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Effective June 1, 2015 

 

Sub-part 418-2 is repealed in its entirety and a new Sub-part 418-2 is enacted and reads as 

follows: 

 

Sub-part 418-2  

Small Day Care Centers 

 

418-2.1 Definitions, Enforcement and Hearings  

418-2.2 Procedures for Applying for and Renewing a Registration  

418-2.3 Building and Equipment  

418-2.4 Fire Protection  

418-2.5 Safety  

418-2.6 Transportation  

418-2.7 Program Requirements  

418-2.8 Supervision of Children  

418-2.9  Behavior Management  

418-2.10 Child Abuse and Maltreatment  

418-2.11 Health and Infection Control  

418-2.12 Nutrition  

418-2.13 Staff Qualifications  

418-2.14 Training  

418-2.15 Management and Administration  

 

Section 418-2.1 Definitions, Enforcement and Hearings. 

 

The provisions of Part 413 of this Title apply to this Subpart. 
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418-2.2 Procedures For Applying For And Renewing A Registration 

 

(a) Applicants for a registration must submit to the Office: 

 

(1) a completed application, including required attestations, on forms furnished by the Office or 

approved equivalents. Such application and attestations must include an agreement by the 

applicant to operate the small child day care center in conformity with applicable laws and 

regulations; 

 

(2) certificate of occupancy or other documentation from the local government authority having 

jurisdiction for determining compliance with the Fire Code and Building Code of New York 

State, or other applicable fire and building codes when the Fire and Building Code of New York 

State is not applicable, showing that the facility has been inspected and approved within the 12 

months preceding the date of application for use as a small child day care, in accordance with the 

appropriate provisions of such code; 

 

(3) documentation from local zoning authorities or officials, where such authorities or officials 

exist, that a small child day care center is a permitted use under any zoning code applicable to 

the area in which the small child day care center is located; 
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(4) documentation from the local health office or the New York State Department of Health 

showing that the facility has been inspected and approved within the 12 months preceding the 

date of application; 

 

(5) where a program uses a private water supply, a report from a state licensed laboratory or 

individual, based on tests performed within the 12 months preceding the date of application, 

showing that the water meets standards for drinking water established by the New York State 

Department of Health; 

 

(6) certification, on forms provided by the Office, that the building, its property and premises, 

and the surrounding neighborhood and environment are free from environmental hazards. Such 

hazards include, but are not limited to, dry cleaners, gas stations, nuclear laboratories or power 

plants, property designated as a federal superfund clean-up site, and any property with known 

contaminated ground or water supplies. Where the historical or current use of the building, its 

property and premises, or the surrounding neighborhood indicates that an environmental hazard 

may be present, inspection or testing must be completed by the appropriate local official or 

authority to determine if such a hazard exists. Documentation of the inspection or testing must 

be appended to the statement required by this paragraph and include a statement from the 

appropriate local official or authority following this inspection and/or testing that the building, 

its property and premises, and the surrounding neighborhood meet applicable standards for 

sanitation and safety; 
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(7) documentation from service personnel licensed by the New York State Department of State 

to perform fire alarm systems maintenance, repair and testing which shows that fire alarm and 

detection systems have been inspected, tested and maintained in accordance with the applicable 

requirements of the Fire Code and Building Code of New York State, or other applicable fire 

and building codes when the Fire and Building Code of New York State is not applicable,  for 

use of the building as a small child day care center; 

 

(8) documentation from service personnel qualified to perform fire suppression systems testing 

showing that fire suppression equipment and systems have been tested and maintained in 

accordance with the requirements of the Fire Code and Building Code of New York State, or 

other applicable fire and building codes when the Fire and Building Code of New York State is 

not applicable, for use of the building as a small child day care center; 

 

(9) documentation from an inspector from the New York State Department of Labor, or an 

insurance company licensed to write boiler insurance in New York State, showing that all steam 

or hot water boilers have been inspected and approved in accordance with the requirements of 

the New York State Department of Labor. For all other fuel burning heating systems and 

equipment, and boilers not subject to the New York State Department of Labor requirements, 

documentation of service by a heating contractor performed within the 12 months preceding the 

date of application; 

 

(10) a diagram of the portion of the building to be occupied by the small child day care center 

and all adjacent areas of such building, as required in section 418-2.3(a) of this Subpart; 
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(11) a description of program activities offered to meet the needs of children, as described in 

section 418-2.7(a) of this Subpart; 

 

(12) a copy of the emergency plan and emergency evacuation diagram, as required in section 

418-2.5(b) of this Subpart, specifying alternate means of egress; 

 

(13) a health care plan developed in accordance with the requirements of section 418-2.11(a) of 

this Subpart; 

 

(14) medical statements for the provider and any assistant(s) completed within the 12 months 

preceding the date of application, as required in section 418-2.11(b) of this Subpart; 

 

(15) a summary of the training and experience of the provider and any assistant, as described in 

section 418-2.13(a)(4) of this Subpart; 

 

(16) the names, addresses and day time telephone numbers of at least three acceptable references 

each for the provider and any assistant, as specified in section 418-2.13 of this Subpart; 

 

(17) a sworn statement by the applicant and any assistant indicating whether, to the best of the 

applicant's knowledge, the applicant has ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or a felony in 

New York State or any other jurisdiction, and fingerprint images to comply with the 

requirements of section 413.4 of this Title; 
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(18) certification, on forms provided by the Office,  that the applicant is in compliance with 

child support obligations or payments, in accordance with the requirements of Section 3-503 of 

the General Obligations Law; 

 

(19) certification, on forms provided by the Office, that the small child day care center is in 

compliance with workers' compensation in accordance with the requirements of New York 

State Law; 

 

 (20) (i) the Statewide Central Register database form necessary to complete required screening 

by the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment to determine if the 

applicant, for  such registration, is the subject of an indicated report of child abuse or 

maltreatment; 

 

(ii) the forms necessary to check the register of substantiated category one cases of abuse or 

neglect maintained by the Justice Center for the Protection of Persons with Special Needs per 

Section 495 of the Social Services Law;  

 

(21) when the small child day care center is owned by an individual, corporation, partnership or 

other entity using a business or assumed name, a copy of the certificate of doing business under 

an assumed name obtained from the county clerk; and 

 



7 
Effective June 1, 2015 

 

(22) a statement signed by the  applicant or authorized representative of the applicant that the 

program is in compliance with all applicable statutes and regulations. 

 

(b) Small child day care centers located in public school buildings currently used for 

elementary, middle or secondary public education programs approved by the New York State 

Education Department are exempt from the requirements set forth in 418-2.2(a)(2)-(9) of this 

Subpart. Each such program must submit a copy of the current certificate of occupancy issued 

by the State Education Department as part of the application. For those programs not issued 

such certificates of occupancy, the appropriate local equivalent, acceptable to the State 

Education Department, must be submitted. 

 

(c) Applicants for a registration must submit all the documentation required pursuant to section 

418-2.2(a) within 90 days after the submission of the first piece of such documentation to the 

Office.  Applicants who fail to submit all documentation within the 90 days will be deemed to 

have withdrawn such application. 

 

(d) Applicants for a registration may not be issued a registration until an inspection of the small 

child day care center has been conducted showing compliance with the requirements of this 

Subpart and the relevant provisions of the Social Services Law. 

 

(e) Renewal. Applicants for renewal of a registration must submit to the Office at least 60 days 

in advance of the expiration date of the registration the following: 
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(1) a completed application for renewal, including required attestations, on forms furnished by 

the Office, or approved equivalents. Such application and attestations must include an 

agreement by the applicant to operate the small child day care center in conformity with 

applicable laws and regulations; 

 

(2) certification, on forms provided by the Office, of the status of the individual applicant's 

child support obligations or payments, in accordance with the requirements of Section 3-503 of 

the General Obligations Law; 

 

(3) certification, on forms provided by the Office, that the program is in compliance with 

workers' compensation requirements in accordance with New York State Law; 

 

(4) documentation of inspections and approvals as set forth in section 418-2.15(c) of this 

Subpart; 

 

(5) documentation showing compliance with the training requirements of section 418-2.14 of this 

Subpart; 

 

(6) certification, on forms provided by the Office, that the building, its property and premises, 

and the surrounding neighborhood and environment are free from environmental hazards. Such 

hazards include, but are not limited to, dry cleaners, gas stations, nuclear laboratories or power 

plants, property designated as a federal superfund clean-up site, and any property with known 

contaminated ground or water supplies. Where the historical or current use of the building, its 
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property and premises, or the surrounding neighborhood indicates that an environmental hazard 

may be present, inspection or testing must be completed by the appropriate local official or 

authority to determine if such a hazard exists. Documentation of the inspection or testing must 

be appended to the statement required by this paragraph and include a statement from the 

appropriate local official or authority following this inspection and/or testing that the building, 

its property and premises, and the surrounding neighborhood meet applicable standards for 

sanitation and safety; 

 

(7) where a program uses a private water supply, a report from a state licensed laboratory or 

individual, based on tests performed within the 12 months preceding the date of application for 

renewal, showing that the water meets standards for drinking water established by the New 

York State Department of Health; 

 

(8) documentation from service personnel licensed by the New York State Department of State 

to perform fire alarm systems maintenance, repair and testing which shows that fire alarm and 

detection systems have been inspected, tested and maintained during the current registration 

period in accordance with the applicable requirements of the Fire and Building Code of New 

York State or other applicable fire and building codes when the Fire and Building Code of New 

York State is not applicable, for use of the building as a small child day care center; 

 

(9) documentation from service personnel qualified to perform fire suppression systems testing 

showing that fire suppression equipment and systems have been tested and maintained during 

the current registration period in accordance with the requirements of the Fire and Building 
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Code of New York State, or other applicable fire and building codes when the Fire and 

Building Code of New York State is not applicable, for use of the building as a small child day 

care center; and 

 

(10) documentation from an inspector from the New York State Department of Labor, or an 

insurance company licensed to write boiler insurance in New York State, showing that all steam 

or hot water boilers have been inspected and approved during the current registration period in 

accordance with the requirements of the New York State Department of Labor. For all other 

fuel burning heating systems and equipment, and boilers not subject to the New York State 

Department of Labor requirements, documentation of service by a heating contractor performed 

within the 12 months preceding the date of application for renewal;  

(f) Applicants for renewal of a registration may not be issued a registration until an inspection 

of the small child day care center has been conducted showing compliance with the 

requirements of this Subpart and the relevant provisions of the Social Services Law.  

 

(g) Small child day care centers located in public school buildings currently used for 

elementary, middle or secondary public education programs approved by the New York State 

Education Department are exempt from the requirements set forth in 418-2.2(e)(6)-(10). Each 

such program must submit a copy of the current certificate of occupancy issued by the State 

Education Department as part of the application. For those programs not issued such certificates 

of occupancy, the appropriate local equivalent, acceptable to the State Education Department, 

must be submitted. 
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418-2.3 Building and Equipment 

 

(a) Each applicant must submit to the Office at the time of application for registration a diagram 

of the proposed small day care center. 

 

(1) The diagram must be labeled with the planned occupancy or use of all areas of the building 

and all adjacent outside areas. For the areas to be used for day care, the diagram must specify: 

the purposes for which space will be used; the number and locations of exits and alternate means 

of egress; and the outdoor play areas available to the children in care. 

 

(2) Whenever change(s), addition(s) or expansion(s) are proposed which will affect, or 

reasonably may be expected to affect, those portions of the building designated for the care of 

children or for their egress in case of an emergency, the program must receive written approval 

from the Office prior to initiating such change(s), addition(s), or expansion(s). 

 

(3) Child care can only be provided in the areas that have been included in the diagram and 

approved as child care space.  

 

(b) Areas that will be used by the children must be well-lighted and well-ventilated. Heating, 

ventilation and lighting equipment must be adequate for the protection of the health of the 

children. 
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(c) A temperature of at least 68 degrees Fahrenheit must be maintained in all rooms to be 

occupied by children. 

 

(d) A firm clean crib, cot, bed or washable padded mat of age appropriate size and construction 

must be provided for all children requiring a rest period.  

 

(e) All cribs must be in compliance with the safety standards established by the Consumer 

Product Safety Commission. Stackable cribs are prohibited. Stackable cribs are prohibited. 

 

(f) Toxic paints or finishes must not be used on room surfaces, furniture or any other equipment, 

materials or furnishings which may be used by children or are within their reach. 

 

(g) Peeling or damaged paint or plaster must be repaired. 

 

(h) Concrete floors used by the children must be covered with appropriate material. 

 

(i) Each small day care center must have adequate indoor space for the comfort of the children 

and to accommodate a variety of activities for the number of children in care. 

 

(j) Readily accessible outdoor play space which is adequate for active play must be provided.  

Outdoor space may include public parks, school yards or public play areas.  A written diagram 

outlining how children will safely travel to and from this location must be developed and 

approved by the Office. 
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(k) Toilet facilities and wash basins. 

 

(1) Convenient, adequate and sanitary toilet facilities must be provided for the children in a 

separate, properly ventilated room readily accessible to children. 

 

(2) A functioning, sanitary shower or tub must be available when night care is provided. 

 

(3) Adequate and safe water supply and sewage facilities must be provided and must comply 

with State and local laws. Hot and cold running water must be available and accessible at all 

times. 

 

(l) Space must be provided so that children's personal items may be stored separately.  

 

(m) All buildings used for day care centers must remain in compliance with the applicable 

provisions of the  Fire Code and Building Code  of New York State or other applicable fire and 

building codes when the Fire Code and Building Code of New York State is not applicable.  

 

(n) Buildings, systems and equipment must be kept in good repair and operate as designed. 

 

(o) The building number of the day care program shall be conspicuously displayed and visible 

from the street.  
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418-2.4 Fire Protection 

 

(a) Suitable precautions must be taken to eliminate all conditions which may contribute to or 

create a fire hazard. 

 

(b) Evacuation drills. 

 

(1) Evacuation drills must be conducted at least monthly during various hours of operation of 

the small child day care center.  

 

(2) When conducting evacuation drills the exit route must be varied to ensure that all approved 

means of egress are practiced.  

 

(3) When multiple shifts of care are provided, such drills must be conducted monthly during 

each shift of care.  

 

(4) The program must maintain on file a record of each evacuation drill conducted, using forms 

furnished by the Office or approved equivalents. 

 

(c) Fire detection, alarm and firefighting equipment appropriate to the type of building 

construction, size, height and occupancy must be provided, maintained and operate as designed.  
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(d) All fire alarm and detection systems must be inspected, tested and maintained in accordance 

with the applicable requirements of the Fire Code and Building Code of New York State or 

other applicable fire and building codes when the Fire Code and Building Code of New York 

State is not applicable.  

 

(1) All such inspections, testing and maintenance must be conducted by service personnel 

licensed by the New York State Department of State to perform fire alarm systems 

maintenance, repair and testing.  

 

(2) All staff must be instructed in the function and operation of fire alarm and detection systems 

used in the small child day care center. 

 

(e) All fire suppression equipment and systems must be tested and maintained in accordance 

with the applicable requirements of the Fire Code and Building Code of New York State or 

other applicable fire and building codes when the Fire Code and Building Code of New York 

State is not applicable.  

 

(1) All such inspections, testing and maintenance must be conducted by service personnel 

qualified to perform fire suppression systems maintenance, repair and testing.  

 

(2) All staff must be instructed in the function and operation of fire suppression equipment and 

systems used in the small child day care center. 
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(f) Adequate means of egress must be provided. Children may be cared for only on such floors as 

are provided with readily accessible alternate means of egress to other floors, in the case of fire-

resistant buildings, and to the outside in the case of non-fire-resistant buildings.  

 

(1) Designated means of egress must be remote from each other. 

 

(2) All corridors, aisles, and approaches to exits must be kept unobstructed at all times. 

 

(3) Exit stairways must be equipped with railings for the use of the children. 

 

(g) Trash, garbage and combustible materials must not be stored in the furnace room or in rooms 

or outdoor areas adjacent to the facility that are ordinarily occupied by or accessible to children. 

 

(h) The provider must conduct monthly inspections of the premises to observe possible fire or 

safety hazards. Any such hazard must be corrected immediately. 

 

(i) A record of all inspections and all corrections must be maintained at the program, or at a 

central location available for review upon request. 

 

(j) Steam or hot water boilers must be inspected and approved in accordance with the 

requirements of the New York State Department of Labor by an inspector from the New York 

State Department of Labor, or by an insurance company which is licensed to write boiler 
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insurance in the State. All other fuel burning heating systems and equipment and boilers not 

subject to the New York State Department of Labor requirements must be serviced by a heating 

contractor once every 24 months. 

 

(k) Rooms containing boilers, fuel burning furnaces or other fuel burning heating equipment 

must be constructed using a minimum of one-hour fire resistant materials or materials of a 

greater fire resistance when required by Fire Code and Building Code of New York State, or 

other applicable fire and building codes when the Fire Code and Building Code of New York 

State is not applicable.  

 

418-2.5 Safety 

 

(a) Suitable precautions must be taken to eliminate all conditions in areas accessible to children 

which pose a safety or health hazard. 

 

(b) The provider must submit a written Emergency Plan and Emergency Evacuation Diagram  

for the emergency evacuation of children from the premises for each shift of care provided (day, 

evening, night), using a form furnished by the Office, or an approved equivalent form. Primary 

emphasis must be placed on the immediate evacuation of children.  

 

(1) The plan, as submitted with the application or changed thereafter, must be reviewed with the 

parents of the children in the program and all staff that work in the program. 
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(2)The Emergency Evacuation Diagram, as approved by the Office, must be posted in a 

conspicuous place in every room.  

 

(3) The emergency plan must include the following: 

 

(i) how children and staff will be made aware of an emergency; 

 

(ii) a designation of primary and secondary evacuation routes; 

 

(iii) methods of evacuation, including where children and staff will meet after evacuating the 

building, and how attendance will be taken; 

 

(iv) a plan for the safe  evacuation of children from the premises for each shift of care provided 

(day, evening, night);  

 

(v) the designation of primary and secondary emergency relocation sites to be used in the case of 

an emergency, which prohibits re-entry to the child care premises, and how the health, safety and 

emotional needs of children will be met in the event it becomes necessary to evacuate to another 

location; 

 

(vi) a strategy for sheltering in place, and how the health, safety and emotional needs of children 

will be met in the event it becomes necessary to shelter-in-place;  
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(vii) notification of authorities and the children's parents; and 

 

(viii) roles of staff. 

 

(4) Each program must hold two shelter-in-place drills annually during which procedures and 

supplies are reviewed. Parents must be made aware of this drill in advance. 

 

(5) The program must maintain on file a record of each shelter-in-place drill conducted using 

forms provided by the Office or approved equivalents.  

 

(6) Parents must be made aware of the primary and secondary relocation sites and any changes to 

the plan in advance.  In the case that a program is directed to a different location by emergency 

services, the program must notify parents and the Office as soon as possible.  In the event that 

relocation is required, a written notice must be placed on the main entry to the child care space 

unless an immediate threat precludes the program from doing so. 

 

(7) Each program must have on site a variety of supplies including food, water, first aid and 

other safety equipment to allow for the protection of the health and safety of children in the event 

parents are unable to pick up children due to a local disaster. The plan must take into account a 

child's needs for an overnight stay.  Food supplies must be non-perishable and of sufficient 

quantity for all children for an overnight stay. Programs that serve food daily and have a food 

supply stored on site for their daily operation or are co-located at a site with a cafeteria, pantry or 
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eatery of some kind are not required to store emergency food or water supplies if they can show 

that they have access to and permission to use those foods in a declared emergency. 

   

(c) Portable electric heaters or other portable heating devices, regardless of the type of fuel used, 

may not be used in small day care centers. 

 

(d) Radiators and pipes located in rooms occupied by children must be covered to protect the 

children from injury when the heating system is in use. 

 

(e) Porches, decks and stairs with more than two steps must have railings with a barrier 

extending to the floor or ground to prevent children from falling. Acceptable types of barriers 

include, but are not limited to, banisters, intermediate rails, and heavy screening. 

 

(f) Barriers must exist to prevent children from gaining access to unsafe areas. Such areas 

include, but are not limited to, swimming pools, drainage ditches, wells, ponds, or other bodies 

of open water, holes, wood and coal burning stoves, fireplaces, pellet stoves and permanently 

installed gas space heaters or any other unsafe areas. 

 

(g) The use of pools that have not received a Department of Health permit to operate, spa pools 

and all fill-and-drain wading pools are prohibited. 

 

(1) No child shall participate in aquatic activities including, fishing, boating, swimming or any 

other activity on a body of water without a certified lifeguard present.  
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(a) The certified lifeguard can be either a staff person from the day care center, or an employee 

of the venue. 

 

(b) If provided by the center, the certified lifeguard must be certified for the body of water they 

are supervising children in or near. 

 

(2) No child shall participate in activities at or near a body of water, without a person who is 

certified in cardio-pulmonary resuscitation and first aid present. 

 

(3) Only those swimming pools and bathing beaches that have a valid permit to operate issued 

from the local health department having jurisdiction for the bathing facility or those operated by 

a government agency may be used. 

 

(4) The program shall develop and implement a method to keep track of the location and 

maintain safety for all children during swimming and other off-site activities.  The program 

shall establish and follow a written plan which details the system of supervising and checking 

swimmers.  This includes a plan for children who are non-swimmers.  In addition, a plan for a 

lost swimmer must be established.  

 

(5) All staff attending the aquatic activity must review the aquatic activity plan before departing 

for the activity. 
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(h) Public swimming pools and adjacent areas used by the children must be constructed, 

maintained, staffed and used in accordance with Chapter 1, Subpart 6-1, of the New York State 

Sanitary Code, and in such a manner as will safeguard the lives and health of children. 

 

(i) When swimming is included as part of the program activities each child shall have a signed 

statement of permission from the parent to participate. 

 

(j) All field trips with an itinerary that includes an activity where emergency medical care is not 

readily available and/or an activity such as, but not limited to, wilderness hiking, rock climbing, 

horseback riding, bicycling, must be accompanied by a staff who possess a current first aid 

certificate and cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification. 

 

(k) If off-site events are part of the program’s activities, the child care program must develop and 

share with its program staff written plans that cover field trip events. The safety plan must at 

least include requirements set forth in 418-2.5(g), 418-2.6, and 418-2.8.  

 

(l) Animals and Pets. 

 

(1) Any pet or animal kept indoors or outdoors at the small child day care center must present 

no evidence of disease or parasites and pose no threat.   

 

(2) All pets housed at or permitted to visit the center that require a license must be licensed.   
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(3) All required vaccines must be kept current.   

 

(4) The license and record of vaccines must be available to the Office when requested.  

 

(5)  Animals posing a threat must be kept away from the small child care center. 

 

(6) The provisions of section 418-2.5(l) also apply to those pets or animals present at the small 

child day care center that do not belong to the registrant, staff or volunteers of the center. 

 

(7) Parents must be informed of pets that are regularly at the program. 

 

(8) Reptiles and amphibians are not permitted at small child care centers. 

 

(m) Communication. 

 

(1) The small day care center must have immediate access to a minimum of one landline 

telephone for general use and emergencies.  A working mobile phone(s) is permitted for the 

purpose of promoting children’s safety and ensuring the orderly operation of the program, but 

its use does not remove the requirement for a designated on-site landline telephone.  

 

(2) 911 and the poison control phone number must be posted conspicuously on or next to all 

small day center telephones.  
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(3) Devices used for purposes of caller identification or call blocking shall not be used to block 

in-coming calls from parents of children in care, representatives of the Office or agents of the 

state or local government during the hours of operation of the small day care center. 

 

(n) Materials and play equipment. 

 

(1) Materials and play equipment used by the children must be sturdy and free from rough 

edges and sharp corners. 

 

(2) Play equipment must be installed and used in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications and instructions, be in good repair, and be placed in a safe location. 

 

(3) Play equipment must be used in a safe manner.  

 

(4) Play equipment and apparatus may be used only by the children for whom it is 

developmentally appropriate. 

 

(5) All programs that substantially modify, or install new, outside play equipment must do so in 

accordance with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s Public Playground Safety 

Handbook. 

 

(o) Clear interior or exterior glass doorways must be marked clearly to avoid accidental impact.  
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(p) Glass in outside windows less than 32 inches above the floor level must be of safety grade 

or otherwise protected by use of barriers to avoid accidental impact. 

 

(q) Windows above the first floor that are accessible to children and present a fall hazard must 

be protected by permanent barriers or restrictive locking devices to prevent a window from 

opening fully thus preventing children from falling out the windows. 

 

(r) An operable flashlight or battery powered lantern must be kept in each classroom. Such 

equipment must be properly maintained for use in the event of a power failure. 

 

(s) Door latches, locks and covers. 

 

(1) Every closet door latch that is accessible to children must be constructed to enable children 

to open the door from inside the closet. 

 

(2) Every bathroom door lock must be designed to permit opening of the locked door from the 

outside in an emergency. The opening device must be readily accessible to the caregivers. 

 

(3) Egress doors from the small day care center must be able to be opened from the inside 

without using a key.  Child protective door knob covers may not be used on egress doors. 

 

(t) Operating carbon monoxide detectors must be located in accordance with applicable laws, 

and used in all programs where children nap.  
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(u) The use of trampolines by day care children is prohibited, except for small one person 

exercise trampolines. 

 

(v) All matches, lighters, medicines, drugs, cleaning materials, detergents, aerosol cans and other 

poisonous or toxic materials must be stored in their original containers. Such materials must be 

used in such a way that they will not contaminate play surfaces, food or food preparation areas, 

or constitute a hazard to children. Such materials must be kept in a place inaccessible to children. 

 

(w) Cleaning materials must be stored in their original containers unless the product’s use or the 

program’s health care plan indicates that the product be mixed with water before use. In this 

case, the container used for subsequent use of the mixed product must state the name of the 

cleaning material contained within.  Cleaning materials must be used in such a way that they 

will not contaminate play surfaces, food or food preparation areas, or constitute a hazard to 

children. Such materials must be kept in a place inaccessible to children. 

 

(x) Firearms, shotguns and rifles are prohibited at the child care program, except that nothing in 

this section shall be construed to prohibit a police officer or peace officer, as those terms are 

defined in section 1.20 of the criminal procedure law, or a security guard, as defined in section 

89-f of the general business law, from possessing a firearm, shotgun or rifle on the premises for 

the protection of the child care program.  Each child care program shall post signs providing 

notification of such prohibition that read: "No firearms, shotguns or rifles are permitted on these 

premises."  Such signs, not less than eight and one-half inches by eleven inches, shall be posted 
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in a prominent manner and within reasonable distance of each entrance of the child care 

program.  Such signs shall be distributed by the Office of Children and Family Services. 

 

(y) Protective caps, covers or permanently installed obstructive devices must be used on all 

electrical outlets that are accessible to children. 

 

(z) All window and door blind cords, ropes, wires and other strangulation hazards must be 

secured and inaccessible to children. 

 

(aa) The following items must be used and stored in such a manner that they are not accessible to 

children: handbags, backpacks or briefcases belonging to adults; plastic bags; and toys and 

objects small enough for children to swallow. 

 

(ab) High chairs. 

 

(1) High chairs, when used, must have a sturdy and steady base and be used only for children 

who are able to sit up independently. 

 

(2) A safety strap must be fastened around children who are seated in high chairs. 

 

418-2.6 Transportation  

 



28 
Effective June 1, 2015 

 

(a) The program must obtain written consent on forms furnished by the Office or approved 

equivalents from the parent of the child for any transportation of the children in care at the 

center, provided or arranged for by the program. 

 

(b) When transportation is provided or arranged for by the program, parents must be informed 

when the person who or vendor that is providing transportation changes. 

 

(c) Parents must be informed of and agree to a transportation plan before a child can be 

transported by the program. 

 

(d) A child must never be left unattended in any motor vehicle or other form of transportation. 

The program must develop and follow procedures to guarantee no children are left alone on a 

bus, vehicle or other transportation modes without adult supervision at any time, including 

insuring all children have departed the vehicle.  

 

(e) Each child must board or leave a vehicle from the curb side of the street.  

 

(f) All children must be secured in child safety seats properly installed per manufacturers 

recommendations, or with safety belts, as appropriate for the age of the child in accordance with 

the requirements of the Vehicle and Traffic Law, before any child may be transported in a motor 

vehicle where such transportation is provided or arranged for by the program.   
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(g) Programs that offer transportation services either directly or by contract with a third party 

must ensure that drivers and vehicles meet all Department of Motor Vehicles and Department of 

Transportation requirements. 

 

(h) Drivers must be 18 years of age or older and hold a current valid license to drive the class of 

vehicle they are operating. 

 

(i) Any motor vehicle, other than a public form of transportation, used to transport children in 

care at the center must have a current registration and inspection sticker. 

 

(j) Parents whose children receive transportation services must receive, at the time of enrollment 

of their children, a copy of the program’s transportation plan. If the plan is amended, parents 

must receive a copy of the amended plan prior to its start date. 

 

(k) No person transporting child care children shall operate a motor vehicle while using a mobile 

phone, or other electronic communication device, including hands-free devices. All 

communications made or received by the driver while the motor vehicle is in use for the 

transportation of child care children must be made from a legally permitted parked position off 

the road. 

 

(l) The program must openly display its daily transportation schedules.  
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(m) When transportation is provided by the small day care center, the driver of the vehicle may 

not be included in the supervision ratio except when the only children being transported are 

enrolled in kindergarten or a higher grade. 

 

418-2.7 Program Requirements 

 

(a) The program must establish and implement a daily schedule of program activities that offers 

reasonable regularity in routines, including snack and meal periods, nap and rest periods, indoor 

activities, outdoor play time and a variety of large muscle activities throughout the day. There 

must be physical activity, appropriate to the ages of the children in care, every day.  

 

(b) When care is provided to infants less than six months of age, the daily schedule must include 

short supervised periods of time during which the awake infant is placed on his or her stomach, 

back or side allowing them to move freely and interact socially, thus developing motor skills and 

social skills. 

 

(c) The daily schedule must include a routine of good personal hygiene practices, and when night 

care is provided, this includes changing into night clothes, brushing teeth, and washing before 

bed in the manner to be agreed between the parent and the program.  

 

(d) Children must receive instruction, consistent with their age, needs and circumstances, in 

techniques and procedures that will enable them to protect themselves from abuse and 

maltreatment. 
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(e) Each small day care center must provide a sufficient quantity and variety of materials and 

play equipment appropriate to the ages of the children and their developmental levels and 

interests, including children with developmental delays or disabilities, which promote the 

children's cognitive, educational, social, cultural, physical, emotional, language and recreational 

development.   

 

(f) As age and development permit, children must be allowed freedom of movement and must be 

provided with an environment designed to develop such skills as crawling, standing, walking and 

running. 

 

(g) Children must be provided an opportunity to choose between quiet activities and active play. 

 

(h) Daily supervised outdoor play is required for all children in care, except during inclement or 

extreme weather or unless otherwise ordered by a health care provider. Parents may request and 

programs may permit children to remain indoors during outdoor play time so long as such 

children will be supervised by a caregiver. 

 

(i) Except while sleeping, awaking or going to sleep, an infant must not be left in a crib, playpen 

or other confined space for more than 30 minutes at any one time. Other than at meals or snack 

time, a child must not be left in a high chair for longer than 15 minutes.  
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(j) Children may not sleep or nap in car seats, baby swings, strollers, infant seats or bouncy seats.  

Should a child fall asleep in one of these devices, he or she must be moved to a crib/cot or other 

approved sleeping surface.   

 

(k) For day and evening care, appropriate rest and quiet periods, that are responsive to individual 

and group needs, must be provided so that children can sit quietly or lie down to rest. 

 

(l) Other than for school age children, sleeping and napping arrangements must be made in 

writing between the parent and the program. Such arrangements shall include: the area of the 

program where the child will nap; whether the child will nap on a cot, mat, bed or a crib; and 

how the napping child will be supervised, consistent with the requirements of section 418-2.8 of 

this Subpart.  

 

(m) Sleeping arrangements for infants require that the infant be placed flat on his or her back to 

sleep, unless medical information from the child’s health care provider is presented to the 

program by the parent that shows that arrangement is inappropriate for that child.  

 

(n) Cribs, bassinets and other sleeping areas for infants must not have bumper pads, toys, large 

stuffed animals, heavy blankets, pillows, wedges or infant positioners unless medical information 

from the child’s health care provider is presented indicating otherwise. 

 

(o) The resting/napping places must: 
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(1) be located in approved day care space; 

 

(2) be located in safe areas of the program; 

 

(3)  be located in a draft-free area; 

 

(4) be where children will not be stepped on;  

 

(5) be in a location where safe egress is not blocked; and  

 

(6) allow caregivers to move freely and safely within the napping area in order to check on or 

meet the needs of children.  

 

(p)  Individual clean bed coverings must be available, as needed, for each child requiring a rest 

period.  

 

(q) Bedding, which is the removable and washable portion of the sleeping environment, must not 

be shared between children.  

 

(r) Sleeping surfaces, including bedding, which is the removable and washable portion of the 

sleeping environment, must not come in contact with the sleeping surfaces of another child’s rest 

equipment during storage. Mats and cots must be stored so that the sleeping surfaces do not 

touch when stacked. 
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(s) No crib, cot, bed or mat may be occupied by more than one child, nor by a child and any 

adult. 

 

(t) Children unable to sleep during nap time shall not be confined to a sleeping surface (cot, crib, 

etc) but instead must be offered a supervised place for quiet play. 

 

(u) If television or other electronic visual media is used, it must be part of a planned 

developmentally appropriate program with an educational, social, physical or other learning 

objective that includes identified goals and objectives.  Television and other electronic visual 

media must not be used solely to occupy time. 

 

(v) Television and other electronic visual media must be turned off when not part of a planned 

developmentally appropriate program activity. 

 

(w) Children must not watch television or other electronic visual media during meals. 

 

(x) Television and other electronic visual media must be turned off while children are sleeping, 

and during established nap times. This is not to prohibit a program from using electronic visual 

media for business purposes during sleep or nap time if its use does not interfere with the 

supervision of children. 
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(y) At the time of the child’s admission to the program, the program must furnish parents with 

appropriate instructional materials that will assist them in evaluating the program, and its 

caregivers. Such materials must include information concerning child abuse and maltreatment, 

and guidance on the steps the parent may take if they suspect their child has been abused or 

maltreated.  

 

418-2.8 Supervision of Children 

 

(a) Children cannot be left without competent supervision at any time. Competent supervision 

includes awareness of and responsibility for the ongoing activity of each child. It requires that all 

children be within a caregiver’s range of vision except as provided in section 418-2.8(b) of this 

Subpart and that the caregiver be near enough to respond when redirection or intervention 

strategies are needed. Competent supervision must take into account the child’s age, emotional, 

physical and cognitive development.  

 

(b) Children may be outside a caregiver’s range of vision only as follows:   

 

(1) Children who are able to toilet independently, including fastening and unfastening clothing, 

wiping themselves, flushing the toilet, and washing their hands, may use a bathroom for a short 

period of time without direct adult supervision. 

 

(2) With the written permission of the parents, a program may allow school-aged children to 

participate in activities outside of the direct supervision of a caregiver. Such activities must occur 
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on the premises of the small day care center.    A caregiver must visually check such children 

every 15 minutes.  

 

(c) Any electronic monitor or surveillance equipment used to take images, monitor or record 

children in day care may not be used as a substitute for competent direct supervision of children. 

 

(d) (1) Only approved caregivers may be left unsupervised with day care children. 

 

(2) No person under 18 years of age can be left in sole charge of the children at any time. 

 

(e) The provider must be the primary caregiver of children in a small day care center.   

 

 

(f) The provider may be absent for short or long term absences under the following conditions: 

 

(1) When the provider is absent for 3 or fewer consecutive days, the Office does not need to be 

notified in advance; however the program must keep a written record of the caregiver present in 

place of the absent provider. 

 

(2) When the provider is absent for more than 3 consecutive days or has reason to be absent on a 

recurring basis, the Office must be notified in advance and the program must keep a written 

record of the caregiver present in place of the absent provider.    
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(g) With written Office approval, an approved assistant will be permitted to work in place of the 

provider for long-term absences for up to a total of 30 cumulative days per year.  

 

(h) In other than emergency situations such as illness or accident, parents must be notified in 

writing 2 weeks prior to any long-term absence of the provider. This notice must include specific 

start and end dates of the absence and who will be taking the provider’s place in the day care 

program. 

 

(i)  Supervision ratios. 

 

(1) A provider at a small day care center may care for five children ages six weeks to twelve 

years or six children ages two to twelve years. 

 

 

(2) Whenever a person pending approval as a caregiver is being counted in ratio for the program, 

the provider must be at the program and supervising this person. 

 

(j) The use of any type of device for social or entertainment purposes, listening to music on 

headphones, playing screen games, using the Internet, or making personal calls by caregivers 

while supervising children is prohibited. Use of any devices for brief and necessary 

communications or purposes directly related to the child care program such as communication 

with parents or the Office and its representatives is allowable.  
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(k) Releasing children from care.  

  

(1) No child can be released from the small day care center to any person other than his or her 

parent, person(s) currently designated in writing by such parent to receive the child, or other 

person authorized by law to take custody of a child. 

 

(2) No child can be released from the program unsupervised except upon written permission of 

the child's parent. Such permission must be acceptable to the program and should take into 

consideration such factors as the child's age and maturity, proximity to his or her home, and 

safety of the neighborhood. 

 

(3) When transportation is provided as a service by the program, no child can be released from 

the day care program directly to the child’s home or other destination without first verifying that 

the parent or person(s) designated by the parent to receive the child is present at that destination 

to receive the child. 

 

(l) Visitor control procedures. 

 

(1) Each small day care center shall require visitors to the program to: 

 

(i) sign in upon entry to the premises; 

 

(ii) indicate in writing the date of the visit and the time of entry to the program; 
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(iii) clearly state in writing the purpose of the visit; and 

 

(iv) sign out upon departure from the program indicating in writing the time of departure. 

 

(2) Each small day care center shall establish written rules and policies as are necessary to 

provide for monitoring and control of visitors to protect the health, safety and welfare of children 

in care. 

 

 418-2.9  Behavior Management 

 

(a) The program must establish and follow a written plan for behavior management that is 

acceptable to the Office. This plan must include how the program will approach challenging 

behaviors, help children solve problems, and encourage acceptable behaviors.  

 

(b) The caregivers must use acceptable techniques and approaches to help children solve 

problems. 

 

(c) The program must provide copies of the behavior management plan to all caregivers and 

parents of children in care at the program. 

 

(d) Discipline must promote positive self-esteem in children and guide children in such a way as 

to help each child develop self-control and assume responsibility for his or her actions through 
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clear and consistent rules and limits appropriate to the ages and development of the children in 

care.  

 

(e) Any discipline used must relate to the child's action and be handled without prolonged delay 

on the part of the caregiver so that the child is aware of the relationship between his or her 

actions and the consequences of those actions. 

 

(f) Isolating a child in a closet, darkened area, or any area where the child cannot be seen and 

supervised by the caregiver is prohibited. 

 

(g) When a child's behavior harms or is likely to result in harm to the child, others or property, or 

seriously disrupts or is likely to seriously disrupt group interaction, the child may be separated 

briefly from the group, but only for as long as is necessary for the child to regain enough self-

control to rejoin the group. The child must be placed in an area where he or she is in the view of, 

and can be supervised and supported by a caregiver. Interaction between a caregiver and the 

child must take place immediately following the separation to guide the child toward appropriate 

group behavior. Separation of a child from the group in a manner other than that provided for 

herein is prohibited. 

 

(h) Physical restraint is prohibited. Physical restraint is the act of using force to extremely limit a 

child’s body movements for a lengthy period of time.  It involves holding a child against his/her 

will and putting pressure on the child’s chest and/or extremities in an effort to significantly 
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restrict his/her movement, thereby making it extremely difficult for a child to move.   It may also 

involve holding a child flat on the ground and restricting his/her body from movement.     

 

(i) Physical intervention is permitted. Physical intervention is the act of using bodily contact as a 

short- term immediate response to prevent children from incurring substantial or serious injury to 

themselves or injuring others.  It may involve:  picking a child up and moving him or her away 

from danger or conflict, holding the child’s hands or gently touching the body to direct their 

movement, rocking a child to soothe them, blocking a child’s path when they are about to injure 

themselves or others or destroy property. This technique allows the child to regain self-control as 

quickly and safely as possible.  A consultation with a child’s parent is required if the child is not 

receptive to physical intervention.  

 

(j) Corporal punishment is prohibited. For the purposes of this Subpart, the term corporal 

punishment means punishment inflicted directly on the body including, but not limited to, 

physical restraint, spanking, biting, shaking, slapping, twisting or squeezing; demanding 

excessive physical exercise, prolonged lack of movement or motion, or strenuous or bizarre 

postures; and compelling a child to eat or have in the child's mouth soap, food, hot spices, 

irritants or the like.  

 

(k) Withholding or using food, rest or sleep as a punishment is prohibited. 

 

(l) A child may only be disciplined by a caregiver. 
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(m) Methods of discipline, interaction or toilet training which frighten, demean or humiliate a 

child are prohibited. 

 

 

418-2.10 Child Abuse and Maltreatment 

 

(a) Any abuse or maltreatment of a child is prohibited.   A small day care center must prohibit 

and may not tolerate or in any manner condone an act of abuse or maltreatment by a caregiver, 

employee, volunteer or any other person. An abused child or maltreated child means a child 

defined as an abused child or maltreated child pursuant to section 412 of the Social Services 

Law. 

 

(b) In accordance with the provisions of sections 413 and 415 of the Social Services Law, 

caregivers must report any suspected incidents of child abuse or maltreatment concerning a child 

receiving child day care to the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment or 

cause such a report to be made when the caregiver has reasonable cause to suspect that a child 

coming before them in their capacity as caregiver in a small day care center is an abused or 

maltreated child. Such report must be followed by a written report within 48 hours, in the form 

and manner prescribed by the Office, to the child protective service of the social services district 

in the county in which the child resides. 

 

(c) The provider or registrant of the small child day care center is responsible for implementing 

procedures which ensure the safety and protection of any child named in a report of child abuse 
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or maltreatment involving a situation which occurs while the child is in attendance at the center. 

Immediately after making or causing to be made a report pursuant to section 418-2.10(b), the 

provider or registrant of the center must take such appropriate action as is necessary to ensure 

the health and safety of the children involved in the report and, as necessary, of any other 

children in the care of the center. The provider or registrant must also take all reasonable steps 

to preserve any potential evidence of abuse or maltreatment. Insofar as possible, any action 

taken under this subdivision must cause as little disruption as possible to the daily routine of the 

children in the center. 

 

418-2.11 Health and Infection Control 

 

(a) Child Enrollment Requirements. 

 

(1) Other than children who are enrolled in kindergarten or a higher grade, no child may be 

accepted for care in a child care program unless the program has been furnished with a written 

statement signed by a health care provider verifying that the child is able to participate in child 

day care and currently appears to be free from contagious or communicable diseases.  A child’s 

medical statement must have been completed within the 12 months preceding the date of 

enrollment.   

 

(2) The written medical statement from the health care provider must also state whether the child 

is a child with special health care needs and, if so, what special provisions, if any, will be 

necessary in order for the child to participate in child day care. When the written statement from 
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the health care provider advises the day care program that the child being enrolled is a child with 

special health care needs, the day care program must work together with the parent and the 

child's health care provider to develop a reasonable health care plan for the child while the child 

is in the child day care program. The health care plan for the child must also address how the day 

care program will obtain or develop any additional competencies that the caregivers will need to 

have in order to carry out the health care plan for the child.  

 

(3)The program must keep documentation of immunizations the child has received to date, in 

accordance with New York State Public Health Law. 

 

(4) Any child not yet immunized may be admitted provided the child's immunizations are in 

process, in accordance with the requirements of New York State Public Health Law, and the 

parent gives the program specific appointment dates for required immunizations. 

 

(5) Any child who is not immunized because of the parent's religious beliefs may be admitted if 

the parent furnishes the program with a written statement to this effect. 

 

(6) Any child who is missing one or more of the required immunizations may be admitted if a 

physician licensed to practice medicine furnishes the program with a written statement that such 

immunizations may be detrimental to the child's health. 

 

(7) With the exception of children meeting the criteria of sections 418-2.11(a)(5) or (6) children 

enrolled in the child day care must remain current with their immunizations in accordance with 
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the current schedule for required immunizations established in the New York State Public Health 

Law. 

 

(8) The program must try to obtain a copy of a lead screening certificate for each child under the 

age of six years. If the parent does not have one, the program may not exclude the child from 

child day care, but must give the parent information on lead poisoning and prevention, and refer 

the parent to the child's health care provider or the local health department for a lead blood 

screening test. 

 

(b) Staff and Volunteer Health Requirements. 

 

(1) Staff and volunteers must each submit a medical statement on forms furnished by the Office 

or an approved equivalent from a health care provider: 

 

(i) at the time of initial small day care center application; 

 

(ii) before such person has any involvement in child care work. 

  

(2) A medical statement will be required when an event or condition reasonably calls into 

question a caregiver’s ability to provide safe and suitable child care. 

 

(3) Initial medical statements sent in with the application or as a result of a new hire must be 

dated within 12 months preceding the date of application or hiring date. 
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(4) The medical statement must give satisfactory evidence that the individual is physically fit to 

provide child day care and has no diagnosed psychiatric or emotional disorder which would 

preclude such individual from providing child day care. 

 

(5)  All caregivers and volunteers must be free from communicable disease unless his/her health 

care provider has indicated that the presence of the communicable disease does not pose a risk to 

the health and safety of the children in care.  

 

(6) The initial medical statement for staff and volunteers must include the results of a Mantoux 

tuberculin test or other federally approved tuberculin test performed within the 12 months 

preceding the date of the application. 

   

(7) After the initial medical statement, tuberculin tests are only required at the discretion of the 

caregiver’s health care provider or at the start of new employment. 

 

(8) Consumption of, or being under the influence of alcohol by any staff person or volunteer is 

prohibited during child day care hours.  

 

(9) Consumption of or being under the influence of an illegal drug by any staff person or 

volunteer is prohibited during child day care hours.  
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(10) Consumption of or being under the influences of a controlled substance by any staff person 

or volunteer is prohibited during day care hours, unless the controlled substance is prescribed by 

a health care provider is being taken as directed, and does not interfere with the person’s ability 

to perform his or her child day care functions.   

 

(11) Smoking in indoor or outdoor areas in use by children and in vehicles when children are 

occupying the vehicles is prohibited. 

 

(12) All caregivers must have knowledge of and access to children’s medical records and all 

emergency information. 

 

(c) The Health Care Plan. 

 

(1)The Registrant must prepare a health care plan on forms furnished by the Office.  Such plan 

must protect and promote the health of children. The health care plan must be on site, followed 

by all caregivers and available upon demand by a parent or the Office.  In those instances in 

which the program will administer medications, the health care plan must also be approved by 

the program's health care consultant unless the only medications to be administered are: 

 

(i) over-the-counter topical ointments, lotions and creams, sprays, including sunscreen products 

and topically applied insect repellant; and/or 
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(ii) epinephrine auto injectors, diphenhydramine in combination with the auto injector, asthma 

inhalers and nebulizers. 

 

(2) The health care plan must describe the following: 

 

(i) how a daily health check of each child for any indication of illness, injury, abuse or 

maltreatment will be conducted and documented; 

 

(ii) how a record of each child's illnesses, injuries and signs of suspected abuse or maltreatment 

will be maintained; 

 

(iii) how professional assistance will be obtained in emergencies; 

 

(iv) the advance arrangements for the care of any child who has or develops symptoms of illness 

or is injured, including notifying the child's parent; 

 

(v) which designated caregivers will be administering medication. The plan must state that only a 

trained, designated caregiver may administer medications to children, except in those programs 

in which the only administration of medications offered will be the administration of over-the-

counter topical ointments, lotions, creams, and sprays including sunscreen products and topically 

applied insect repellant.  

 

(vi) the contents of the first aid kit; 
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(vii) that the trained designated caregiver may only administer medications to children if the 

designated caregiver is: 

 

(a) at least 18 years of age, 

 

(b) possesses a current certification in first aid and cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) 

appropriate to the ages of the children in care,  

 

(c) and has completed the Medication Administration Training (MAT) pursuant to section 418-

2.11(e) or in the case of administering epinephrine auto injectors, Diphenhydramine in 

combination with the auto injector, asthma inhalers and nebulizers has received training on its 

use from the parent, health care provider or a health care consultant; 

 

(viii) the designation of the health care consultant of record for programs, as indicated in section 

418-2.11(c)(1) of this Subpart; and   

 

(ix) when a health care consultant is required to approve a health care plan the schedule of visits 

by a health care consultant to programs administering medications, must occur at least once 

every two years and must include a review of the health care policies and procedures and a 

review of the documentation. 

 

(d) Health Care Consultant. 
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(1) Programs must demonstrate to the health care consultant how medications are administered 

in the program.  A program is not required to schedule a visit with a health care consultant or 

include a schedule of visits by a health care consultant in their health care plan when: 

 

(i) only over-the-counter topical ointments, lotions, creams and sprays, including sunscreen 

products and topically applied insect repellant are administered; and/or 

 

(ii) epinephrine auto injectors, diphenhydramine in combination with the auto injector, and 

asthma inhalers and nebulizers are the only medications administered in the program.  

 

(2) Should the health care consultant determine, after a visit to the day care program, that the 

approved health care plan is not being reasonably followed by the program, the health care 

consultant may revoke his or her approval of the plan. If the health care consultant revokes his or 

her approval of the health care plan, the health care consultant must immediately notify the 

registrant and the registrant must immediately notify the Office, no longer than 24 hours later. In 

that instance, the health care consultant may also notify the Office directly if he or she so desires.  

 

(3) A program authorized to administer medications, which has had the authorization to 

administer medications revoked, or otherwise loses the ability to administer medications, must 

advise the parent of every child in care before the next day the program operates that the 

program no longer has the ability to administer medications. 

 



51 
Effective June 1, 2015 

 

(4) A program, whose health care consultant terminates his or her relationship with the program, 

will be granted a 60 day grace period to hire another health care consultant, obtain approval of a 

health care plan from the new health care consultant and submit the plan to the office without the 

child care program losing the ability to administer medications as long as: 

 

(i) the former health care consultant did not revoke his or her approval prior to terminating the 

relationship with the child care program; 

 

(ii) caregivers who have been trained in medication administration are available to continue 

administration of medications as per the health care plan; 

 

(iii) the child care program follows the approved health care plan, as currently written, for the  

60-day period; 

 

(iv) the child care program notifies the Office, within 24 hours, of the termination of the 

relationship with the health care consultant; and 

 

(v) the child care program has the newly hired health care consultant review and approve the 

health care plan and sends the signed approved health care plan to the Office before the sixty-day 

window expires.  
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(5) Once the sixty-day period has expired if no health care plan approval is issued, the child care 

program will be issued a new registration, which will state that it is no longer able to administer 

medications other than over-the-counter topical medications and emergency medications.  

 

(e) Training for the Administration of Medications. 

 

(1) All caregivers, except those excluded pursuant to sections 418-2.11(e)(5), 418-2.11(f), and 

418-2.11(h)(5) of this Subpart who have agreed to administer medication must complete the 

Office-approved medication administration training or an Office-approved equivalent before 

administering medications to children in day care. The certification of training in the 

administration of medications to children in day care shall be effective for a period of three-years 

from the date of issuance. The caregiver must complete a recertification training approved by the 

Office in order to extend the certification for each additional three year period. Where a 

certification lapses, the caregiver may not be recertified unless the caregiver completes the initial 

medication administration training or the recertification training, as required by the office. Where 

enforcement action has been taken against the registrant based on a failure by the program to 

comply with requirements for the administration of medications set forth in 418-2.11, the Office 

may require retraining or may prohibit a caregiver from being involved in the administration of 

medications. 

 

(2) Caregivers who will be responsible for administering medications must receive training in the 

methods of administering medications prior to administering any medications in a child day care 

setting. Upon completion of the training, the caregiver must receive a written certificate from the 
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trainer that indicates that the trainee has successfully completed this training program, as 

required, and demonstrated competency in the administration of medications in a day care 

setting. 

 

(i)  In order to be trained in the administration of medications in a day care setting, a caregiver 

must be literate in the language or languages in which health care instructions from parents and 

health care providers will be received. 

 

(ii) Persons who receive training in the administration of medications in day care settings 

pursuant to this section may not otherwise administer medications or represent themselves as 

being able to administer medications except to the extent such persons may be able to do so in 

accordance with the relevant provisions of the Education Law. 

 

(3) The training in the administration of medications must be provided by a health care provider 

or registered nurse who has been certified by the office to administer the office approved 

curriculum. 

 

(4) The training must be documented and must include, but need not be limited to the following:   

 

(i) training objectives; 

 

(ii) a description of the methods of administration including principles and techniques of 

application and dispensation of oral, topical, medication patches and inhalant medication, 
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including the use of nebulizers, and the use of epinephrine auto-injector devices when necessary 

to prevent anaphylaxis in emergency situations with respect to the various age groups of 

children; 

 

(iii) administering medication to an uncooperative child; 

 

(iv) an evaluation of whether the trainee demonstrates competency in: 

 

(a) understanding orders from the health care professional or licensed authorized prescriber; 

 

(b) the ability to correctly carry out the orders given by the health care provider or licensed 

authorized prescriber; 

 

(c) recognition of common side effects of medications and ability to follow written directions 

regarding appropriate follow-up action; 

 

(d) avoidance of medication errors and what action to take if an error occurs; 

 

(e) understanding relevant commonly used abbreviations; 

 

(f) maintaining required documentation including the parent’s permission, written orders from 

health care professionals and licensed authorized prescribers, and the record of administration of 

medications; 
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(g) safe handling of medications, including receiving medications from a parent;  

 

(h) proper storage of medications, including controlled substances; and 

 

(i) safe disposal of medications. 

 

(5) A person who can produce a valid New York State license as a physician, physician's 

assistant, registered nurse, nurse practitioner, licensed practical nurse or advanced emergency 

medical technician will not be required to attend the training required by section 418-2.11(e) of 

this Subpart in order to administer medications in a day care program. Documentation 

establishing the person's credentials in one of the above fields will be required and a copy of the 

documentation must be provided to the Office. 

 

(f) Administration of Medication. 

 

(1) Caregivers may administer medication only in accordance with the following: 

 

(i) All programs that choose to administer medications other than epinephrine auto injectors, 

diphenhydramine in combination with the auto injector, asthma inhalers and nebulizers, topical 

ointments, lotions, creams and sprays to children must have a health care consultant of record 

and must address the administration of medications in the health care plan in accordance with the 

requirements of section 418-2.11 of this Subpart.  
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(ii) The program must confer with a health care consultant regarding the program's policies and 

procedures related to the administration of medications. This consultation must include a review 

of the documentation that all caregivers authorized to administer medications have the necessary 

professional license or have completed the necessary training. 

 

(iii) Policies regarding the administration of medications must be explained to the parent at the 

time of enrollment of the child in care and when substantive changes are made thereafter. Parents 

must be made familiar with the policies of the day care program relevant to the administration of 

medications. 

 

(iv) Nothing in section 418-2.11 shall be deemed to require any caregiver to administer any 

medication, treatment, or other remedy except to the extent that such medication, treatment or 

remedy is required under the provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

 

(v) Nothing in section 418-2.11 shall be deemed to prevent a parent, or relative within the third 

degree of consanguinity of the parents or step-parents of a child, even if such a person is a 

caregiver, employee or volunteer of the program, from administering medications to a child 

while the child is attending the program even if the registrant has chosen not to administer 

medications or if the caregiver designated to administer medications is not present when the 

child receives the medication.  
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(2) If the registrant elects not to administer medications, the caregiver must still document the 

dosages and time as per section 418-2.11(f)(9) of this Subpart that the medications were given to 

the child by the child's parent, or relative within the third degree of consanguinity of the parents 

or step-parents of the child.  

 

(i) Relatives within the third degree of consanguinity administering medications to the child in 

day care must be at least 18 years of age, unless that relative is the parent of the child. 

 

(ii) If the only administration of medication in a day care program is done by a parent, or relative 

within the third degree of consanguinity of the parents or step-parents of a child, the caregivers 

of the program do not have to complete the administration of medication training requirements 

pursuant to section 418-2.11(e).  

 

(3) No child in care will be allowed to independently administer medications, except for those 

medications administered pursuant to section 418-2.11(h)(6) of this Subpart, without the 

assistance and direct supervision of caregivers that are authorized to administer medications 

pursuant to section 418-2.11 of this Subpart. Any program that elects to offer the administration 

of medication to children when children who attend the program independently administer 

medications or when children assist in the administration of their own medications must comply 

with all the provisions of section 418-2.11 of this Subpart.   
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(4) Caregivers may administer prescription and non-prescription (over-the-counter) medications 

for eyes or ears, oral medications, topical ointments, creams, lotions, sprays and medication 

patches and inhaled medications in accordance with section 418-2.11 of this Subpart.  

 

(5) Caregivers may not administer medications by injection, vaginally or rectally except as 

follows: 

 

(i) where the caregiver has been certified to administer medications in a day care setting and the 

parent and the child's health care provider have indicated such treatment is appropriate and 

received instruction on the administration of the medication; or 

 

(ii) for a child with special health care needs, where the parent, day care program and the child's 

health care provider have agreed on a plan pursuant to which the caregiver may administer 

medications by injection, vaginally or rectally; or 

 

(iii) where the caregiver has a valid license as a physician, physician's assistant, registered nurse, 

nurse practitioner, licensed practical nurse or advanced emergency medical technician. 

 

(6) A caregiver authorized to administer medication who agrees to administer medications to a 

child must do so, unless they observe the circumstances, if any, specified by the health care 

provider or the medication label, under which the medication must not be administered. In such 

instances, the caregiver must contact the parent immediately. 
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(7) Permissions needed from parent and/or health care provider in order to administer 

medications. 

 

(i) Over-the-counter products, including but not limited to over-the-counter topical ointments, 

lotions, creams, sprays, including sunscreen products and topically applied insect repellant can 

be administered by a caregiver for one day only, with verbal permission of the parent.  If an 

over-the-counter product is to be administered on a subsequent day or an ongoing basis, written 

permission from the parent must have been provided to the caregiver. 

 

(ii)  For children less than eighteen months of age, prescription medications, oral over-the-

counter medications, medicated patches, and eye, ear, or nasal drops or sprays, can be 

administered by a caregiver for one day only, with verbal permission of the parent and verbal 

instructions directly from the health care provider or licensed authorized prescriber.   If 

prescription medications, oral over-the-counter medications, medicated patches, and eye, ear, or 

nasal drops or sprays are to be administered on a subsequent day or an ongoing basis, written 

permission from the parent and written instructions from the health care provider must have been 

provided to the caregiver prior to such administration. 

 

(iii) For children eighteen months of age and older, prescription medications, oral over-the-

counter medications, medicated patches, and eye, ear, or nasal drops or sprays, can be 

administered by a caregiver for one day only, with the oral approval of the parent. If prescription 

medications, oral over-the-counter medications, medicated patches, and eye, ear, or nasal drops 

or sprays are to be administered on a subsequent day or an ongoing basis, written permission 
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from the parent and written instructions from the health care provider must have been provided 

to the caregiver prior to such administration. 

 

(iv) A caregiver cannot administer medication to any child in care, if the parent’s instructions 

differ from the instructions on the medication’s packaging, until the child care provider receives 

permission from a health care provider or licensed authorized prescriber on how to administer 

the medication. 

 

(v) The program must immediately notify the parent if the program will not administer 

medication due to differing instructions related to the administration of medication. 

 

(8) Caregivers who are authorized to administer medications must administer medication as 

follows: 

 

(i) to the right child, 

 

(ii) at the right dose, 

 

(iii) at the right time, 

 

(iv) with the right medication, and 

 

(v) through the right route. 
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(9) (i) At the time of administration, the caregiver must document the dosages and time that the 

medications are given to the child.  

 

(ii) All observable side effects must be documented and communicated to the parent, and when 

appropriate, the child's health care provider.   

 

(iii) Documentation must be made if the medication was not given and the reason for such a 

decision.   

  

(10) The parent must be notified immediately and the Office must be notified within 24 hours of 

any medication administration errors. Notification to the Office must be reported on a form 

provided by the Office or on an approved equivalent. 

 

(11) For all children for whom the caregivers’ administer over-the-counter medications pursuant 

to section 418.11(f) of this Subpart, the caregiver must document that the parent or guardian 

gave verbal instructions and approval.  

 

(12) Caregivers who are authorized to administer medications must be literate in the language for 

which the permissions and instructions for use are written.    

 

(13) Medication must be returned to the parent or guardian when it is no longer required by the 

child or, with the permission of the parent or guardian, be properly disposed of by the program. 
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(14) Where the program has received written permission of the parent and written instructions 

from the health care provider authorizing administration of a specified medication if the 

caregiver observes some specified condition or change of condition in the child while the child is 

in care, the caregiver may administer the specified medication, without obtaining additional 

authorization from the parent or health care provider. 

 

(15) Prescription and over-the-counter medications must be kept in their original bottles or 

containers.  

 

 

(16) Prescription medication labels must include the following information or be available 

through the licensed authorized prescriber on the form provided by the Office or equivalent 

form: 

 

(i) Child's first and last name; 

 

(ii) Licensed authorized prescriber's name, telephone number, and signature; 

 

(iii) Date authorized; 

 

(iv) Name of medication and dosage; 
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(v) Frequency the medication is to be administered; 

 

(vi) Method of administration; 

 

(vii) Reason for medication (unless this information must remain confidential pursuant to law); 

 

(viii) Most common side effects or reactions; and 

 

(ix) Special instructions or considerations, including but not limited to possible interactions with 

other medications the child is receiving, or concerns regarding the use of the medication as it 

relates to a child's age, allergies, or any pre-existing conditions. 

 

(17) Medications must be kept in a clean area that is inaccessible to children. 

 

(18) If refrigeration is required, the medication must be stored in either a separate refrigerator or 

a leak-proof container in a designated area of a food storage refrigerator, separated from food 

and inaccessible to children.  

 

(19) Day care programs must comply with all Federal and State requirements for the storage and 

disposal of all types of medications, including controlled substances. 

 

(20) In the case of medication that needs to be given on an ongoing, long-term basis, the 

authorization and consent forms for children 5 years of age or older must be reauthorized at least 
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once every 12 months.  Any changes in the medication authorization related to dosage, time or 

frequency of administration shall require a program to obtain new instructions written by the 

licensed authorized prescriber. All other changes to the original medication authorization require 

a change in the prescription. 

 

(21) In the case of medication that needs to be given on an ongoing, long-term basis, the 

authorization and consent forms for children under the age of 5 years of age must be reauthorized 

at least once every six months.  Any changes in the medication authorization related to dosage, 

time or frequency of administration shall require a program to obtain new instructions written by 

the licensed authorized prescriber. All other changes to the original medication authorization 

require a change in the prescription. 

 

(g) Stocking medications. 

 

(1)  A child care program may keep a supply of over-the-counter medications at a program site to 

be used in the event that a child in the program develops symptoms while in care that indicate the 

need for over-the-counter medication.  

 

(2) Child care programs that store and administer medication that is not labeled for a specific 

child must have an over-the-counter stock medication policy in place before beginning to store 

any over-the-counter medications. The over-the-counter stock medication’s policy must address 

the safe storage and proper administration of the stored over-the-counter medication and must 

address the need for strict infection control practices as they pertain to stock medication.   
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(3) Stock medication must be kept in a clean area that is inaccessible to children and any stock 

medication must be stored separate from child specific medication. 

 

(4) Stock medications must be kept in the original container and have the following information 

on the label or in the package insert:   

 

(i) Name of the medication, 

 

(ii) Reasons for use, 

 

(iii) Directions for use, including route of administration, 

 

(iv) Dosage instructions, 

 

(v) Possible side effects and/or adverse reactions, 

 

(vi) Warnings or conditions under which it is inadvisable to administer the medication, and  

 

(vii) Expiration date. 

 

(5) Child care programs that stock supplies of over-the-counter medication, which are not in 

single dose packaging, must provide a separate mechanism to administer the medication for each 
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child that may need the medication. Once a device has been used for a specific child in care, that 

specific device must be disposed of or reused only for that specific child and must be labeled 

with the child’s first and last name. The program must include the procedure in the over-the-

counter stock medication policy for dispensing the stock medication from the container to the 

device, or directly administering to the child, without contaminating the stock medication.  

 

(6) All stock medication must be administered using best practice techniques in accordance with 

the directions for use on the medication package. 

 

(7) Small day care centers may not stock prescription medication.  

 

(h) Emergency care and the Administration of Epinephrine, Diphenhydramine in combination 

with the auto injector, Asthma inhalers and Nebulizers. 

 

(1) The caregivers must obtain emergency health care for children who require such care and 

also must: 

 

(i) obtain written consent at the time of admission from the parent which authorizes the provider 

or other caregivers to obtain emergency health care for the child; 

 

(ii) arrange for the transportation of any child in need of emergency health care, and for the 

supervision of the children remaining in the program;  
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(iii) in the event of an accident or illness requiring immediate health care, secure such care and 

notify the parent; and 

 

(iv) advise a parent or the person authorized to pick up the child that day, of any developing 

symptoms of illness or minor injury sustained while child is in care. 

 

(2) The program must be equipped with a portable first aid kit which is accessible for emergency 

treatment. The first aid kit must be stocked to treat a broad range of injuries and situations and 

must be restocked as necessary. The first aid kit and any other first aid supplies must be kept in a 

clean, covered container or cabinet inaccessible to children. 

 

(3) Rectal thermometers may not be used. 

 

(4) The program must provide a child who has or develops symptoms of illness a place to rest 

quietly that is in the view of, and under the supervision of a caregiver until the child receives 

medical care or the parent or approved parental designee arrives. In the event that a child has or 

develops symptoms of illness, the caregiver is responsible for immediately notifying the parent. 

 

(5) When a caregiver has not  been authorized to administer medications in a day care setting in 

accordance with the requirements of section 418-2.11(f) of this Subpart, such caregiver may 

administer emergency care through the use of epinephrine auto-injector devices, 

diphenhydramine, when prescribed in combination with the auto injector, asthma inhaler and 

asthma nebulizer when necessary to prevent anaphylaxis or breathing difficulty for an individual 
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child but only when the parent and the child's health care provider have indicated such treatment 

is appropriate. In addition: 

 

(i) A written Individual Health Care Plan must be developed for the child;  

 

(ii) The child’s health care provider must issue a standing order and prescription for the 

medication;  

 

(iii) The parent must approve, in writing, the administration of the medication as prescribed by 

the health care provider and keep medications current;  

 

(iv) All caregivers administering an emergency medication pursuant to section 418-2.11(h) of 

this Subpart, must be instructed on its use; and, the instruction must be provided by the parent, 

the child’s health care provider or a health care consultant;  

 

(v) A caregiver who has been instructed on the use of the auto injector, diphenhydramine, inhaler 

or nebulizer must be present during all hours the child with the potential emergency condition is 

in care;  

 

(vi) The caregiver administering the auto-injector, diphenhydramine, asthma medication or 

nebulizer must be at least 18-years-old;   

 

(vii) The caregiver must immediately contact 911 after administration of epinephrine;  
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(viii) If an inhaler or nebulizer for asthma is administered, a caregiver must call 911 if the child’s 

breathing does not return to its normal functioning after its use; and 

 

(ix) Storage, documentation of the administration of medication and labeling of the auto-injector, 

asthma inhaler and asthma nebulizer must be in compliance with Section 418-2.11 of this 

Subpart. 

 

(6) When a program is approved to administer an inhaler to a child with asthma or other 

diagnosed respiratory condition, or an epinephrine auto injector for anaphylaxis, a school-aged 

child may carry and use these devices during day care hours if the program secures written 

permission of such use of a duly authorized health care provider, parental consent and completes 

a special health care plan for the child.   

 

(7) The special health care plan, parental consent and health care provider consent documenting 

permission for a school-age child to carry an inhaler or auto injector must be maintained on file 

by the program. 

      

(i) Infection Control. 

 

(1) Caregivers and volunteers must thoroughly wash their hands with soap and running water at 

the beginning of each day, before and after the administration of medications, when they are 

dirty, after toileting or assisting children with toileting, after changing a diaper, before and after 
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food handling or eating, after handling pets or other animals, after contact with any bodily 

secretion or fluid, and after coming in from outdoors. 

 

(2) Caregivers and volunteers must ensure that children thoroughly wash their hands or assist 

children with thoroughly washing their hands with soap and running water when they are dirty, 

after toileting, before and after food handling or eating, after handling pets or other animals, after 

contact with any bodily secretion or fluid, and after coming in from outdoors.  

 

(3) Caregivers must assist children in keeping clean and comfortable, and in learning appropriate 

personal hygiene practices. 

  

(i) Children in night care shall have a routine that encourages good personal hygiene practices.  

 

(ii) Each child shall have an individual washcloth, towel and toothbrush. When evening or night 

care is provided each child shall have the opportunity to change into night clothes and wash 

before bed. The caregiver will give each child a shower, bath, or sponge bath in a manner agreed 

between the parent and the program. 

 

(iii) Either disposable towels or individual cloth towels for each child must be used. If individual 

cloth towels are used, they must be laundered daily.  

 

(iv) Sharing personal hygiene items, such as washcloths, towels, toothbrushes, combs and 

hairbrushes, is prohibited. 
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(4) When soap and running water is not available, hand sanitizer may be used by children and 

caregivers and volunteers on visibly clean hands. Package directions must be followed including 

supervision of children so that ingestion does not occur.   

 

(i)  When soap and running water is not available and hands are visibly soiled, individual wipes 

may be used in combination with hand sanitizer.   

 

(ii) The use of hand sanitizers on children under the age of two (2) years is prohibited. 

 

(5) Safety precautions relating to blood must be observed by all caregivers and volunteers as 

follows: 

 

(i) Disposable gloves must be immediately available and worn whenever there is a possibility for 

contact with blood, including but not limited to: 

 

(a) touching blood or blood-contaminated body fluids; 

 

(b) treating cuts that bleed;  

 

(c) wiping surfaces stained with blood; and 

 

(d) changing diapers where there is blood in the stool. 
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(ii) In an emergency, a child's well-being must take priority. A bleeding child must not be denied 

care because gloves are not immediately available. 

 

(iii) Disposable gloves must be discarded after each use. 

 

(iv) If blood is touched accidentally, the exposed skin must be thoroughly washed with soap and 

running water. 

 

(v) Clothes contaminated with blood must be placed in a securely tied plastic bag and returned to 

the parent at the end of the day. 

 

(vi) Surfaces that have been blood stained must be cleaned and then disinfected with an 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) registered product that has an EPA registration number 

on the label. 

 

(6) All rooms, equipment, surfaces, supplies and furnishings accessible to children must be 

cleaned and then sanitized or disinfected, using an EPA registered product, as needed to protect 

the health of children, and in a manner consistent with the health care plan guidelines issued by 

the Office.  
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(7) Equipment that is frequently used or touched by children on a daily basis must be cleaned 

and then sanitized or disinfected, using an EPA registered product, when soiled and at least once 

weekly. 

 

(8) The premises must be kept clean and free from dampness, odors and the accumulation of 

trash.  

 

(9) The premises must be kept free of vermin. 

 

(10) Carpets contaminated with body fluids must be spot cleaned. 

 

(11) Extensive cleaning, such as shampooing carpets or washing windows and walls, must occur 

when children are not present. 

 

(12) Garbage receptacles must be covered, and cleaned as needed after emptying. 

 

(13) Thermometers and toys mouthed by children must be washed and disinfected using an EPA 

registered product before use by another child. 

 

(14) Individual drinking cups or disposable cups must be provided daily.  Once a drinking cup or 

eating utensils have been used by a child they may not be used by another child unless they are 

washed first. 
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(15) Between uses, dishes and utensils must be washed with soap and hot water and rinsed in hot 

running water.   

 

(16) Linens, blankets and bedding must be cleaned at least weekly and before use by another 

child. Cribs, cots, beds, mats and mattresses must be cleaned thoroughly between uses by 

different children and at least monthly. 

 

(17) Sanitizers and disinfectants must be used as directed on the product label. 

 

(18) Hygiene, diapering and toileting. 

 

(i) Toilet facilities must be kept clean at all times, and must be supplied with toilet paper, soap 

and towels accessible to the children. 

 

(ii) For diapered children, caregivers and volunteers must ensure that adequate steps are taken to 

clean the child after each change of diaper. 

 

(iii) Children must be kept clean and comfortable at all times. Diapers must be changed when 

wet or soiled. The diaper changing area must be as close as possible to a sink with soap and hot 

and cold running water. This area or sink must not be used for food preparation. Diaper changing 

surfaces must be cleaned and disinfected after each use with an Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) registered product that has an EPA registration number on the label. 
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(iv) The program must make arrangements with the parent to provide an adequate supply of 

disposable or cloth diapers. When cloth diapers are used they must be supplied by a parent or 

commercial diaper service. 

 

(v) When disposable diapers are used, soiled diapers must be disposed of immediately into an 

outside trash disposal, or placed in a tightly covered plastic-lined trash can inaccessible to 

children until outdoor disposal is possible. 

 

(vi) Non-disposable diapers must not be laundered in the small day care center, and must be 

stored in a securely covered receptacle until returned to the diaper service. When parents provide 

non-disposable diapers, soiled diapers must be placed in a securely tied plastic bag and returned 

to the parent at the end of the day. 

 

 

(vii) Toileting equipment, such as potty chairs, appropriate to the toilet training level of the 

children in the group must be provided.  

 

(viii) When more than one child in the program is being toilet trained, potty chairs must be 

emptied, cleaned and then sanitized or disinfected   after each use with an Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) registered product that has an EPA registration number on the label.  

 

(iv) If only one child in the program is being toilet trained, potty chairs must be emptied and 

rinsed after each use and cleaned and then sanitized daily with a sanitizer or disinfectant with an 
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Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) registered product that has an EPA registration number 

on the label.  

 

(x) Potty chairs must not be washed out in a hand-washing sink, unless that sink is cleaned, then 

sanitized or disinfected after such use. 

 

(19) Sufficient and suitable clothing must be available so that children who dirty or soil their 

clothing may be changed. All such clothing must be returned to parents for washing or must be 

washed by the program. 

 

(j) Pesticide use.  

 

(1) Any application of pesticides (as the term pesticide is defined in section 33-0101 of the 

Environmental Conservation Law) shall be completed in accordance with the requirements of 

section 390-c of the Social Services Law and sections 33-1004 and 33-1005 of the 

Environmental Conservation Law. 

 

(2) In addition to the requirements of section 390-c of the Social Services Law, each day care 

facility must send a notice home with each child or otherwise provide notification to the parent 

of each child not less than forty-eight hours prior to the application of pesticides. Such notice 

must include: 
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(i) the location and specific date of the application of pesticides and may include two alternate 

dates in the event that an outdoor application cannot be made due to weather conditions; 

 

(ii) the pesticide product name and pesticide registration number assigned by the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency; 

 

(iii) the following statement: "This notice is to inform you of a pending pesticide application at 

this facility. You may wish to discuss with a representative of the day care facility what 

precautions are being taken to protect your child from exposure to these pesticides. Further 

information about the product or products being applied, including any warnings that appear on 

the label of the pesticide or pesticides that are pertinent to the protection of humans, animals or 

the environment, can be obtained by calling the National Pesticide Information Center at 1-800-

858-7378 or the New York State Department of Health Center for Environmental Health Info 

Line at 1-800-458-1158"; and 

 

(iv) the name of a representative of the day care facility and contact number for additional 

information. 

 

(3) Any day care program that fails to send the appropriate notice of pesticide application as set 

forth in section 418-2.11(j) of this Part, for a first such violation, shall be issued a written 

warning in lieu of penalty. For a second violation, such program shall be subject to a penalty not 

to exceed one hundred dollars. For any subsequent violation, such program shall be subject to a 

penalty not to exceed two hundred fifty dollars for each violation. No penalty may be assessed 
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by the Commissioner without affording the registrant with notice and an opportunity for a 

hearing pursuant to section 413.5 of this Title. 

 

(4) Any finding by the Department of Environmental Conservation of a violation by the program 

of the requirements set forth in sections 33-1004 or 33-1005 of the Environmental Conservation 

Law shall be deemed a safety hazard to children in care and a violation of this section.  

 

(5) Day care centers are prohibited from using pesticides on playgrounds, turf, athletic or playing 

fields except when approved by the local health department, or for a county not having a health 

department, such authority as the county legislature shall designate, the commissioner of health 

or his or her designee, the commissioner of environmental conservation or his or her designee, 

or, in the case of a public school, the school board. The following are not included in the 

definition of “pesticide” for this provision only: 

 

(a) the application of anti-microbial  pesticides  and  anti-microbial  products as defined by 

FIFRA in 7 U.S.C. Section 136(mm) and 136q(h)(2); or 

 

(b)  the  use  of  an  aerosol  product  with  a  directed  spray, in  containers of eighteen fluid  

ounces  or  less,  when  used  to  protect  individuals  from  an  imminent threat from stinging and 

biting insects,  including venomous spiders, bees, wasps and hornets; or 

 

(c) the use of non-volatile  insect  or  rodent  bait  in  a  tamper  resistant container; or 
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(d)  the application  of a pesticide classified by the United States  Environmental Protection 

Agency as an exempt material under 40 CFR  Part  152.25; or 

 

(e) the use of boric acid and disodium octaborate tetrahydrate; or 

 

(f)  the  use  of  horticultural  soap  and  oils that do not contain  synthetic pesticides or 

synergists. 

 

 

418-2.12 Nutrition 

 

(a) The program must provide sufficient and nutritious snacks to children. 

 

(b) The program must ensure that each child in care for more than four hours a day receives a 

nutritious meal. 

 

(c) Each child in care for more than ten hours a day must receive a minimum of two nutritious 

meals.  

 

(d) Food must be prepared and stored in a safe and sanitary manner and served at appropriate 

intervals. 

 

(e) If the program does not furnish meals, there must be adequate supplemental food available in 
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the event that no meal is provided by the parent or if the meal provided by the parent is 

inadequate or of inadequate nutritional value. 

 

(f) Programs changing their meal policy must provide adequate notice to parents. 

 

(g) When meals are furnished by the program, food preferences for personal, religious or medical 

reasons may be accommodated. If resultant meal patterns or serving sizes will not meet the 

child's nutritional needs, a medical statement must be obtained documenting the appropriateness 

of the variation. 

 

(h) When meals are furnished by the program, the servings must be in portions suitable for the 

size and age of the children in care, including infants. There must be a sufficient amount of food 

available to children to permit second helpings of nutritious foods. 

 

(i) Children must be helped to gain independence in feeding themselves and should be 

encouraged to learn acceptable table manners appropriate to their developmental levels. 

 

(j) Sufficient time, based on age and individual needs, must be allowed for meals so that children 

will not be hurried. 

 

(k) Perishable food, milk and infant formula must be kept refrigerated. 

 

(l) Safe drinking water must be available to children at all times and must be offered at intervals 
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that are responsive to the needs of the individual children. 

 

(m) Disposable cups, plates and utensils may be used if discarded after use. Plastic eating 

utensils may be used if such utensils are not easily broken by young children and are discarded 

after use. Styrofoam cups may not be used for infants or toddlers. 

 

(n) The program must obtain a written statement, from the parent of each infant in care, setting 

forth the breast milk, formula and feeding schedule instructions for the infant and must be 

updated as changes are made. 

 

(o) Where infant formula is required, such formula may be prepared and provided by the parent, 

or by a qualified, designated staff person when agreed to in writing by the parent. 

 

(p) The program must develop a plan for introducing age-appropriate solid foods in consultation 

with the parent. 

 

(q) If more than one child in the program is receiving breast milk, infant formula or other 

individualized food items, all containers or bottles must be clearly marked with the child's first 

and last name. 

 

(r) Unused portions of bottles or containers from which children have been spoon-fed must be 

discarded after each feeding or placed in a securely tied plastic bag and returned to the parent at 

the end of the day. 
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(s) Heating infant formula, breast milk and other food items for infants in a microwave oven is 

prohibited. 

 

(t) If foods for older children are heated in a microwave, the food must be stirred and allowed to 

reach serving temperature before serving to prevent burns from hot spots.  

 

(u) All devices used to warm breast milk, formula or food for infants, must be kept at a low 

temperature not exceeding 120°. 

 

(v) Staff and volunteer must not hold an infant while removing a bottle or infant food from a 

crock pot or other warming device.   

 

(w) All devices used for warming bottles or food must be kept out of reach of children. 

 

(x) Every effort must be made to accommodate the needs of a child who is being breast-fed. 

 

(y) Infants six months of age or younger must be held while being bottle-fed. Infants over six 

months of age must be held while being bottle-fed until the infant consistently demonstrates the 

capability of holding the bottle and ingesting an adequate portion of the contents thereof.  

 

(z) The propping of bottles is prohibited. 
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(aa) Each infant and toddler must be removed from the crib, playpen or cot and held or placed in 

an appropriate chair for feeding.   

 

(ab) Children may not be placed in a crib with a bottle, food or drink. 

 

(ac) A staff person or volunteer must not force or bribe a child to eat nor use food as a reward or 

punishment. 

 

(ad) Fluid milk, 100% juice and water, are the only beverages a program may provide to children 

in the program. 

 

(ae) When milk is served as a beverage, low-fat or fat-free milk (1% fat or less) must be served 

to children two years of age or older. 

 

(af) When provided by the parent, beverages are not subject to the regulatory beverage standards. 

 

(ag) All children with dietary restrictions based on a child’s medical condition or religious 

beliefs of the family are exempt from the regulatory beverage requirements, when instructed in 

writing by the parent to the program. 

 

(ah) The program must share information on healthy food and beverage choices and the 

prevention of childhood obesity with the parent. 
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418-2.13 Staff Qualifications 

 

 

(a) The caregivers must each meet the following qualifications: 

 

(1) be at least 18 years old; 

 

(2) have a minimum of either two (2) years of experience caring for children under six years of 

age, or one (1) year of experience caring for children under six years of age plus six hours of 

training or education in early childhood development. The phrase "experience caring for 

children" can mean child-rearing as well as paid and unpaid experience caring for children. The 

term "training" can mean educational workshops and courses in caring for preschool-age 

children; 

 

(3) be capable of providing, and agree to provide, safe and suitable care to children which is 

supportive of the children's physical, intellectual, emotional and social well-being;  

 

(4) provide to the Office the names, addresses and daytime telephone numbers of at least three 

(3) acceptable references, other than relatives. At least one of the references must be able to 

attest to the employment history, work record and qualifications, if the person had ever been 

employed outside the home. At least one of the references must be able to attest to the character, 
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habits and personal qualifications to be a caregiver or substitute at a small day care center; and 

 

(5) submit a satisfactory medical statement, as required in section 418-2.11(b). 

 

(b)  All caregivers and those volunteers with the potential for regular and substantial contact with 

children enrolled in the program are required to comply with the criminal history review 

provisions of this Subpart and Part 413 of this Title. 

 

(c) All caregivers and volunteers hired after June 30, 2013 must comply with the background 

check requirements for the register of substantiated category one cases of abuse or neglect 

maintained by the Justice Center for the Protection of Persons with Special Needs pursuant to 

Section 495 of the Social Services Law. 

 

(d) All caregivers are required to complete a State Central Register database check. 

 

(e) A person is not approved to be a caregiver until the child care program receives written 

approval from the Office. 

 

418-2.14  Training 

 

(a) Before the Office issues an application for a small day care center registration, to a person or 

entity yet to hold a day care license or registration, the applicant must complete an Office 

approved orientation session.   
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(b) All staff must complete a minimum of thirty (30) hours of training every two years. Such 

training requirements shall also apply to any volunteer in a small day care center program who 

has the potential for regular and substantial contact with children.  

 

(c) Fifteen (15) of the required thirty (30) hours of training must be obtained during the first six 

months of the program's first year of registration or during the person’s first six months of 

employment by the program. 

 

(1) This initial fifteen (15) hours applies toward the total thirty (30) hour minimum requirement 

for each two year period.  

 

(d) The thirty (30) hours of required training must address the following topics: 

 

(1) principles of childhood development, focusing on the developmental stages of the age groups 

for which the program provides care; 

 

(i) Principles of childhood development include such things as meeting the physical, social and 

developmental needs of children, including those with special needs; behavior management and 

discipline; promoting play and physical activity; individual development variation and learning 

styles; infant and toddler brain development and cross cultural skills and knowledge. 

 

(2) nutrition and health needs of infants and children; 
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(i) Nutrition and health needs of infants and children include such things as healthy menu 

planning, obesity prevention, benefits of and how to encourage breastfeeding for mothers 

returning to work, training in infectious diseases, cardio pulmonary resuscitation(CPR), first aid, 

health and safety practices, preventive techniques in sudden infant death syndrome, medication 

administration training. 

 

(3) child day care program development; 

 

(i)  Child day care program development topics  include such things as the benefits of continuity 

of care practices,  supervision and coaching of caregivers, program variety and activity;  infant, 

toddler, pre-school, and school age quality programming, promoting children’s language 

development and social and emotional skills, and establishing nurturing, stimulating 

environments; rest time policies and procedures including meeting the needs of children who do 

not nap; hand washing;  meeting the program needs of mixed age groups in a small day care 

program.  

 

(4) safety and security procedures;  

 

(i) Safety and security procedures include such things as communication between  

parents and caregivers, emergency preparedness and response practices and procedures, fire 

safety, pool and water sports safety, playground safety, supervising daily activities and family 



88 
Effective June 1, 2015 

 

engagement techniques. 

 

(5) business record maintenance and management;  

 

(i) business record maintenance and management includes such things as training in New York 

State and Federal requirements as a business owner and employer, child day care record keeping 

and documentation requirements,  time maintenance, organizational skills, scheduling and 

coverage,  supervision and coaching of caregivers.   

 

(6) child abuse and maltreatment identification and prevention;  

 

(i) child abuse and maltreatment identification and prevention includes such things as reporting 

protocol; how to make a report to the state central register; documenting incidents and daily 

health checks; child abuse policy/procedure including safety plan. 

 

(7) statutes and regulations pertaining to child day care;  

 

(8) statutes and regulations pertaining to child abuse and maltreatment; 

 

(i) statutes and regulations pertaining to child abuse and maltreatment includes such things as 

Mandated Reporter training; responsibilities of a mandated reporter; and 

 



89 
Effective June 1, 2015 

 

(9) education and information on the identification, diagnosis and prevention of shaken baby 

syndrome. 

 

(e) Training received after the application has been submitted, but before the application has 

been approved and the registration granted, may be counted towards the initial fifteen (15) hours 

required in section 418-2.14(c) of this Subpart.  

 

(f) After satisfying all of the training requirements for a two year period, an individual can carry 

over all training hours earned within the last 90 days of the two year period, to count toward the 

training requirements for the next two year period.  

 

(g) For the thirty (30) hours of training that must be received every two years any, person who 

can demonstrate basic competency in a particular topic to the Office may determine in which of 

the specified topics he or she needs further study. The Office also may exempt any  person from 

participating in training on a particular topic upon demonstration of substantially equivalent 

knowledge or experience related to that topic. All persons with such exemptions must still 

complete a minimum of thirty (30) hours of training every two years. 

 

(h) The program must submit verification of completion of the training requirements to their 

program's designated registration office on forms provided by the Office. 

 

(i) All training that counts toward the required thirty (30) hours must be approved by the Office 

of Children and Family Services as per Office policies regarding training and trainers. 
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(j) Caregivers who will be responsible for administering medications must receive training 

pursuant to Section 418-2.11(e) of this Part.    

 

(k) All child day care programs must have at least one staff person, who holds a valid certificate 

in cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid, on the premise of the child care program 

during the program’s operating hours.  

 

(l) Cardio-pulmonary resuscitation and first aid certificates must be appropriate to the ages of the 

children in care.  

 

(m) The staff person who holds the valid certification in cardio-pulmonary resuscitation and first 

aid must have their certification available for review during their working hours at the program.   

 

 

418-2.15 Management and Administration 

 

(a) General registration requirements. 

 

(1)(i) Each small day care center must obtain a registration from the Office.  No person or entity 

may operate a small child day care center without a registration from the Office. 
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(ii) Each small day care center must operate in compliance with the regulations of the Office 

and all other applicable laws and regulations.  

 

(2) Each small day care center that has been issued a registration by the Office must openly 

display such registration, along with any restrictions, limitations and waivers to the registration, 

in the center for which it was issued. 

 

(3) A new application for a registration must be submitted to the Office when there is a change 

in the address or owner or when a registration is sought following the  revocation of or denial of 

an application to renew a registration. 

 

(4) The provisions specified on the registration are binding and the small day care center must 

operate in compliance with the terms of the registration. The number and age range of children 

specified thereon are the maximum number and age range of children who may be in the care of 

the small day care center at any one time. 

 

(5) No registration will be issued unless the program is in full compliance with the regulations 

of the Office and all other applicable laws and regulations except where a waiver of one or 

more requirements of this Subpart has been approved in writing by the Office in accordance 

with section 413.5 of this Title. 
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(6) The effective period of the initial registration for a small day care center will be up to two 

years and any subsequent registrations will be up to four years each so long as the program 

remains in compliance with applicable laws and regulations during such periods. 

 

(7) A registration is not transferable to any other person, entity or location. 

 

(8) A small day care center required to be registered with the Office will not be exempt from 

this requirement through registration with another State agency or certification, registration or 

licensure by any local governmental agency or authorized agency. 

 

(9) Before denial of an application for a registration or renewal of a registration, the registrant is 

entitled to a hearing before the Office pursuant to Part 413 of this Title. 

 

(b) General operation requirements. 

 

(1) Individual children must be cared for less than 24 hours a day. No caregiver may work more 

than two consecutive shifts. 

 

(2) The registrant must make a written request to the Office before providing an additional shift 

of care beyond what was specified and approved in the initial registration.  

 

(3)  The registrant cannot provide an additional shift of care until the changes have been 

approved in writing by the Office.  
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(4) The staff and volunteers must be in good health and be of good character and habits. 

 

(5) The submission of fraudulent or altered documents to the Office or its representatives is 

prohibited. 

 

(6) Confidentiality. 

 

(i) Information relating to an individual child is confidential and cannot be disclosed without 

written parental permission to anyone other than the Office, its designees or other persons 

authorized by law.  

 

(ii) Information relating to an individual child may be disclosed to a social services district 

where the child receives a day care subsidy from the district, where the child has been named in 

a report of alleged child abuse or maltreatment, or as otherwise authorized by law.  

 

(iii) Redisclosure of confidential HIV-related information, as defined in section 360-8.1 of the 

Public Health Law, concerning a child receiving child day care is not permitted except in a 

manner consistent with Article 27-F of the Public Health Law. 

 

(7) A small day care center may not refuse to admit a child to the program solely because the 

child has a developmental delay or a disability or has been diagnosed as having human 

immunodeficiency virus ( HIV), HIV-related illness or acquired immune deficiency syndrome 
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(AIDS).  Each such child must be evaluated by the program to determine whether the child 

could be accommodated in the program if reasonable modifications are made to the premises 

and/or program. Nothing contained in section 418-2.11 shall be deemed to require the program 

to incur significant additional expenses to modify the premises and/or program to accommodate 

such a child. 

 

(8) The parent of a child receiving care must have:  

 

(i) unlimited and on demand access to such child;  

 

(ii) the right to inspect all parts of the building used for child day care or which could present a 

hazard to the health or safety of the child whenever the parent requests at any time during the 

hours of operation of the small child day care center; 

 

(iii) unlimited and on demand access to the registrant and caregivers whenever such child is in 

care or during the normal hours of operation; and  

 

(iv) unlimited and on demand access to written records concerning such child except where 

access to such records is otherwise restricted by law. 

 

(9) Electronic monitors and surveillance equipment. 
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(i) The parents of all children receiving care in a small day care center equipped with electronic 

monitoring devices or surveillance cameras installed for the purpose of allowing parents to 

view their children in the day care setting by means of the internet must be informed that 

cameras will be used for this purpose. All staff of the small day care center must also be 

informed if video surveillance cameras will be used for this purpose. 

 

(ii) All parents of children enrolled in the day care center and all staff and volunteers of the 

small day care center must be made aware of the locations of all video surveillance cameras 

used at the small day care center. 

 

(iii) Small day care centers opting to install and use electronic monitoring devices or 

surveillance cameras must comply with all State and federal laws applicable to the use of such 

equipment. 

 

(iv) Electronic monitoring devices or surveillance cameras may not be used as a substitute for 

competent direct supervision of children. 

 

(v) Electronic monitoring devices or surveillance cameras are permitted to transmit images of 

children in common rooms, hallways and play areas only. Bathrooms and changing areas must 

remain private and free of all video surveillance equipment. 
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(vi) Small day care centers that use electronic monitoring devices or surveillance cameras must 

allow inspectors and other representatives of the Office to have access to such equipment and to 

have viewing privileges as required by the Office. 

 

(vii) Parents of children, staff and volunteers must be notified when electronic monitoring 

devices or surveillance cameras are used. 

 

(viii) Small day care centers opting to allow parents to view their children in the day care 

setting by means of the internet must use and maintain adequate internet security measures at all 

times. Such measures include but are not limited to: frequent changes of passwords; filtering 

measures that prohibit public access to or viewing of day care activities via the internet; and 

immediate corrective action in response to any report of abuse of the system or inappropriate 

access. Such small day care centers must also advise the parents having access to views of the 

small day care center through the internet of the importance of security in regard to such 

viewing and of the importance of the privacy rights of other children who may be viewed. 

 

(10) (i) The small day care center must admit inspectors and other representatives of the Office 

onto the grounds and premises at any time during the hours of operation of the center. 

Inspectors and representatives of the Office must be given free access to the building or 

buildings used by the center, staff, volunteers and children and any records of the center.  
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(ii) A small day care center must cooperate with inspectors and other representatives of the 

Office in regard to any inspections or investigations that are conducted by the Office or its 

representatives. 

 

(iii) A small child day care center must cooperate with local Child Protective Services' Staff 

conducting any investigation of alleged child abuse or maltreatment. 

 

(iv) No staff person or volunteer may place or attempt to place an Office representative, who is 

performing his/her role as such, in reasonable fear of physical injury. 

 

(v) Any intentional display of physical or verbal force, which would give an Office 

representative reason to fear or expect bodily harm, is prohibited. 

 

(vi)  Intentional and wrongful physical contact with an office representative is prohibited. 

 

(11) In hiring a provider subsequent to issuance of a registration, a program: 

 

(i) must notify the Office immediately in writing when there is any change in provider; 

 

(ii) must submit to the Office within 15 days of the written notification of the change in provider,  

the name of such person and the supporting documentation needed to complete the approval 

process including:  
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(a) the forms necessary for the Office to inquire whether the applicant is the subject of an 

indicated report of child abuse or maltreatment on file with the Statewide Central Register of 

Child Abuse and Maltreatment, 

 

(b) the forms necessary to check the register of substantiated category one cases of abuse or 

neglect maintained by the Justice Center for the Protection of Persons with Special Needs 

pursuant to Section 495 of the Social Services Law, 

 

(c) fingerprint images necessary for the Office to conduct a criminal history review,  

 

(d) a sworn statement indicating whether, to the best of the applicant's knowledge, he or she has 

ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony in New York State or any other jurisdiction, and 

 

(e)  three (3) acceptable references;  

 

(iii) a medical statement must be submitted before the person has any involvement with children 

in care, as required in section 418-2.11(b) of this Subpart; 

 

(iv) may, during the Office's review of all documentation for any proposed  provider continue to 

operate the program; and 

 

(v) may not leave the proposed provider in sole charge of or unsupervised with children until 

such time as the Office approves the person. 
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(12) The small day care center must report to the Office:  

 

(i) Immediately upon learning of a change that affects those portions of the building and 

property in which the program is operating or which are used for the children's egress in the 

case of emergency; 

 

(ii) At least thirty days in advance of any proposed changes to the area used for child care;  

 

(iii) Immediately or no later than the next day of business of the provider’s resignation or 

termination; 

 

(iv) Immediately upon learning of any other change that would place the small center out of 

compliance with applicable regulations. 

 

(13) All staff and volunteers of the small day care center must be familiar with the Office 

regulations and policies governing such programs, and the small child care center’s policies. 

Such regulations and policies must be readily accessible to staff and volunteers for reference 

purposes. 

 

(14) The program must immediately notify the parent and Office upon learning of the death, 

serious incident, serious injury, serious condition, communicable illness, or transportation to a 

hospital, of a child which occurred while the child was in care at the program or was being 
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transported by the program. A serious incident includes any event in which a child requires 

medical attention other than routine illness, is left without competent supervision for any period 

of time, or leaves the program without an approved caregiver or designated person.  

 

(15) Parents must be given the opportunity to discuss issues related to their children and the 

care of their children with the caregivers. Such opportunities must occur at the time of 

enrollment of the child in the program and as frequently as needed thereafter, but at least 

annually. 

 

(16) The indoor and outdoor areas of the small day care center where the children are being 

cared for must not be used for any non-child care activity or other business or social purpose 

when children are present such that the attention of caregivers is diverted from the care of the 

children. 

 

(17)(i) Within five days after receiving the initial registration and before actually commencing 

operation, the registrant must, using a form specified by the Office for that purpose, notify the 

local police and fire departments of the municipality within which the small day care center is 

located of the following: 

 

(a) the address of the small day care center; 

 

(b) the maximum capacity of the small day care center; 
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(c) the age range of children that will be in care; and 

 

(d) the hours during which children will be in care. 

 

(ii) If the local municipality does not have a police or fire department, the sheriff of the county 

within which the small day care center is located must be notified instead. The registrant must 

notify the local police and fire departments or the county sheriff, as appropriate, if there is any 

change in any of the information required to be provided pursuant to section 418-2.15(b)(17)(i) 

of this Subpart. 

 

(18) When the Office notifies the program that such a statement is required, the program must 

provide a statement from the appropriate local official or authority that the building meets 

standards for sanitation and safety. 

 

(19) The small child day care center must comply with all applicable State and federal laws 

relating to equal employment opportunities.  

 

(20) All small day care centers that accept direct and indirect payments from a social services 

district, or a payment from a parent or caretaker, for providing subsidized child care must 

comply with all relevant requirements of the child care subsidy program and section 415.4(h) of 

this Title. 
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(21) A small day care center must give the parent, at the time of admission of a child, a written 

policy statement including, but not limited to:  

 

(i) the responsibilities of the program;  

 

(ii) the responsibilities of the parent;  

 

(iii) the policies of the small child day care center regarding admission and disenrollment 

policies;  

 

(iv) how parents will be notified of accidents, serious incidents and injuries;  

 

(v) the behavior management policy;  

 

(vi) a summary of the program’s evacuation plan including the primary and secondary 

evacuation sites;   

 

(vii) the program activities to be provided; 

 

(viii)  a summary of the program's health care policies, including the level of illness the center 

will accommodate;  
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(ix) actions the small day care center will take in the event the child is not picked up as 

scheduled;  

 

(x) the meal arrangements;  

 

(xi) instructional materials on the available procedures and legal remedies if they suspect their 

child has been abused or maltreated;  

 

(xii) how to access the regulations; 

 

(xiii) contact information for the Office including the Child Care Complaint Line;  

 

(xiv) transportation policy; and 

 

(xv) information on healthy food and beverage choices and the prevention of childhood obesity. 

 

(22) The small day care center must post or display conspicuously in a place to which parents 

have free and daily access, the following: 

 

(i) the Office's small child day care center regulations; 

 

(ii) the name(s), addresses and telephone numbers of person(s) with the legal responsibility and 

administrative authority for the operation of the small day care center; and 
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(iii) the address and telephone number of the appropriate regional office of the Office which 

may be contacted to lodge a complaint against the small center for violations of statutory and 

regulatory requirements; 

 

(23) Upon termination or resignation of the provider, an acting provider must be immediately 

named by the registrant. The appointment of the acting provider must be shared with the Office 

by the next day of business. A permanent provider must be on-site within ninety days.  

 

(24) When a small day care center is operated by an entity other than a sole proprietor, such 

entity shall immediately notify the Office upon any transfer or reapportionment of stock or any 

change in ownership. 

 

(25)  When a small day care center is located in a multi-use building, those portions of the 

building designated for the care of children must be used exclusively for child day care during 

the hours that children are present. 

 

(26) Each small day care center must be staffed to perform administrative/fiscal management 

functions and, during all hours of operation, program supervision functions, including 

developing, directing and supervising daily activity programs for children. These functions may 

be performed by one individual or may be shared in any combination between two or more 

individuals. 
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(27) When an agency operates multiple licensed centers, the person performing the 

administrative/fiscal management functions may be shared across such centers. 

 

(28) Child day care programs must keep all records relevant to the current registration period, 

and the immediately preceding registration period. 

 

(29) Mid-point requirements for four-year registration holders. At the two-year calendar date in 

a four year registration cycle, a program must be in compliance with the following mid-point 

requirements and be able to show proof of compliance to the Office when requested, as follows: 

 

(i) proof of compliance with the training requirements of section 418-2.14; 

 

(ii) where a program uses a private water supply, a report from a state licensed laboratory or 

individual, based on tests performed within the 12 months preceding the calendar date of the 

two-year mark in a four year registration, showing that the water meets standards for drinking 

water established by the New York State Department of Health; 

 

(iii) documentation from service personnel licensed by the New York State Department of State 

to perform fire alarm systems maintenance, repair and testing which shows that the fire alarm 

and detection systems have been inspected, tested and maintained during the current 

registration period in accordance with the applicable requirements of the Fire and Building code 

of New York State or other applicable fire and building codes when the Fire and Building Code 

of New York State is not applicable, for use of the building as a child day care center; 
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(iv) documentation from service personnel qualified to perform fire suppression systems testing 

showing that fire suppression equipment and systems have been tested and maintained during 

the current registration period in accordance with the requirements of the Fire Code and 

Building Code of New York State, or other applicable fire and building codes when the Fire 

and Building Code of New York State is not applicable, for use of the building as a child day 

care center; and 

 

(v) documentation from an inspector from the New York State Department of Labor, or an 

insurance company licensed to write boiler insurance in New York State, showing that all steam 

or hot water boilers have been inspected and approved  during the current registration period in 

accordance with the requirements of the New York State Department of Labor. For all other 

fuel burning heating systems and equipment, and boilers not subject to the New York State 

Department of Labor requirements, documentation of service by a heating contractor performed 

within the 12 months preceding the date of application for renewal. 

 

(30) When a program proposes to care for a child under the age of six weeks, prior approval 

must be obtained from the Office. In seeking such approval, the program must furnish, in 

writing, the following: 

 

(i) identifying information related to the specific child who would receive care, including the 

parent's name and address, and the child's name,  gender and age; 
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(ii) the extenuating circumstance necessitating the care; and 

 

(iii) a description of what the program will do to achieve consistency with the Office's 

guidelines for the care of children under the age of six weeks. 

 

(c) The program must maintain on file at the small day care center, available for inspection by 

the Office or its designees at any time, the following records in a current and accurate manner: 

 

(1) a copy of the evacuation plan,  evacuation drills, and shelter-in-place drills conducted, on 

forms furnished by the Office or approved equivalents, as required in sections 418-2.4(b) and 

418-2.5(b) of this Subpart; 

 

(2) an approved health care plan on forms furnished by the Office, as required in section 418-

2.11(c) of this Subpart; 

 

(3) the name, address, gender, and date of birth of each child and each child's parents' names, 

addresses, telephone numbers and place(s) at which the parents or other persons responsible for 

the child can be reached in case of an emergency; 

 

(4) the names and addresses of persons authorized to take the child(ren) from the small day care 

center; 
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(5) daily attendance records, which must be filled out at the time a child arrives and departs, 

and must include arrival and departure times; 

 

(6) children's health records, including parental consents for emergency medical treatment, 

child’s medical statement and immunizations; any available results of lead screening; the name 

and dosage of any medications used by a child and the frequency of administration of such 

medications; and a record of their administration by caregivers; and a record of illnesses, 

injuries and any indicators of child abuse or maltreatment; 

 

(7) copies of current staff and volunteer’s health statements; 

 

(8) copies of the small day care center's personnel policies and practices; 

 

(9) a description of program activities offered to meet the needs of children, as described in 

section 418-2.7(a) of this Subpart; 

 

(10) a description of the procedure to be used to review and evaluate the background 

information supplied by applicants for employment and volunteer positions, as required in 

section 418-2.13 of this Subpart; 

 

(11) personnel information including a list of all staff  with job assignments and schedules; 

Statewide Central Register clearance results; Justice Center for the Protection of Persons with 

Special Needs background check forms; criminal history review information; staff resumes; 
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medical statement, acceptable references and other information required by section 418-2.13 of 

this Subpart; 

 

(12) a current daily schedule documenting the arrival and departure times of each staff member 

and volunteer; 

 

(13)  a description of the schedule and content of training as required in section 418-2.14 of this 

Subpart, including use of both in-service training and outside training resources; 

 

(14) when the small day care center registrant is an entity other than a sole proprietorship, the 

following additional documentation: 

 

(i) a copy of the certificate of incorporation, partnership agreement, or articles of organization 

and any amendments thereto; 

 

(ii) verification of filing of the certificate of incorporation,  partnership agreement, or articles of 

organization and any amendments thereto with the Secretary of State;  

 

(iii) a current list of the names of the board of directors, partners or members and their 

addresses, telephone numbers of the current principal officers and members, and the business 

and civic qualifications of all such individuals; 
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(15) a copy of the notification form provided to the local police and fire departments or the 

county sheriff as required in section 418-2.15(b)(17)(i) of this Subpart;  

 

(16) the napping agreement for each child in care; 

 

(17) the transportation policy and written parental permission for the transportation of each child 

in care; 

 

(18) written parental permission for aquatic activities and the plan which details the system of 

supervising and checking children who are swimming, pursuant to section 418-2.5 of this 

Subpart; 

 

(19) current cardio-pulmonary resuscitation and first aid certificates as required pursuant to 

section 418-2.14 of this Subpart; 

 

(20) a sample copy of all forms used in the small day care center; 

 

(21) all records relevant to the current registration period, and the immediately preceding 

registration period; 

 

(22) documentation from the local health department or the New York State Department of 

Health showing that the facility has been approved in accordance with the requirements of the 

New York State Department of Health; 
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(23) a description of specific procedures which will assure the safety of a child who is reported 

to the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment as well as other children 

provided care in the small child day care center; 

 

(24) a description of policies and practices regarding appropriate supervision of children in 

conformance with section 418-2.8 of this Subpart; 

 

(25) a description of the pattern of supervision of staff by the provider or other responsible 

person, and procedures to assure adequate and appropriate supervision of staff and volunteers of 

the program; 

 

(26) when the small day care center is owned by an individual, corporation, partnership or other 

entity using a business or assumed name, a copy of the certificate of doing business under an 

assumed name obtained from the county clerk; 

 

(27) where a program uses a private water supply, a report from a state licensed laboratory or 

individual, based on tests performed within the 12 months preceding the date of application for 

registration, showing that the water meets standards for drinking water established by the New 

York State Department of Health; 
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(28) a copy of the certification that the building, property and premises and the surrounding 

neighborhood and environment are free from environmental hazards, as required in section 418-

2.2(a)(6) and 418-2.2(e)(6) of this Subpart; 

 

(29) documentation from service personnel licensed by the New York State Department of 

State to perform fire alarm systems maintenance, repair and testing which shows that the fire 

alarm and detection systems have been inspected, tested and maintained every two years during 

the current registration period in accordance with the applicable requirements of the Fire and 

Building Code of New York State;  

 

(30) documentation from service personnel qualified to perform fire suppression systems 

maintenance, repair and testing showing that fire suppression equipment and systems have been 

tested and maintained every two years during the current registration period in accordance with 

the applicable requirements of the Fire and Building Code of New York State; 

 

(31) documentation from the local government authority having jurisdiction for determining 

compliance with the Fire and Building Code of New York State showing that the facility has 

been inspected and approved once every 2 years during the current registration period for 

compliance with the applicable fire safety provisions of the  Fire and Building Code of New 

York State; and 

 

(32) documentation showing inspection and approval of any steam or hot water boilers 

performed in accordance with the requirements of the New York State Department of Labor 
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and service performed once every 24 months during the current registration period on all other 

fuel burning heating systems and equipment and boilers not subject to the New York State 

Department of Labor requirements. 

 

(d) A small day care center located in a public school building currently used for an elementary, 

middle or secondary public education program approved or inspected by the State Education 

Department is exempt from the requirements set forth in  sections 418-2.15(b)(29)(ii-v) and 

418-2.15(c)(27-32). Such program must maintain on file copies of the current certificate of 

occupancy issued by the State Education Department. If a program is not issued a certificate of 

occupancy, the appropriate local equivalent, acceptable to the State Education Department, 

must be maintained on file. 

 

(e) Where multiple sites are operated by one organization, records, other than those of children 

currently enrolled in the small day care center, may be retained at a central administrative 

location. The organization of these centers must make all such records available on site upon 

request by the Office or its designees. 

 

 

 

 


