Do You Suspect Abuse or Maltreatment?
Report it Now!
Call our Statewide Toll Free Telephone Number:
If you are deaf or hard of hearing, call TDD/TTY at
or have your Video Relay System provider call
If you believe that a child is in immediate danger,
call 911 or your local police department.
The Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment
The abuse or maltreatment of children is against the law. Victims need an effective child protective service to prevent them from suffering further injury and impairment.
The purpose of the Child Protective Services Act of 1973 is to encourage more complete reporting of child abuse and maltreatment. The law established a Child Protective Service in each county in New York. Each Child Protective Service is required to investigate child abuse and maltreatment reports, to protect children (under 18 years old) from further abuse or maltreatment, and to provide rehabilitative services to children, arents, and other family members involved.
The New York State Office of Children and Family Services maintains a Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR) for reports made pursuant to the Social Services Law.
The Statewide Central Register, also known as the "Hotline,” receives telephone calls alleging child abuse or maltreatment within New York State. The Statewide Central Register relays information from the calls to the local Child Protective Service for investigation, monitors their prompt response, and identifies if there are prior child abuse or maltreatment reports.
The Hotline receives calls 24 hours a day, seven days a week from two sources: persons who are required by law, or mandated, to report suspected cases of child abuse and maltreatment; and calls from non-mandated reporters, including the public.
Among those who are mandated to make reports are:
- medical and hospital personnel
- school officials
- social service workers
- child care workers
- residential care workers and volunteers
- law enforcement personnel
*This list is not all inclusive.
A signed, written report, LDSS-2221A Report of Suspected Child Abuse or Maltreatment, must be filed by mandated reporters within 48 hours of an oral report. You should submit written reports to the appropriate local child protective service. You may request the address of the investigative district from the child protective specialist at the time you make the oral report to the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment. LDSS-2221A is available in the following languages:
- English (LDSS-2221A)
- Chinese, traditional (LDSS-2221A-TC)
- Haitian Creole (LDSS-2221A-HC)
- Italian (LDSS-2221A-IT)
- Korean (LDSS-2221A-KO)
- Russian (LDSS-2221A-RU)
- Spanish (LDSS-2221A-S)
The Summary Guide for Mandated Reporters provides mandated reporters with an overview of their obligations and a conceptual framework of the New York State Child Protective Services system (CPS). Pub1159 is available in the following languages:
- English (Pub1159)
- Arabic (Pub1159-AR)
- Chinese, traditional (Pub1159-CH)
- Russian (Pub1159-RU)
- Spanish (Pub1159-S)
Voluntary reporters (for example, neighbors, relatives and concerned citizens) may also use our statewide, toll free number to make reports. If you suspect a child has been harmed or is at risk, please dial 1-800-342-3720, to report what you have seen or heard. You can make a difference.
Translate This Page
- Child Protective Services
- Child Protective Services Home
- Concerned Citizen's Guide to Reporting Suspected Child Abuse and Maltreatment
- Child Protective Services Manual
- Definitions of Child Abuse and Maltreatment
- Mandated Reporter Training
- Online Statewide Central Register Clearance System
- Signs of Child Abuse or Maltreatment