Office of Children and Family Services

Adoption Services

Post Adoption Help for Families

The Office of Children and Family Services is committed to identifying connections to the services most frequently sought by adoptive families in need of support. The contacts listed are intended to cover the broadest range of needs. In this, as in much of the advocacy you do for yourselves, be aware of how the response feels to you. If something does not appear to be meeting your family’s needs, try a different provider or even a different direction.

Toll Free Hotline Telephone Numbers:

  1. 2-1-1
  2. 3-1-1 (New York City only)
  3. Life Net:
    • 1-800-LifeNet (1-800-543-3638) (English)
    • 1-877-Ayudese (1-877-298-3373) (Spanish)
    • 1-877-990-8585 (Asian Life Net)
    • 1-212-982-5284 (TTY) 
  4. National Youth Crisis Hotline: 1-800-442-HOPE (4673)
  5. Boys Town Suicide and Crisis Line: 1-800-448-3000  or 1-800-448-1833 (TDD)
  6. National Runaway Switchboard:1-800-RUNAWAY 1-800-786-2929
  7. Advocates for Children (Education)  Helpline: 1-866-427-6033 (M-F, New York City only)

*** If you or someone you know is currently in immediate danger of being harmed, we urge you to call 911 now.

Resources/Information Web Sites

Services for Children & Families

OCFS and your local department of social services are available to support and assist adoptive families. Please consider contacting your local department of social services, as well as, the other agencies listed here to help identify needed services, direct you to community resources and other adoptive parents, or just to provide a listening ear.

TANF Post Adoption Funding

Governor Cuomo Announces $1.57 Million For Post-Adoption Services

New York Council on Adoptable Children (Area served - NYC)

Program Contact:
Barbara Rincon brincon@coac.org
589 Eighth Ave.
New York, NY 10018
212-475-0222

Regional Permanency Resource Centers

Regional Permanency Resource Centers work to:

  • prevent post-adoptive and post-guardianship dissolutions/disruptions,
  • provide assistance to families so that children may be cared for in their own homes with their adoptive parent(s) or legal guardian(s),
  • strengthen post-adoptive and post-guardianship families, and
  • avoid foster care or other out-of-home placements.

Regional Permanency Resource Centers serve post-adoptive families and post-guardianship families. Post-adoptive families are families who have finalized the adoption of their child. They include any adoptive family member, whether the adoption was an agency (public or authorized voluntary agency) adoption; a private placement adoption; or an international adoption. Post-guardianship families include families with legal guardianship of the child and an approved KinGAP agreement or families with legal guardianship without a KinGAP agreement.

Abbott House

Program Contact: Catharine Raffaele, craffaele@abbotthouse.net
100 Commerce Drive, Suite 101
New Windsor, NY 12553
(845) 457-5030, ext. 13525
(914) 740-6225

Serving Dutchess, Sullivan, Ulster, and Westchester counties

Adoptive and Foster Family Coalition of New York
Adoptive and Guardianship Assistance Program for Everyone (AGAPE Southern Tier Finger Lakes)

Program Contact: Renee Hettich renee@affcny.org
350 State Street
Binghamton, NY 13901
(607) 272-0034
(888) 354-1342

Serving Broome, Chemung, Schuyler, and Tompkins counties

Adoptive and Foster Family Coalition of New York
Adoptive and Guardianship Assistance Program for Everyone (AGAPE Hudson Valley)

Program Contact: Tomasine Oliphant tomasine@affcny.org
108 Main Street, Suite 5
New Paltz, NY 12561
(845) 679-9900
(888) 354-1342

Serving Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Greene, Orange, Sullivan, and Ulster counties

Adoptive and Foster Family Coalition of New York
Adoptive and Guardianship Assistance Program for Everyone (AGAPE Long Island)

Program Contact: Patrick O'Brien pat@affcny.org
21 Greene Avenue
Amityville, NY 11701
(631) 598-1983
(888) 354-1342

Serving Nassau, Putnam, Rockland, and Suffolk counties

Catholic Charities Diocese of Rochester
DBA Catholic Charities of the Finger Lakes

Program Contact: Ellen Wayne ellen.wayne@dor.org
94 Exchange Street
Geneva, NY 14456
(315) 789-2686

Serving Ontario, Seneca, Wayne, and Yates counties

Child Care Coordinating Council of the North Country

Program Contact: Jamie Basiliere jamie@primelink1.net
PO Box 2640
194 US Oval
Plattsburgh, NY 12901
(518) 561-4999

Serving Clinton, Essex, Franklin (includes St. Regis Mohawk Indian Reservation), Hamilton, and St. Lawrence counties

Children's Home of Jefferson County

Program Contact: Karen Richmond Krichmond@nnychildrenshome.com
PO Box 6550
1704 State Street
Watertown, NY 13601
(315) 788-7430

Serving Franklin (includes St. Regis Mohawk Indian Reservation), Jefferson, Lewis, Oswego, and St. Lawrence counties

Gustavus Adolphus Child & Family Services, Inc.

Program Contacts:
Karl Wiggins karlw@lutheran-jamestown.org
Maggie Dreyer mdreyer@lutheran-jamestown.org
200 Gustavus Avenue
Jamestown, NY 14701
(716) 665-2116

Serving Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Niagara, and Wyoming counties

Hillside Children's Center

Program Contact: Giles Sieburg gsieburg@hillside.com
215 Wyoming Street
Syracuse, NY 13204
(315) 380-8966

Serving Alleghany, Broome, Chemung, Onondaga, Steuben, and Tioga counties

Hillside Children's Center

Program Contact: Tess Mahnken-Weatherspoon tmahnken@hillside.com
1 Mustard Street
Rochester, NY 14609
(585) 654-1463

Serving Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, and Wyoming counties

New Alternatives for Children, Inc.

Program Contacts:
Patricia Bryant-Reid pbreid@nackidscan.org
(212) 651-8035
Samantha Ablaza sablaza@nackidscan.org
(646) 367-8417
(212) 696-1550
37 West 26th St, 6th Floor
New York, NY 10010

Serving the five boroughs of New York City

New York Council on Adoptable Children

Program Contacts:
Delia Caban dcaban@coac.org
Joann Buttaro jbuttaro@coac.org
589 Eighth Avenue, 14th Floor
New York, NY 10018
(212) 475-0222

Serving the five boroughs of New York City

Parsons Child and Family Center

Program Contact: Kate Schofield kate.schofield@northernrivers.org
60 Academy Road
Albany, NY 12208
(518) 426-2600

Serving Albany, Fulton, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Warren, and Washington counties

The Family Center, Inc.

Program Contact: Marya Gilborn mgilborn@thefamilycenter.org
493 Nostrand Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11216
(718) 230-1379

Serving the five boroughs of New York City