Skip to Main Content
Skip to Main Content.

CONNECTIONS

OCFS Intranet

Desktop PC Replacement - Attachment F

ATTACHMENT F MIGRATING YOUR DATA TO YOUR NEW CONNECTIONS WORKSTATION

You will soon be receiving a new CONNECTIONS workstation. If you have stored any data (Word documents, spreadsheets, other) on your current CONNECTIONS workstation's C: drive that you wish to keep, you are responsible for copying those files to your new workstation's C: drive. Your data will NOT be copied to the your new workstation for you.

If the data you have stored on your current CONNECTIONS workstation's C: drive is not important to you, then you do NOT have to copy it to your new workstation. Only follow this procedure if you MUST keep data you stored on your current workstation.

Copying your data from your current CONNECTION workstation to your new workstation is a TWO-STEP process. The first step is to copy it from your current workstation's C: drive to the A: drive (diskette) or your workstation's H: drive (which is on a remote server). The second step is to copy it from the A: drive (diskette) or the H: drive (remote server) to your new workstation's C: drive.

Other procedures will be outlined in the CONNECTIONS - Migrating Exchange Information document for saving and importing special files (Schedule+ Calendars, Personal Address Books, and Personal Folders).

Which drive should I use for the copy - A: or H:?
If your data is small enough to fit on the A: drive (diskette) and you have a diskette with enough space available, then use the A: drive (diskette). If your data cannot fit on a diskette (1.2 MB), or you want to ensure that your data is backed-up to tape each night, then use the H: drive (remote server).

Where do I go for help?
Please call the CONNECTIONS Help Desk at 1-800-NYS-1323 for help with this.

Do I have to copy CONNECTIONS program data?
CONNECTIONS program data is not stored on your workstation's C: drive; therefore there is no CONNECTIONS program data to copy.

STEP 1 - Copy your data from your current workstation's C: drive to your H: drive

This process will copy ALL of your data that is stored in your current workstation's C: drive's C:\DATA subdirectory. You should delete data that you do not need anymore before you start this process.You must be connected to the network to perform this process.

  1. Logon to your current workstation with your NYSDSSALB or NYSDSSNYC Userid. (Dial-in users should make the connection to the network as normal first).
  2. Startup 'File Manager' by double-clicking on its icon.
  3. In the 'File Manager' window, select the File menu, then the Create Directory option.
  4. In the Name field of the resulting Create Directory window, type in "H:\<Your Userid>\DATA-PC", and press the OK button.
  5. Select the 'c' icon, and the 'DATA' directory, in 'File Manager'.
  6. Select the File menu, and the Copy… option, and again type "H:\<Your Userid>\DATA-PC" (e.g. H:/ABC123/DATA-PC if your Userid is ABC123) in the resulting 'Copy' window, and press the OK button.
    Note that this will take a variable amount of time, depending on how much data you stored on your C: drive and the type of connection you have - LAN vs. dialup.
  7. Once the File Copy operation is complete, you have saved all your user data that was stored in the standard user directory on your workstation's C: drive. IF you have stored files in other directories on your current workstation, copy from these directories to the same H: drive directory. [If you are or were an InfoOFIS/DSSP user this would include the C:\DSSP or D:\DSSP directory].

This completes Step 1 of the Copy process. Your data is now copied to the H: drive on the remote server.

STEP 2 - Restore your data from your H: drive to your new workstation's C: drive

Your new CONNECTIONS workstation does not contain your personal files. You are responsible for restoring your personal files on to your new CONNECTIONS workstation. These instructions will help you restore personal files that you saved from your old workstation's C: drive to your workstation's H: drive (which is on a remote server). Use these instructions AFTER your new workstation has been successfully installed but BEFORE you dispose of your old workstation.

You do not need your old workstation to complete Step 2. You may turn it off and set it aside until after Step 2 is complete. Once you have successfully copied your personal files to your new workstation, you may then dispose of your old workstation as instructed. You must be connected to the network to perform this process.

  1. Logon to your current workstation with your NYSDSSALB or NYSDSSNYC Userid. (Dial-in users should make the connection to the network as normal first).
  2. Startup 'Windows Explorer' by simultaneously pressing the Windows key and the 'E' key.
  3. In the left windowpane select the H: drive icon and scroll through the resulting until you see your Userid in the list; then double-click on your Userid (folder).
  4. Double-click on the DATA-PC folder. If there are any select all documents in this folder (and not the sub-folders) and drag and drop them to the 'My Documents' folder in the left windowpane. This will copy those documents to your 'My Documents' folder.
  5. Double-click on each sub-folder in the DATA-PC folder on your H: drive and repeat Step 4 for the contents of each of those sub-folders. Do this for each sub-folder (ACCESS, EXCEL, EXCHANGE, OFFICE, POWERPNT, SCHEDULE, and WORD). [Note that this will normally not be necessary for the ONNET32 and TELCOM sub-folders as no data is stored there.]
    If you have additional folders that you previously copied, drag and drop the ENTIRE folder to the 'Local Disk (C:) drive icon in the left windowpane. If you are presented with a 'Confirm Folder Replace' dialog box, answer 'Yes to all'.
  6. Once the File Copy operation is complete, you have restored all your user data. Verify that you retrieved and can access all the newly copied data on your new workstation. You may then delete the appropriate folders from your H: drive (DATA-PC, DSSP, etc.).