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     April, 2011 

 

Dear Colleague: 

A number of important changes and reminders are contained in this letter.  Please read the 
information carefully and contact your Regional Office licensor or registrar with any questions you 
may have. 

 

The new State budget includes an amendment to Section 424-a(1)(f) of the Social Services Law, which 
sets forth requirements for fees for conducting database checks through the Statewide Central 
Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR).  Prior to this change in law, day care providers and 
staff of day care programs were exempt from the fee requirements.  The change in the law now 
requires that prospective day care providers and applicants for employment in day care programs be 
charged a $25 fee for any database checks conducted through the SCR.  This took effect on Friday, 
April 1, 2011. 

Please note that the fee requirements do not apply to volunteers who will work in day care programs, 
nor do they apply to providers of goods and services to day care programs, consultants to day care 
programs, or to current employees who have previously been screened through the SCR if the 
program elects to re-screen current employees.   The fee requirements also do not apply to persons age 
18 or over who reside in homes where family and group family child care will be provided, unless the 
household member is also employed at the program as a substitute, alternate provider, assistant, 
alternate assistant or other paid caretaker.  

Please note that there are references below to a “payment of the fee.”  There are four methods of 
acceptable payment of the fee.  These are: 

1. Certified check; 
2. Postal or bank money order; 
3. Teller’s check; or 
4. Cashier’s check 

*Personal checks are not acceptable 

Each must be made payable to: NEW YORK STATE OFFICE OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY 
SERVICES.  

State Central Register $25.00 Fee for Data Base Checks –                   
EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY 
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Child Day Care Centers: 

1) Directors - When applicants to be directors of child day care centers submit their application 
materials to the regional office of OCFS, they will be required to submit a payment of the fee in 
the amount of $25 for the required database check.  The payment of the fee must include the 
name of the applicant so that it may be properly processed.  The application will not be 
processed without the required payment of the fee. 

 

2) All other employment applicants – For child day care centers using the Online Clearance 
System (OCS), when the day care center director, director’s designee or applicant enters 
information into the OCS, they will be required to enter into OCS the identification number of 
the check or money order that will be used to pay the $25 fee 
 

3)  The child day care center will be required to write on the check or money order:  (1) the 
request identification number for the OCS database check; and (2) the name of the applicant.  
Once the database check request has been submitted through the OCS, the child day care 
center must promptly send the payment of the fee to OCFS at:  
 

New York State Office of Children and Family Services 
Capital View Office Park 
52 Washington Street, South Building Room 204 
Bureau of Financial Operations/Accounting and Revenue Collection 
Rensselaer, NY 12144  
 

Please note that there must be a separate payment of the fee for each applicant. 

For child day care centers not using the OCS, the database check form (DSS 3370) must be 
accompanied by a payment of the fee for $25 when it is submitted to the SCR.  The application will 
not be processed without the required payment of the fee.  Please note that there must be a separate 
payment of the fee for each applicant for whom a DSS 3370 form is submitted.  For your convenience, 
OCFS will accept a single check covering the total cost associated with multiple forms up to $500.00, 
i.e., should a day care center submit 10 clearances forms, it may send one check in the amount of 
$250.00. 

It is important to understand that this amendment does not change who must be cleared by 
the SCR, just who must pay a fee to be cleared by the SCR.  For additional information 
concerning who must be cleared by the SCR see policy 06-7 at: 
http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/becs/policy/default.asp, or contact your Regional Office.  

  School-Age Child Care Programs: 

1) Directors – When applicants to be directors of school-age child care programs submit their 
application materials to the regional office of OCFS or to the registrar for their county (which 
would be a child care resource and referral program, a local social services district or, for 
homes in New York City, the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene), they 
will be required to submit a payment of the fee in the amount of $25 for the required database 
check.  The payment of the fee must include the name of the applicant so that it may be 

http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/becs/policy/default.asp�
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properly processed.  The application will not be processed without the required payment of the 
fee. 
 

2) All other employment applicants – For school-age child care programs using the Online 
Clearance System (OCS), when the school-age child care program director, director’s designee 
or applicant enters information into the OCS, they will be required to enter into OCS the 
identification number of the check or money order that will be used to pay the $25 fee.  The 
school-age child care program will be required to write on the check or money order:  (1) the 
request identification number for the OCS database check; and (2) the name of the applicant.  
Once the database check request has been submitted through the OCS, the school-age child 
care program must promptly send the payment of the fee to OCFS at: 

 
New York State Office of Children and Family Services 
Capital View Office Park 
52 Washington Street, South Building Room 204 
Bureau of Financial Operations/Accounting and Revenue Collection 
Rensselaer, NY 12144  
 

Please note that there must be a separate payment of the fee for each applicant for whom a DSS 3370 
form is submitted.   

For school-age child care programs not using the OCS, the database check form (DSS 3370) must be 
accompanied by a payment of the fee for $25 when it is submitted to the SCR.  The application will 
not be processed without the required payment of the fee.  Please note that there must be a separate 
payment of the fee for each applicant for whom a DSS 3370 form is submitted.   For your convenience, 
OCFS will accept a single check covering the total cost associated with multiple forms up to $500.00, 
i.e., should a school age child care program submit 10 clearances forms, it may send one check in the 
amount of $250.00. 

It is important to understand that this amendment does not change who must be cleared by 
the SCR, just who must pay a fee to be cleared by the SCR.  For additional information 
concerning who must be cleared by the SCR, see policy 06-7 at: 
http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/becs/policy/default.asp, or contact your Regional Office.  

 

 The Statewide Central Register Database Check Form, or LDSS-3370, is a form 
completed by applicants who are screened by the New York State Statewide Central Register (SCR), to 
determine whether they are the subject of indicated reports of child abuse or maltreatment on file 
with the SCR. These forms need to be filled out completely and accurately to result in an accurate 
report. 
 
 

Getting it Right - Who to Include on the SCR Clearance 

http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/becs/policy/default.asp�
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The form asks for two different pieces of major information: 
• Applicant and household member information and  
• Addresses for where the applicant has resided. 

 
ALL household members, both adults and children, whether they are related to the 
applicant or not, need to be listed on the LDSS 3370 form.  It’s important to remember to list 
all maiden names and aliases as well.   This is because the SCR specialist must search all names 
provided.  Each name is searched individually and as part of a household composition. This is because 
sometimes an individual’s name is not found immediately, but is later discovered through the 
matching of another person and a family composition.  When information is left out, the search is not 
accurate and the provider may be hiring a person with a CPS history because they failed to complete 
the form as directed.  
 
If you submit a form with just one name on it because you live alone, write the word “NONE” in the 
applicant/household area of the form after entering your own information. 
 
For screening purposes, the form also requires information about the applicant’s current and previous 
addresses. Addresses must go back as far as 28 years. The SCR staff understands that some people 
may find it difficult to provide complete detailed information about address history for their 
childhood years.  So, have applicants do their best when completing this portion of the form by 
providing at least the name of the city and state in which they lived for each time period, even if you 
don’t know a street number or street name.  Remember, the more information the SCR gets, the 
better the search and the quicker the return.  
 

     If you are planning to take on-line course work to meet your thirty-hours of 
required training, please be reminded that all on-line training must be pre-approved by the Office of 
Children and Family Services (OCFS).  A list of pre-approved distance learning courses can be found 
at the following website address: http://www.tsg.suny.edu/ocfsdlc.shtm.  This list includes all pre-
approved on-line CPR training courses that include face-to-face competency tests.  OCFS also offers a 
growing number of E-Learning courses for credit toward the thirty-hour training requirement.  This 
list can be found at: http://www.ecetp.pdp.albany.edu/elearn_catalog.shtm.   

I hope this information is helpful.  Thank you for your commitment to safety and all that you do for the 
children of New York State. 

Sincerely, 

 

Janice M. Molnar, Ph.D. 
Deputy Commissioner 
Division of Child Care Services  

Reminder:    All On-line Training Must be Pre-Approved 
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