
October 26, 2015 

The One Constant in Life is Change:   

The Child Care and Development Act of 2014 and 

its Impact on Child Care in New York State 

Janice Molnar, Deputy Commissioner, 
Division of Child Care Services, NYS 
Office of Children and Family Services 

Kathleen Pickel, Manager, Regional Office 
Support Unit, Division of Child Care Services, 
NYS Office of Children and Family Services 

NYSAEYC                             April 10, 2015 



October 26, 2015 2 

Key Provisions of 

the Child Care and 

Development 

Block Grant Act 
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What is the Child Care and 

Development Block Grant? 

 • The CCDBG Act of 2014 reauthorized the Child Care and Development 

Fund (CCDF) for the first time since 1996 

• Passed in Congress on Nov. 7, 2014 and was signed into law by 

President Obama on Nov. 19, 2014 

• The CCDF is a $5.3 billion block grant that provides funding to States 

to improve the quality of child care and provide access to low-income 

families 

• In 2014, NYS’s CCDF allocation was $303 million 

• CCDBG reauthorizes the CCDF through FY 2020 
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What are the goals of the CCDF?  

• Promote parental choice and empower 

working parents 

• Assist states in delivering high-quality, 

coordinated early child care and education 

services 

• Raise standards for health and safety, 

licensing, training, and oversight 

• Increase the number of low-income children   

in high-quality child care settings 
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How does this affect New York? 

• NYS must comply with CCDBG requirements or face penalties 

and a possible reduction in child care funding 

• Some CCDBG requirements are already in OCFS Regulation and 

NYS Statute 

• Others will need to be implemented over the coming months and 

years 

• There are still many unknowns 
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How will this impact providers? 

• Significantly expanding background 

checks 

• Training and Professional Development 

• Payment Rates and Provider Payment 

Practices 

• Eligibility Policies 

 

The CCDBG Act will affect providers in many ways, including: 
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Licensing and Monitoring 

• Pre-licensure inspection (already NYS practice) 

• Annual, unannounced full inspections of all 

facilities (including legally-exempt) 

• Ratio of licensing inspectors must be 

maintained at sufficient levels to support  

regular inspections 

• Takes effect no later than November 19, 2016 
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Licensing and Monitoring 

• State must post inspection results publicly online  

• State must also make available online 

information regarding major substantiated 

complaints; number of deaths, serious injuries, 

and instances of substantiated child abuse 

 • Will include date of inspection and information on corrective action 

• Takes effect no later than November 19, 2017 
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Criminal Background Checks 
• New requirements for Federal and State 

checks 

• Required checks will apply to to all 

licensed/registered and legally-exempt 

providers 

• Must be conducted no less than every  

    5 years from initial submission date 

• Process for implementation to be 

determined 
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Criminal Background Checks 
• Checks must be completed within 45 days of submission 

• State will not release details of check to provider, only providing 

information about eligibility 

• Results of checks for ineligible applicants will be shared with 

individual, addressing reasons for disqualification 

• Process for appeals 
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Criminal Background Checks 

• National Crime Information Center  

• FBI fingerprint check 

• National Sex Offender Registry 

• State criminal and sex offender registry in each state applicant 

has resided in over the past 5 years (including NYS) 

• Child abuse and neglect registry in each state applicant has 

resided in over the past 5 years (including NYS) 

• Takes effect September 30, 2017 
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CURRENT PROCESS NEW REQUIREMENT 

NYS criminal 
background 
check 

Conducted for licensed/ 
registered providers, 
caregivers, and household 
members over 18  

Expanded to include all 
legally-exempt providers 

NYS sex 
offender 
registry check 

Conducted for legally-exempt 
only 

Expanded to include all 
licensed/registered providers 

State criminal 
and sex 
offender checks 

N/A Now required in every state 
of residence for the previous 
5 years (inc. legally-exempt) 
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CURRENT PROCESS NEW REQUIREMENT 

NYS child abuse 
and neglect 
registry 

Conducted for licensed/ 
registered providers, 
caregivers, and household 
members over 18  
 

Expanded to include all 
legally-exempt providers 
 

NYS child abuse 
and neglect 
registry 

N/A Now required in every state of 
residence for the previous 5 
years (inc. legally-exempt) 
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CURRENT PROCESS NEW REQUIREMENT 

Search of the National 
Crime Information 
Center 

Not currently required Required for all licensed/ 
registered and legally-exempt 
providers 

FBI fingerprint check Not currently required 
 

Required for all licensed/ 
registered and legally-exempt 
providers 
 

National Sex Offender 
registry check 

Not currently required 
 

Required for all licensed/ 
registered and legally-exempt 
providers 
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Criminal Background Checks 

Exceptions for staff members already currently cleared: 

• Staff who have received a background check 

 Within 5 years of latest date which submission may be made 

 While employed or seeking employment by another child care 

provider within the state 

• State provided the initial provider with qualifying check result 

• Staff member is employed within the state or has been   

    separated from employment for less than 180 consecutive days 
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Ineligibility for Approval 

An applicant will be ineligible for approval if 

he or she: 

• Refuses to consent for checks 

• Knowingly makes false statements  

    in connection to checks 

• Is registered/required to register with a State or National sex 

offender registry 
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Disqualifying Crimes 

Conviction of a felony consisting of: 

• Murder 

• Child abuse/neglect 

• Crimes against children, incl. 

child pornography 

• Spousal abuse 

• Rape or sexual assault 

• Kidnapping 

• Arson 

• Physical assault/battery 

• Drug offenses committed in the 

past 5 years* 

There will now be mandatory disqualifying crimes, as follows –  

Also includes: 

• Violent misdemeanors committed by an adult against a child 

 
*States may have discretion to provide exemptions 



October 26, 2015 18 

Training and Professional Development 

Professional development requirements should: 

• Include ongoing, annual training and a  

    progression of professional development  

    (which may include postsecondary education) 

• Include focus on social-emotional behavioral  

     intervention models 

• Include focus on effective behavior 

management strategies, including reducing 

expulsions of preschool-aged children 
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Training and Professional Development 
• Ongoing training for providers to improve 

quality and meet developmental needs of 

children 

• Trainings developed with the Early Childhood 

Advisory Council  

 • Mandatory pre-service/orientation Health and Safety training for all 

child care staff 

• New list of federal training topics for professional development 

• Effective upon enactment 
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Health and Safety 
Requires States to establish Health and Safety training requirements 

regarding: 

• Prevention/control of infectious 

diseases 

• Prevention of SIDS 

• Medication administration 

• Prevention/response to emergencies 

due to allergic reactions 

• Prevention of shaken baby syndrome 

• First Aid and CPR 
 

 

• Building and physical 

premises safety 

• Emergency preparedness 

• Handling/storage of 

hazardous materials & 

disposal of biocontaminants  

• Transportation precautions 
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Health and Safety 

• Compliance with child abuse reporting requirements of the Child 

Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act 

• Incorporate state’s Early Learning and Development Guidelines  
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Increased Focus on Quality Improvement 

• Phases-in an increase in minimum quality 

set-aside spending from 4% to 9% over a   

5-year period (begins in Federal FY 2016) 

• In addition, requires states to spend a 

minimum of 3% to improve the quality of 

care for infants and toddlers 

• States must establish outcome measures 

and evaluate progress of quality activities 
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• Training and professional 

development 

• Early learning and development 

guidelines 

• Tiered quality rating system 

• Improving quality of services for 

infants and toddlers 

• Child care resource & referral 

services 

• Licensing and health and safety 

requirements 

• Quality evaluation 

• Accreditation 

• Program standards 

• Other measurable quality activities 

as determined by the State 

States must spend quality funds on at least one of the following Quality 

Activities: 

New List of Quality Activities 
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Highlighting Family Engagement 

• Added purpose of the CCDF → “to promote involvement by 

parents and family members in the development of their children 

in child care settings”  

• Making parents partners through  

    engagement 

• Training for providers on engaging  

     families in culturally and linguistically  

     appropriate ways 
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Consumer Education 

• Availability of child care services, financial assistance, and 

other assistance programs families may qualify for 

• Quality Rating and Improvement System 

• Licensing and monitoring process on  

    state website 

• Childhood development and family  

    engagement 

• Developmental screening resources  
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Eligibility Policies 

States must offer: 

• 12-month period before eligibility redetermination  

• Eligibility redetermination process cannot unduly disrupt  

    parents’ employment 

• 3-month grace period for parents who lose their job 

• Graduated phase-out of assistance for families whose income 

has increased, but remains below the federal threshold (85% of 

the State Median Income) 
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85% State Median Income Compared To 200% Federal Poverty Level 

*[Federal Register vol 79(139), July 21, 2014] 

**14-OCFS-INF-02,  2014 Income Standards for the Child Care Services Plan 



October 26, 2015 28 

Underserved Populations 

State must develop strategies for increasing supply and quality of 

services for: 

• Infants and toddlers 

• Children in underserved areas 

• Children with disabilities 

• Children in care for non-traditional hours 

• Homeless children 
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Payment Practices 

• State must establish policies that reflect generally accepted 

payment practices for providers, including timely reimbursement 

and paying for absence days 

• Effective upon enactment 
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Subsidy Practices 
• Requires state to conduct a market rate 

survey (or use an alternative methodology) 

to determine payment rates, taking into 

account the cost of providing higher quality 

services 

• Payment rates must be comparable to those 

not eligible for subsidy 

• Balance incorporating new quality standards 

without, to the extent practicable, reducing 

the number of recipients  
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Disaster Preparedness 

• Accommodation of infants/toddlers and children with special needs 

• Continuing child care services following an emergency or disaster 

• Staff/volunteer emergency preparedness drills and training 

Requires states to develop a statewide child care 

disaster plan, including procedures for: 

• Evacuation, relocation, shelter-in-place, and  

lock-down  

• Communication and reunification with families 
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New National Hotline and Website 

• Toll-free hotline and website (childcare.gov) will provide consumer 

information about quality child care services at a range of prices 

• Report suspected child abuse or neglect by a child care provider 

that receives subsidy payments – this is in addition to the OCFS 

Complaint Line and the NYS SCR Child Abuse and 

Maltreatment Hotline (required) 

• Provider-specific quality and compliance information 

• Info on subsidy programs 

• CCR&R referrals 
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Implementation Timeline 
October 1, 2015:  

• Start of first full Federal fiscal year after passage of the CCDBG Act of 2014 

• State must be in/moving towards compliance with new licensing requirements  

September 30, 2017:  

• States must be in compliance with comprehensive background check component 

(1-year extension available if the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

determines state is making good-faith efforts to comply) 

November 19, 2017: 

• States must have inspection reports posted publicly online  

September 30, 2020 

• Authorization of CCDBG ends 
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Support and Resources 

• CCDF Reauthorization Resource Page: 

http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/occ/ccdf-reauthorization 

 

• Office of Child Care outreach webinars and listening  

    sessions for stakeholder input 

 

• Frequently asked questions email address: 

     ccdf.reauthorization@acf.hhs.gov 

http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/occ/ccdf-reauthorization
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/occ/ccdf-reauthorization
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/occ/ccdf-reauthorization
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Questions? 


