
 
 

MEMORANDUM 
 
TO:            OCFS Division of Child Care Services Regional 
                        Office and Registration staff 
   
FROM: William T. Gettman, Jr. 
  Executive Deputy Commissioner  
 
SUBJECT: New Fees for SCR clearances   
 
DATE: April 1, 2011 
  
 
Now that the New York State Fiscal Year 2011-12 budget has 
been executed, we are writing to inform you of a new provision in 
the law regarding the submission of database checks through 
the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment 
(SCR). 
 
The new State budget includes an amendment to Section 424-
a(1)(f) of the Social Services Law, which sets forth requirements 
for fees for conducting database checks through the SCR.  Prior 
to this change in law, day care providers and staff of day care 
programs were exempt from the fee requirements.  The change 
in the law now requires that prospective day care providers and 
applicants for employment in day care programs be charged a 
$25 fee for any database checks conducted through the SCR.  
  
The change in law takes effect on April 1, 2011 and will be 
implemented by OCFS on Friday, April 8, 2011.  The 
information below will apply to all database check requests 
submitted to the SCR on or after April 8, 2011.  
 
Please note that the fee requirements do not apply to volunteers 
who work in day care programs, nor do they apply to providers of 
goods and services to day care programs, consultants to day 
care programs, or to current employees who have previously 
been screened through the SCR if the program elects to re-
screen current employees.  The fee requirements also do not 
apply to persons age 18 or over who reside in homes where 
family and group family day care will be provided.  This is 
because none of these persons are day care providers or 
applicants for employment. 
 
The change in the law will require changes in the processes 
used to conduct SCR database checks for all types of day care 
programs.  What follows is a breakdown of the different 
categories of day care programs and how the process will 
change for each.  
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Please note that there are references below to a “payment of the fee”.  There are four 
methods of acceptable payment of the fee.  These are: 

1.  Certified check; 
2.  Postal or bank money order; 
3.  Teller’s check; or 
4.  Cashier’s check 
 

Each must be made payable to NEW YORK STATE OFFICE OF CHILDREN AND 
FAMILY SERVICES.  
 
FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES 
  
When applicants to be family day care providers or to be assistant or alternate 
caregivers in family day care homes submit their application materials to the regional 
office of OCFS or to the registrar for their county (which would be a child care resource 
and referral program, a local social services district or, for homes in New York City, the 
New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene), they will be required to 
submit a payment of the fee  in the amount of $25 for the required database check.  The 
payment of the fee must include the name of the applicant so that it may be properly 
processed.  The application will not be processed without the required payment of the 
fee.  Please note that there must be a separate payment of the fee for each applicant. 
 
GROUP FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES 
 
When applicants to be group family day care providers or assistants or alternate 
caregivers in group family day care homes submit their application materials to the 
regional office of OCFS (or, for homes in New York City, the New York City Department 
of Health and Mental Hygiene), they will be required to submit a payment of the fee in 
the amount of $25 for the required database check.  The payment of the fee must 
include the name of the applicant so that it may be properly processed.  The application 
will not be processed without the required payment of the fee.  Please note that there 
must be a separate payment of the fee for each applicant for whom a DSS 3370 form is 
submitted.   
 
CHILD DAY CARE CENTERS 
 
1)  Directors - When applicants to be directors of child day care centers submit 
their application materials to the regional office of OCFS, they will be required to submit 
a payment of the fee in the amount of $25 for the required database check.  The 
payment of the fee must include the name of the applicant so that it may be properly 
processed.  The application will not be processed without the required payment of the 
fee. 
 
2) All other employment applicants – For child day care centers using the Online 
Clearance System (OCS), when the day care center director, director’s designee or 
applicant enters information into the OCS, they will be required to enter into OCS the 
identification number of the check or money order that will be used to pay the $25 fee.  
The child day care center will be required to write on the check or money order:  (1) the 
request identification number for the OCS database check; and (2) the name of the 
applicant. 
 



  
Once the database check request has been submitted through the OCS, the child day 
care center must promptly send the payment of the fee to OCFS at: 
  

New York State Office of Children and Family Services 
Capital View Office Park 
52 Washington Street, South Building Room 204 
Bureau of Financial Operations/Accounting and Revenue Collection 
Rensselaer, NY 12144  
 

Please note that there must be a separate payment of the fee for each applicant. 
 
For child day care centers not using the OCS, the database check form (DSS 3370) 
must be accompanied by a payment of the fee for $25 when it is submitted to the SCR.  
The application will not be processed without the required payment of the fee.  Please 
note that there must be a separate payment of the fee for each applicant for whom a 
DSS 3370 form is submitted.   
.   
SCHOOL AGE CHILD CARE PROGRAMS 
 
1) Directors – When applicants to be directors of school-age child care programs 
submit their application materials to the regional office of OCFS or to the registrar for 
their county (which would be a child care resource and referral program, a local social 
services district or, for homes in New York City, the New York City Department of 
Health and Mental Hygiene), they will be required to submit a payment of the fee in the 
amount of $25 for the required database check.  The payment of the fee must include 
the name of the applicant so that it may be properly processed.  The application will not 
be processed without the required payment of the fee. 
 
2) All other employment applicants – For school-age child care programs using 
the Online Clearance System (OCS), when the school-age child care program director, 
director’s designee or applicant enters information into the OCS, they will be required to 
enter into OCS the identification number of the check or money order that will be used 
to pay the $25 fee.  The school-age child care program will be required to write on the 
check or money order:  (1) the request identification number for the OCS database 
check; and (2) the name of the applicant.  Once the database check request has been 
submitted through the OCS, the school-age child care program must promptly send the 
payment of the fee to OCFS at: 
 

New York State Office of Children and Family Services 
Capital View Office Park 
52 Washington Street, South Building Room 204 
Bureau of Financial Operations/Accounting and Revenue Collection 
Rensselaer, NY 12144  
 

Please note that there must be a separate payment of the fee for each applicant for 
whom a DSS 3370 form is submitted.  
  
For school-age child care programs not using the OCS, the database check form (DSS 
3370) must be accompanied by a payment of the fee for $25 when it is submitted to the 
SCR.  The application will not be processed without the required payment of the fee.  
Please note that there must be a separate payment of the fee for each applicant for 
whom a DSS 3370 form is submitted. 
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