will accompany the electronic transmittal of the oral report.  For districts that do not operate on a 24-hour basis, reports received after hours are transmitted either by fax or telephone to an on-call person designated by the LCPS.

In the event that the CONNECTIONS system is not available, the SCR CPS Specialist records information on an LDSS-2221A form, assigns a temporary ID number and then faxes or verbally transmits the report to the appropriate local district(s) for investigation. Agreements are already in place with each county to determine who will receive reports via fax or telephone.  Once CONNECTIONS is operational, SCR then enters those intake reports into the system.   

When appropriate, reports are also transmitted to the Regional Offices (RO) of OCFS, Commission on Quality of Care and Advocacy for Persons with Disabilities (CQC), Office of Mental Health (OMH), or Office of Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities (OMRDD).

Law Enforcement Referral:
Whenever SCR staff receive information that leads them to believe there is an immediate threat to a child’s health or safety or that a crime has been committed against a child and the SCR is unable to register a report because it doesn’t involve a proper subject, (e.g., parent or other person legally responsible for the child) the SCR will make a Law Enforcement Referral (LER).  The relevant information will be transmitted to the New York State Police Information Network or to the New York City Special Victims Unit for appropriate action.  These law enforcement referrals are not reports and are not tracked by the SCR.  They will not require any action by the LCPS.   

Quality Assurance:

The SCR has implemented a quality assurance procedure to enhance service provision to callers.  In the event that a caller’s information does not meet the legal criteria to register a report of suspected child abuse or maltreatment, a supervisory consultation is always offered to the caller. Supervisors are on-site and available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year to provide assistance to SCR staff and consultation to callers.  In addition, when a report is not registered, the SCR may offer information or referral.

A.  INTAKE
1. Report Assignment by the SCR – Jurisdictional Assignment Procedures (CONNECTION Build 18 Procedures)

Occasionally a child protective report may require intervention from more than one district. There are many situations that may require the SCR to assign two or more districts to jointly investigate and protect children named in a report. Possible case circumstances may include: 

· child(ren) alleged to be abused or maltreated residing in one district and the subject of the report residing in another district; 

· an incident takes place in a district different from where the family resides, and the subjects and/or reported children are located in the other district at the time of the report; 

· multiple children are alleged to be abused or maltreated and the children reside in different districts; or

· multiple subjects of the report reside in different districts. 

When two (or more) districts' CPS units are assigned investigative responsibility, it is important that both CPS units assume a fundamental role and responsibility for the safety and protection of all the children in the case. The SCR will transmit the report to the districts involved and assign appropriate responsibility as defined by the policy below. However, while this policy is intended to clarify areas of cooperation and paperwork, it is not intended to signify that one district has a lesser degree of responsibility than another district to protect the children in the report. On the contrary, this policy emphasizes the shared responsibility and accountability of each district in these multi-district jurisdiction cases. 

CONNECTIONS Build 18 Procedures

In keeping with established New York State Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) policy regarding CONNECTIONS case management, please find below OCFS policy and protocol regarding statewide jurisdictional assignment of Intake Child Protective (CPS) reports.  Effective immediately, the State Central Register (SCR) will assign child protective Intake reports to local districts (borough, county or agency) for investigation as follows:
· OPN-CPS Case – case with open CPS Intake and/or Investigation stages
When a cross reference is found involving an OPN-CPS Intake or Investigation, the intake report will be merged to the OPN-CPS case and primary responsibility for investigation will be assigned to the district where the Case is Open. 

Secondary responsibility will be assigned to the district of the incoming address, if different from the open case.  Routine protocols for additional secondary assignments remain the same. 

Protocols for primary secondary/assignment will apply statewide.  As NYC is considered a single organizational unit (one district), a secondary assignment within the boroughs is not necessary.

Report type will be Subsequent, Duplicate, or Additional Information.
It is important to note that SCR staff and LCPS staff may see different information on the Case List Window for OPN-CPS cases.

For SCR staff, the agency/district that appears on the Case List Window for OPN-CPS cases is the district that has responsibility for the most recent open CPS INT/INV stage (the current primary worker) and to which jurisdiction would be assigned if a new report is registered, regardless of the incoming address on the new intake.

For local district staff, the agency/district that appears on the Case List Window for OPN-CPS cases is the district of the current primary worker; or, if a Family Services case has been opened, the district of the current Case Manager.

It is possible that more than one district will be involved with an OPN-CPS case.  The district with investigative responsibility for an open CPS INT/INV stage may be different from the district of the Case Manager.

· OPN-SVC/OPN-SVC* Case – family services case with open FSI and/or FSS stages 

When a cross-reference is found involving an OPN-SVC/OPN-SVC* case (no OPN-CPS Intake or Investigation), the intake report will be merged to the OPN-SVC/ OPN-SVC* case and primary responsibility for investigation will be assigned to the district where the incoming address of the ma/ab children is located.  

Assigning primary or secondary responsibility to the district with Case Management responsibility will not be necessary.  CONNECTIONS automatically sends an alert to all other assigned workers in a case when individuals are related and a new stage is created and merged into an open case.  This alert, to all assigned workers, meets the notification requirement to advise the local district (LDSS) of any prior history.  The new district is also aware that another district has had case management responsibility.  

Routine protocols for secondary assignments remain the same (i.e. ma/ab children or an alleged subject reside in or are currently located in a different district).
Report type will be Initial if the Case List window shows OPN-SVC meaning the family has not had prior CPS INT/INV.

Report type will be Subsequent if the Case List window shows OPN-SVC* meaning the family has had prior CPS INT/INV.

Additional Information will not be taken on OPN-SVC/OPN-SVC* cases.

· OPN-SVC/OPN-SVC* Case with Out of State address

 
When a cross-reference is found and the Case List Window shows an OPN-SVC/ OPN-SVC* case AND the incoming address of the family is Out of State AND the SCR has jurisdiction to register a report because there is either a child in need of protection in NYS or the abuse occurred in NYS, the intake report will be merged to the OPN-SVC/OPN-SVC* case.  Primary responsibility for investigation will be assigned to the district where the child currently is in NYS at the time of the report or to the district where the abuse occurred.  
· No Cross Reference Found


When no cross-reference is found, jurisdictional assignment will be based upon the incoming address of the ma/ab children named in the report.  Jurisdiction will no longer be assigned to the mother’s address for NYC reports, as has been practice.  Routine protocols for secondary assignments remain the same.  Report type will be Initial.

· The CONNECTIONS Weekly
As published in the CONNECTIONS Weekly (November 4-11, 2005), the SCR will use the following workaround until system enhancements are made:

When the SCR takes a report, and a cross reference is found involving an OPN-CPS case or, an OPN-SVC/OPN-SVC* case containing an FSI stage that has not been progressed to FSS, CONNECTIONS will not allow a merge.  When a CPS intake report is received under these circumstances, the SCR will make the intake report an Initial and notate the open case under Miscellaneous Information.  When the intake information is categorized as Additional Information, the SCR cannot record it in CONNECTIONS.  The SCR will verbal the information to the local district.  

· Questions/Concerns
When jurisdictional assignments are made according to these guidelines and information is obtained after intake or internal district protocols require, local districts are responsible for reassigning reports as needed.


If you have any questions regarding the CONNECTIONS design, please contact your CONNECTIONS liaison in your Regional Office. When you receive a report that does not adhere to these Jurisdictional Assignment protocols, please follow normal procedure by contacting the SCR monitor for discussion.

A.  INTAKE

2. Calls Not Registered as Reports

Along with the multitude of calls the Statewide Central Register receives each year that provide sufficient information to register a report, there are also many calls that do not provide sufficient information in which to register a report of suspected child abuse or maltreatment.  Some of these “non-report” calls are requests for emergency services, referrals, or involve other concerns, which, even if true, do not meet the statutory definitions of abuse or maltreatment. 

In recognition of OCFS’s responsibility to provide information and direction to persons calling the SCR, callers offering or seeking information outside the context of child abuse and maltreatment reporting are encouraged to take advantage of the appropriate local department of social services information and referral number during regular business hours.  Outside of normal working hours, callers are also encouraged to use the information and referral number unless there is an immediate need for service.  In such instances, the SCR may offer the caller the emergency after-hours number which local districts must maintain as part of the core Preventive Services required by regulations.

Only in the most exceptional circumstances when a caller is unable to take further action beyond calling the SCR, will SCR staff assume a more active role in facilitating contact with local districts. 

When it appears that the information presented by the caller involves the commission of a crime or an immediate threat to a child's health or safety by a person not meeting the legal definition of a subject of the report, the SCR will transfer the information contained in the call via completion of a Law Enforcement Referral (LER) to the appropriate law enforcement agency.  

Callers who have complaints about public school teachers are also advised to bring their concerns to the attention of the local police and the New York State Education Department (NYSED).

The New York State and New York City complaint lines are:

· New York City Public Schools – to report physical abuse only, contact the NYC Department of Education, Special Investigations at (212) 374-5900.  For Sexual misconduct only, contact Special Commissioner of Investigations at (212) 510-1400 04 (212) 510-1500.

· Upstate Public Schools (office of Student Development and Family Support Services - (518) 486-6090 or (518) 486-6803.
A.  INTAKE

3. Withdrawal of Reports
Reports of suspected child abuse and maltreatment registered by the SCR are immediately assigned to the local CPS for investigation.  On occasion, a report may be registered in error, i.e., the information provided at the time the report was registered would not, if true, constitute child abuse or maltreatment.

The decision to withdraw a report may only be made by the SCR when one or more of the following conditions were known to exist at the point of Intake:

· The reported child is considered to be an adult (18 years old or older).

· The perpetrator is not someone who, by law, can be named as a person legally responsible for the child.

· The allegations do not constitute alleged abuse or maltreatment.

· The NYS Child Protective System/SCR does not have jurisdiction.

Procedure for withdrawal of reports is as follows: 

· Reports made to the SCR will be withdrawn only at the point of Intake.  As such, when the local CPS receives a report believed to have been accepted by the SCR, in error, the local CPS must evaluate the information and reject the Intake back to the SCR with a reason; 

· The SCR will evaluate the report/Intake and the basis for the local CPS’ rejection, and will reassign the report to the local CPS or withdraw it.  Where the SCR re-assigns the report to the local CPS, the local CPS must proceed with the investigation; and

Only the SCR may withdraw a registered report of suspected child abuse and maltreatment.
A.  INTAKE

4. Intake Forms and Instructions

· Form LDSS-2221-A
Report of Suspected Child Abuse or Maltreatment
Form LDSS-2221-A is the form used by mandated reporters in fulfilling their reporting requirements. Mandated reporters are required to submit a written report to the appropriate investigative agency within 48-hours of making an oral report to the Statewide Central Register (SCR).   Form LDSS-222l-A is the form to be used to complete that requirement for a written report. 

For all reports involving LDSS child protective investigations, mandated reporters should submit the signed and completed paper copy of the LDSS-2221-A form to the County Department of Social Services where the subject(s) of the report reside.  The SCR staff should provide the mandated reporter with the correct County address at the time the report is registered. 

For all Institutional Abuse (IAB) reports, the written paper copy of the LDSS-2221-A form, originally signed, must be submitted to the Regional Office of the Executive Agency conducting the investigation.  Again, the SCR staff are able to provide that information to the mandated reporter during the intake call. The local child protective service (LCPS) should make sufficient copies of the LDSS-2221-A form available to all mandated reporters within their district.  The LCPS may distribute the forms to the mandated sources and/or advise them of the website address from which they can print the form.  Instructions for completion of the LDSS-2221-A form may also be distributed to all mandated sources within the district.

To access and print LDSS-2221-A Forms:

Via OCFS INTERNET: http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/forms/cps/ 

or
Via OCFS INTRANET: http://ocfs.state.nyenet/admin/forms/SCR
or

To order LDSS-2221-A Forms:

LDSS-2221-A Forms may be ordered in bulk by making a request to: 

The Office of Children and Family Services

Resource Distribution Center

11 4th Avenue

Rensselaer, N.Y. 12144

· Instructions for Completion of

Form LDSS-2221-A

Report of Suspected Child Abuse or Maltreatment

1.  The LDSS-2221–A is used as an Intake document to record reports of suspected child abuse and maltreatment (CA/M).  When computers are down and reports are verbally transmitted or faxed to LCPS, the LDSS-2221-A must be completed in pen with BLACK INK.

2.  The CPS I gathers as much information as possible and then decides if there is reasonable cause to suspect CA/M, if so, the LDSS-2221-A is completed.

3.  The LDSS-2221-A is the form used to:

A.  Gather demographics and information for the report narrative.

B.  Register a report of suspected child abuse or maltreatment.

4.  Specific fields on the form are:

A. Space above and beside the name of the form.

This space is used to record the Call ID (Call Identification Number) from Connections.  When the       computers are down, the report identification number will be recorded there from the emergency report identification number book.  If there are multiple pages record the page numbers in the upper left hand corner of the LDSS-2221-A, i.e. Page 1 of 2.

B.  Oral Report Date and Time.

The date and time the CPS I completes the LDSS-2221-A are written inside of the boxes.  The date and time should be taken from the “Call Entry” window of Connections unless the computers are down.

C.  State Register Number.

This space is used to record the Call ID (Call       Identification Number) from Connections. When the computers are down, the report identification number will be recorded there from the emergency report identification number book.

D.  Local Register Number.

Used by NYC districts; not completed by SCR.

E.  Local Case Number.
Used by NYC districts; not completed by SCR.

F.  Local District/Agency.

SCR determines jurisdictional assignment and records district or agency code(s) accordingly.  (Found on Connections “Assign” window.)

G.  Subjects.  

Persons named in the report. (On the Call Person List in Connections.)

· The CPS I lists all subjects (perpetrators) and other persons named in the report (all children under 18 years of age and other responsible adults).  List mother or adult female living in the household on the first line.  (See Conventions for listing Subjects and Other Persons Named in a Report).
· CPS I completes the line number on the LDSS-2221-A.  Line numbers are not used in Connections.
· Natural parents are listed, if known, on all day care/ foster care, and institutional reports.
· Any “Significant others” are mentioned in the narrative also.
· Only 7 persons are listed on the LDSS-2221-A; if there are more than 7 people, check “more” box.
· If subjects(s), other person named or child(ren) name(s) are unknown, indicate this by writing “UNK” or “UNKNOWN” in the name fields. (See Connections Procedure Manual for use of Unknown in Connections.)
· If a subject has an alias enter the alias on the first available blank line number. Under the word “Alias” cross reference the line numbers that correspond with the subject.  (See the       Connections Procedure Manual re: entering the “Alias” for a subject.)

H.  Sex.
The CPS I completes with codes provided on the form “M, F, U(nk)”. In Connections, the sex code is a search criteria used to reduce the pool f people returned in a search). 

I.  Birthdate.


The CPS I completes exact birth date or enters the approximate age under the “MO’ space on the form.

J.  Ethnic Code.


The CPS I completes the codes as found in Connections      Procedure Manual.

K.  Susp. (suspicions) or Relation Code.


The CPS I completes with codes found in Connections.  (See Connections Procedure Manual.)

L.  CPS I places a check (3) in the alleged perpetrator column if the person is the subject.

M.  Addresses and Telephone Numbers.


Addresses are needed for all persons listed on the LDSS-2221-A. Be as specific as possible.  (Apartment numbers, floor numbers, etc.)  A report can be taken with only the telephone number. (See procedure for locating the town in which telephone number is located.)

· To establish primary/ secondary responsibility, two addresses are needed and both local district/ agency codes are noted in the upper right hand corner.  Example: counties 16/40.

· For rural areas- try to obtain crossroads, landmarks, and color of buildings.  (Record under Locating Information on the Narrative window of Connections). Record under Miscellaneous Information Narrative if Computers are Down or in an Emergency.

N.  Bases of Suspicions.

Any bases of suspicion checked off by CPS I are correlated with written allegations in the narrative.

Injuries (i.e. burns/ scalding; Choking/ twisting/ shaking; fractures; internal injuries/ subdural hematoma; lacerations/ bruises/ welts; poisoning/ noxious substances; swelling/ dislocation/ sprains. . .) must be coupled with another allegation to show how this was non- accidental.

If “DOA/Fatality” is noted, there must be an accompanying allegation(s) used that reflects the parental behavior which caused the fatality.

O.  Narrative.

1. In constructing the LDSS-2221-A (Intake Report) Narrative the following points should be addressed in as clear and concise a manner as possible.

· Who is the person(s) legally responsible that allegedly abused/maltreated the child(ren).  Which child(ren) was placed at harm or risk of harm.

· What were the circumstances surrounding the incident(s).  What were the injuries and/or harm to the children or risk of either.

· When did the alleged abuse/maltreatment occur.  If past incident(s) are relevant, the narrative should contain this information.  Also, where possible, the date and time of the incident(s) should be contained in the narrative. NOTE:  Do Not Complete the incident date and times boxes.

· Where did the alleged abuse/ maltreatment take place.  If past incidents are relevant the narrative should contain this information.

· How did the incident(s) transpire, including the harm or risk of harm to the child(ren).  This information should be written in a succinct manner.

2.  When the subject (perpetrator) does not fall under one of the specific categories sited in Section 412 of the Social Services Law, the first lines of the narrative should contain information on why this individual(s) is considered legally responsible for the abuse/maltreated child(ren).

3.  When referencing the adults and children in the narrative, they should be referred to by name.  Age or line number should only be used when names are unknown.

4.  The narrative should be written, whenever possible, in the third person.  The narrative should omit any reference to the source of the report or anyone cooperating in a subsequent investigation.

WRONG (Mary stated her father punched her in the face causing a laceration.)

CORRECT (The father punched Mary in the face causing a laceration.)

5.  When adjectives are used in the narrative they should be qualified by examples to make sure the information is clear.

VAGUE
(. . .The home is dirty. . .)

CLEAR
(. . .The home is dirty, there is rotten food all over
the floor. . .)

6.  Pertinent facts that are not available should be noted in the narrative.

Example:  It is unknown if the mother is aware of the abuse.

7.  Abbreviations are no longer accepted in the narrative.  Please spell out the word in its entirety.
8.  The narrative should be written as legibly as possible on the LDSS-2221-A when the computers are down.  Use black ink pen. No more than three lines of narrative should be written on the LDSS-2221-A.
9.  Information that does not directly comment on the “reasons for suspicion” should be written after the narrative.  Create a section entitled MISC. INFO.  (Miscellaneous Information). Include such things as:
· When a Law Enforcement Referral is taken in addition to a report, it needs to be documented in Miscellaneous Information. Remember to write on the back of the LER form in black pen that a report was taken.
· Names of people valuable to the investigation and other pertinent information that will be helpful to the investigation.

· When there is a need for a caseworker who speaks a specific language. (Language is a drop down box on the Person Detail Window in Connections, see the Connections Procedure Manual.)

· Detailed directions to the home.  In Connections this should be entered under Locating Information on the Narrative window.

· Information that might be helpful to the LCPS worker such as possible threats i.e., a loaded gun in the home.  (In Connections on the Call Decision window under Options you can enter these concerns on the Special Handling window.)

· The address if the child is living at another location for protection.

· In Connections Intake, if duplicate Person Identification Numbers are found, list these for LCPS.

· List license plate number and information obtained from DMV checks under MISC INFO only.  NOTE:  No identifying information is recorded on the LDSS-2221-A, or in Connections, on license plate number reports. A search is done on the DMV     name and results are recorded in MISC INFO.

· After completing the Intake Narrative in Connections, please leave the window and then return to print it.  This will Save the      Narrative information to your workstation and reduce the possibility of a lost narrative.

P.  Persons Making This Report.

This section refers to who is actually making the phone call/faxing.  Include the source’s title.  If a mandated reporter calls in the report their name is recorded in this section and the name of their source in the following section. The FAX machine telephone number should also be noted in this section. 

Q.  Sources of this Report if Different.

This section refers to who actually is the source of the information if it is other than the person making the call/ faxing.  (See the Connections Procedure Manual for listing the name of a source in addition to the reporter that is entered on the Entry window.)

R.  Relationship.

This section is completed by checking (3) off the role of the reporter and “x”ing the role of the source.

S.  Anonymous is Anonymous.
If the source is anonymous, check “other” and write “Anon” in the space provided. No identifying data should appear on the source.

T.  For Use By Physicians Only/ Actions Taken or About to be Taken. 

This space is only completed by a Physician.

U.  Signature Space

In the right hand corner, the CPS I and/ or mandated reporter signs complete name.

V. For reports transmitted via FAX, the SCR records:
The time of transmission, and the line and page number from the FAX log.

· Form OCFS-2221T
Report of Suspected Child Abuse or Maltreatment
Form OCFS-2221T is a template used by the SCR for intake purposes when CONNECTONS Intake is unavailable.  

CONNECTIONS may occasionally become unavailable, which necessitates the need for backup SCR Intake procedures.  The backup Intake procedure is the use of the OCFS-2221T.  When necessary, the SCR intake staff will complete the OCFS-2221T and then fax the report to the local child protective service (LCPS).  As with the CONNECTIONS system, the county must acknowledge receipt and assignment of the report.

The OCFS-2221T is also used by the Onondaga County and Monroe County local child protective service hotlines as part of their intake procedure.

· Instructions for Completion of

Form OCFS-2221T

Report of Suspected Child Abuse or Maltreatment

Report Date and Time

For SCR and LCPS use only.  The date and time the report is received from the reporting source.  

Case ID   

The case ID number is determined by the SCR at Intake.  The case ID # is system generated based on the results of the SCR database search on all persons listed in the report.  

Local Case #

Used by NYC districts only.

Call ID 

The Call ID # is system generated upon SCR data entry of the report into CONNECTIONS.

Local District/Agency

The SCR determines the correct jurisdictional assignment of the report and records local district(s) or agency code(s) accordingly.  

Subjects of Report 

Persons named in the report.  Include the first and last name of the alleged subjects (perpetrators), alleged abused or maltreated (AB/MA) child(ren) and all other persons residing in the household(s) or named in the report (all children under 18 years of age and all other responsible adults).
· Only 7 persons can be listed on page 1 of the LDSS-2221-A paper form, as opposed to 12 persons on the OCFS-2221T.  If completing the LDSS-2221-A, list any additional persons on a duplicate page 1, check the “more” box and attach the duplicate page 1 to the original.

· If the first and/or last name of an individual (adult or child listed) is unknown, indicate this by writing “UNK” or “UNKNOWN” in the name field(s). 

· If a subject has an alias, enter the alias on the first available 

   (blank) line number. Under the word “Aliases”, record the line number of the person/child the alias corresponds with. 

· If known, Parent/Caretakers should be listed in addition to the alleged subject(s) of the report on all day care/ foster care (DC/FC) and institutional abuse (IAB) reports. 

Sex

Record the “sex” (i.e., gender) of each person listed; M (male), F (female), or Unk (unknown).  

Birthday or Age

Record the birthday (mm/dd/yy) or age (xx) of each person listed in the report. 

Ethnic Code

Record the correct ethnicity code for each person listed in the report (“Ethnicity Codes” are listed on the reverse side of page 1).  

Relation Code

Record the relationship code for each person listed in the report, based on his/her  relationship to the abused and/or maltreated child(ren) listed in the report (“Relation Codes” are listed on the reverse side of the LDSS-2221-A paper form and the “relation code” field drop down list within CONNECTIONS). 

Role

Record the role of each person listed in the report; abused child, maltreated child, alleged subject (perpetrator), no role or unknown role (“Role codes” are listed on the reverse side of  the LDSS-2221-A paper form and the relation code field drop down list within CONNECTIONS).

Language

Record the primary language spoken by each person listed; i.e., Spanish, English, Chinese etc. (“Language codes” are listed on the reverse side of the LDSS-2221-A paper form and the “language” field drop down list within CONNECTIONS). 

Addresses and Telephone Numbers

Record the legal and/or primary residence address of each abused or maltreated child. Additionally, the address must be listed for all subjects and/or other persons named in the report, if different than that of the child(ren).  Insert the person’s line number next to their corresponding address. Addresses should be as specific as possible, i.e., apartment numbers, floor numbers, etc.)  Note: A report may be registered when the primary address is unknown, but there is a known telephone number for which the subject(s) and/or other persons named in the report may be reached.

Basis of Suspicions

Place a checkmark next to one or more basis of suspicions.  Any basis of suspicion selected must correlate with written allegations of child abuse or maltreatment in the narrative.  List descriptive symptoms, facts, professional opinions, medical diagnoses and consequences or evidence of alleged child abuse or maltreatment.
Note: Injuries sustained by a child, i.e. burns/ scalding; Choking/ twisting/ shaking; fractures; internal injuries/ subdural hematoma; lacerations/ bruises/ welts; poisoning/ noxious substances; swelling/ dislocation/ sprains, must be coupled with another basis of suspicion that explains how the injury occurred and was the result of alleged child abuse or maltreatment.
Note: If a “DOA/Fatality” has occurred, an accompanying basis of suspicion must be selected, that explains how the child’s death was the result of alleged child abuse or maltreatment.

Narrative

When constructing the written narrative the following points should be addressed in as clear and concise a manner as possible:

· Who is the person(s) legally responsible that allegedly abused/ 

   maltreated the child(ren)?  Which child(ren) was harmed or placed at risk of harm?
· What were the circumstances or incident(s) surrounding the alleged child abuse or maltreatment?  Was the child(ren) injured, harmed, or placed at risk of harm and if so, how?

· When did the alleged abuse/ maltreatment occur? If past incident(s) are relevant, include this information in the narrative.   Also, where possible, the date and time of the incident(s) should be recorded in the narrative. NOTE:  Do Not Complete the incident date and times boxes.

· Where did the alleged abuse/ maltreatment take place?  If a past incident(s) is relevant, include this information in the narrative.

· How did the incident(s) transpire?  This information should be written in a clear and succinct manner.  Include descriptive symptoms, facts, opinions, diagnoses, consequences and/or evidence of alleged abuse or maltreatment.

· Note: When the subject(s) (perpetrator(s)) does not fall under one of the specific categories sited in Section 412 of the Social Services Law, the first 

   line of the narrative should contain information on why this person(s) may be considered a “person legally responsible” for the alleged abuse or maltreatment.

· When referencing the adults and children in the narrative, refer to them by name when possible.  Age or line number should only be used when the name(s) is unknown.

· The narrative should be written, whenever possible, in the third person.

· The narrative should omit any reference to the source of the report or any person cooperating in a subsequent investigation.

· Pertinent facts that are not available should be noted in the narrative.  Example:  It is unknown if the mother is aware of the abuse.

· Words should be spelled out completely and the use of abbreviations should be very limited.

· Additional narrative should be recorded on page 2 (LDSS-2221-A) and attached to page 1 of the LDSS-2221-A form. 

Miscellaneous Information

· Information that does not directly address the bases of suspicion, but is relevant to the investigation, should be recorded under MISC. INFO.  The worker should create a separate section, titled MISC INFO, directly following the recorded narrative.  

· Names of people valuable to the investigation and other pertinent information that may be helpful to the investigation.

· The need for a caseworker who speaks a specific language. 

· Detailed directions to the home.        

· The existence of weapons in the home, such as a loaded gun or knives. 

Locating Information

· Where the child(ren) is currently located, if other than the child’s home address.

· Alternative contact information, i.e. the child(ren) and/or adult(s) are at a “safe location” for their protection.

SOURCES OF REPORT

This section refers to the person actually making the report either by telephone or via facsimile to the SCR.  Record the reporter’s name, address and telephone contact number, as well as the person’s title and the name of agency/institution with which the person is associated, if any. If the report originated from someone other than the person making the report, the source’s name, address, telephone contact number, title, agency/institution should also be recorded. If the reporter and/or source of the report wish to remain anonymous, record “Anon” in the NAME space provided.  If applicable, the FAX machine telephone number should also be noted in this section.  

RELATIONSHIP

This section categorizes the person making the report (reporter) and/or the person who is the original source of the information (source) by his/her profession or general relationship to the individuals listed in the report.  Place a checkmark next to the reporter’s corresponding category and an “x” next to the source’s corresponding category. 

Medical Diagnosis and Signature of Physician who examined/treated child 

(LDSS-2221-A form only). To be completed and signed by a physician who has directly examined, diagnosed and/or treated the child(ren).

Hospitalization Required

(LDSS-2221-A form only).  Estimate of the time the child will be hospitalized, if applicable.

Actions Taken Or About To Be Taken

(LDSS-2221-A form only). Actions taken or about to be taken by the physician or hospital staff.  Check boxes applicable.

Signature and Title of Person Making This Report

Electronic signature is acceptable when completing the report on-line (SCR Intake or template format).

Date Submitted

The date the report is completed.  The LDSS-2221-A form must be completed and submitted to the LCPS within 48-hours of SCR registration of the report of suspected child abuse or maltreatment.

SCR Intake Reports Transmitted Via FACSIMILE (Fax)

To be completed by the CPS I responsible for completing and transmitting the report at SCR Intake.  The time of fax transmission and the report’s corresponding line and page number from the SCR FAX LOG are recorded at the bottom of the OCFS-2221T form.

B.  SERVICE CENTER OPERATION

The primary responsibility of the SCR Service Center operation is to support administrative appeals and related employment processes.

B.  SERVICE CENTER OPERATION
1. Request for Amendment of Expungement
Subjects of an indicated report who request to have their report unfounded and sealed, must write to the SCR.  The SCR determines the timeliness of the request and acknowledges receipt of that request by sending the individual a letter.  The SCR must then request the local case record from the investigating LCPS.  Pursuant to Section 422(8)(a)(ii) of the Social Services Law, the investigatory agency is required to send all records and reports that support the indication to OCFS (SCR) within 20 working days of receiving the request.  

Once the LCPS records are submitted, the investigative findings are reviewed against a fair preponderance of evidence.  This is also called the Administrative Review process.  Individuals who request to have the record unfounded and sealed but are denied, are entitled to a Fair Hearing.  SCR staff refer these retained reports to OCFS’ Bureau of Special Hearings (BSH) for the scheduling and holding of the administrative hearing.  At various points along the process, and once BSH issues a written decision, SCR staff must update CONNECTIONS accordingly.  

B.  SERVICE CENTER OPERATION

2. SCR Database Checks
Social Services Law Section 424-a requires certain types of programs and agencies, such as adoption and foster care agencies, detention facilities, day care programs, programs for children who are mentally ill or disabled, and certain types of education programs to submit Database Checks on prospective adoptive and foster parents and employees of day care and residential programs to the SCR.   Agencies are prohibited from placing a child with a family or assigning a childcare worker one-on-one contact with a child until the SCR has checked the individuals against the statewide database for prior indicated history of abuse or maltreatment.  Form LDSS-3370 is used for this purpose.  Form LDSS-3370 is available on the OCFS Internet site at:

http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/forms/cps.
If the applicant(s) on the 3370 Database Check form is not found to be a confirmed subject in any case, the SCR sends a letter back to the agency stating we do not know those individuals.  This is also referred to as a “DO NOT” letter (i.e., the SCR does not have a record of the person being an indicated subject of a report).   

If a search of the statewide database finds the applicant(s) to be a confirmed subject in a case, the SCR is required to send them a letter informing the subject of his/her due process rights.  This letter gives them ninety (90) days to respond back to the SCR in writing that they want to exercise their due process rights through the administrative review and fair hearing process.  If the SCR does not hear back from the individual within that timeframe, the SCR sends a letter to the agency advising the agency that the SCR has a record of the individual being an indicated subject of a report.  This is sometimes referred to as a “DO” letter (i.e., the SCR does have a record of the person being an indicated subject of a report).  

When the applicant responds to the SCR within the ninety (90) day timeframe that they want a fair hearing, the SCR must then request the local case record from the investigating CPS district.  Section 424-a(1)(e)(ii) of the SSL provides for the administrative review as a result of SCR Data Base Checks and includes the same  20 working day requirement for submitting case material as does Section 422(8)(a)(ii) of the SSL.  
B.  SERVICE CENTER OPERATION

3. Requests for Information

Requests to the SCR for Information:
Individuals named in a report of child abuse or maltreatment and their authorized attorneys have a right to receive a copy of their SCR record.  However, information that reveals the identity of the source of the report, the reporter or anyone else who participated in the investigation is not released, nor is any information that may jeopardize the safety of the children named in the report.  Social Services Law Section 422(4)(A) specifies those individuals who are authorized to receive report information and under what circumstances.     
Requests from the SCR for Information: 

The local CPS is required to respond to all special requests for information made by the SCR.  The most commonly occurring circumstances that would cause the SCR to initiate such a request are:

· subject's request for an administrative review and fair hearing under 422(8) of the SSL., 

· subject’s request for an administrative review and fair hearing when identified as a subject through a database check pursuant to Section 424-a of the SSL. 

Administrative Review:

When a request for review is received by the SCR pursuant to Section 422 or 424-a of the Social Services Law, the SCR will ask the investigative agency, in writing, for all records, reports and any other information pertaining to the indicated report. (See Service Center Operation, V.B.1 – V.B.5)

The local district is required to respond to the SCR's request within 20 working days of receiving the request.  (SSL 422(8)(a)(ii)).

The documentation sent to the SCR may include: 

· case progress notes   that contain details of the investigation including, but not limited to, conversations and meetings with the source of the report, subject(s) of the report and other persons named in the report including children, medical persons, school staff, or other collateral contacts; first-hand accounts of incidents; descriptions of child(ren)'s injuries; and the basis for the determination of "indicated"; 

· agency records or reports - any information gathered from outside agencies or other units within a local district which have had substantial contact with the family and/or child; 

· medical reports – reports, records or letters from doctors, hospital or other clinical records; 

· school reports or records – statements or letters from school personnel, attendance records, academic progress reports; 

· psychological/psychiatric reports - evaluations or test results; 

· photographs/x-ray reports – copies of photographs should be sent – the originals should remain in the investigatory file.  Additionally, provide a detailed description of what can be seen in the photos. X- rays should not be sent, x-ray reports or medical diagnosis of the X-rays should be provided. 

· digital photographs  or digital videos  - the originals should remain in the local district case file.  Digital video images of interviews may be submitted to the SCR and viewed by counsel’s office as warranted.

· affidavits - signed statements made by anyone who has direct knowledge relating to the incident(s) or the family situation; 

· law enforcement reports - police reports, probation reports; 

· court petitions and court orders.

The SCR is required to complete its review of records within 15 working days of the receipt of the records from the local district.  (SSL 422(8)(a)(ii))  

If the SCR does not complete the administrative review of a report of child abuse or maltreatment within 90 days of receipt of the request for review under Section 422(8) of the Social Services Law, the matter is to be referred immediately to the OCFS Bureau of Special Hearings for scheduling of a hearing.  (SSL 422(8)(b)(i))

Fair Hearing:

The OCFS Bureau of Special Hearings will notify the investigative agency, subject, and the SCR when a fair hearing has been scheduled. 

The Local District may be represented by a county attorney, local social services department attorney or by CPS non-legal staff.  The Subject of the report may be represented by an attorney, but one will not be provided to him/her if they cannot afford an attorney.  Prior to the fair hearing, the local district CPS staff should meet with their legal staff to discuss the hearing and the evidence to be presented.  

Evidence presented at the hearing should be similar to the documentation presented to the SCR for Administrative Review.

A Family Court finding of abuse or neglect against the subject of the report which is based upon the same incident giving rise to the indicated report of abuse or maltreatment will provide an irrebuttable presumption that the allegations are supported by a fair preponderance of evidence.  The district must document the allegations set forth in the oral report and the fact finding in the Article 10 Family Court proceeding. To document and thus satisfy the presumption, the following evidence should be introduced: 
· As in all cases, evidence concerning the allegations in the report. This is done through the case record and other testimony. 

· Evidence of the fact-finding by the Family Court. The ideal evidence to satisfy this step is the abuse or neglect petition and a court order which sets forth a fact finding of abuse or neglect and which states the grounds for its determination as required by Section l05l(d) of the FCA. If the fact-finding order does not set forth the grounds for such finding, the social services district should introduce the abuse or neglect petition and the transcript of the court's findings of fact.  An oral finding of fact as set forth in a transcript is acceptable for the purposes of satisfying the presumption. 
B.  SERVICE CENTER OPERATION

4. SCR Service Center Line

(518) 474-5297 is open from 8:30am – 4:30pm Monday – Friday.  Individuals who want to find out the status of their request for amendment, expungement or copies of information can access this number.  In addition, authorized agencies can use this number to check on the status of a Database Check submitted on behalf of an applicant.
B.  SERVICE CENTER OPERATION

5. Requests to Expunge Unfounded Reports
SCR staff also handles written requests from individuals or their authorized attorneys to expunge unfounded reports under section 422(5)(c) of the Social Services Law.  Unfounded reports remain in the State Central Register for ten (10) years from the oral report date.  Although the LCPS record that supports the unfounded and legally sealed determination is retrieved for the review, the burden of proof rests on the subject of the unfounded report to prove by clear and convincing evidence that they should not have been named as a subject of a report.  A subject of an unfounded report may also have the unfounded report expunged by showing that the source of the unfounded report was convicted of the crime of having made an intentional false report to the SCR.    There is no hearing right accompanying this process.  It is a document review only.   

C.  ABANDONED INFANT HOTLINE

The Abandoned Infant Information Hotline (AIIH) is available to receive calls 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.  The toll free number is:  1-866–505-7233 (SAFE).  The hotline was created as a result of the Abandoned Infant Protection Act, Chapter 156 of the Laws of 2000.  The Act is intended to prevent infants being abandoned in an unsafe manner that could result in physical harm to the child.  The law creates an affirmative defense to criminal charges of abandonment and endangering the welfare of a child if certain conditions are met.   (more information on the Abandoned Infant Protection Act is available at the OCFS website: http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/safe/info.asp
