Office of Children and Family Services

Adoption Services

Post Adoption Help for Families

The Office of Children and Family Services is committed to identifying connections to the services most frequently sought by adoptive families in need of support. The contacts listed are intended to cover the broadest range of needs. In this, as in much of the advocacy you do for yourselves, be aware of how the response feels to you. If something does not appear to be meeting your family’s needs, try a different provider or even a different direction.

Toll Free Hotline Telephone Numbers:

  1. 2-1-1
  2. 3-1-1 (New York City only)
  3. Life Net:
    • 1-800-LifeNet (1-800-543-3638) (English)
    • 1-877-Ayudese (1-877-298-3373) (Spanish)
    • 1-877-990-8585 (Asian Life Net)
    • 1-212-982-5284 (TTY) 
  4. National Youth Crisis Hotline: 1-800-442-HOPE (4673)
  5. Boys Town Suicide and Crisis Line: 1-800-448-3000  or 1-800-448-1833 (TDD)
  6. National Runaway Switchboard:1-800-RUNAWAY 1-800-786-2929
  7. Advocates for Children (Education)  Helpline: 1-866-427-6033 (M-F, New York City only)

*** If you or someone you know is currently in immediate danger of being harmed, we urge you to call 911 now.

Resources/Information Web Sites

Services for Children & Families

OCFS and your local department of social services are available to support and assist adoptive families. Please consider contacting your local department of social services, as well as, the other agencies listed here to help identify needed services, direct you to community resources and other adoptive parents, or just to provide a listening ear.

TANF Post Adoption Funding

Governor Cuomo Announces $1.57 Million For Post-Adoption Services
(OCFS contact for TANF Post Adoption Programs, Patricia.Bryant@ocfs.ny.gov)

New York Council on Adoptable Children (Area served - NYC)

Program Contact:
Barbara Rincon brincon@coac.org
589 Eighth Ave.
New York, NY 10018
212-475-0222

Regional Permanency Resource Centers

Regional Permanency Resource Centers will work to prevent post adoptive and post guardianship dissolutions/disruptions, will provide assistance to families so that children may be cared for in their own homes with their adoptive parent(s) or legal guardian(s) and will work to strengthen post adoptive and post guardianship families and avoid foster care or other out-of-home placements.

Abbott House

Program Contact: Catharine Raffaele, craffaele@abbotthouse.net
100 Commerce Drive, Suite 101
New Windsor, NY 12553
845)457-5030, ext. 13525
Counties Served: Dutchess, Sullivan, Ulster, Westchester

Adoptive and Foster Family Coalition of New York State

Program Contact: Patrick O'Brien, pat@affcny.org
350 State Street
Binghamton, NY 13901
(607)272-0034; (888)354-1342
Counties Served: Broome, Chemung, Schuyler, Tompkins

Program Contact: Tomasine Oliphant, tomasine@affcny.org
108 Main Street, Suite 5
New Paltz, NY 12561
(845)679-9900
(888)354-1342
Counties Served: Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Greene, Orange, Sullivan, Ulster

Catholic Family Center

87 North Clinton Ave.
Rochester, NY
Contact: Gina Montanarella, LCSW, gmontanarella@cfcrochester.org 585-546-7220 x4830
County served: Monroe

Children’s Home of Jefferson County

1704 State Street
Watertown, NY 12601
Contact: Karen Richmond, krichmond@nnychildrenshome.com, 315-788-7430
Counties served: Jefferson and St. Lawrence

Gustavus Adolphus Family and Child

200 Gustavus Avenue
Jamestown, NY 14701
Contact: Karl Wiggins, Karlw@lutheran-jamestown.org 716-665-2116
County served: Chautauqua

Hillside Children's Center

Program Contact: Michelle Belge, mbelge@hillside.com
215 Wyoming Street
Syracuse, NY 13204
(315)703-8720
Counties Served: Alleghany, Broome, Chemung, Steuben, Tioga

New Alternatives for Children, Inc.

Program Contacts: Patricia Bryant-Reid, pbreid@nackidscan.org (212) 651-8035
Carolyn Synol, csynol@nackidscan.org (646) 352-9073
37 West 26th St, 6th Floor
New York, NY 10010
Area Served: NYC-All 5 Boroughs

New York Council on Adoptable Children

Program Contacts: Ernesto Loperena, eloperena@coac.org
Delia Caban, dcaban@coac.org
Joann Buttaro, jbuttaro@coac.org
589 Eighth Avenue, 14th Floor
New York, NY 10018
(212)475-0222
Area Served: NYC-All 5 Boroughs

Parsons Child and Family Center

Program Contact: Kate Schofield, kate.schofield@northernrivers.org
60 Academy Road
Albany, NY 12208
(518)426-2600
Counties Served: Albany, Fulton, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Warren, Washington

The Family Center, Inc.

Program Contact: Marya Gilborn, mgilborn@thefamilycenter.org
493 Nostrand Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11216
(718)230-1379
Area Served: NYC-All 5 Boroughs